DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 11, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kao et al, US Patent Application Publication 2021/0391302
Regarding claim 1, Kao teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a first die 106 including a driver gate configured to drive a first via ladder coupled to a first top metal layer;
and a second die 104 including a load gate coupled to a second via ladder coupled to a second top metal layer, wherein the first die and the second die are stacked three-dimensionally using face-to- face hybrid bonds to couple the first top metal layer to the second top metal layer (figure 1, as labeled below).
Regarding claims 5-6, Kao teaches a network on chip in the first die connects partitioned subsystems of a circuit of the semiconductor device and cross die data communication by the network on chip has a bit width matched to a pin density of the face-to- face hybrid bonds 122, wherein all circuit drivers of the circuit correspond to standard cell drivers (figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Kao teaches a method comprising of providing a first die 106 including a driver gate configured to drive a first via ladder coupled to a first top metal layer; providing a second die 104 including a load gate coupled to a second via ladder coupled to a second top metal layer; and stacking the first die and the second die three-dimensionally using face-to-face hybrid bonds to couple the first top metal layer to the second top metal layer (figure 1, as labeled above).
Regarding claims 15-16, Kao teaches a network on chip in the first die connects partitioned subsystems of a circuit of a semiconductor device and cross die data communication by the network on chip has a bit width matched to a pin density of the face-to- face hybrid bonds 122, wherein all circuit drivers of the circuit correspond to standard cell drivers (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al, US Patent Application Publication 2021/0391302 in view of Pratt, US Patent 7,800,238.
Regarding claim 20, Kao teaches a system comprising a semiconductor device includes: a first die 104 including a driver gate configured to drive a first via ladder coupled to a first top metal layer; and a second die 106 including a load gate coupled to a second via ladder coupled to a second top metal layer, wherein the first die and the second die are stacked three-dimensionally using face-to-face hybrid bonds to couple the first top metal layer to the second top metal layer (figure 1, as labeled above).
Kao fails to teach a display device; and a semiconductor device configured to process images rendered to the display device.
However, Pratt teaches that display devices are one of several electrical components that uses a three-dimension chip stack (see column 7, line 67). Therefore, the reference of Pratt then teaches the limitations of “a display device; and a semiconductor device configured to process images rendered to the display device”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pratt with that of Kao because display devices are one of several electrical components that uses a three-dimension chip stack.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 , 7-10, 12-14 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
QVJ
/DALE E PAGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899