DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 04/20/2026, claims 1, 3, 7, and 8 have been amended. Claims 1-9 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 100273437B1), in view of Yoshida (JP 2018197592A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an actuator (linear actuator 100) (see annotated Kim fig. 1 below) comprising:
a fixed part (an upper frame 111, an intermediate frame 112, and a lower frame 113 form a recited fixed part);
a movable part (a mover 122, a piston 140, and a drive shaft 130 form a recited movable part);
a drive unit comprising a coil and a magnet and configured to drive the movable part relative to the fixed part along a driving direction (Kim English translation, p. 4:1-9, a drive motor 120 comprises a plurality of coils 121b and the mover 122 comprises a magnet 112b to face the coil; p. 5:25-26, when power is applied to the drive motor 120, the mover 122 [corresponds to the recited movable part] reciprocates linearly); and
a guide portion that is provided in the fixed part to extend in the driving direction and guides driving of the movable part by the drive unit along the driving direction, wherein the guide portion is located at a center of the movable part when viewed in the driving direction, and wherein the movable part is configured to move relative to the guide portion along the driving direction (Kim English translation, p. 6:20-22, a cylinder portion 110a [corresponds to the recited guide portion] is provided in the upper frame 111 [corresponds to the recited fixed part] and is located at a center of the mover 122 [corresponds to the recited movable part]. The cylinder portion 110a extends in the driving direction. The piston 140 [corresponds to the recited movable part] to move in a straight line relative to the cylinder portion along the driving direction), but does not disclose a gas supply portion that supplies gas between the movable part and the guide portion.
Yoshida teaches, in an analogous actuator field of endeavor, a gas supply portion that supplies gas between the movable part and the guide portion (Yoshida English translation, p. 3:35-4:2 and fig. 1, an actuator 10 comprises a cylinder 20 [corresponds to the recited fixed part], a rod 24 [corresponds to the recited movable part], and an exhaust groove 44 [corresponds to the recited gas supply portion] which discharges compressed gas. The rod 24 and the exhaust groove 44 of Yoshida can be combined with the actuator of Kim having the guide portion at the center of the movable part to dispose to gas supply portion of Yoshida to supply gas between the movable part and the guide portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator of Kim to provide the gas supply portion as taught by Yoshida so that a piston floats to move smoothly in a cylinder (Yoshida English translation, p. 3:35-38).
Annotated Kim Fig. 1
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified by Yoshida teaches the actuator as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the drive unit annularly surrounds the guide portion when viewed in the driving direction (see annotated Kim fig. 1 above, the magnet 112b and the coil 121b [correspond to the recited drive unit] surrounds the drive shaft 130 [corresponds to the recited guide portion] when viewed in the driving direction).
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen (CN 114078682A), in view of Kim (KR 100273437B1).
Regarding claim 3, Sen discloses, in figs. 2 and 3, a tilt control device (control unit 60) comprising:
a plurality of actuators that control a tilt of a driven body by driving a plurality of driven locations in the driven body (Sen English translation, p. 15:21-25, the control unit 60 controls a plurality of actuators 86 to control tilt of a carrier table 2 [corresponds to the recited driven body]. The driven locations are locations where the plurality of actuators 86 is positioned), but does not disclose each of the actuators includes a fixed part, a movable part that is located at the driven location, a drive unit comprising a coil and a magnet and configured to drive the movable part together with the driven location relative to the fixed part along a driving direction, and a guide portion that is provided in the fixed part to extend in the driving direction and guides driving of the movable part and the driven location by the drive unit along the driving direction, wherein the guide portion is located at a center of the movable part when viewed in the driving direction, and wherein the movable part is configured to move relative to the guide portion along the driving direction.
Kim teaches, in an analogous actuator field of endeavor, each of the actuators (linear actuator 100) (see annotated Kim fig. 1 above) includes
a fixed part (an upper frame 111, an intermediate frame 112, and a lower frame 113 form a recited fixed part),
a movable part that is located at the driven location (a mover 122, a piston 140, and a drive shaft 130 form a recited movable part. The driven location is where the mover 122 of the actuator 86 is positioned),
a drive unit comprising a coil and a magnet and configured to drive the movable part together with the driven location relative to the fixed part along a driving direction (Kim English translation, p. 4:1-9, a drive motor 120 comprises a plurality of coils 121b and the mover 122 comprises a magnet 112b to face the coil; p. 5:25-26, when power is applied to the drive motor 120, the mover 122 [corresponds to the recited movable part] reciprocates linearly. The driven location is where the mover 122 of the actuator 86 is positioned), and
a guide portion that is provided in the fixed part to extend in the driving direction and guides driving of the movable part and the driven location by the drive unit along the driving direction, wherein the guide portion is located at a center of the movable part when viewed in the driving direction, and wherein the movable part is configured to move relative to the guide portion along the driving direction (Kim English translation, p. 6:20-22, a cylinder portion 110a [corresponds to the recited guide portion] is provided in the upper frame 111 [corresponds to the recited fixed part] and is located at a center of the mover 122 [corresponds to the recited movable part]. The cylinder portion 110a extends in the driving direction. The piston 140 [corresponds to the recited movable part] to move in a straight line relative to the cylinder portion along the driving direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tilt control device of Sen to provide the actuators as taught by Kim so that the actuator provides linear motion to facilitate operation of a mechanical device.
Regarding claim 5, Sen as modified by Kim teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the drive unit annularly surrounds the guide portion when viewed in the driving direction (see annotated Kim fig. 1 above, the magnet 112b and the coil 121b [correspond to the recited drive unit] surrounds the drive shaft 130 [corresponds to the recited guide portion] when viewed in the driving direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tilt control device of Sen as modified by Kim to provide the drive unit surrounding the guide portion as taught by Kim. It promotes the correct linear motion of the mover 122 of the actuator.
Regarding claim 6, Sen as modified by Kim teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein at least three actuators are provided (Sen fig. 5, the tilt control device comprises at least three actuators 86a).
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen in view of Kim, as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Yoshida.
Regarding claim 4, Sen as modified by Kim teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 3, but does not disclose each of the actuators includes a gas supply portion that supplies gas between the movable part and the guide portion.
Yoshida teaches, in an analogous actuator field of endeavor, each of the actuators includes a gas supply portion that supplies gas between the movable part and the guide portion (Yoshida English translation, p. 3:35-4:2 and fig. 1, an actuator 10 comprises a cylinder 20 [corresponds to the recited fixed part], a rod 24 [corresponds to the recited movable part], and an exhaust groove 44 [corresponds to the recited gas supply portion] which discharges compressed gas. The rod 24 and the exhaust groove 44 of Yoshida can be combined with the actuator of Kim having the guide portion at the center of the movable part to dispose to gas supply portion of Yoshida to supply gas between the movable part and the guide portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tilt control device of Sen as modified by Kim to provide the gas supply portion as taught by Yoshida so that a piston floats to move smoothly in a cylinder (Yoshida English translation, p. 3:35-38).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sen in view of Kim, as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Tseng (US 2022/0208585).
Regarding claim 7, Sen as modified by Kim teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein a table as the driven body whose tilt is controlled by the tilt control device (Sen English translation, p. 15:21-25, the control unit 60 controls a plurality of actuators 86 to control tilt of a carrier table 2 [corresponds to the recited driven body]), but does not disclose a stage device comprising a plurality of linear motors configured to move the table.
Tseng teaches, in an analogous stage device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a stage device comprising a plurality of linear motors configured to move the table (abstract, an x-y stage includes linear motors. A table fastened to a decoupling member is movable in x-y directions. The linear motors of Tseng can be combined with the table of Sen to move the table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tilt control device of Sen as modified by Kim to provide the linear motors for moving the table as taught by Tseng in order to place the table in a right place for process operation.
Regarding claim 8, Sen as modified by Kim and Tseng teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein a processing apparatus processes a workpiece placed on the table that is positioned by the stage device (Sen English translation, p. 6:8-10, a substrate W [corresponds to the recited workpiece] is placed on the table 2 and is processed by a processing apparatus. Examiner notes claim does not present what the processing apparatus is).
Regarding claim 9, Sen as modified by Kim and Tseng teaches the tilt control device as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein a device manufacturing method comprising: manufacturing a device through processing of the workpiece using the processing apparatus (Sen English translation, p. 6:8-10, the substrate W [corresponds to the recited device] is processed through a manufacturing method by using the processing apparatus. Examiner notes claim dose not present what the device manufacturing method is).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 3 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim.
Applicant argues Kim, Yoshida, and Sen do not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that a guide portion is provided in a fixed part and a movable part is configured to move relative to the guide portion along a driving direction because the guide portion of Kim moves along with the movable part instead of moving relative to the movable part.
Examiner acknowledges, in the previous non-final office action date on 01/26/2026, a piston 140 and a drive shaft 130 were designated as the recited guide portion and the recited guide portion moves together with a mover 122, which corresponds to the recited movable part. In the current office action, Examiner designates a cylinder portion 110a as the recited guide portion, and the mover 122, the piston 140, and the drive shaft 130 as the recited movable part. The cylinder portion 110a is a guiding path formed in the recited fixed part (111) and guides the movable part (140) to reciprocate relative to the cylindrical portion. Examiner notes that claim does not limit a form of the guide portion.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tseng.
Applicant argues Yamamoto does not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that a stage device comprises a plurality of linear motors. Examiner acknowledges Yamamoto discloses a movable table but does not disclose explicitly the x-y direction motion is achieved by the plurality of linear motors. However, Tseng teaches a stage device includes linear motors used for moving a table in x-y directions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723