DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination these limitations are considered as optional steps.
The term “a relatively large current” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a relatively large current” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 15 is indefinite because of its dependence on indefinite claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van der Wiel (US 2020/0371168).
Regarding claim 2, Van der Wiel discloses the semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (Figs. 1-3; numeral 20) comprising: an excitation circuit (22) for generating an excitation signal, and a sensing circuit (62); (64) for measuring or detecting a response signal, and a soft-magnetic component for guiding magnetic flux lines; wherein the soft-magnetic component (50); (52); (59) is electrically connected to said excitation circuit and to said sensing circuit by at least two electrical contacts; wherein the at least two electrical contacts are back contacts situated at a bottom surface of the soft-magnetic component or side contacts situated at a lateral surface of the soft magnetic component (Fig3., (59) is connected to (22) via back contacts); wherein the semiconductor device is configured to detect a defect based on the response signal ([0063]; [0083]).
Regarding claim 14, Van der Wiel discloses a method of producing a semiconductor substrate comprising the steps of: a) providing a semiconductor substrate (Figs. 1-3; numeral 20) comprising electronic circuitry (22), comprising at least an excitation circuit (22), and a processing circuit ([0002]); b) optionally providing a buffer layer on top of the semiconductor substrate (note: this step is optional); c) making at least two openings through an upper layer of the semiconductor substrate, to form excitation contacts and/or sensing contacts in electrical connection with said circuitry (Fig. 1; [0056]); d) optionally providing at least one seed layer of an electrically conductive material (note: this step is optional); e) providing a soft-magnetic material (50, (520, (59), e.g. by sputtering and/or by electroplating (note: 112 rejections above).
Regarding claim 17, Van der Wiel discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate further comprises a buffer layer ([0052]); and wherein the soft-magnetic component is arranged on top of this buffer layer (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 20, Van der Wiel does disclose wherein the soft-magnetic component has a circular shape; and wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a plurality of at least two Horizontal Hall elements arranged near a periphery of the soft-magnetic component; and wherein the soft-magnetic component is electrically connected to the semiconductor substrate by a plurality of at least two electrical contacts (Fig.2).
Claim(s) 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Honkura (US 2020/0124686).
Regarding claim 2, Honkura discloses the semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 3; numeral 4) comprising: an excitation circuit (Fig.4, numeral 5) for generating an excitation signal, and a sensing circuit (62); (64) for measuring or detecting a response signal, and a soft-magnetic component for guiding magnetic flux lines; wherein the soft-magnetic component (21); (22) is electrically connected to said excitation circuit and to said sensing circuit (5) by at least two electrical contacts (Fig.3, numeral 43, 44); wherein the at least two electrical contacts are back contacts situated at a bottom surface of the soft-magnetic component or side contacts situated at a lateral surface of the soft magnetic component ([0067])); wherein the semiconductor device is configured to detect a defect based on the response signal ([0067]]).
Regarding claim 5, Honkura discloses wherein the excitation circuit is electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component at a first and a second excitation contact; and wherein the sensing circuit is electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component at a first and a second sensing contact (Fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Wiel.
Regarding claim 3, Van der Wiel discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate further comprises at least one electromagnetic transducer (Fig.2, numeral 62) arranged in close vicinity of the soft- magnetic component; and wherein the semiconductor substrate further comprises an energizing and readout circuit connected to said at least one electromagnetic transducer ([0065]).
Van der Wiel does not explicitly disclose wherein the semiconductor device has a first mode of operation, wherein the excitation circuit and sensing circuit are actively used to detect a defect; and wherein the semiconductor device has a second mode of operation, wherein the excitation circuit is deactivated, and the energizing and readout circuit are used to obtain a signal from the electromagnetic transducers.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the semiconductor device has a first mode of operation, wherein the excitation circuit and sensing circuit are actively used to detect a defect; and wherein the semiconductor device has a second mode of operation, wherein the excitation circuit is deactivated, and the energizing and readout circuit are used to obtain a signal from the electromagnetic transducers for the purpose of forming an operable device.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Van der Wiel discloses wherein the at least one electromagnetic transducer is at least one Hall element; or wherein the at least one electromagnetic transducer is at least one coil (Fig. 2, numeral 62).
Claim(s) 1, 7-10, 12, and13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Wiel (US 2020/0371168) in view of Deak (US 2021/0103009).
Regarding claim 1, Van der Wiel discloses a semiconductor device (Figs. 1-3), comprising: a semiconductor substrate (20) comprising: an excitation circuit (22) for applying an excitation signal ([0061]), and a soft-magnetic component (50), (52), (59) for guiding magnetic flux lines ([0058]; [0059]); wherein the soft-magnetic component (50), (52), (59) is electrically connected to said excitation circuit (22) by at least two electrical contacts(Fig.3; note: (59) is a part of soft magnetic component is connected with back-contacts and vias to (22)); wherein the at least two electrical contacts are back contacts situated at a bottom surface of the soft-magnetic component or side contacts situated at a lateral surface of the soft magnetic component (Fig.3); wherein the semiconductor substrate (20) further comprises at least one electromagnetic transducer (2)arranged in close vicinity of the soft-magnetic component, and operatively connected thereto (Fig.2; [0065]).
Van der Wiel does not disclose wherein the excitation circuit comprises a modulator for providing a modulated signal to the soft- magnetic component in order to modulate its magnetic permeability; wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a demodulator configured to demodulate signals obtained from the at least one electromagnetic transducer.
Deak however discloses wherein the excitation circuit comprises a modulator (Figs. 1, 2, numerals 10, 11) for providing a modulated signal to the soft- magnetic component in order to modulate its magnetic permeability ([0048]; [0049]); wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a demodulator configured to demodulate signals obtained from the at least one electromagnetic transducer (Abstract).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Van der Wiel with Deak to have the excitation circuit comprises a modulator for providing a modulated signal to the soft- magnetic component in order to modulate its magnetic permeability; wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a demodulator configured to demodulate signals obtained from the at least one electromagnetic transducer for the purpose reducing the noise of the sensor (Deak, Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Van der Wiel discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate further comprises a buffer layer; and wherein the soft-magnetic component is arranged on top of this buffer layer (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, Van der Wiel discloses wherein the excitation circuit and the sensing circuit are electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component by electrical interconnections passing through the buffer layer (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 9, Van der Wiel does not disclose biasing means for generating a DC magnetic field in the soft-magnetic component.
It would have been however obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to have biasing means for generating a DC magnetic field in the soft-magnetic component for the purpose of fabrication operable device.
Regarding claim 10, Van der Wiel discloses wherein the soft-magnetic component has a cross-section with rounded or truncated edges or corners (Fig.2).
Regarding claims 12, Van der Wiel discloses wherein the soft-magnetic component has a circular shape; and wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a plurality of at least two Horizontal Hall elements arranged near a periphery of the soft-magnetic component; and wherein the soft-magnetic component is electrically connected to the semiconductor substrate by a plurality of at least two electrical contacts (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 13, Van der Wiel does not disclose a second soft-magnetic component (IMC2); wherein the first soft magnetic component (IMC1) comprises at least a first and second electrical contact; and wherein the second soft magnetic component (IMC2) comprises at least a third and fourth electrical contact; and wherein the second electrical contact is electrically connected to the third electrical contact in the semiconductor substrate; and wherein the excitation signal is applied to the first electrical contact, and the sensed signal is obtained from the fourth electrical contact.
It would have been however obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to provide multiple sensing elements connected to a common electronic circuit for the purpose of fabrication an operable device.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Wiel as applied to claims 2 above, and further in view of Honkura (US 2020/0124686).
Regarding claim 5, Van der Wiel does not disclose wherein the excitation circuit is electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component at a first and a second excitation contact; and wherein the sensing circuit is electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component at a first and a second sensing contact.
Honkura however discloses wherein the excitation circuit is electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component at a first and a second excitation contact; and wherein the sensing circuit is electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component at a first and a second sensing contact (Fig.1).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the time the invention was field to modify Van der Wiel with Honkura to have the excitation circuit is electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component at a first and a second excitation contact; and wherein the sensing circuit is electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component at a first and a second sensing contact for the purpose of forming an operable device.
Regarding claim 6, Honkura discloses wherein the first excitation contact coincides with the first sensing contact and the second excitation contact coincides with the second sensing contact; or wherein the first and the second sensing contact are situated between the first and the second excitation contact (Fig.1)
Claim(s) 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Wiel as applied to claims 2 and 17 above, and further in view of Honkura.
Regarding claim 18, Van der Wiel does not disclose wherein the excitation circuit and the sensing circuit are electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component by electrical interconnections passing through the buffer layer.
Honkura however discloses the excitation circuit and the sensing circuit are electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component by electrical interconnections passing through the buffer layer (Fig. 1).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Van der Wiel with Honkura to have the excitation circuit and the sensing circuit are electrically connected to the soft-magnetic component by electrical interconnections passing through the buffer layer for the purpose of fabrication an operable device.
Regarding claim 19, Van der Wiel does not disclose biasing means for generating a DC magnetic field in the soft-magnetic component.
It would have been however obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to have biasing means for generating a DC magnetic field in the soft-magnetic component for the purpose of fabrication operable device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Wael in view of Deak as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakada (US 2014/0340183).
Regarding claim 11, Van der Wiel does not disclose wherein the semiconductor substrate further comprises two soft-magnetic trapezoidal shapes arranged near opposite ends of the soft- magnetic element.
Nakada however discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate further comprises two soft-magnetic trapezoidal shapes arranged near opposite ends of the soft- magnetic element (Fig. 1; numerals 3, 4, 6).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Van der Wield with Nakada to have two soft-magnetic trapezoidal shapes arranged near opposite ends of the soft- magnetic element for the purpose of optimization device performance (Nakada, [0026]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van der Wiel as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Nakada (US 2014/0340183) and Ao (US 2004/0131887).
Regarding claim 15, Van der Wiel discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate provided in step a) is a CMOS substrate; wherein the semiconductor substrate (Figs. 1-3, numeral 20) provided in step a) further comprises at least two horizontal Hall elements (62), and a biasing and readout circuit ([0002]) ; wherein the method further comprises: providing at least one seed layer of an electrically conductive material ([0018]); wherein the semiconductor substrate provided in step a) further comprises a buffer layer on top of the semiconductor substrate ([0052]).
Van der Wiel does not disclose (1) a step of wet etching or anisotropic etching after applying the soft-magnetic material, in order to provide rounded or truncated ends and/or edges ([0078]); (2) wherein the method further comprises step f) of annealing the soft-magnetic material while applying a static magnetic field oriented in a direction parallel to the semiconductor substrate; wherein the method further comprises a step of creating an easy magnetization axis by flowing a relatively large current through the soft-magnetic component during a predefined time.
Regarding element (1), Nakada discloses a step of anisotropic etching after applying the soft-magnetic material, in order to provide rounded or truncated ends and/or edges ([0078]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Van der Wiel with Nakada to perform a step of anisotropic etching after applying the soft-magnetic material, in order to provide rounded or truncated ends and/or edges for the purpose of optimization device performance (Nakada, [0026]).
Regarding element (2), Ao discloses of annealing the soft-magnetic material while applying a static magnetic field oriented in a direction parallel to the semiconductor substrate ([0073]); wherein the method further comprises a step of creating an easy magnetization axis by flowing a relatively large current through the soft-magnetic component during a predefined time ([0078]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Van der Wiel with Ao to perform of annealing the soft-magnetic material while applying a static magnetic field oriented in a direction parallel to the semiconductor substrate; wherein the method further comprises a step of creating an easy magnetization axis by flowing a relatively large current through the soft-magnetic component during a predefined time for the purpose of improving magnetic properties (Ao, [0073]).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891