DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martinis et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0083893.
Regarding claim 1, Martinis discloses a quantum computing system (“quantum computers that are… interconnected by a digital and/or quantum data communication network” [0150]) comprising: a vacuum chamber (“The quantum computing system can include a vacuum chamber configured to receive the chamber mount and dispose the quantum hardware in a vacuum” [Abstract]); an ion trap (“Digital and/or quantum computer-readable media suitable for storing digital and/or quantum computer program instructions and digital and/or quantum data include all forms of non-volatile digital and/or quantum memory, media and memory devices, including by way of example… quantum systems, e.g., trapped atoms or electrons” [0155] – “By way of example, such systems can include atoms, electrons, photons, ions or superconducting qubits” [0147]), wherein the ion trap is inside the vacuum chamber (“The quantum computing system can include a vacuum chamber configured to receive the chamber mount and dispose the quantum hardware in a vacuum” [0005]); and a flex ion trap interconnect electrically coupled to at least a first side of the ion trap (“The quantum computing system can include at least one first flex circuit board coupled to the one or more classical processors by a classical-flex interconnect” [0007]), wherein the flex ion trap interconnect is configured to electrically transmit one or more signals to or from the ion trap (“The classical-flex interconnect can convert from a classical signal transmission medium (e.g., a coaxial cable) to the first flex circuit board(s)” [0040] – where paragraph [0155] identifies that the computer system to which the flex interconnect is connected is an ion trap quantum computer system).
Regarding claim 2, Martinis discloses that the vacuum chamber (“The quantum computing system can include a vacuum chamber configured to receive the chamber mount and dispose the quantum hardware in a vacuum” [0005]) is a cryogenic vacuum chamber (“any other suitable components of quantum hardware 102 discussed with regard to FIG. 1, can be located within cryogenic cooling system 130” [0067]).
Regarding claim 3, Martinis discloses that the flex ion trap interconnect is coated with a metallic coating (“the interconnect pads 602 can be material such as copper to provide improved interfacing with the superconducting ground layer(s) 402 and/or superconducting signal line(s) 406” [0104]).
Regarding claim 4, Martinis discloses that the metallic coating is configured to reduce outgassing from the flex ion trap interconnect at pressures below a pressure of 10-12 Torr.
Martinis discloses that “the interconnect pads 602 can be material such as copper to provide improved interfacing with the superconducting ground layer(s) 402 and/or superconducting signal line(s) 406” [0104], and Rand et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0230731 teaches that “copper… does not outgas” [0031].
Regarding claim 5, Martinis discloses that the flex ion trap interconnect comprises a plurality of conductors (either end of the interconnect) and one or more electrical components (a flex circuit board on one end, and classical processor(s) on the other side) connected to one or more of the plurality of conductors (“the classical processor(s) can be coupled to the first flex circuit board(s) by a classical-flex interconnect” [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Martinis discloses that the flex ion trap interconnect comprises a plurality of layers 402 and 406, and wherein each layer is comprised of at least one conductor (“adhesion layers (not illustrated) can be included between the interconnect pads 602 and the conductive material (e.g., the ground layer(s) 402 and/or the signal line(s) 406)” [0104]).
Regarding claim 8, Martinis discloses that the flex ion trap interconnect 334 is further electrically coupled to a connector 316 on a first sidewall 308 of the cryogenic vacuum chamber (as illustrated in figure 3 – “a vacuum chamber configured to receive the chamber mount 308 and dispose the quantum hardware 304 in a vacuum” [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, Martinis discloses a package 302, wherein the ion trap 304 (“Digital and/or quantum computer-readable media suitable for storing digital and/or quantum computer program instructions and digital and/or quantum data include all forms of non-volatile digital and/or quantum memory, media and memory devices, including by way of example… quantum systems, e.g., trapped atoms or electrons” [0155] – “By way of example, such systems can include atoms, electrons, photons, ions or superconducting qubits” [0147]) is electrically connected to the package 302 by one or more electrical connections including a first electrical connection 334 (as illustrated in figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Martinis discloses that the first electrical connection of the package and the ion trap is via the flex ion trap interconnect 334, wherein the flex ion trap interconnect 334 is electrically coupled to the ion trap 304 with a first connector 316 and to the package 302 with a second connector 312 (as illustrated in figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, Martinis discloses that the flex ion trap interconnect 334 is further electrically coupled to a sidewall 307 with a third connector 314 (as illustrated in figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinis et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0083893 in view of Folman et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 20090321719.
Regarding claim 7, Martinis discloses a quantum computing system comprising an ion trap (“Digital and/or quantum computer-readable media suitable for storing digital and/or quantum computer program instructions and digital and/or quantum data include all forms of non-volatile digital and/or quantum memory, media and memory devices, including by way of example… quantum systems, e.g., trapped atoms or electrons” [0155] – “By way of example, such systems can include atoms, electrons, photons, ions or superconducting qubits” [0147]), but does not disclose that the ion trap is comprised of sapphire.
Folman discloses a quantum computing system (“A specific example of this is the contribution of the ion trap to quantum computing” [0005]) comprising an ion trap comprised of sapphire (“An integrated ion chip for a large scale quantum device of interconnected ion (or other charged particles) traps each holding a small number of particles for a finite period of time, in a preferred embodiment using sapphire as the substrate” [Abstract]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martinis with the sapphire ion trap of Folman in order to utilize a particular substrate on which an ion trap may be formed, selecting the material of the substrate to provide suitable support for forming the ion trap while remaining electrically insulated from voltages applied to the ion trap.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinis et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0083893 in view of Koduri et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0109091.
Regarding claim 13, Martinis discloses the claimed invention except that while Martinis discloses a flexible interconnect (“The quantum computing system can include at least one first flex circuit board coupled to the one or more classical processors by a classical-flex interconnect” [0007]), there is no disclosure of a first, second, or third plurality of terminals.
Koduri discloses a flex interconnect 410 (“a flexible interconnect is mounted to the first chip” [0071]) further comprising a first connector comprising a first plurality of electrical terminals 440 at a first end (as illustrated in figure 4); and a second connector 450 comprising a second plurality of electrical terminals at a second end (as illustrated in figure 4); and a third connector comprising a third plurality of electrical terminals 460 located between the first connector and the second connector (as illustrated in figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martinis with the electrical terminals of Koduri in order to provide additional electrical signals through a single interconnect, thereby saving space for transmitting a plurality of electrical signals to an electrical device.
Regarding claim 14, Martinis discloses the claimed invention except that while Martinis discloses a flexible interconnect (“The quantum computing system can include at least one first flex circuit board coupled to the one or more classical processors by a classical-flex interconnect” [0007]), there is no disclosure of a first, second, or third plurality of terminals.
Koduri discloses a flex interconnect 410 (“a flexible interconnect is mounted to the first chip” [0071]) further comprising a first connector comprising a first plurality of electrical terminals 440 at a first end (as illustrated in figure 4); and a second connector 450 comprising a second plurality of electrical terminals at a second end (as illustrated in figure 4); and a third connector comprising a third plurality of electrical terminals 460 located between the first connector and the second connector (as illustrated in figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Martinis with the electrical terminals of Koduri in order to provide additional electrical signals through a single interconnect, thereby saving space for transmitting a plurality of electrical signals to an electrical device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11; Martinis et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0083893 discloses a quantum computing system (“quantum computers that are… interconnected by a digital and/or quantum data communication network” [0150]) comprising: a vacuum chamber (“The quantum computing system can include a vacuum chamber configured to receive the chamber mount and dispose the quantum hardware in a vacuum” [Abstract]); an ion trap (“Digital and/or quantum computer-readable media suitable for storing digital and/or quantum computer program instructions and digital and/or quantum data include all forms of non-volatile digital and/or quantum memory, media and memory devices, including by way of example… quantum systems, e.g., trapped atoms or electrons” [0155] – “By way of example, such systems can include atoms, electrons, photons, ions or superconducting qubits” [0147]), wherein the ion trap is inside the vacuum chamber (“The quantum computing system can include a vacuum chamber configured to receive the chamber mount and dispose the quantum hardware in a vacuum” [0005]); and a flex ion trap interconnect electrically coupled to at least a first side of the ion trap (“The quantum computing system can include at least one first flex circuit board coupled to the one or more classical processors by a classical-flex interconnect” [0007]), wherein the flex ion trap interconnect is configured to electrically transmit one or more signals to or from the ion trap (“The classical-flex interconnect can convert from a classical signal transmission medium (e.g., a coaxial cable) to the first flex circuit board(s)” [0040] – where paragraph [0155] identifies that the computer system to which the flex interconnect is connected is an ion trap quantum computer system). However, there is no explicit disclosure that one or more electrical connections include a second electrical connection of the ion trap to a package including at least one TSV and associated bond bump.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a quantum computing system comprising: a package, wherein an ion trap is electrically connected to the package by one or more electrical connections including a first electrical connection via a flex ion trap interconnect; wherein a second electrical connection of the ion trap to the package includes at least one TSV and associated bond bump.
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881