DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 08/07/2026, claims 1 and 3 have been amended. Claims 1-9 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/19/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 2015/0219180, cited on 05/19/2026 IDS, hereinafter Tan), in view of Yoshida (JP 2018197592A).
Regarding claim 1, Tan discloses an actuator (see annotated Tan fig. 2 below, vibration isolator) comprising:
a fixed part; a movable part having a center hole extending in a driving direction (see annotated Tan fig. 2 below for the fixed part and the movable part wherein a Z-coordinate is the recited driving direction);
a drive unit comprising a coil and a magnet and configured to drive the movable part relative to the fixed part along the driving direction (fig. 2 and ¶ 0033, a magnetic block 10b and a coil 10d form the recited drive unit and provide driving force by electromagnetic theory);
a guide portion that is provided in the fixed part to extend in the driving direction and guides driving of the movable part by the drive unit along the driving direction, wherein the guide portion is received in the center hole of the movable part, and wherein the movable part is configured to move relative to the guide portion along the driving direction (see annotated Tan fig. 2 below for the guide portion extending in the recited driving direction. Because the guide portion is disposed within the recited center hole, it would guide driving of the movable part); and
a gas supply portion (fig. 2 and ¶ 0025, clean air compressor 3 is connected to a main body 4 of the vibration isolator through an air pipe 26), but does not disclose the gas supply portion supplies gas between the movable part and the guide portion.
Yoshida teaches, in an analogous actuator field of endeavor, a gas supply portion that supplies gas between the movable part and the guide portion (Yoshida English translation, p. 3:35-4:2 and fig. 1, an actuator 10 comprises a cylinder 20 [corresponds to the recited fixed part], a rod 24 [corresponds to the recited movable part], and an exhaust groove 44 [corresponds to the recited gas supply portion] which discharges compressed gas. The rod 24 and the exhaust groove 44 of Yoshida can be combined with the actuator of Tan having the guide portion at the center of the movable part to dispose to gas supply portion of Yoshida to supply gas between the movable part and the guide portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator of Tan to provide the gas supply portion as taught by Yoshida so that a piston floats to move smoothly in a cylinder (Yoshida English translation, p. 3:35-38).
Annotated Tan Fig. 2
Regarding claim 2, Tan as modified by Yoshida teaches the actuator as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the drive unit annularly surrounds the guide portion when viewed in the driving direction (see annotated Tan fig. 2 above, the coil 10d [correspond to the recited drive unit] surrounds the recited guide portion] when viewed in the driving direction).
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen (CN 114078682A), in view of Tan et al. (US 2015/0219180, cited on 05/19/2026 IDS, hereinafter Tan).
Regarding claim 3, Sen discloses, in figs. 2 and 3, a tilt control device (control unit 60) comprising:
a plurality of actuators that control a tilt of a driven body by driving a plurality of driven locations in the driven body (Sen English translation, p. 15:21-25, the control unit 60 controls a plurality of actuators 86 to control tilt of a carrier table 2 [corresponds to the recited driven body]. The driven locations are locations where the plurality of actuators 86 is positioned), but does not disclose each of the actuators includes a fixed part, a movable part that is located at the driven location and has a center hole extending in a driving direction, a drive unit comprising a coil and a magnet and configured to drive the movable part together with the driven location relative to the fixed part along the driving direction, and a guide portion that is provided in the fixed part to extend in the driving direction and guides driving of the movable part and the driven location by the drive unit along the driving direction, wherein the guide portion is received in the center hole of the movable part, and wherein the movable part is configured to move relative to the guide portion along the driving direction.
Tan teaches, in an analogous actuator field of endeavor, each of the actuators (see annotated Tan fig. 2 above, vibration isolator) includes
a fixed part, a movable part that is located at the driven location and has a center hole extending in a driving direction (see annotated Tan fig. 2 below for the fixed part and the movable part wherein a Z-coordinate is the recited driving direction),
a drive unit comprising a coil and a magnet and configured to drive the movable part together with the driven location relative to the fixed part along the driving direction (fig. 2 and ¶ 0033, a magnetic block 10b and a coil 10d form the recited drive unit and provide driving force by electromagnetic theory), and
a guide portion that is provided in the fixed part to extend in the driving direction and guides driving of the movable part and the driven location by the drive unit along the driving direction, wherein the guide portion is received in the center hole of the movable part, and wherein the movable part is configured to move relative to the guide portion along the driving direction (see annotated Tan fig. 2 above for the guide portion extending in the recited driving direction. Because the guide portion is disposed within the recited center hole, it would guide driving of the movable part).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tilt control device of Sen to provide the actuators as taught by Tan so that the actuator provides linear motion to facilitate operation of a mechanical device.
Regarding claim 5, Sen as modified by Tan teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the drive unit annularly surrounds the guide portion when viewed in the driving direction (see annotated Tan fig. 2 above, the coil 10d [correspond to the recited drive unit] surrounds the recited guide portion] when viewed in the driving direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tilt control device of Sen as modified by Tan to provide the drive unit surrounding the guide portion as taught by Tan. It promotes the correct linear motion of the movable part.
Regarding claim 6, Sen as modified by Tan teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein at least three actuators are provided (Sen fig. 5, the tilt control device comprises at least three actuators 86a).
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen in view of Tan, as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Yoshida.
Regarding claim 4, Sen as modified by Tan teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 3, but does not disclose each of the actuators includes a gas supply portion that supplies gas between the movable part and the guide portion.
Yoshida teaches, in an analogous actuator field of endeavor, each of the actuators includes a gas supply portion that supplies gas between the movable part and the guide portion (Yoshida English translation, p. 3:35-4:2 and fig. 1, an actuator 10 comprises a cylinder 20 [corresponds to the recited fixed part], a rod 24 [corresponds to the recited movable part], and an exhaust groove 44 [corresponds to the recited gas supply portion] which discharges compressed gas. The rod 24 and the exhaust groove 44 of Yoshida can be combined with the actuator of Kim having the guide portion at the center of the movable part to dispose to gas supply portion of Yoshida to supply gas between the movable part and the guide portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tilt control device of Sen as modified by Tan to provide the gas supply portion as taught by Yoshida so that a piston floats to move smoothly in a cylinder (Yoshida English translation, p. 3:35-38).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen in view of Tan, as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Tseng (US 2022/0208585).
Regarding claim 7, Sen as modified by Tan teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein a table as the driven body whose tilt is controlled by the tilt control device (Sen English translation, p. 15:21-25, the control unit 60 controls a plurality of actuators 86 to control tilt of a carrier table 2 [corresponds to the recited driven body]), but does not disclose a stage device comprising a plurality of linear motors configured to move the table.
Tseng teaches, in an analogous stage device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a stage device comprising a plurality of linear motors configured to move the table (abstract, an x-y stage includes linear motors. A table fastened to a decoupling member is movable in x-y directions. The linear motors of Tseng can be combined with the table of Sen to move the table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tilt control device of Sen as modified by Tan to provide the linear motors for moving the table as taught by Tseng in order to place the table in a right place for process operation.
Regarding claim 8, Sen as modified by Tan and Tseng teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein a processing apparatus processes a workpiece placed on the table that is positioned by the stage device (Sen English translation, p. 6:8-10, a substrate W [corresponds to the recited workpiece] is placed on the table 2 and is processed by a processing apparatus. Examiner notes claim does not present what the processing apparatus is).
Regarding claim 9, Sen as modified by Tan and Tseng teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein a device manufacturing method comprising: manufacturing a device through processing of the workpiece using the processing apparatus (Sen English translation, p. 6:8-10, the substrate W [corresponds to the recited device] is processed through a manufacturing method by using the processing apparatus. Examiner notes claim dose not present what the device manufacturing method is).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 3 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tan.
Applicant argues Kim does not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that the movable part has a center hole extending in a driving direction and the guide portion is received in the center hole of the movable part.
Examiner acknowledges the actuator of Kim does not disclose the recited movable part has a center hole which receives the recited guide portion in it. However, Tan, cited on the 05/19/2026 IDS, discloses the recited center hole.
Conclusion
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723