DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18, 31-33, and 36, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 1,338,091 A to Reid et al. (hereinafter Reid).
Regarding claims 16-18, 31-33, and 36, Reid teaches a catalyst composition for the production of polyester (page 2, ln 5-20), the catalyst comprises at least one metal atom attached to at least one anionic ligand, wherein the remaining valence requirements of the metal atom is satisfied by one or more ligands being the anion of an acid having the formula
, wherein X1 and X2 is R, wherein R is an alkyl group such as methyl, ethyl, propyl, and butyl (page 2, ln 5-23), Z is specifically phosphorus (page 2, ln 34), and the metal atom is Zn+2 (page 6, ln 45). Specifically, the catalyst composition comprises Zinc dimethylphosphinate (See Table I) with titanium dioxide, wherein dimethyl terephthalate and ethylene glycol are esterified and polymerized in a reaction at 200-280 deg C at a pressure of 0.5 mmHg (i.e. 0.67 mbar) for 30 min to 3 hours, to form a polyester, (page 9, ln 30 to page 11, ln 1), which meets claims 16, 30-33 and 36. Reid further teaches that X1 and X2 may be ethyl groups, (page 2, ln 22), which correlates to a diethylphosphinate when used with above Zn+2, and meets claim 17-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-29, 34 and 35, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid as applied to claims 16 and 31above, and further in view of US 5,981,690 A to Lustig et al. (hereinafter Lustig).
Regarding claims 19-29, 34 and 35, Reid teaches the catalyst composition cited in claim 16 and 31.
Reid does not explicitly teach the tetrahydrocarbyl titanate or titanium chelate, and/or the molar ratio of cocatalyst A to Ti.
However, Lustig teaches a polyester such as a poly(alkyl arylate) of PET, polymerized from a catalyst system of an organic titanate-ligand with a cocatalyst such as an organic phosphors (col 2, ln 24-45) used in the same field of the Applicant’s invention of polyester catalysts. Lustig further teaches examples of organic titanates that may be used include tetraalkyl titanates such as tetrabutyl titanate or triethanolaminoato iospropoxide titanate (col 7, ln 39-43), which meets the claimed tetrahydrocarbyl titanate and/or titanium chelate. Lustig further teaches the catalyst will be dissolved in ethylene glycol (col 8, ln 65-67) solution with the phosphorus compound (col 9, ln 13-16), which meets the claimed solvent, and the molar ratio of P:Ti is within 1:1 to 4:1, (col 9, ln 30-34), which meets the claimed range. Lustig also teaches using the organic titanate ligands reduces/eliminates absorbance of light in the polymer at UV or visible wavelengths to form a PET with improved optical properties (col 3, ln 14-25 and col 6, ln 37-47), with the molar ratio range giving acceptable catalytic activity and coloration. (col 9, ln 34-37).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use organic titanate-ligand as a cocatalyst in the molar ratio of Lustig with the Zinc dialkylphosphinate of Reid because Lustig teaches the same field of the Applicant’s invention of polyester catalysts and Lustig also teaches using the organic titanate ligands reduces/eliminates absorbance of light in the polymer at UV or visible wavelengths to form a PET with improved optical properties (col 3, ln 14-25 and col 6, ln 37-47), and the molar ratio range gives acceptable catalytic activity and coloration. (col 9, ln 34-37).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766