DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 20–23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 11, the claimed, “the high voltage signal” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Claims 20–23 depend on claim 16, but should depend on method claim 19. (going forward, claims 20–23 will treated as though they depend from method claim 19.)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a main module”, “an adapter module”, “an adapter controller”, and “a signal processing component” in claim 1 and its related dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suita et al. (US Pub. # 20090260443), hereinafter referred to as Suita.
Regarding claim 19, Suita teaches, “A method of testing an acoustic transducer, the method comprising: transmitting an impact signal to one or more transducing elements of the acoustic transducer (Fig. 1, ref. # 1, 11, 13; para. [0031, 0040]); receiving an impact response signal (via 18; [0043]) from the one or more transducing elements in response to the impact signal (para. [0040]) and a reflected signal (para. [0042]) from a reflector (ref. # 12; para. [0035–0036]) in response to the impact signal; and evaluating the impact response signal and the reflected signal to determine an operation state of the acoustic transducer (ref. # 14, 18 w/ 15, 19; ‘s3’, ‘s4’, ‘s5’; see para. [0080–0082]).”
Regarding claim 21, Suita teaches, “wherein evaluating the impact response signal and the reflected signal to determine the operation state of the acoustic transducer comprises evaluating the operation state of each transducing element (see para. [0019, 0031, 0080–0082]).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suita (US Pub. # 20090260443) in view of Moore et al. (US Pub. # 20110030448), hereinafter referred to as Moore.
Regarding claim 20, Suita does not appear to teach, “wherein the impact signal comprises a high voltage signal.” However, Moore teaches the deficiencies of Suita (Fig. 5, ref. # 505; para. [0064–0065]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suita’s invention to include wherein the impact signal comprises a high voltage signal.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Suita’s invention for at least the purpose of testing the acoustic system over a wide range of signal values, ensuring capture of all signal values over the entire array of available options.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suita (US Pub. # 20090260443) in view of Anand (US Pub. # 20200000435).
Regarding claim 22, Suita does not appear to teach, “wherein evaluating the impact response signal and the reflected signal to determine the operation state of the acoustic transducer comprises evaluating the operation state of a transducer cable.” However, Anand teaches the deficiencies of Suita (see para. [0004]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suita’s invention to include wherein evaluating the impact response signal and the reflected signal to determine the operation state of the acoustic transducer comprises evaluating the operation state of a transducer cable.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Suita’s invention for at least the purpose of ensuring proper functioning of all available connections to the probe.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suita (US Pub. # 20090260443) in view of Thattari Kandiyil et al. (US Pub. # 20140241115), hereinafter referred to as Thattari.
Regarding claim 23, Suita does not appear to teach, “predicting a failure likelihood of the acoustic transducer based on the impact response signal, the reflected signal, and the operation state of the acoustic transducer.” However, Thattari teaches the deficiencies of Suita (see para. [0034]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suita’s invention to include predicting a failure likelihood of the acoustic transducer based on the impact response signal, the reflected signal, and the operation state of the acoustic transducer.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Suita’s invention for at least the purpose of ensuring efficient notification or alerting that a critical component may degrading or failing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1–18 are allowed (claim 11 objected to above).
Regarding claims 1–18, the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed, “an adapter controller programmable to be compatible with a plurality of different acoustic transducers, the adapter controller operable to: receive the test signal from the main module; adapt the test signal based on one or more operating parameters of the acoustic transducer; and transmit the test signal to the acoustic transducer; and a signal processing component for receiving one or more reflected signals from one or more respective transducing elements of the acoustic transducer in response to the test signal and converting the one or more reflected signals to a transducer data signal representative of an operation state of the acoustic transducer.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO–892 form. The references cited herewith teach acoustic transducers and systems with similar operation as compared to the present application.
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852