DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. This office action is responsive to applicant’s amendment filed on 09/22/2026. Claims 1-3 are pending. Claims 1, 3 are amended. The applicant’s amendment along with the remark were sufficient to overcome the examiner’s previous ground of rejection with respect to claims 1-2. Claim 1 is allowed. Claim 2 is allowed because it depends on claim 1.
The applicant’s amendment with respect to claim 3 raise new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b) and 103 as discussed below.
Response to Arguments
4. Regarding to claims 1-2, the applicant’s amendment along with the remark were sufficient to overcome the examiner’s previous ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b). Claims 1-2 are allowed in view of applicant’s amendment.
Regarding claim 3, the applicants stated:
“Applicant respectfully submits that the cited prior art reference does not disclose "wherein the selective thin film resistor is formed by applying an imageable resist material layer over a copper layer, exposing portions of the imageable resist material layer, developing unexposed portions of the imageable resist material layer to reveal portions of the copper layer, etching the revealed portions of the copper layer to reveal the thin film resistor material, and removing exposed portions of the imageable resist material layer, such that the thin film resistor material is located only between copper conductors, wherein there is no thin film resistor material between the copper conductors and a dielectric layer."
Applicant respectfully traverses the Office's rejection of claim 3 in light of Miyase. Final Office Action, p. 5. Nonetheless, to advance prosecution, claim 3 is amended herein to clarify that "the selective thin film resistor is formed by applying an imageable resist material layer over a copper layer, exposing portions of the imageable resist material layer, developing unexposed portions of the imageable resist material layer to reveal portions of the copper layer, etching the revealed portions of the copper layer to reveal the thin film resistor material, and removing exposed portions of the imageable resist material layer, such that the thin film resistor material is located only between copper conductors."
Said differently, claim 3 as amended recites "a selective thin film resistor" that is formed by a particular sequence in which an "imageable resist material layer" is applied over a "copper layer," portions of the imageable resist material layer are exposed, unexposed portions are developed to reveal portions of the copper layer, and the revealed portions of the copper layer are etched to reveal the thin film resistor material. Miyase does not disclose this process. Instead, Miyase describes a thick film circuit board in which conductor wiring layers are formed on an insulating substrate by printing and firing, a resistance layer is formed between and bridges the conductor wiring layers by printing and firing, and conductive barrier layers are interposed between the conductor wiring layers and the resistance layer to prevent chemical reaction between the conductor material and the resistance material. See, e.g., Miyase Abstract; col. 2, lines 55-68; col. 13, claim 1. Thus, even if Miyase discloses a resistance layer positioned between conductor wiring layers, it does not disclose the amended claimed apparatus in which copper is selectively etched away after imageable-resist patterning to reveal underlying thin film resistor material.
Furthermore, the purpose of Miyase's barrier layer is to prevent reaction between the LaB6-based thick film resistance material and oxides in the copper conductor wiring layers, particularly to avoid cracking or resistance fluctuation. See Miyase col. 1, line 65-col. 2, line 31; col. 3, lines 12-31; col. 4, lines 55-63. That disclosure is different from, and does not teach, a thin-film stack in which resistor material initially underlies copper and is then exposed only in the etched spaces between copper conductors while being absent between the copper conductors and dielectric layer. For at least these reasons, the prior art reference does not disclose the claim elements discussed herein.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 3 is allowable under 35 U.S.C. § 102 over Miyase.”
The applicant’s amendment along with the remark were sufficient to overcome the examiner previous ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated by Miyase. However, new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b) and 103 are set forth as discussed below to address applicant’s amended claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 1-2 of claim 3, applicants recite “A selective thin film resistor located between copper conductors on a dielectric layer” (emphasis added). In line 8 of claim 3, the applicants recite “no thin film resistor material between the copper conductors and a dielectric” (emphasis added). It is unclear from claim 3 whether the phrase “a dielectric layer” in line 1-2 and “a dielectric layer” in line 8 are referred to the same dielectric layer or not.
In lines 1-5 of claim 3, the applicants recite “A selective thin film resistor located between copper conductors on a dielectric layer, wherein the selective thin film resistor is formed by applying an imageable resist material layer over a copper layer, exposing portions of the imageable resist material layer, developing unexposed portions of the imageable resist material layer to reveal portions of the copper layer, etching the revealed portions of the copper layer to reveal the thin film resistor” (emphasis added).
The examiner interprets the phrase “copper conductors” (emphasis added) means a plurality of copper layers or copper structures. The examiner interprets the phrase “a copper layer” and “the copper layer” are referred to the same single or one layer of copper. It is unclear from the claim how it is possible to create “copper conductors” (i.e. plurality of copper layers) when a single copper layer is used initially. It appears that additional deposition step(s) of copper layer(s) are required to create “copper conductors”.
In lines 1-5 of claim 3, the applicants recite “A selective thin film resistor located between copper conductors on a dielectric layer, wherein the selective thin film resistor is formed by applying an imageable resist material layer over a copper layer, exposing portions of the imageable resist material layer, developing unexposed portions of the imageable resist material layer to reveal portions of the copper layer, etching the revealed portions of the copper layer to reveal the thin film resistor material” (emphasis added). Therefore, initially the thin film resistor is located between dielectric layer and a copper layer because the “thin film resistor is on a dielectric” and below the copper layer (i.e. etching the revealed portions of the copper layer to reveal the thin film resistor). However, in line 7-8 of claim 3, the applicants recite “the thin film resistor is located only between copper conductors, wherein there is no thin film resistor material between the copper conductors and a dielectric layer” (emphasis added). Therefore, in the selective thin film resistor, the copper conductors must be directly on the dielectric layer without the present of thin film resistor located between the dielectric layer and the copper. It is unclear how to satisfy the requirement of this limitation without additional steps. In order to satisfy the limitation “the thin film resistor is located only between copper conductors wherein there is no thin film resistor material between the copper conductors and a dielectric layer”, it appears that at least a portion of the thin film resistor material must be removed, and additional new copper layer or layers must be deposited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyase et al. (US 5,709,927) in view of Marin et al. (US 2020/0083164 A1).
Note regarding claim interpretation for claim 3: Claim 3 is a product-by-process claim. According to the MPEP 2113(I), “"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (emphasis added).
As to claim 3, Miyase discloses a selective thin film resistor wherein thin film resistor material (4) is located between copper conductors (2), on a dielectric layer (1), such that the thin film resistor material (4) is located only between copper conductors (2) (Note: there are two different copper conductors (2): left hand side layer (2) and right hand side layer (2); See; Fig 4a-4c); wherein there is no thin film resistor material between the copper conductors (2) and a dielectric layer (1) (See col. 5 lines50-65, col. 6 lines 55 to col. 7 lines 5; Fig 1; Note: alumina substrate (as disclosed by Miyase is dielectric material; See evidence reference: Talbi et al., "Dielectric Breakdown Characteristics of Alumina", pages 1- 4; 2010 International Conference on Solid Dielectrics, Potsdam, Germany, July 4-9, 2010 as cited in previous office action).
As to claim 3, Miyase fails to disclose the selective thin film is formed by the selective thin film resistor is formed by applying an imageable resist material layer over a copper layer, exposing portions of the imageable resist material layer, developing unexposed portions of the imageable resist material layer to reveal portions of the copper layer, etching the revealed portions of the copper layer to reveal the thin film resistor material, and removing exposed portions of the imageable resist material layer. Marin discloses a selective thin film resistor is formed by applying an imageable resist material layer (photoresist 230) over a copper layer (205/206), exposing portions of the imageable resist material layer (230); developing portions of the imageable resist material layer (230) to reveal portions of the copper layer (205/206), etching the revealed portions of the copper layer to reveal the thin film resistor material (201 and/or 220), and removing exposed portions of the imageable resist material layer (230) (See paragraph 0045-0053; Fig 2A-3G). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Miyase in view of Marin by applying an imageable resist layer over the copper layer and etching the revealed portions of the copper layer to reveal thin film resistor and removing the imageable resist material because the imageable resist (aka photoresist) can be used as an etching mask to create a desired pattern on the substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 1-2 are allowed.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior arts fail to disclose or suggest r) etching the thin seed copper layer that was below the developed unexposed portions of the third imageable resist material layer to reveal the thin film resistor material; ands) removal of the exposed portions of the third imageable resist material layer to create a selective thin film resistor located between copper conductors in combination with all other limitations in the claim.
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713