weNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted recently have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification submitted 12/20/2023 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 12/20/2023 have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jo (US # 20200185655).
Regarding Claim 1, Jo (US # 20200185655) teaches an organic light-emitting diode display device (see Fig. 4A and corresponding text), comprising:
a display area (12) and a non-display area (areas of the display panel that aren’t 12 as shown in Fig. 1) outside the display area;
a plurality of sub-pixels in the display area, each sub-pixel having an emission area (OP) and a non-emission area (CP); and
an overcoat layer (130) including a plurality of micro lenses in the emission area of each sub-pixel ([0089] describes the bumpy top-surface shape as of 130 “light emission pattern 140 may be expressed as a micro lens, a texturing pattern, a light extraction pattern, light scattering pattern a corrugated micro lens or similar shape”),
wherein for an outermost sub-pixel (corresponds to the farthest left edge OP feature, PA1(12a), in Fig. 4A) among the plurality of sub-pixels, the overcoat layer has a first flat portion (see dashed oval region in annotated drawing included here) where some micro lenses are removed from the emission area (since this is a device claim, the structure implied by the processing recited is the important feature to be found here; the structure implied is that there is not a micro lens in the dashed oval).
Regarding Claim 2, Jo teaches the organic light-emitting diode display device of claim 1, wherein the first flat portion is provided in the outermost sub-pixel at each of first and second sides of the display area (this is a four-sided square unit, and this flat portion is on each peripheral side, so the first and second sides are the left and right edges, respectively, from a top-down perspective).
Regarding Claim 3, Jo teaches the organic light-emitting diode display device of claim 1, further comprising a first line (DL to the left of 12a) disposed in a direction parallel to first and second sides of the display area,
wherein for the outermost sub-pixel, the plurality of micro lenses are spaced apart from the first line (DL is not shown immediately adjacent to the micro-lenses).
Regarding Claim 5, Jo teaches the organic light-emitting diode display device of claim 1, wherein the first flat portion is provided at a first side of an outermost sub-pixel at a first side of the display area (see diamond-ended segment) and at a second side of an outermost sub-pixel at a second side of the display area (see circle-ended segment).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 8, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including wherein for the first sub-pixel, the plurality of micro lenses are spaced apart from the first side surface of the bank and overlap the second side surface of the bank, and wherein for the nth sub-pixel, the plurality of micro lenses overlap the first side surface of the bank and are spaced apart from the second side surface of the bank.
Regarding Claim 18, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including an arrangement of the plurality of micro lenses for the first sub-pixel is different from an arrangement of the plurality of micro lenses for the second sub-pixel in that: for the first sub-pixel, the plurality of micro lenses do not extend to the first side of the emission area; and for the second sub-pixel, the plurality of micro lenses extend at least to the first side of the emission area.
All claims dependent on claims 8 and 18 and are allowable at least based on that dependency.
Claims 4 and 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including wherein for the sub-pixel adjacent to the outermost sub-pixel along the first direction, the plurality of micro lenses overlap the second line.
Regarding Claim 6, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including wherein for each of the plurality of sub-pixels, the overcoat layer has a second flat portion where some micro lenses are removed at a corner of the emission area.
All claims dependent on claims 4 and 6 and are allowable at least based on that dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170155094 A1
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899