DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are under consideration
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/07/2026.
Applicant traverses on grounds of sufficiently related subject matter. This basis does not overcome the burden as established in the restriction requirement mailed 06/22/2026. Applicant may request rejoinder if appropriate under MPEP should allowable subject matter be identified; as such, the remarks are not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11-13 recite the limitation "the second repeating unit represented by Formula 3". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of examination, the examiner will interpret this as “the third repeating unit represented by Formula 3”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yahagi (US20180210338A1, published 2018).
Regarding claims 1-13,
Yahagi teaches a resist composition comprising of a polymer comprising of structural units (a0) and (a10) as shown below [0061, 0072-0073, 0146-0147, 0155, 0173-0174], where Rα may be H or methyl.
Yahagi further teaches an example polymeric compound A1-2 comprising of the following structural units [0819-0820, table 1], where structural unit (a01) aligns with the instant first repeating unit and structural unit (a101) aligns with the instant third repeating unit, reading on instant claims 1-7 and 11-13.
Yahagi further teaches including other structural units such as butyl (meth)acrylate [0206-0207], which would include the following structures, reading on instant claims 7-10.
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchimura (US20170121437A1, published 2017).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-13,
Tsuchimura teaches the following polymer [0062, table 1], where the 1st structural from the left reads on the instant third repeating unit, and the 2nd structural unit from the left reads on the instant first repeating unit, reading on instant claims 1-5, 7, and 11-13.
Tsuchimura also teaches the following polymer [0062, table 1], where the 1st structural unit from the left reads on the instant third repeating unit, the 2nd structural unit from the left reads on the instant second repeating unit, and the 4th structural unit from the left reads on the instant first repeating unit, reading on instant claims 1-5 and 7-12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20160299428A1, US20190018319A1, and US20140170560A1 each teach similar polymer compositions.
/Alexander N. Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1737