DETAILED ACTION
Priority
It is noted that the present claims are seen to be entitled to a priority date of 12/21/23, the date the present 3’-allyl blocking groups attached to the 3’-oxygen atom were 1st introduced.
Double Patenting - Statutory
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 90 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 88 of copending Application No. 18/392,975 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim 90 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 78 of copending Application No. 18/393,291 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim 90 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 38 of copending Application No. 18/392,547 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim 122 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 70 of copending Application No. 18/392,547 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting – Non-statutory
Claims 67-73, 76-77, 79-80, 82-83, 88-90, 112-113, 116, 119, and 121-122 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 20-21, 23-25, 27-28, 30-31, 36-38, 60-61, 65, 67, and 69-70 of copending Application No. 18/392,547 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are substantially overlapping in being drawn to methods of sequencing nucleic acids with the same 3’-O-allyl reversible terminator nucleotides and kits comprising the same. It appears the method set forth in ‘547 would anticipate those claimed herein as they are drawn to the same methods.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 67-73, 76-77, 79-80, 82-83, 88-90, 112-113, 116, 119, and 121-122 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 41, 78-86, 88-89, 91-92, 94-95, 97, 100-101, 107, 109-110, and 121-123 of copending Application No. 18/393,291 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are substantially overlapping in being drawn to methods of sequencing nucleic acids with the same 3’-O-allyl reversible terminator nucleotides and kits comprising the same. It appears the method set forth in ‘291 would anticipate those claimed herein as they are drawn to the same methods.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 67-73, 76-77, 79-80, 82-83, 88-90, 112-113, 116, 119, and 121-122 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 61-62, 70-72, 74-83, 84-88, 110-112, 114, 117, and 119-120 of copending Application No. 18/392,975 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are substantially overlapping in being drawn to methods of sequencing nucleic acids with the same 3’-O-allyl reversible terminator nucleotides. It appears the method set forth in ‘975 would anticipate those claimed herein as they are drawn to the same methods.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 67-73, 76-77, 79-80, 82-83, 88-90, 112-113, 116, 119, and 121-122 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0216891 (‘891) in view of 2009/0263791 (‘791).
‘891 discloses methods of determining the sequence of a plurality of different a target polynucleotide ([0022]), comprising incorporating a nucleotide comprising a 3'-OH blocking group into a copy polynucleotide that is complementary to at least a portion of the target polynucleotide (i.e., a sequencing primer; [0023]), a solid support comprising at least 5,000,000
features/cm² ([0210]) wherein multiple copies of a polynucleotide are present at each site and multiple target nucleic acids are manipulated simultaneously (i.e., multiplexing; [0209]). ‘891 teaches that all four nucleotide types are delivered to an array simultaneously with a DNA polymerase ([0200] and [0201]), that the solid support is imaged to determine the identity of incorporated nucleotides ([0201]), that the 3' blocking group of incorporated reversibly terminated nucleotides is cleaved by a palladium catalyst ([0121]) that is soluble in water
(i.e., in aqueous solution) and the solution comprises tris(hydroxypropyl)phosphine ([0124]). ‘891 teaches washing unincorporated nucleotides and chemically removed byproducts from the copy polynucleotide strand, and that this sequential incorporation is repeated at least 50 - at least
250 times ([0026]). ‘891 teaches that the 3'-OH blocked nucleotide comprises a detectable label ([0134]) conjugated by a cleavable linker ([0140]). The detectable label is a fluorescent dye ([0134]), and that the cleavable linker has various structures ([0150]). ‘891 teaches sequencing on clustered arrays (i.e., distinct features on the array comprise multiple polynucleotide template molecules; [0216]) and that the solid support comprises at least 5,000,000 features/cm² ([0210]).
The various bases claimed herein are taught in ‘891 such as: the purine bases are 7-deaza
purines ([0136] and [0141]); the T nucleotide has the disclosed structures ([0161] and [0264]); the A nucleotide has the disclosed structures ([0161] and [0256]); the C nucleotide has
the disclosed structure ([0161] and [0252]); and that the G nucleotide (i.e., at least one type of nucleotide) has the disclosed structure ([0262]). Regarding claim 112, ‘891 teaches that the sequencing cycles are repeated 50, 100 or 150 times for example ([0184]) wherein the phasing value is less than 0.25 or 0.18 after 150 or 50 cycles of sequencing ([0184]). The deblocking solution comprises ethanolamine (i.e., a primary amine; [0244]). ‘891 also teaches using DNA Pol 1901 (i.e., an altered archaeal family B polymerase comprising the modifications Leu408Ala, Tyr409Ala and Pro410lle (i.e., the first, second and third amino acids of the 3-amino acid region 408-410 contain amino acids as required by instant claim121 – see [0171] and [0278]). It appears applicants novelty is drawn to the use of the 3’-deoxy-2’-allyl protecting groups for use in determining the sequence of target polynucleotides, however, these compounds are known to be used for the same purpose, and modifying the process conditions as set forth above would be prima facia obvious. ‘891 teaches that allyl protecting groups are used as caps for 3'-OH
groups ([0008]), but does not specifically teach that these allyl protecting groups are chemically removed under the conditions disclosed.
However, ‘791 teaches 2’-deoxy nucleotides with 3' allyl blocking groups for use in methods of sequencing/detecting nucleotides (see figure 5 for example). ‘791 teaches that their allyl blocking group is removed by Pd-catalyzed (i.e., palladium) deallylation in aqueous buffer and "allows the re-initiation of the polymerase reaction," i.e., exposes a 3'-OH group for further
nucleotide incorporation ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have simply substituted with 3' AOM protecting group taught by ‘891 with the 3'-allyl protecting group taught by ‘791 to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have recognized that the 3' allyl blocking group taught by ‘791 is removed under essentially the same conditions as those taught by ‘891 for the removal of
the 3' AOM protecting group (aqueous Na₂PdCl₄ with P(PhSO₃Na)₃; ‘791- [0093] and ‘891 [0124]) and that one of these known elements could have been substituted for the other with predictable results.
Conclusion
/TRAVISS C MCINTOSH III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693