Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species II in the reply filed on 07/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al., US 2007/0120220.
Lim et al. shows the invention as claimed including a semiconductor device comprising:
First conductive patterns 110 disposed over an insulating layer formed over a semiconductor substrate (note that the substrate can be a silicon on insulator substrate---see paragraph 0030);
A second conductive pattern 120 disposed to extend lengthwise to a side of the first conductive patterns over the insulating layer (see, for example, figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 0031-0050); and
Third conductive patterns 115 (see, for example, fig. 5) connected to the first conductive patterns and the second conductive patterns.
Concerning dependent claim 2, note that Lim et al. discloses wherein: the first conductive patterns are formed to have island features that are spaced apart from each other and disposed at predetermined intervals, and the second conductive pattern is formed to have a line form feature that laterally faces the island features (see figs. 1-2 and their descriptions).
Regarding dependent claim 4, note that in Lim et al. discloses wherein the second conductive pattern is formed to surround an outside of the first conductive patterns.
As to dependent claim 6, note that Lim et al. discloses the semiconductor device wherein: the semiconductor substrate comprises a first region and a second region that surrounds the first region, the first conductive patterns are disposed within the first region of the semiconductor substrate, and the second conductive pattern is disposed within the second region of the semiconductor substrate (see, for example, figs. 1-2 and their descriptions).
Concerning dependent claim 9, Lim et al. discloses wherein the third conductive patterns include fourth conductive patterns and fifth conductive patterns, the fourth conductive patterns are connected to the first conductive patterns, respectively, and a plurality of the fifth conductive patterns is connected to the second conductive pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 7-8, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., US 2007/0120220.
Lim et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose the particular shape and dimensions of the second and fifth conductive patterns, as well as the relative widths of the first and second conductive patterns. However, a prima facie case of obviousness still exists because e configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container is significant (see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)). Additionally, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding the relative widths of the first and second conductive patterns, note that they are disclosed by Lim et al. to be substantially the same (see paragraph 0036) which implies the first and second conductive patterns can have different widths, with the first wider than the second or vice versa. This notwithstanding, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the second conductive patterns wider than the first conductive patterns because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984))
As to dependent claim 7, note that Lim et al. does not expressly disclose the use of an insulating layer through which conductive contacts are formed to connect the first and second conductive patterns to the semiconductor substrate. However, the examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize an insulating layer and contacts to connect to the semiconductor substrate because in such a way areas of the substrate which are not electrically connected to the patterns can be adequately protected.
Regarding dependent claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to connect the first and second conductive patterns to the substrate using first and second conductive contacts, respectively.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., US 2007/0120220 in view of Seo, KR 100955940B1, submitted by applicant.
Lim et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose wherein the third conductive patterns are formed as storage nodes of capacitors and further comprising a floating support layer that is spaced apart from the insulating layer and that supports the third conductive patterns. Seo discloses conductive patterns being formed as storage nodes 116 and further comprising a floating support layer 114 that is spaced apart from the substrate and that supports the storage node patterns (see abstract and figures). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Lim et al. so as to form the third conductive pattern as storage nodes along with the corresponding support layer because Seo shows the use of conductive patterns as storage nodes and also shows the use of floating support layers to provide stability to the memory device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al., US Patent 8,546,870 discloses the use of first and second conductive patterns (20b and 25a) of different widths (see abstract and fig. 1C), and Baek et al. US 2013/0267088 discloses the use of conductive patterns of different widths comprising intervening airgap structures (see fig. 3 and its description).
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
October 5, 2026