DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
2. The oath/declaration filed on 12/21/2023 is acceptable.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 12/21/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
5. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takenada et al., hereafter “Takenada” (U.S. Patent No. 11,958,073 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Takenada discloses a display device comprising:
a display area (DA) in which a plurality of display elements (20, Fig.
2) are provided;
a surrounding area (SA) around the display area (DA, Fig. 1); and
a first partition (6, Fig. 3) provided in the surrounding area (SA) (because the surrounding area (SA) around the display area (DA)), wherein
each of the display elements (20) includes a lower electrode (LE1/LE2/LE3), an upper electrode (UE1/UE2/UE3) which faces the lower electrode (LE1/LE2/LE3), and an organic layer (OR1/OR2/OR3) which is provided between the lower electrode (LE1/LE2/LE3) and the upper electrode (UE1/UE2/UE3) and emits light based on a potential difference between the lower electrode and the upper electrode (col. 7, lines 16-26), and the first partition (6) includes a first lower portion(61) and a first upper portion (62) comprising an end portion which protrudes from a side surface of the first lower portion (61) (Fig. 1-3 and col. 3, line 21-col. 7, line 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over PIAO Z (CN-112420776-A) in view of SUN L (CN-115117136-A) and further in view of Takenada et al., hereafter “Takenada” (U.S. Patent No. 11,958,073 B2).
Regarding claim 1, PIAO Z discloses a mother substrate for a display device, comprising:
a plurality of panel portions (20) each of which includes a display area (not shown) in which a plurality of display elements (PE/LEL/CE) are provided;
a margin area around (10) the panel portions (20); and wherein
each of the display elements includes a lower electrode (PE), an upper electrode (CE) which faces the lower electrode (PE), and an organic layer (LEL) which is provided between the lower electrode (PE) and the upper electrode (CE) (Figs. 1-3E and English Text).
PIAO Z discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose a first partition provided in the margin area, the organic layer emits light based on a potential difference between the lower electrode and the upper electrode, and the first partition includes a first lower portion and a first upper portion comprising an end portion which protrudes from a side surface of the first lower portion.
SUN L, however, discloses a first partition (601) provided in the margin area (corresponding to peripheral (103)) (Fig. 2 and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of PIAO Z to provide a first partition provided in the margin area as taught by SUN L for a purpose of improving adhesion to the plurality of partitions.
PIAO Z and SUN L disclose the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose the organic layer emits light based on a potential difference between the lower electrode and the upper electrode, and the first partition includes a first lower portion and a first upper portion comprising an end portion which protrudes from a side surface of the first lower portion.
Takenada, however, discloses the organic layer emits light based on a potential difference between the lower electrode (ANO) and the upper electrode (CAT) (Fig. 3 and col. 7. Lines 16-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of PIAO Z and SUN L to provide the organic layer emits light based on a potential difference between the lower electrode and the upper electrode as taught by Takenada for a purpose of increasing the luminance of the organic EL elements.
PIAO Z, SUN L and Takenada (citations to PIAO Z unless otherwise noted) discloses the first partition (6) includes a first lower portion (61) and a first upper portion (2) comprising an end portion which protrudes from a side surface of the first lower portion (Fig. 3 in Takenada).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2-12 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Takayama (U.S. Patent No. 12,108,631 B2) discloses a display device comprising the first partition (30) includes a first lower portion (31) and a first upper portion (32) comprising an end portion which protrudes from a side surface of the first lower portion (31) (Fig. 5).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897