DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-12 and 17-20) in the reply filed on 4/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 17 comprise the phrase “a roughness of the second side surface varies according to area”. The phrase is indefinite as specific areas are not determined, and any two areas on any surface which can be selected at the nanometer level can contain different roughness, if the areas are selected with the goal of providing a greater or lesser relative roughness. As the metes and bounds of the Claims cannot properly ascertained, the Claims are properly rejected as being indefinite. Further clarification is required. Claims 2-12 and 18-20 are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 1 and 17 respectively.
Claims 8 and 12 comprise the term “approximately”. The metes and bounds of the Claims are not properly ascertained as the term “approximately” is a relative term. Therefore, the Claims are properly rejected as being indefinite.
Claims 8-12 and 18-20 comprise the terms “corresponding” or “correspond”. The metes and bounds of the Claims are not properly ascertained as the term “corresponding” or “correspond” are relative terms . Therefore, the Claims are properly rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 , 9-10 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 10,553,489).
With respect to Claim 1, Huang et al discloses a semiconductor die (Figures 2 and 6-7)comprising: a first surface (top surface of die); a second surface opposite to the first surface (bottom surface of die); and a first side surface, a second surface, a third side surface, and a fourth side surface between the first surface and the second surface (side surfaces of rectangular die between top surface and bottom surface), wherein the first side surface faces the third side surface and the second side surface faces the fourth side surface (opposite side surfaces of rectangular die face each other), and wherein a roughness of the second side surface varies according to area (center is rougher), and a roughness of at least a portion of the second side surface is greater than that of the first side surface (center of second side surface is free of cracks). See Claim 19, and Figures 2 and 6-7 and corresponding text, especially column 9, line 5 to column 10, line 10.
With respect to Claim 6, Huang et al discloses “the first side surface includes a roughness increasing portion having a roughness greater than that of the first side surface at a corner that is in contact with the second side surface”, as all of the side surfaces are in contact. See Claim 19 of Huang et al.
With respect to Claim 9, the first side surface and the third side surface have shapes corresponding to each other (rectangular). See Figures 2 and 6-7 of Huang et al.
With respect to Claim 10, the second side surface and the fourth side surface have shapes corresponding to each other (rectangular). See Figures 2 and 6-7 of Huang et al.
With respect to Claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected for the reasons as discussed with respect to Claim 1. Moreover, Huang et al disclose a package substrate; an interposer mounted on the package substrate; and a semiconductor chip mounted on the interposer. See column 9, lines 1-20. Furthermore, with respect to the limitation “at least some of the second side surface has cracks therein and has a roughness greater than that of the first side surface, and a roughness of the second side surface varies according to area”, the limitation is disclosed in Claim 19 of Huang et al. See Claim 19 of Huang et al (saw tooth marks being considered cracks).
With respect to Claim 18, and the limitation the first side surface and the third side surface have a shape corresponding to each other (rectangular). See Figures 2 and 6-7 of Huang et al.
With respect to Claim 19, and the limitation the second side surface and the fourth side surface have a shape corresponding to each other (rectangular). See Figures 2 and 6-7 of Huang et al.
With respect to Claim 20, and the limitation “the cracks are arranged along a direction intersecting a direction in which the first surface and the second surface are spaced apart from each other” , Huang discloses the saw tooth marks are aligned in a vertical direction between the top and bottom surfaces. See Claim 19 and Figure 7 and corresponding text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 10,553,489).
Huang et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Huang et al do not disclose “ at least some areas of the roughness increasing portion has a shape that is more concavely recessed toward a center of the first side surface than adjacent areas” (Claim 7); “each area of the first side surface has a roughness approximately corresponding to each other over an entirety of the first side surface” (Claim 8); “each area of the fourth side surface has a roughness approximately corresponding to each other over an entirety of the fourth side surface” (Claim 11); “the roughness of the first side surface approximately corresponds to that of the fourth side surface” (Claim 12).
With respect to Claims 7-8 and 11-12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the presently claimed limitations, as changes in shape are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
AGG
June 3, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812