DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Invention I (claims 1-10), with traverse, in the reply filed on 12/08/2025. The traversal is on the grounds that there is no serious search and/or examination burden on the examiner to examine the two groups of invention since they are both directed to the treatment of chronic heart failure.
Applicant's traversal has been carefully considered, but fails to be persuasive in establishing the impropriety of the restriction requirement. Invention I is drawn to a method of treating chronic heart failure comprising administering a botulinum toxin to a patient in need thereof, whereas Invention II is directed to a method of treating acute heart failure by administering nitrous oxide and oxygen followed by B-12 and/or folic acid to a patient in need thereof. The two claimed methods have different functions and employ different products. Thus, a thorough search of the limitations in the first method would not be co-extensive with the search of the limitations in the second method, and would also require additional consideration of the search findings in accordance with the requirements of the law under 35 USC §§ 101, 102, 103, and 112. Such search and consideration are considered to be burdensome. The restriction/election requirement is therefore maintained as proper and hereby made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, claims 1-10 have been examined on the merits.
Priority
The instant application claims priority benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/479703 filed on 1/12/2023 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e).
Power of Attorney
There is no Power of Attorney on file and it is recommended that applicant submits one to facilitate prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: typographical error. The second comma after “lateral to the spine” in the last line should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (Pub. No. US 10,960,060 B1) in view of Verhaert et al. (Eurospace 2021, Vol. 21, pages ii40-ii45) and Levin et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0110561 A1).
According to Williams, cardiac arrhythmia is characterized by irregular rhythm of heartbeat which could be either too slow (<60 beats/min) or too fast (>100 beats/min) (lines 61-64, col. 4). One possible cause of arrhythmias is neuropathic hypersensitivity of the t-1 to t-3 and t-5 to t-8 sensory spinal nerves caused by the overproduction of the neuroexcitatory substances glutamate, Substance P, and CGRP. Increased levels of these substances induce hypersensitivity to the involved sensory nerves and promotes neural firing with minimal stimulation, resulting in an increased heart rate that is detected by the brain, which in turn increases firing of the vagus nerve in response and consequently slows the heart back down. The entire process results in the up and down swing in heart rate, which is characteristic of some arrhythmias (lines 64-67, col. 5; lines 1-5 and 13-17, col. 6).
Williams discloses a method for treating said disorder in a patient in need thereof comprising administering botulinum toxin to the patient (Abstract). The botulinum toxin is administered via subcutaneous or intradermal injection at locations where the overproduction of Substance P, CGRP, and glutamate causes hypersensitivity to the involved sensory nerves (lines 54-63, col. 6). The small amounts of botulinum toxin administered (ex. 2-4 units) is sufficient to produce the desired neural effect without the unneeded motor side effects (lines 17-21, col. 7; lines 25-38, col. 8).
Administration of the botulinum toxin can control the excess glutamate, Substance P, and Calcitonin Genes Related Peptide (CGRP) and consequently inhibit neural hypersensitivity (lines 47-50, col. 6) by cleaving and destroying the proteins SNAP25 and/or VAMP that normally move these molecules through the cell membrane and releases the molecules into the cerebrospinal fluid that surrounds the neurons (lines 21-33, col. 1).
The method of Williams is comparable to the instant application’s method for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1: administering botulinum toxin to a patient in need thereof is equivalent to the step “administering a botulinum toxin to the patient in need thereof”.
Subcutaneous or intradermal injection of the botulinum toxin (lines 54-56, col. 6) is identical to the requirement that the administration is performed “by subcutaneous or intradermal injection”.
The botulinum toxin being injected to and/or around the vicinity of a trigeminal nerve, a cervical nerve, a thoracic nerve, a lumbar nerve, and/or a sacral nerve of the patient (lines 54-57, col. 7) such as in the amount of 2-4 units to and/or around the vicinity of a trigeminal nerve or 2-4 units to and/or around the vicinity of the c-2 to c-3, c-4 to c-6, and/or c-7 to c-8 of the cervical nerve, about one-inch lateral to the patient's spine (lines 25-30, col. 8) reads on “1-4 units to and/or around the vicinity of a trigeminal nerve, 1-4 units to and/or around the vicinity of a cervical nerve, lateral to the patient's spine, 1-4 units to and/or around the vicinity of a thoracic nerve, lateral to the spine, 1-4 units to and/or around the vicinity of a lumbar nerve, lateral to the spine, and/or 1-4 units to and/or around the vicinity of a sacral nerve, lateral to the spine”.
Williams differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach that the disclosed method is useful for “treating chronic heart failure”.
It is known in the art, however, that arrhythmia and chronic heart failure can cause and sustain each other in a bidirectional cycle as substantiated by Verhaert et al. (Abstract, page ii40). Verhaert et al. teaches that persistent arrhythmias like atrial fibrillation can induce acute and chronic heart failure through loss of atrial contraction, irregularity of ventricular contractions, tachycardia, neurohumoral activation including increased sympathetic stimulation, and damage to the structural integrity of the myocardium (first to third par. in left & right columns, page ii41; Figure 1, page ii41). Conversely, the structural changes and strain from chronic heart failure often trigger arrhythmias (fourth to fifth par. in left column and first to third par. in right col., page ii42). Treatments for persistent arrhythmias can therefore help treat chronic heart failure, and vice-versa.
In addition, Levin et al. teaches that chronic heart failure is characterized by increased neurohumoral activation and longstanding venous congestion, wherein the splanchnic vascular bed has been identified as a major contributor to blood pooling and cardiac physiology. Thus, blocking and regulation of the sympathetic nervous system has become a novel target for treatment of chronic heart failure (par. [0012]). One way of decreasing the activity of sympathetic nervous system is to subject a splanchic nerve to ablation (par. [0076]) such as by injecting a neurolytic blocking agent, specifically a sympatholytic agent like botulinum toxin A (par. [0080]).
Based on the teachings of Verhaert et al. and Levin et al., a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that Williams’ method is also suitable for treating chronic heart failure. It would have thus been obvious to perform the disclosed method to a patient with chronic heart failure and expect that administering botulinum toxin to said patient would cleave SNAP25 and/or VAMP, thereby inhibiting the patient’s sympathetic nervous system. Such modification to the method of Williams would advantageously facilitate treatment of chronic heart failure. The obviousness of the instant claim is based on some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2143.01 and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Hence, claim 1 is obvious over Williams in view of Verhaert et al. and Levin et al..
Regarding claim 2: the modified method involves injecting botulinum toxin injected to and/or around the vicinity of a trigeminal nerve including the ophthalmic, maxillary, mandibular nerve, supraorbital nerve, supratrochlear nerve, infraorbital nerve, buccal nerve, lingual nerve, inferior alveolar nerve, mental nerve, auriculotemporal nerve, lesser greater occipital nerve, or a combination thereof (lines 10-20, col. 3; lines 60-67, col. 7), which is the same as “wherein the trigeminal nerve is selected from the group consisting of an ophthalmic nerve, maxillary nerve, mandibular nerve, supraorbital nerve, supratrochlear nerve, infraorbital nerve, lacrimal nerve, nasociliary nerve, superior alveolar nerve, buccal nerve, lingual nerve, inferior alveolar nerve, mental nerve, an auriculotemporal nerve, a lesser occipital nerve, a greater occipital nerve, or a combination thereof”.
Regarding claim 3: injecting botulinum toxin to and/or around the vicinity of the cervical nerve like the c-2 nerve, c-3 nerve, c-4 nerve, c-5 nerve, c-6 nerve, c-7 nerve, c-8 nerve, or a combination thereof (lines 9-13, col. 8) corresponds to “wherein the cervical nerve is selected from the group consisting of a c-2 nerve, c-3 nerve, c-4 nerve, c-5 nerve, c-6 nerve, c-7 nerve, c-8 nerve, or a combination thereof”.
Regarding claim 4: injecting botulinum toxin to and/or around the vicinity of the thoracic nerve such as the t-2 to t-3 nerve, t-5 to t-6 nerve, t-7 to t-9 nerve, and/or t-10 to t-12 nerve, or a combination thereof (lines 13-17, col. 8) meets the limitation “wherein the thoracic nerve is selected from the group consisting of a t-2 nerve, t-3 nerve, t-5 nerve, t-6 nerve, t-7 nerve, t-8 nerve, t-9 nerve, t-10 nerve, t- 11 nerve, t-12 nerve and a combination thereof”.
Regarding claim 5: injecting botulinum toxin to and/or around the vicinity of the lumbar nerve including the l-1 to l-2 nerve, l-2 to l-3 nerve, and/or l-4 to 1-5 nerve, or a combination thereof (lines 17-21, col. 8) is identical to “wherein the lumbar nerve is selected from the group consisting of a 1-1 nerve, 1-2 nerve, 1-3 nerve, 1-4 nerve, 1-5 nerve and a combination thereof”.
Regarding claim 6: injecting botulinum toxin to and/or around the vicinity of the sacral nerve like the s-1 to s-2, s-3 to s-4, and/or s-4 to s-5, or a combination thereof (lines 21-24, col. 8) is equivalent to “wherein the sacral nerve is selected from the group consisting of a s-1 nerve, s-2 nerve, s-3 nerve, s-4 nerve, s-5 nerve and a combination thereof”.
Regarding claim 7: the botulinum toxin used in the treatment can comprise botulinum toxin type A, botulinum toxin type B, botulinum toxin type C, botulinum toxin type D, botulinum toxin type E, botulinum toxin type F, botulinum toxin type G, a fragment thereof, a hybrid thereof, and/or a chimera thereof (lines 65-67, col. 3; lines 1-2, col. 4; lines 36-44, col. 10), thus satisfying “wherein the botulinum toxin is selected from the group consisting of botulinum toxin type A, botulinum toxin type B, botulinum toxin type C, botulinum toxin type D, botulinum toxin type E, botulinum toxin type F, and botulinum toxin type G, a fragment thereof, a hybrid thereof, a chimera thereof, or a combination thereof”.
Regarding claim 8: Williams teaches that the therapeutically effective amount of botulinum toxin can be 1-150 units depending on the patient’s body weight such as about 1-30 units for toddlers (lines 32-37, col. 9), which reads on the limitation “wherein the therapeutically effective amount of the botulinum toxin administered is between about 1 unit and about 60 units”.
Regarding claim 9: the preferred embodiment of administering a total dosage of 10-150 units for adults weighing about 150 lbs (lines 45-48, col. 9), wherein the total dosage can be adjusted to the adult’s body weight (lines 34-35, col. 9), fulfills “wherein a total dosage of the botulinum toxin to an adult who weighs about 150 lbs. is less than or equal to about 50 units, and the total dosage of the botulinum toxin in an adult is adjusted for weight”.
MPEP § 2144.05 states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art". In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.). Since the disclosed amount of 10-150 units overlaps with the claimed amount, the limitation of the instant claim is considered obvious.
Regarding claim 10: injecting the botulinum toxin bilaterally (lines 25-52, col. 8) fulfills “wherein each of the subcutaneous or intradermal injections is bilateral”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,960,060 in view of Verhaert et al. (Eurospace 2021, Vol. 21, pages ii40-ii45) and Levin et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0110561 A1).
U.S. patent 10,960,060 is directed to a method for treating arrythmia in a patient in need thereof by administering botulinum toxin to the patient. The botulinum toxin is administered by injecting 2-4 units subcutaneously or intradermally to and/or around the vicinity of a trigerminal nerve, cervical nerve lateral to the patient’s spine, thoracic nerve lateral to the patient’s spine, lumbar nerve lateral to the patient’s spine, and/or sacral nerve lateral to the patient’s spine. In an embodiment, the subcutaneous or intradermal injection is bilateral. The botulinum toxin can be type A, B, C, D, E, F, G, a fragment thereof, a hybrid thereof, a chimera thereof, or a combination thereof. Moreover, the total dosage of the botulinum toxin for an adult weighing about 150 lbs is about 2-150 units.
Although the U.S. patent is not drawn to a method of treating chronic heart failure as claimed by the instant application, treatments for persistent arrhythmias can alleviate or impede chronic heart failure. Verhaert et al. teaches that persistent arrhythmias like atrial fibrillation can cause acute and chronic heart failure through various factors including increased sympathetic stimulation and damage to the structural integrity of the myocardium (first to third par. in left & right columns, page ii41; Figure 1, page ii41). The structural changes and strain from chronic heart failure, in turn, can provoke arrhythmias (fourth to fifth par. in left column and first to third par. in right col., page ii42). Levin et al. also teaches treating chronic heart failure via blocking and regulation of the sympathetic nervous system (par. [0012]) such as by injecting a sympatholytic agent like botulinum toxin A (par. [0080]).
One with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have thus performed the U.S. patent’s method in a person having chronic heart failure with reasonable expectation that administering botulinum toxin to said patient would degrade SNAP25 and/or VAMP. Consequently, it can be predicted that reducing the activity of the sympathetic nervous system would aid in the treatment of chronic heart failure. Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Accordingly, the claims of the instant application are obvious over U.S. patent 10,960,060 in view of Verhaert et al. and Levin et al..
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/Michelle F. Paguio Frising/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651