DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election of Species A (e.g., Figs. 2-5) was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20 March 2026. The election requirement is deemed proper and made final. The Office reminds Applicants to indicate the withdrawn status of claim 7 in their next submission of a claim listing.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1, lines 10 and 11, recites “outer walls of the contact barrier layer and outer walls of the contact filling layer extend along a common plane,” which is not illustrated by the drawings. Instead, the drawings (e.g., Fig. 2) illustrate that a first outer wall (e.g., left-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (e.g., 171) and the contact filling layer (e.g., 172) extend along a first common plane (e.g., vertical line) and a second outer wall (e.g., right-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (e.g., 171) and the contact filling layer (e.g., 172) extend along a second common plane (e.g., vertical line), in a cross-sectional view.
Claim 13, lines 13-15, recites “outer walls of the contact barrier layer and outer walls of the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a common plane,” which is not illustrated by the drawings. Instead, the drawings (e.g., Fig. 2) illustrate that a first outer wall (e.g., left-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (e.g., 171) and the second portion of the contact filling layer (e.g., 172) extend along a first common plane (e.g., vertical line) and a second outer wall (e.g., right-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (e.g., 171) and the second portion of the contact filling layer (e.g., 172) extend along a second common plane (e.g., vertical line), in a cross-sectional view.
Claim 20, lines 15 and 16, recites “outer walls of the contact barrier layer and outer walls of the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a common plane,” which is not illustrated by the drawings. Instead, the drawings (e.g., Fig. 2) illustrate that a first outer wall (e.g., left-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (e.g., 171) and the second portion of the contact filling layer (e.g., 172) extend along a first common plane (e.g., vertical line) and a second outer wall (e.g., right-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (e.g., 171) and the second portion of the contact filling layer (e.g., 172) extend along a second common plane (e.g., vertical line), in a cross-sectional view.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 10 and 11, recites “outer walls of the contact barrier layer and outer walls of the contact filling layer extend along a common plane,” which is indefinite because it is unclear how distinct and multiple walls (e.g., left-side wall and right-side wall within Fig. 2) of the same object (e.g., contact barrier layer/contact filling layer) extend along a common plane (e.g., vertical line). For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the disclosure of the application, the claim will be interpreted to recite “a first outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the contact filling layer extend along a first common plane and a second outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the contact filling layer extend along a second common plane, in a cross-sectional view.” Claims 2-6 and 8-12 are rejected due to their dependence from base claim 1.
Claim 13, lines 13-15, recites “outer walls of the contact barrier layer and outer walls of the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a common plane,” which is indefinite because it is unclear how distinct and multiple walls (e.g., left-side wall and right-side wall within Fig. 2) of the same object (e.g., contact barrier layer/second portion of the contact filling layer) extend along a common plane (e.g., vertical line). For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the disclosure of the application, the claim will be interpreted to recite “a first outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a first common plane and a second outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a second common plane, in a cross-sectional view.” Claims 14-19 are rejected due to their dependence from base claim 13.
Claim 20, lines 15 and 16, recites “outer walls of the contact barrier layer and outer walls of the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a common plane,” which is indefinite because it is unclear how distinct and multiple walls (e.g., left-side wall and right-side wall within Fig. 2) of the same object (e.g., contact barrier layer/second portion of the contact filling layer) extend along a common plane (e.g., vertical line). For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the disclosure of the application, the claim will be interpreted to recite “a first outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a first common plane and a second outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a second common plane, in a cross-sectional view.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 12-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US20170236747A1) in view of Chiang et al. (US20190385896A1).
Regarding claim 1, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Chen teaches in Fig. 10 a semiconductor device comprising:
an active pattern (110) extending in a first direction (horizontal) {[0015]};
a gate structure (M, 132, 142, 5) comprising a gate electrode (14 and/or 16) extending in a second direction (vertical) and a gate spacer (132 and/or 142) on the active pattern (110), wherein the gate electrode (14 and/or 16) and the gate spacer (132 and/or 142) are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (horizontal) {[0016, 0018]};
a source/drain pattern (144) on the active pattern (110) {[0016]};
a contact barrier layer (164) on the source/drain pattern (144) {[0027]}; and
a contact filling layer (180’) on the contact barrier layer (164) {[0029]},
wherein an uppermost point of the contact barrier layer (164) is between an upper surface of the contact filling layer (180’) and a lower surface of the contact filling layer (180’) {Fig. 10}.
Chen does not teach a first outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the contact filling layer extend along a first common plane and a second outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the contact filling layer extend along a second common plane, in a cross-sectional view.
In an analogous art, Chiang teaches in Fig. 3A and paragraph [0026], a first outer wall (e.g., left-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (139) and the contact filling layer (141) extend along a first common plane and a second outer wall (e.g., right-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (139) and the contact filling layer (141) extend along a second common plane, in a cross-sectional view. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s semiconductor device based on the teachings of Chiang, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to prevent the to-be-formed metal fill layer … from penetrating into surrounding silicon or oxide regions. Chiang [0027]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., contact barrier layer, contact filling layer) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Chiang) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the contact filling layer (180’) comprises:
a first portion (portion surrounded by 164) having a first width along the first direction (horizontal), wherein the first portion (portion surrounded by 164) is surrounded by the contact barrier layer (164) {Fig. 10}; and
a second portion (portion above 164) on the first portion (portion surrounded by 164), not overlapping the contact barrier layer (164) in the first direction (horizontal), and having a second width along the first direction (horizontal) greater than the first width {Fig. 10}.
Regarding claim 3, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches further comprising a silicide layer (20) between the source/drain pattern (144) and the contact barrier layer (164), wherein the contact filling layer (180’) does not contact the silicide layer (20) {[0023]}.
Regarding claim 4, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the upper surface of the contact filling layer (180’) and an uppermost surface of the gate structure (M, 132, 142, 5) extend along a common plane {Fig. 10}.
Regarding claim 5, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the contact barrier layer (164) comprises titanium nitride, and the contact filling layer (180’) comprises tungsten {[0022, 0029]}.
Regarding claim 6, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the uppermost point of the contact barrier layer (164) is between an upper surface of the gate electrode (14 and/or 16) and the lower surface of the contact filling layer (180’) {Fig. 10}.
Regarding claim 8, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the contact barrier layer does not comprise silicon (Si) and boron (B) {[0022]}.
Regarding claim 9, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the upper surface of the gate electrode (14 and/or 16) is flat {Fig. 10}.
Regarding claim 10, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, but Chen does not teach wherein the gate structure further comprises a gate capping layer on the gate electrode, and the contact filling layer contacts the gate capping layer.
Chiang teaches in Fig. 3C and paragraph [0037], a capping layer (152) on a gate electrode (116), and a contact filling layer (141) contacts the capping layer (152). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s semiconductor device as modified by Chiang based on the further teachings of Chiang – such that Chen’s gate structure further comprises a gate capping layer on the gate electrode, and the contact filling layer contacts the gate capping layer – to seal the upper surface of the semiconductor device from intrusion by other material or influences (e.g., electrical, moisture, air, etc.). Chiang [0038]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., capping layer, gate electrode, contact filling layer) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Hwang) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 12, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the contact barrier layer (164) entirely surrounds the lower surface of the contact filling layer (180’) {Fig. 10}.
Regarding claim 13, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Chen teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
an active pattern (110) extending in a first direction (horizontal) {[0015]};
a gate structure (M, 132, 142, 5) comprising a gate electrode (14 and/or 16) extending in a second direction (vertical) and a gate spacer (132 and/or 142) on the active pattern (110), wherein the gate electrode (14 and/or 16) and the gate spacer (132 and/or 142) are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (horizontal) {[0016, 0018]};
a source/drain pattern (144) on the active pattern (110) {[0016]};
a contact barrier layer (164) on the source/drain pattern (144) {[0027]}; and
a contact filling layer (180’) on the contact barrier layer (164) {[0029]},
wherein the contact filling layer (180’) comprises a first portion (portion surrounded by 164) surrounded by the contact barrier layer (164) and a second portion (portion above 164) on the first portion (portion surrounded by 164) that does not overlap the contact barrier layer (164) in the first direction (horizontal) {Fig. 10}, and
wherein a first width along the first direction (horizontal) of the first portion (portion surrounded by 164) is smaller than a second width along the first direction (horizontal) of the second portion (portion above 164) {Fig. 10}.
Chen does not teach a first outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a first common plane and a second outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a second common plane, in a cross-sectional view.
Chiang teaches in Fig. 3A and paragraph [0026], a first outer wall (e.g., left-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (139) and the second portion (portion above 139) of the contact filling layer (141) extend along a first common plane and a second outer wall (e.g., right-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (139) and the second portion (portion above 139) of the contact filling layer (141) extend along a second common plane, in a cross-sectional view. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s semiconductor device based on the teachings of Chiang, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to prevent the to-be-formed metal fill layer … from penetrating into surrounding silicon or oxide regions. Chiang [0027]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., contact barrier layer, contact filling layer) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Chiang) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 14, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 13, and Chen further teaches wherein an uppermost point of the contact barrier layer (164) is between an upper surface of the gate electrode (14 and/or 16) and a lower surface of the contact filling layer (180’) {Fig. 10}.
Regarding claim 15, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 13, and Chen further teaches wherein the contact barrier layer (164) comprises titanium nitride, and the contact filling layer (180’) comprises tungsten {[0022, 0029]}.
Regarding claim 16, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 13, and Chen further teaches further comprising a silicide layer (20) between the source/drain pattern (144) and the contact barrier layer (164) {[0023]}.
Regarding claim 17, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 16, and Chen further teaches wherein a lower surface of the silicide layer (20) is between an upper surface of the source/drain pattern (144) and a lower surface of the source/drain pattern (144) {Fig. 10}.
Regarding claim 18, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 13, and Chen further teaches wherein an upper surface of the contact filling layer (180’) and an uppermost surface of the gate structure (M, 132, 142, 5) extend along a common plane {Fig. 10}.
Regarding claim 20, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Chen teaches in Fig. 10 a semiconductor device comprising:
an active pattern (110) extending in a first direction (horizontal) {[0015]};
a gate structure (M, 132, 142, 5) comprising a gate electrode (14 and/or 16) extending in a second direction (vertical) and a gate spacer (132 and/or 142) on the active pattern (110), wherein the gate electrode (14 and/or 16) and the gate spacer (132 and/or 142) are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (horizontal) {[0016, 0018]};
a source/drain pattern (144) on the active pattern (110 {[0016]});
a silicide layer (20) on the source/drain pattern (144) {[0023]};
a contact barrier layer (164) on the silicide layer (20) {[0027]}; and
a contact filling layer (180’) on the contact barrier layer (164) {[0029]},
wherein the contact filling layer (180’) comprises a first portion (portion surrounded by 164) surrounded by the contact barrier layer (164) and a second portion (portion above 164) on the first portion (portion surrounded by 164) that does not overlap the contact barrier layer (164) in the first direction (horizontal) {Fig. 10},
wherein a first width of the first portion (portion surrounded by 164) along the first direction (horizontal) is smaller than a second width of the second portion (portion above 164) along the first direction (horizontal) {Fig. 10},
wherein the contact barrier layer (164) comprises titanium nitride and the contact filling layer (180’) comprises tungsten {[0022, 0029]}, and
wherein an uppermost point of the contact barrier layer (164) is between an upper surface of the gate electrode (14 and/or 16) and a lower surface of the contact filling layer (180’) {Fig. 10}.
Chen does not teach a first outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a first common plane and a second outer wall of each of the contact barrier layer and the second portion of the contact filling layer extend along a second common plane, in a cross-sectional view.
Chiang teaches in Fig. 3A and paragraph [0026], a first outer wall (e.g., left-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (139) and the second portion (portion above 139) of the contact filling layer (141) extend along a first common plane and a second outer wall (e.g., right-side wall) of each of the contact barrier layer (139) and the second portion (portion above 139) of the contact filling layer (141) extend along a second common plane, in a cross-sectional view. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s semiconductor device based on the teachings of Chiang, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to prevent the to-be-formed metal fill layer … from penetrating into surrounding silicon or oxide regions. Chiang [0027]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., contact barrier layer, contact filling layer) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Chiang) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Chiang as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Leobandung et al. (US20160035857A1).
Regarding claim 11, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, but Chen does not teach further comprising an etch stop layer on a side surface of the gate spacer on the source/drain pattern, wherein the gate capping layer covers an upper surface of the etch stop layer.
In an analogous art, Leobandung teaches in Fig. 14 and paragraph [0042] an etch stop layer (904) on a side surface of a gate spacer (112) on a source/drain pattern (202), wherein a gate capping layer (902) covers an upper surface of the etch stop layer (904). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s semiconductor device as modified by Chiang based on the teachings of Leobandung – to include an etch stop layer on a side surface of the gate spacer on the source/drain pattern, wherein the gate capping layer covers an upper surface of the etch stop layer – so contact trenches … may be formed using a selective etching process. Leobandung [0043]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., etch stop layer, gate spacer, source/drain pattern, capping layer) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Leobandung) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Chiang as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US20220069100A1).
Regarding claim 19, Chen as modified by Chiang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 13, but Chen does not teach wherein a grain size of the first portion is smaller than a grain size of the second portion.
In an analogous art, Hwang teaches in Fig. 4 and paragraph [0052] a grain size (G2) of a first portion (lower portion) of a contact filling layer (185) is smaller than a grain size (G2’) of a second portion (upper portion; e.g., 189) of the contact filling layer (185). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s semiconductor device as modified by Chiang based on the teachings of Hwang – such that a grain size of the first portion is smaller than a grain size of the second portion – to form a grain adjustment region. Hwang [0052]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., grain size, first and second portions) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Hwang with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US20160336270A1) teaches a semiconductor process for forming a plug includes the following steps. A dielectric layer having a recess is formed on a substrate. A titanium layer is formed to conformally cover the recess. A first titanium nitride layer is formed to conformally cover the titanium layer, thereby the first titanium nitride layer having first sidewall parts. The first sidewall parts of the first titanium nitride layer are pulled back, thereby second sidewall parts being formed. A second titanium nitride layer is formed to cover the recess. Moreover, a semiconductor structure formed by said semiconductor process is also provided.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891