Acknowledgment
The amendment filed on 07/23/2026 has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Claims 1, 11, and 20 have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant asserts: In Chen, the semiconductor chip 100 interpreted as "a capacitor," is adjacent to the semiconductor chip 150 interpreted as "a bridge die," in a horizontal direction, and the semiconductor chip 100 is not provided on a bottom surface of the semiconductor chip 150. Accordingly, Chen fails to disclose or suggest at least "a capacitor disposed on a bottom surface of the second mold layer and a bottom surface of the bridge die, and connected to the penetration via," much less "wherein the capacitor overlaps an entirety of the bridge die vertically," as recited in claims 1, 11 and 20.
Examiner agrees that Chen does not teach the amendments added into claims 1, 11 and 20. However, the amendments necessitated an updated search and resulted a new prior art, Yu et al. (US 20220384374 A1; hereinafter “Yu”). As it has been explained below, Yu teaches the claim amendments and Claims 1, 11 and 20 are unpatentable over Chen in view of Yu.
Therefore, the rejection stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 11, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20190131273 A1; hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Yu et al. (US 20220384374 A1; hereinafter “Yu”).
In re claim 1, Chen discloses in fig. 12, a semiconductor package, comprising:
a redistribution substrate RDL1 (¶14);
a bridge chip (bridge chip comprising bridge die 150, RDL2, passive devices 100, 200, encapsulation layer E1 and other connecting structures in the encapsulation layer E1; hereinafter “Bridge”) on the redistribution substrate RDL1 (¶65, 66, 70);
a first conductive post (TIV on the left of the interposer 150; hereinafter “TIV1”) and a second conductive post (TIV on the right of the interposer 150; hereinafter “TIV2”) on the redistribution substrate RDL1 and spaced apart from the bridge chip 150 (¶16);
a first semiconductor chip 300 on the bridge chip 150 and the first conductive post TIV1 (¶25);
a second semiconductor chip 400 on the bridge chip and the second conductive post TIV2 (¶25-26); and
a first mold layer E2, UF on the redistribution substrate RDL1, the bridge chip 150, the first semiconductor chip 300, and the second semiconductor chip 400 (¶22, 30-31),
wherein the bridge chip 150 comprises:
a bridge die 150 connected to an active surface of the first semiconductor chip 300a and an active surface of the second semiconductor chip 400a (¶25-26);
a second mold layer E1, 106 on the bridge die 150 (¶22, 70);
a penetration via (TIV, 108) adjacent to the bridge die 150 and vertically penetrating the second mold layer E1; and
a capacitor 100 disposed on a bottom surface of the second mold layer E1 and connected to the penetration via (TIV, 108) (¶20).
Chen does not expressly disclose the capacitor disposed on a bottom surface of a bridge die, and wherein the capacitor overlaps an entirety of the bridge die vertically.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu discloses, in fig. 15, a semiconductor package 100, comprising:
a capacitor 22 (¶17; chips 22 can be a Deep Trench Capacitor (DTC) interposers) disposed on a bottom surface of a bridge die 68B (¶43), and wherein the capacitor 22 overlaps an entirety of the bridge die 68B vertically.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Yu into the semiconductor package of Chen and form the capacitor as a larger bottom chip underneath the bridge die to meet the high power-efficiency and low latency requirements of packaging of integrated circuits (¶2 of Yu).
In re claim 3, Chen as modified by Yu the semiconductor package of claim 1 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 1,
wherein the first mold layer comprises:
a first sub-mold layer UF on the redistribution substrate RDL1, the first conductive post TIV1, the second conductive post TIV2, and the bridge chip Bridge; and
a second sub-mold layer E2 on the first sub-mold layer UF, the first semiconductor chip 300, and the second semiconductor chip 400.
In re claim 9, Chen as modified by Yu the semiconductor package of claim 1 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 1,
wherein the bridge chip (Bridge) directly contacts a top surface of the redistribution substrate RDL1, and
wherein a conductive pattern 104 (¶15) of the redistribution substrate is connected to the capacitor of the bridge chip (Bridge).
In re claim 11, Chen discloses in fig. 12, a semiconductor package, comprising:
a redistribution substrate RDL1 (¶14);
a bridge chip (bridge chip comprising bridge die 150, RDL2, passive devices 100, 200, encapsulation layer E1; hereinafter “Bridge”) on the redistribution substrate RDL1 (¶65, 66, 70);
a first semiconductor chip 300 and a second semiconductor chip 400 on the bridge chip Bridge (¶25-26),
each of the first semiconductor chip 300 and the second semiconductor chip 400 being shifted from the bridge chip Bridge horizontally such that a portion of an active surface of the bridge chip Bridge is exposed (e.g., a middle portion of the bridge chip exposed which is in between the first and second semiconductor chips 300, 400); and
vertical connection terminals TIV1, TIV2 (e.g., the fan-out via TIV in between 100 and 150 has been interpreted as TIV1 and the second rightmost TIV has been interpreted as TIV2) horizontally spaced apart from the bridge chip Bridge and connecting the first semiconductor chip 300 (TIV1 connects the first semiconductor chip 300 through the semiconductor chip 100) and the second semiconductor chip 400 to the redistribution substrate RDL1 (¶16),
wherein the bridge chip comprises:
a redistribution layer RDL2 on an active surface of the first semiconductor chip 300a and an active surface of the second semiconductor chip 400a (¶49);
a bridge die 150 on a bottom surface of the redistribution layer RDL2 (¶65-66);
a first mold layer E1 on the bottom surface of the redistribution layer RDL2 and the bridge die 150 (¶70);
a capacitor 100 on a bottom surface of the first mold layer E1 (¶20-21); and
a penetration via 100d vertically penetrating the first mold layer E1 and connecting the redistribution layer RDL2 to the capacitor 100 (¶18).
Chen does not expressly disclose the capacitor disposed on a bottom surface of a bridge die, and wherein the capacitor overlaps an entirety of the bridge die vertically.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu discloses, in fig. 15, a semiconductor package 100, comprising:
a capacitor 22 (¶17; chips 22 can be a Deep Trench Capacitor (DTC) interposers) disposed on a bottom surface of a bridge die 68B (¶43), and wherein the capacitor 22 overlaps an entirety of the bridge die 68B vertically.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Yu into the semiconductor package of Chen and form the capacitor as a larger bottom chip underneath the bridge die to meet the high power-efficiency and low latency requirements of packaging of integrated circuits (¶2 of Yu).
In re claim 14, Chen as modified by Yu the semiconductor package of claim 11 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 11, further comprising:
a second mold layer UF on the redistribution substrate RDL1, the bridge chip bridge (¶30); and
a third mold layer E2 on the second mold layer UF, the first semiconductor chip 300 and the second semiconductor chip 400 (¶31).
In re claim 19, Chen as modified by Yu the semiconductor package of claim 11 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein the bridge chip Bridge directly contacts a top surface of the redistribution substrate RDL1, and wherein a conductive pattern of the redistribution substrate 104 is connected (e.g., electrically connected) to the capacitor 100 of the bridge chip (¶33).
Claim(s) 1, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20190131273 A1; hereinafter “Chen”), in an alternative interpretation.
In re claim 1, Chen discloses in fig. 12, a semiconductor package, comprising:
a redistribution substrate RDL1 (¶14);
a bridge chip (bridge chip comprising bridge die 150, RDL2, passive devices 100, 200, encapsulation layer E1 and other connecting structures in the encapsulation layer E1; hereinafter “Bridge”) on the redistribution substrate RDL1 (¶65, 66, 70);
a first conductive post (TIV on the left of the interposer 150; hereinafter “TIV1”) and a second conductive post (TIV on the right of the interposer 150; hereinafter “TIV2”) on the redistribution substrate RDL1 and spaced apart from the bridge chip 150 (¶16);
a first semiconductor chip 300 on the bridge chip 150 and the first conductive post TIV1 (¶25);
a second semiconductor chip 400 on the bridge chip and the second conductive post TIV2 (¶25-26); and
a first mold layer E2, UF on the redistribution substrate RDL1, the bridge chip 150, the first semiconductor chip 300, and the second semiconductor chip 400 (¶22, 30-31),
wherein the bridge chip 150 comprises:
a bridge die 150 connected to an active surface of the first semiconductor chip 300a and an active surface of the second semiconductor chip 400a (¶25-26);
a second mold layer E1 on the bridge die 150 (¶70);
a penetration via (TIV, 100b, 100d) adjacent to the bridge die 150 and vertically penetrating the second mold layer E1; and
a capacitor 100 disposed on a bottom surface of the second mold layer E1 and connected to the penetration via (TIV, 100b, 100d) (¶20).
Chen does not expressly disclose the capacitor disposed on a bottom surface of a bridge die, and wherein the capacitor overlaps an entirety of the bridge die vertically.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu discloses, in fig. 15, a semiconductor package 100, comprising:
a capacitor 22 (¶17; chips 22 can be a Deep Trench Capacitor (DTC) interposers) disposed on a bottom surface of a bridge die 68B (¶43), and wherein the capacitor 22 overlaps an entirety of the bridge die 68B vertically.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Yu into the semiconductor package of Chen and form the capacitor as a larger bottom chip underneath the bridge die to meet the high power-efficiency and low latency requirements of packaging of integrated circuits (¶2 of Yu).
In re claim 10, Chen as modified by Yu the semiconductor package of claim 1 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 1,
wherein the bridge chip further comprises a redistribution layer RDL2 on the bridge die 150 and the second mold layer E1,
wherein the redistribution layer RDL2 is connected to the bridge die 150 and the penetration via (TIV, 100b, 100d), and
wherein the first semiconductor chip 300 and the second semiconductor chip 400 are electrically connected to the redistribution layer RDL2 of the bridge chip.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20190131273 A1; hereinafter “Chen”), in an alternative interpretation of the first and second mold layers.
In re claim 1, Chen discloses in fig. 12, a semiconductor package, comprising:
a redistribution substrate RDL1 (¶14);
a bridge chip (bridge chip comprising bridge die 150 and connectors above it; hereinafter “Bridge”) on the redistribution substrate RDL1 (¶65, 66, 70);
a first conductive post (TIV on the left of the interposer 150; hereinafter “TIV1”) and a second conductive post (TIV on the right of the interposer 150; hereinafter “TIV2”) on the redistribution substrate RDL1 and spaced apart from the bridge chip 150 (¶16);
a first semiconductor chip 300 on the bridge chip 150 and the first conductive post TIV1 (¶25);
a second semiconductor chip 400 on the bridge chip and the second conductive post TIV2 (¶25-26); and
a first mold layer E1, E2 on the redistribution substrate RDL1, the bridge chip 150, the first semiconductor chip 300, and the second semiconductor chip 400 (¶22, 30-31),
wherein the bridge chip Bridge comprises: a bridge die 150 connected to an active surface of the first semiconductor chip 300a and an active surface of the second semiconductor chip 400a (¶25-26);
a second mold layer 106 on the bridge die 150 (¶22);
a penetration via 108 adjacent to the bridge die 150 and vertically penetrating the second mold layer 106 (¶22); and
a capacitor 200 disposed on a bottom surface of the second mold layer 106 and connected to the penetration via 108 (¶20).
Chen does not expressly disclose the capacitor disposed on a bottom surface of a bridge die, and wherein the capacitor overlaps an entirety of the bridge die vertically.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu discloses, in fig. 15, a semiconductor package 100, comprising:
a capacitor 22 (¶17; chips 22 can be a Deep Trench Capacitor (DTC) interposers) disposed on a bottom surface of a bridge die 68B (¶43), and wherein the capacitor 22 overlaps an entirety of the bridge die 68B vertically.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Yu into the semiconductor package of Chen and form the capacitor as a larger bottom chip underneath the bridge die to meet the high power-efficiency and low latency requirements of packaging of integrated circuits (¶2 of Yu).
In re claim 3, Chen as modified by Yu the semiconductor package of claim 1 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 1,
wherein the first mold layer E1, E2 comprises:
a first sub-mold layer E1 on the redistribution substrate RDL1, the first conductive post TIV1, the second conductive post TIV2, and the bridge chip Bridge; and
a second sub-mold layer E2 on the first sub-mold layer E1, the first semiconductor chip 300, and the second semiconductor chip 400.
In re claim 7, Chen as modified by Yu the semiconductor package of claim 1 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 3, wherein a top surface of the first sub- mold layer E1 is coplanar with a top surface of the first conductive post TIV1, a top surface of the second conductive post TIV2, and a top surface of the bridge chip Bridge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 12, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view Yu and Pietambaram et al. (US 20230197697 A1; hereinafter “Pietambaram”).
In re claim 2, Chen as modified by Yu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 outlined above.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the capacitor comprises:
a first electrode on the bottom surface of the second mold layer;
a second electrode vertically spaced apart from the first electrode; and
a high-k dielectric layer between the first electrode and the second electrode.
In the same field of endeavor, Pietambaram discloses in figs. 1A-1B, wherein a capacitor 190 comprises (¶20-22):
a first electrode 196 on a bottom surface of a second mold layer 133-1;
a second electrode 198 vertically spaced apart from the first electrode 196; and
a high-k dielectric layer 135 between the first electrode 196 and the second electrode 198.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form the capacitor of Chen/Yu as having claimed structure to achieve a high capacitance density (¶21 of Pietambaram).
In re claim 12, Chen as modified by Yu discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein the vertical connection terminals TIV comprise:
second posts TIV2 adjacent to a second side of the bridge chip Bridge and connecting the redistribution substrate RDL1 to the second semiconductor chip 400.
Chen does not expressly disclose first posts adjacent to a first side of the bridge chip and connecting the redistribution substrate to the first semiconductor chip.
In the same field of endeavor, Pietambaram discloses in figs. 1A-1B, wherein first posts 192, 152 adjacent to a first side of a bridge chip 114-2 and connecting a redistribution substrate (102, 127, 146, 150, 144) to a first semiconductor chip 114-3 (¶20-24).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Pietambaram into the package of Chen/Yu to establish connection of the upper semiconductor chip with the lower substrate forming a larger multi-tier circuit and accommodate various functions like power delivery interconnects or high-speed signal interconnects (¶24 of Pietambaram).
In re claim 17, Chen as modified by Yu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11 outlined above.
Chen as modified by Yu does not expressly disclose wherein the capacitor comprises:
a first electrode on the bottom surface of the first mold layer;
a second electrode vertically spaced apart from the first electrode; and
a high-k dielectric layer between the first electrode and the second electrode.
In the same field of endeavor, Pietambaram discloses in figs. 1A-1B, wherein a capacitor 190 comprises (¶20-22):
a first electrode 196 on a bottom surface of a first mold layer 133-1;
a second electrode 198 vertically spaced apart from the first electrode 196; and
a high-k dielectric layer 135 between the first electrode 196 and the second electrode 198.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form the capacitor of Chen/Yu as having claimed structure to achieve a high capacitance density (¶21 of Pietambaram).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view Yu and Duan et al. (US 20240222219 A1; hereinafter “Duan”).
In re claim 4, Chen as modified by Yu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 3.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 3,
wherein the first semiconductor chip 300 comprises a first sub-post (the connecting structure 300b, 300d, 300e shown in the annotated figure below) (hereinafter “SubPost1”) and a second sub-post (the connecting structure 300b, 300d, 300e shown in the annotated figure below) (hereinafter “SubPost2”),
the first sub-post SubPost1 and the second sub-post SubPost2 being on the active surface of the first semiconductor chip 300a,
wherein the second semiconductor chip 400 comprises a third sub-post (the connecting structure 400b, 400d, 400e shown in the annotated figure below) (hereinafter “SubPost3”) and a fourth sub- post (the connecting structure 400b, 400d, 400e shown in the annotated figure below) (hereinafter “SubPost4”),
the third sub-post SubPost3 and the fourth sub-post SubPost4 being on the active surface of the second semiconductor chip 400a,
wherein the second sub-post SubPost2 connects (e.g., electrically connects) the bridge die 150 of the bridge chip to the first semiconductor chip 300,
wherein the third sub-post SubPost3 connects (e.g., electrically connects) the second conductive post TIV2 to the second semiconductor chip 400, and
wherein the fourth sub-post SubPost4 connects (e.g., electrically connects) the bridge die 150 of the bridge chip to the second semiconductor chip 400.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein the first sub-post SubPost1 connects the first conductive post to the first semiconductor chip.
In the same field of endeavor, Duan discloses in fig. 1B, wherein a first sub-post (a first interconnect structure 106 underneath chip 104a) connects a first conductive post 112 to a first semiconductor chip 104a (¶38).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Duan into the package of Chen/Yu to establish connection of the upper semiconductor chip with the lower substrate forming a larger circuit (¶17 of Duan).
In re claim 5, Chen, as modified by Yu and Duan, discloses the semiconductor package of claim 4 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 4,
wherein the second sub-mold layer E2 is on the first sub-post SubPost1, the second sub-post SubPost2, the third sub-post SubPost3, and the fourth sub-post SubPost4.
Chen does not expressly disclose wherein a bottom surface of each of the first sub-post, the second sub-post, the third sub-post, and fourth sub-post is coplanar with a bottom surface of the second sub-mold layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Duan discloses in fig. 1B, wherein a bottom surface of each of the first sub-post (a first interconnect structure 106 underneath chip 104a), a second sub-post (a second interconnect structure 106 underneath chip 104a), a third sub-post (a first interconnect structure 106 underneath chip 104b), and a fourth sub-post (a second interconnect structure 106 underneath chip 104b) is coplanar with a bottom surface (e.g., at the A-A’ interface or 142) of a second sub-mold layer 108 (¶35, 38).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to make the first to fourth sub-posts of /Yun coplanar with the bottom surface of the second sub-mold layer to bond the upper package with the lower package including the bridge chip with reduce process complexity (¶1-3 of Duan).
In re claim 6, Chen, as modified by Yu and Duan, discloses the semiconductor package of claim 4 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 4, wherein the penetration via (TIV, 108) and a conductive pattern of the bridge die (e.g., a conductive pattern comprising a connecting pillar above 150 and 108) directly contact the second sub-post SubPost2 and the fourth sub- post SubPost4 (see fig. 12 annotated above in claim 4).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view Yu and Marin et al. (US 20240105655 A1; hereinafter “Marin”).
In re claim 13, Chen as modified by Yu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11 outlined above.
Chen as modified by Yu does not expressly disclose the semiconductor package further comprising
a connection substrate on the redistribution substrate,
wherein the connection substrate comprises an opening,
wherein the bridge chip is in the opening of the connection substrate, and
wherein the vertical connection terminals comprise conductive patterns in the connection substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Marin discloses in fig. 1, a semiconductor package, comprising
a connection substrate 107 (¶21) on a redistribution substrate 127, 150, 144, 146 (¶32, 34),
wherein the connection substrate 107 comprises an opening 119 (¶21),
wherein a bridge chip 114-1 is in the opening of the connection substrate 119 (¶21), and
wherein vertical connection terminals comprise conductive patterns 108 in the connection substrate 107 (¶21).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Marin into the package of Chen/Yu and form the bridge die in a cavity formed in a connection substrate to help reduce the cost and complexity associated with assembling multi-die IC packages relative to conventional approaches by incorporating double-sided embedded dies with through-silicon vias (TSVs) that enable power signals to be routed through the embedded dies (¶14-15 of Marin).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view Yu and Duan et al. (US 20240222219 A1; hereinafter “Duan”).
In re claim 15, Chen as modified by Yu discloses the semiconductor package of claim 14 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 14,
wherein the first semiconductor chip 300 comprises a first sub-post (the connecting structure 300b, 300d, 300e shown in the annotated figure below) (hereinafter “SubPost1”) and a second sub-post (the connecting structure 300b, 300d, 300e shown in the annotated figure below) (hereinafter “SubPost2”),
the first sub-post SubPost1 and the second sub-post SubPost2 being on the active surface of the first semiconductor chip 300a,
wherein the second semiconductor chip 400 comprises a third sub-post (the connecting structure 400b, 400d, 400e shown in the annotated figure below) (hereinafter “SubPost3”) and a fourth sub- post (the connecting structure 400b, 400d, 400e shown in the annotated figure below) (hereinafter “SubPost4”),
the third sub-post SubPost3 and the fourth sub-post SubPost4 being on the active surface of the second semiconductor chip 400a,
wherein the second sub-post SubPost2 connects (e.g., electrically connects) the bridge die 150 of the bridge chip to the first semiconductor chip 300,
wherein the third sub-post SubPost3 connects (e.g., electrically connects) the second conductive post TIV2 to the second semiconductor chip 400, and
wherein the fourth sub-post SubPost4 connects (e.g., electrically connects) the bridge die 150 of the bridge chip to the second semiconductor chip 400.
Chen as modified by Yu does not expressly disclose wherein the first sub-post SubPost1 connects the first conductive post to the first semiconductor chip.
In the same field of endeavor, Duan discloses in fig. 1B, wherein a first sub-post (a first interconnect structure 106 underneath chip 104a) connects a first conductive post 112 to a first semiconductor chip 104a (¶38).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Duan into the package of Chen/Yu to establish connection of the upper semiconductor chip with the lower substrate forming a larger circuit (¶17 of Duan).
Furthermore, Chen as modified by Yu does not expressly disclose wherein a bottom surface of each of the first sub-post, the second sub-post, the third sub-post, and fourth sub-post is coplanar with a bottom surface of the third sub-mold layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Duan discloses in fig. 1B, wherein a bottom surface of each of the first sub-post (a first interconnect structure 106 underneath chip 104a), a second sub-post (a second interconnect structure 106 underneath chip 104a), a third sub-post (a first interconnect structure 106 underneath chip 104b), and a fourth sub-post (a second interconnect structure 106 underneath chip 104b) is coplanar with a bottom surface (e.g., at the A-A’ interface or 142) of a third sub-mold layer 108 (¶35, 38).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to make the first to fourth sub-posts of Chen/Yu coplanar with the bottom surface of the second sub-mold layer to bond the upper package with the lower package including the bridge chip with reduce process complexity (¶1-3 of Duan).
In re claim 16, Chen as modified by Yu and Duan discloses the semiconductor package of claim 15 outlined above.
Chen further discloses in fig. 12, the semiconductor package of claim 15, wherein a conductive pattern of the bridge die (e.g., a conductive pattern comprising a connecting pillar above 150 and 108) directly contacts the second sub-post SubPost2 and the fourth sub- post SubPost4 (see fig. 12 annotated above in claim 15).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view Yu and Elsherbini et al. (US 20210111156 A1; hereinafter “Elsherbini”).
In re claim 20, Chen discloses in fig. 12, a semiconductor package, comprising:
a first semiconductor chip 300 and a second semiconductor chip 400 horizontally spaced apart from each other (¶25-26);
first sub-posts (the connecting structures 300b, 300d, 300e shown in the annotated figure below) (hereinafter “SubPost1”) on a top surface of the first semiconductor chip 300 and connected to the first semiconductor chip 300 (¶25);
second sub-posts (the connecting structures 400b, 400d, 400e shown in the annotated figure below) (hereinafter “SubPost2”) on a top surface of the second semiconductor chip 400 and connected to the second semiconductor chip 400 (¶26);
a first mold layer E2 on the first semiconductor chip 300, the second semiconductor chip 400, the first sub-posts SubPost1, and the second sub-posts SubPost2 (¶31);
a bridge chip (bridge chip comprising bridge die 150; hereinafter “Bridge”) on the first mold layer E1, a portion of the first sub-posts, and a portion of the second sub-posts (e.g., the bridge chip is on the lower surfaces of the first mold layer E1, a portion of the first sub-posts SubPost1, and a portion of the second sub-posts SubPost2);
a second mold layer E1 on the first mold layer E2 (a second mold layer E1 on the lower surface of the first mold layer E2) and the bridge chip 150;
a redistribution substrate RDL2 on the second mold layer E1 and the bridge chip 150 (¶64-66);
first posts TIV vertically penetrating the second mold layer E1 and connecting a remaining portion of the first sub-posts to the redistribution substrate; and
second posts TIV vertically penetrating the second mold layer E1 and connecting a remaining portion of the second sub-posts SubPost2 to the redistribution substrate RDL1,
wherein the bridge chip comprises:
a bridge die 150 connected to a portion of the first sub-posts SubPost1 and a portion of the second sub-posts SubPost2;
a capacitor 100 adjacent to the bridge die 150; and
a penetration via (TIV, 100b, 100d) vertically connected to the capacitor 100 and adjacent to the bridge die 150.
Chen does not expressly disclose the capacitor disposed on a bottom surface of a bridge die, and wherein the capacitor overlaps an entirety of the bridge die vertically.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu discloses, in fig. 15, a semiconductor package 100, comprising:
a capacitor 22 (¶17; chips 22 can be a Deep Trench Capacitor (DTC) interposers) disposed on a bottom surface of a bridge die 68B (¶43), and wherein the capacitor 22 overlaps an entirety of the bridge die 68B vertically.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Yu into the semiconductor package of Chen and form the capacitor as a larger bottom chip underneath the bridge die to meet the high power-efficiency and low latency requirements of packaging of integrated circuits (¶2 of Yu).
Chen as modified by Yu does not expressly disclose first posts connecting a remaining portion of the first sub-posts to the redistribution substrate; and a capacitor on to the bridge die.
In the same field of endeavor, Elsherbini discloses in fig. 1, a semiconductor package 100, wherein first posts 152 connecting a remaining portion of first sub-posts 122, 130-1 to a redistribution substrate 127 (¶24, 35); and a capacitor 114-1 on a bridge die 114-2 (¶24, 29).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ the teachings of Elsherbini into the package of Chen/Yu and form the bridge die in a cavity formed in a connection substrate to help reduce the cost and complexity associated with assembling multi-die IC packages relative to conventional approaches by incorporating double-sided embedded dies with through-silicon vias (TSVs) that enable power signals to be routed through the embedded dies and also to integrate features or functionality and to facilitate connections to other components, such as package substrates (¶1, 14 of Elsherbini).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NILUFA RAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893