DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This office action is responsive to applicant’s amendment filed on 04/08/2026. Claims 1-3 are pending. Claims 1, 3 have been amended. The applicant’s amendment with respect to claim 3 raise new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as discussed below.
Response to Arguments
3. Regarding to previous ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b), the examiner acknowledged the applicant’s amendment with respect to claim 1. However, upon further consideration new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b) was set forth as discussed below. Specifically, in claim 1, applicants recite step a) through step s). However, applicants fail to disclose that there is a conjunction “and” between step a) through step s). It is unclear whether all the steps as recited in claim 1 are connect with each other using conjunction “and” or not.
4. Regarding to previous ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2), the applicants stated:
“Applicant respectfully submits that none of the cited prior art references disclose "wherein thin film resistor material is located between copper conductors," and "wherein there is no thin film resistor material between the copper conductors and a dielectric layer."
Claim 3 is amended herein that "no film resistor material" is "between the copper conductors and a dielectric layer." Leng does not disclose these elements. As illustrated in Leng's FIG. 2, there is thin film resistor material (TFT 200a) located between the copper conductors (metal structures 210) and the dielectric layer (dielectric barrier layer 230). For at least these reasons, Leng's does not disclose the elements of claim 1 as amended.
Ku does not cure these deficiencies. As illustrated in Ku's FIG. 1, there is thin
film resistor material (resistive thin film 111) located between the copper conductors (electrodes 112, 113 and metallization level 109) and the dielectric layer 108. For at least these reasons, Ku does not disclose the elements of claim 1 as amended.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 3 is allowable under 35 U.S.C. § 102 over Leng and Ku.”
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, applicants recites step a) through step s). However, applicants fail to disclose that there is a conjunction “and” between step a) through step s). It is unclear whether all the steps as recited in claim 1 are connect with each other using conjunction “and” or not. For purpose of examination, the examiner assumes that all step a) through step s) are required by using a conjunction “and” between though steps. The examiner suggests insert conjunction “and” between step r) and step s).
Claim 2 is indefinite because it depends on indefinite claim 1 .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miyase et al. (US 5,709,927 A1).
As to claim 3, Miyase discloses a thin film resistor wherein thin film resistor material (4) is located between copper conductors (2), wherein there is no thin film resistor material between the copper conductors (2) and a dielectric layer (1) (See col. 5 lines50-65, col. 6 lines 55 to col. 7 lines 5; Fig 1; Note: alumina substrate (as disclosed by Miyase is dielectric material; See evidence reference: Talbi et al., “Dielectric Breakdown Characteristics of Alumina”, pages 1-4; 2010 International Conference on Solid Dielectrics, Potsdam, Germany, July 4-9, 2010).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
11. Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
12. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior arts fail to disclose or suggest r) etching the thin seed copper layer that was below the developed unexposed portions of the third imageable resist material layer to reveal the thin film resistor material; and s) removal of the exposed portions of the third imageable resist material layer to create a selective thin film resistor located between copper conductors in combination with all other limitations in the claim.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713