DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Berrios et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 20210098222, from hereinafter “Berrios”).
In regards to claim 1, Berrios teaches an electron emitter (see abstract) comprising a tapered-shaped emission tip having a base face and an apex opposite the base face (FIG. 1, field emitter cathode 120, emitter protrusion 121, paragraph 0035, FIG. 2, FIGS. 5A-5B and related text), the emission tip consisting essentially of semiconductor material, the semiconductor material being doped p-type at least at the apex (FIGS. 1-2, 5A-5B, silicon substrate 121 p-type, paragraphs 0035, 0040, 0056) wherein the doped p-type level in conjunction with the geometry of the tapered-shaped emission tip shift the work function of the semiconductor material sufficiently close to vacuum level to enable emission of electrons upon absorption of photons (abstract, paragraphs 0015-0022, at least. The FIGS. Also illustrate a photon source or laser).
In regards to claim 2, Berrios teaches that the base face is doped n-type (paragraphs 0019, 0035 and 0040).
In regards to claim 3, Berrios teaches a main body formed of doped semiconductor of the same type as the doping of the base face (FIGS. 0035 and 0040) wherein the emission tip extends from one surface of the main body (FIGS. 2 and 5A-6 illustrate this).
In regards to claim 8, Berrios teaches that the semiconductor material is selected from silicon carbide (paragraphs 0012 and 0016 as well as elsewhere throughout).
In regards to claim 9, Berrios teaches that the base face is doped n-type and the apex is doped p-type (paragraph 0040).
In regards to claim 12, Berrios teaches that the emission tip is conical (paragraphs 0016 and 0042).
In regards to claim 13, Berrios teaches that the apex is shaped to have a geometry enabling local electric fields above 10 MV/m (paragraphs 0054, 0056).
In regards to claim 14, Berrios teaches that the apex has a radius of less than 10 microns (paragraph 0045).
In regards to claim 15, Berrios teaches an electron source (abstract) comprising an electron emitter (see FIG. 1), a suppressor lens (paragraphs 0015 and 0045), an extractor lens (see at least the abstract), wherein the electron emitter (see abstract) comprising a tapered-shaped emission tip having a base face and an apex opposite the base face (FIG. 1, field emitter cathode 120, emitter protrusion 121, paragraph 0035, FIG. 2, FIGS. 5A-5B and related text), the emission tip consisting essentially of semiconductor material, the semiconductor material being doped p-type at least at the apex (FIGS. 1-2, 5A-5B, silicon substrate 121 p-type, paragraphs 0035, 0040, 0056) wherein the base face is doped one of p-type or n-type (paragraphs 0019, 0035 and 0040).
In regards to claim 16, Berrios teaches a laser source positioned to focus a leaser beam onto the apex of the emission tip (FIGS. 1, 3, 5A-5B, 7).
In regards to claim 17, Berrios teaches that the laser source operates at a wavelength between 300-450 nm (paragraphs 0017, 0048).
In regards to claim 20, Berrios teaches a main body formed of doped semiconductor of the same type as the doping of the base face (FIGS. 0035 and 0040) wherein the emission tip extends from one surface of the main body (FIGS. 2 and 5A-6 illustrate this).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adamec et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 20040238809, from hereinafter “Adamec”).
In regards to claim 21, Adamec teaches a multi-electron beams apparatus (abstract and FIGS. 10A-10D) comprising a substrate made of semiconducting material doped with p-type of n-type dopant, the substrate having a sidewall, a first surface and a second surface (abstract teaches p-n junctions, FIGS. 1A-3B illustrate the geometry), a plurality of emission tips formed on the first surface of the substrate (FIGS. 10A-10D), each emission tip having a tapered shape with a base attached to the first surface and an apex (FIGS. 10A-10D), each emission tip being doped p-type and the apex (see paragraph 0026, at least) and an ohmic contact formed of the sidewall or the second surface of the substrate (paragraphs 0025-0026 and 0039-0041).
In regards to claim 22, Adamec teaches an electrostatic lens layer positioned in close proximity to the plurality of emission tips (FIGS. 10A-10D) and including a plurality of conditioning lenses, each of the conditioning lenses including a suppressor lens and an extractor lens (paragraph 0061).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 10-11, 18-19 and 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE M IPPOLITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881