Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 2025-12-01 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-5, and 9-20 remain pending in this application. Claim(s) 1, 5 and 16 have been amended. Claim(s) 6-8 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 5 and 16 were amended to overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejection made in the previous office action. This amendment is acceptable and the 35 USC 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
The cancellation of claims 6-8 is acknowledged and the 35 USC 112(d) rejection made in the previous office action is thus rendered moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 7, with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1, 5 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments in regards to the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 9 and 17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that the references cited in applicant’s arguments on page 9 appear to not be the references cited in the previous office action. For the purposes of this response the examiner will assume this to be a simple administrative error and that applicant is arguing in view of the correct references as cited in the previous office action.
Applicant argues, with respect to claim 9, that Fukaya’s sensor is not integrated into a socket system and does not measure compression force generated by a hinged mechanism.
In response to applicant's argument immediately above, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Fukaya teaches a pressure sensor to sense a compression force. Such sensors are well known in the art and the teaching of a pressure sensor to measure a compressive force, would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that it may be used to measure such a force generated by any means including one from a hinged clamp.
Applicant argues with respect to claim 17 that Peng does not teach “determining an orientation of the chip relative to the printed circuit board” and that Peng pertains to optical calibration rather than mechanical or electrical alignment during clamping.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., mechanical or electrical alignment during clamping) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim does not require that the alignment be done any specific way nor does it require it to be done during clamping. The claim only requires that an orientation of a chip relative to a printed circuit board is determined. Peng teaches an alignment of a chip, in this case and LED chip, relative to a position of a circuit board as taught in Para [n0017] in the machine translation provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-11, 13-14, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR-102522839-B1, see previously attached machine translation for referenced paragraph numbers), in view of Palaniappa et al. (US-20240094245-A1) in view of Yamada et al. (JP-H0964246-A, see attached machine translation for referenced paragraph numbers).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a socket system, comprising:
a housing (Fig 1: base plate, 110) including:
a base (Figs 1-6: lower block, 111) configured to receive a printed circuit board (Figs 2-6: printed circuit board, 122) having a multitude of electrical contacts on a first side (unlabeled, but can be seen in Fig 2) of the printed circuit board such that a second side of the printed circuit board is disposed on the base (Fig 2 shows the side opposite of the one with the contacts as being disposed on the base, 111), wherein the second side of the printed circuit board is parallel to the first side of the printed circuit board (Can be seen in Fig 2),
wherein the printed circuit board includes a plurality of header pins (Fig 3: first connector, 129) configured to electrically connect the printed circuit board to an electrical testing device (Fig 1: socket assembly, 101 | Fig 3 shows a flexible printed circuit board, 126, which makes the electrical connection between the printed circuit board and the testing device) or a programming device,
wherein the base is configured for attachment to the electrical testing device (Fig 6 shows the socket assembly, 101 attached to the base, 111, through connection with the circuit board, 122) or the programming device, respectively;
an alignment component integral with the base (Para [0050] teaches the hollows, 127, 123, 112 as being used to ensure a position is correct);
a clamp (Fig 6: The clamp comprises the upper socket assembly, 150, and lower socket assembly, 140) including:
a cover hingedly attached to the base (Fig 6 shows the hinge, though it is unlabeled in the Figure) and configured to rotate about the hinged attachment between a closed position of the clamp and an open position of the clamp (It is clear from Figure 6 that the cover can rotate about the hinge, Para [0060] teaches the upper socket assembly (150) rotates relative to the lower socket assembly (140), the lower socket assembly being attached to and parallel to the base);
However, Lee does not teach:
a rigid cover;
a soft block disposed on the rigid cover;
a unitary substrate that provides both mechanical compliance and electrical conduction, configured to be disposed on the first side of the printed circuit board such that the electrical contacts are covered by the substrate, wherein the substrate includes a grid of conductive filaments formed within a soft non-conductive matrix of the same base material as the substrate;
wherein:
the soft block is configured to apply a compressive force to a chip disposed on the substrate when the clamp is in the closed position of the clamp; and
when the clamp is in the closed position, a portion of the chip is abutted to the alignment component.
However, Palaniappa teaches a unitary substrate (Fig 2A: housing, 7) that provides both mechanical compliance and electrical conduction (Para [0048] describes the material of the housing, 7, may be made of at least polyamide, and Para [0043] describes the electrical connection through the housing), configured to be disposed on the first side of the printed circuit board (Fig 2A: PCB, 5) such that the electrical contacts are covered by the substrate, wherein the substrate includes a grid of conductive filaments formed within a soft non-conductive matrix of the same base material as the substrate (Fig 2A shows the grid of filaments (conductive compression contacts) within the housing, 7); wherein a compressive force is applied to a chip disposed on the substrate (Fig 2A and 2B show a chip (DUT, 13) being compressed into the housing, 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the socket of Lee to include the housing of Palaniappa. A motivation for this combination is the housing allows the daisy chain testing of multiple DUTs without concern for damage or misalignment issues at taught by Palaniappa in Para [0062].
The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa does not teach:
a clamp including:
a rigid cover;
a soft block disposed on the rigid cover;
wherein:
the soft block is configured to apply a compressive force to a chip when the clamp is in the closed position of the clamp; and
when the clamp is in the closed position, a portion of the chip is abutted to the alignment component.
However, Yamada teaches:
a clamp including:
a rigid cover (Fig 1(b): lid, 7);
a soft block disposed on the rigid cover (Fig 1(b): cushioning member, 8);
wherein:
the soft block is configured to apply a compressive force to a chip when the clamp is in the closed position of the clamp (Para [0022] teaches the clamp and soft block closes and presses on the semiconductor chip); and
when the clamp is in the closed position, a portion of the chip is abutted to the alignment component (The chip, 9, is abutted against the recess component, 2, the walls of which function as an alignment component to keep the chip maintaining electrical contact with the socket, see Para [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the clamp of Lee in view of Palaniappa to include the soft block and rigid cover of Yamada. A motivation for this change is that the cushioning member will prevent the chip from shifting from its specified position when pressed against the chip as taught by Yamada in Para [0018].
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada, as presented with respect to claim 1, teaches wherein the alignment component and the base are monolithic (Can be seen in Fig 1(b) of Yamada). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada, as presented with respect to claim 1, teaches wherein the soft block comprises rubber or foam (Yamada - Para [0022]). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 5, Lee teaches a socket system, comprising:
a housing (Fig 1: base plate, 110) including:
a base (Figs 1-6: lower block, 111) configured to receive a printed circuit board (Figs 2-6: printed circuit board, 122) having a multitude of electrical contacts on a first side (unlabeled, but can be seen in Fig 2) of the printed circuit board such that a second side of the printed circuit board is disposed on the base (Fig 2 shows the side opposite of the one with the contacts as being disposed on the base, 111), wherein the second side of the printed circuit board is parallel to the first side of the printed circuit board (Can be seen in Fig 2);
a clamp (Fig 6: The clamp comprises the upper socket assembly, 150, and lower socket assembly, 140) including:
a cover hingedly attached to the base (Fig 6 shows the hinge, though it is unlabeled in the Figure) and configured to rotate about the hinged attachment between a closed position of the clamp and an open position of the clamp (It is clear from Figure 6 that the cover can rotate about the hinge, Para [0060] teaches the upper socket assembly (150) rotates relative to the lower socket assembly (140), the lower socket assembly being attached to and parallel to the base).
Lee does not teach:
a rigid cover;
a soft block disposed on the rigid cover;
a unitary substrate that provides both mechanical compliance and electrical conduction, configured to be disposed on the first side of the printed circuit board such that the electrical contacts are covered by the substrate, wherein the substrate includes a grid of conductive filaments formed within a soft non-conductive matrix of the same base material as the substrate; and
wherein:
the soft block is configured to apply a compressive force to a chip disposed on the substrate when the clamp is in the closed position of the clamp;
However, Palaniappa teaches a unitary substrate (Fig 2A: housing, 7) that provides both mechanical compliance and electrical conduction (Para [0048] describes the material of the housing, 7, may be made of at least polyamide, and Para [0043] describes the electrical connection through the housing), configured to be disposed on the first side of the printed circuit board (Fig 2A: PCB, 5) such that the electrical contacts are covered by the substrate, wherein the substrate includes a grid of conductive filaments formed within a soft non-conductive matrix of the same base material as the substrate (Fig 2A shows the grid of filaments (conductive compression contacts) within the housing, 7); wherein a compressive force is applied to a chip disposed on the substrate (Fig 2A and 2B show a chip (DUT, 13) being compressed into the housing, 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the socket of Lee to include the housing of Palaniappa. A motivation for this combination is the housing allows the daisy chain testing of multiple DUTs without concern for damage or misalignment issues at taught by Palaniappa in Para [0062].
The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa does not teach:
a clamp including:
a rigid cover;
a soft block disposed on the rigid cover;
However, Yamada teaches a rigid cover (Fig 1(b): lid, 7); a soft block disposed on the rigid cover (Fig 1(b): cushioning member, 8);
wherein the soft block is configured to apply a compressive force to a chip when the clamp is in the closed position of the clamp (Para [0022] teaches the clamp and soft block closes and presses on the semiconductor chip).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the clamp of Lee in view of Palaniappa to include the soft block and rigid cover of Yamada. A motivation for this change is that the cushioning member will prevent the chip from shifting from its specified position when pressed against the chip as taught by Yamada in Para [0018].
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada teaches wherein the socket system further comprises a camera configured to image and to aid in alignment (Para [0050] teaches utilizing a camera for alignment of socket block and to perform a vision inspection). These features are necessarily taught by the combination made with respect to claim 5. The combination does not explicitly teach the camera is configured to image a chip disposed on the substrate. However, Para [0040] of the instant specification teaches the camera being used to aid in aligning the chip. The camera, as taught in the reference specification is used in a substantially similar manner as the camera in the instant specification, as a tool for aiding in alignment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the prior art elements of the camera used for aligning, to image the chip and aid in aligning the chip. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by the known methods disclosed in the combination of prior art elements. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using a camera to image the chip would have achieved the predictable result of aiding in alignment.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee further teaches wherein the printed circuit board (Figs 2-6: printed circuit board, 122) includes a plurality of header pins (Fig 3: first connector, 129) configured to electrically connect the printed circuit board to an electrical testing device (Fig 1: socket assembly, 101 | Fig 3 shows a flexible printed circuit board, 126, which makes the electrical connection between the printed circuit board and the testing device) or a programming device.
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada, as presented with respect to claim 5, teaches wherein the soft block comprises rubber or foam (Yamada - Para [0022]). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 14, Lee further teaches wherein the base is configured for attachment to an electrical testing device or a programming device (Fig 6 shows the socket assembly, 101 attached to the base, 111, through connection with the circuit board, 122).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee teaches a method, comprising:
providing a socket system, comprising:
a housing (Fig 1: base plate, 110) including:
a base (Figs 1-6: lower block, 111) configured to receive a printed circuit board (Figs 2-6: printed circuit board, 122) having a multitude of electrical contacts on a first side (unlabeled, but can be seen in Fig 2) of the printed circuit board such that a second side of the printed circuit board is disposed on the base (Fig 2 shows the side opposite of the one with the contacts as being disposed on the base, 111), wherein the second side of the printed circuit board is parallel to the first side of the printed circuit board (Can be seen in Fig 2); and
an alignment component integral with the base (Para [0050] teaches the hollows, 127, 123, 112 as being used to ensure a position is correct);
a clamp (Fig 6: The clamp comprises the upper socket assembly, 150, and lower socket assembly, 140) including:
a cover hingedly attached to the base (Fig 6 shows the hinge, though it is unlabeled in the Figure) and configured to rotate about the hinged attachment between a closed position of the clamp and an open position of the clamp (It is clear from Figure 6 that the cover can rotate about the hinge, Para [0060] teaches the upper socket assembly (150) rotates relative to the lower socket assembly (140), the lower socket assembly being attached to and parallel to the base);
Lee does not teach:
a rigid cover;
a soft block comprising rubber or foam disposed on the rigid cover;
a unitary substrate that provides both. mechanical compliance and electrical conduction, configured to be disposed on the first side of the printed circuit board such that the electrical contacts are covered by the substrate, wherein the substrate includes a grid of conductive filaments formed within a soft non-conductive matrix of the same base material as the substrate; and
placing a chip on the substrate;
closing the clamp, thereby by the soft block applying a compressive force to the chip.
However, Palaniappa teaches a unitary substrate (Fig 2A: housing, 7) that provides both mechanical compliance and electrical conduction (Para [0048] describes the material of the housing, 7, may be made of at least polyamide, and Para [0043] describes the electrical connection through the housing), configured to be disposed on the first side of the printed circuit board (Fig 2A: PCB, 5) such that the electrical contacts are covered by the substrate, wherein the substrate includes a grid of conductive filaments formed within a soft non-conductive matrix of the same base material as the substrate (Fig 2A shows the grid of filaments (conductive compression contacts) within the housing, 7);
placing a chip on the substrate (Can be seen in Figs 2A-3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the socket of Lee to include the housing of Palaniappa. A motivation for this combination is the housing allows the daisy chain testing of multiple DUTs without concern for damage or misalignment issues at taught by Palaniappa in Para [0062].
The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa does not teach:
a rigid cover;
a soft block comprising rubber or foam disposed on the rigid cover;
closing the clamp, thereby by the soft block applying a compressive force to the chip.
However, Yamada teaches:
a rigid cover (Fig 1(b): lid, 7);
a soft block comprising rubber or foam disposed on the rigid cover (Fig 1(b): cushioning member, 8 | Para [0022]);
closing the clamp, thereby by the soft block applying a compressive force to the chip (Para [0022] teaches the clamp and soft block closes and presses on the semiconductor chip).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the clamp of Lee in view of Palaniappa to include the soft block and rigid cover of Yamada. A motivation for this change is that the cushioning member will prevent the chip from shifting from its specified position when pressed against the chip as taught by Yamada in Para [0018].
Regarding Claim 18, The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada, as presented with respect to claim 16, teaches testing the chip (The abstract teaches the invention is for testing a chip). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 19, Lee further teaches electrically connecting a plurality of header pins (Fig 3: first connector, 129 of the printed circuit board to an electrical testing device (Fig 1: socket assembly, 101 | Fig 3 shows a flexible printed circuit board, 126, which makes the electrical connection between the printed circuit board and the testing device) or a programming device.
Claims 3, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Palaniappa, in view of Yamada and in further view of Tsuji et al. (US-20210345506-A1).
Regarding Claims 3, 12, and 20, The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada, teaches wherein the header pins (Fig 3: first connector, 129) are configured to electrically connect the printed circuit board to the electrical testing device (Fig 1: socket assembly, 101 | Fig 3 shows a flexible printed circuit board, 126, which makes the electrical connection between the printed circuit board and the testing device) or the programming device.
The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada does not teach the connection is made via a cable.
However, Tsuji teaches making an electrical connection via a cable (Fig 7: cable assembly, 108). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have to substitute one known equivalent item (Flexible printed circuit board as taught by Lee (Fig 3: 126)) for another known item (cable assembly as taught by Tsuji) to achieve the predictable result of making an electrical connection.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Palaniappa, in view of Yamada and in further view of Fukaya et al. (US-20200243712-A1).
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada does not teach wherein the base further comprises a pressure sensor configured to sense a chip pressure resultant from the compressive force imparted thereon when the clamp is in the closed position of the clamp. However, Fukaya teaches a pressure sensor configured to sense a chip pressure resultant from the compressive force imparted thereon when the clamp is in the closed position of the clamp (Para [0043] and [0052] teach the pressing unit (Fig 1: 4) comprising a pressure sensor capable of being able to apply a constant, just sufficient pressure. This ability to apply a pressure just sufficient necessitates the pressure sensor being configured to sense pressure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the socket of the combination to include a pressure sensor. A motivation for this change is a pressure sensors allows the proper amount of force to be applied as taught by Fukaya in Para [0052].
The combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada in view of Fukaya does not teach the pressure sensor is located within the base. However, it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have rearranged the parts such that the pressure sensor is located within the base. A motivation for this change would be the consideration of spacing constraints or for aesthetic reasons.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Palaniappa, in view of Yamada and in further view of Vibar et al. (US-20240402242-A1).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada does not teach wherein the base is configured for mounting to a motherboard. However, Vibar teaches wherein the base (Fig 1: adapter base, 112) is configured for mounting to a motherboard (Fig 1: circuit board, 102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the base of the combination to allow mounting to a motherboard. A motivation for this combination would be to allow single circuit board to be used for a variety of different devices under test as taught by Vibar in Para [0016].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Palaniappa, in view of Yamada and in further view of Peng et al. (CN-217253604-U, see attached machine translation for referenced paragraph numbers).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Lee in view of Palaniappa in view of Yamada does not teach determining an orientation of the chip relative to the printed circuit board. However, Peng teaches determining an orientation of the chip relative to the printed circuit board (Para [n0017] teaches detecting the position of an LED chip in relation with a circuit board). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the socket of the combination to be able to determine a chip position as taught in Peng. A motivation for doing so would be to ensure the chip and circuit board are properly aligned as taught by Peng in Para [n0017].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMIAH J BARRON/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858