DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a transfer film support unit in claim 1, a first stretching unit in claim 1, a second stretching unit in claim 1, a fixing unit in claim 2, a first vertical driving unit in claim 2, a second vertical driving unit in claim 2, an auxiliary support part in claim 3, a third vertical driving unit in claim 3, a main support part in claim 8, a fourth vertical driving unit in claim 8, a transfer film support unit in claim 11, a first stretching unit in claim 11, a second stretching unit in claim 11, a third stretching unit in claim 11, a fixing unit in claim 12, a first vertical driving unit in claim 12, a second vertical driving unit in claim 12, an auxiliary support part in claim 14, a third vertical driving unit in claim 14, a main support part in claim 15, a fourth vertical driving unit in claim 15, and a fifth vertical driving unit in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura [US2008/0190902] in view of Shimizu [KR2012-0094428, machine translation provided].
Nakamura disclose a transfer film stretching device comprising: a transfer film support unit (371) having a top surface configured to receive a transfer film (Figures 9-11; paragraph 0065), it is noted the transfer film is considered to be the material worked upon and the device of Nakamura would be capable of working upon a transfer film as disclosed in the claim, a first stretching unit (36) outside the transfer film support unit (371) and configured to move in one direction or another direction of a third direction while fixing an outer edge of the transfer film to stretch a width of the transfer film in an outer circumferential direction (Figures 9-11; paragraph 0064). Nakamura discloses the first stretching unit includes a holding means and clamp, but fails to disclose a second stretching unit between the first stretching unit and the transfer film support unit.
Shimizu discloses a dicing tape stretching device comprising a support unit (table 10), a frame fixing unit (18) and frame (F) for holding an outer edge of the tape, wherein a second stretching unit (lifting ring 12) between the first stretching unit (18) and the transfer film support unit (10) (Figures 4-6; see Brief Description of Drawings from machine translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the device of Nakamura by including a second stretching unit as taught by Shimizu in order to provide a greater range and control over the stretching force applied to the film.
With respect to claim 7, Nakamura discloses the first stretching unit has a cylindrical columnal shape having an opening (Figure 9). Shimizu discloses the second stretching unit (16) is in the opening of the first stretching unit (F), and the transfer film support unit (10) is in the opening of the second stretching unit (Figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
March 13, 2026