Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, and 13-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “various processing modules” in lines 8 and 17, but it is not clear whether these require the same modules or requires second various processing modules.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the input sub-system module" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “a robotic module” in line 4, but does dot define whether this is the robotic module of claim 1, or requires an additional module.
Claim 8 recites “the system of claim 8” in line 1. As a claim cannot depend from itself, the limitations required by the claim are not defined. This will be read as “the system of claim 7”.
Claim 10 recites “the system of claim 10” in line 1. As a claim cannot depend from itself, the limitations required by the claim are not defined. This will be read as “the system of claim 9”.
Claim 13 recites “the system of claim 13” in line 1. As a claim cannot depend from itself, the limitations required by the claim are not defined. This will be read as “the system of claim 12”.
Claim 14 recites “the system of claim 14” in line 1. As a claim cannot depend from itself, the limitations required by the claim are not defined. This will be read as “the system of claim 9”.
Claim 18 recites “the method of claim 18” in line 1. As a claim cannot depend from itself, the limitations required by the claim are not defined. This will be read as “the system of claim 12”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “input sub-system” in claims 1, 9-10, and 12; “processing sub-system” in claims 1, 2, 9-10, 13-14, 16, and 19; “wafer receiving module” in claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, 12, and 17; “output sub-system” in claims 1, 7, 9, and 10; “delamination module” in claims 2, 3, 10, and 13; “wafer ring pick and place module” in claims 2, 5, 8, 10, 14, 16, and 18; “lamination module” in claims 2, 4, 10, and 15; “curing unit” in claim 3; “delamination unit” in claims 3 and 13; “cleaning unit” in claim 4; “lamination unit” in claim 4; “wafer input module” in claim 6; “robotic module” in claims 6, 12, and 20; “wafer aligner module” in claims 6 and 12; “conveyor unit” in claim 7; “lamination system” in claim 12; and “output module” in claims 12 and 17.
The limitation “input sub-system” recites the generic placeholder “sub-system” coupled with the functional modifier “input” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 111, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “processing sub-system” recites the generic placeholder “sub-system” coupled with the functional modifier “processing” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 141, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “wafer receiving module” recites the generic placeholder “module” coupled with the functional modifier “receiving” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 140, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “output sub-system” recites the generic placeholder “sub-system” coupled with the functional modifier “output” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 191, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “delamination module” recites the generic placeholder “module” coupled with the functional modifier “delamination” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 150, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “wafer ring pick and place module” recites the generic placeholder “module” coupled with the functional modifier “pick and place” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 180, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “lamination module” recites the generic placeholder “module” coupled with the functional modifier “lamination” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 150, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “curing unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “curing” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 155, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “delamination unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “delamination” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 150, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “cleaning unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “cleaning” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 160, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “lamination unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “lamination” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 170, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “wafer input module” recites the generic placeholder “module” coupled with the functional modifier “input” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 120, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “robotic module” recites the generic placeholder “module” coupled with the functional modifier “pick (and) flip” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 110, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “wafer aligner module” recites the generic placeholder “module” coupled with the functional modifier “align” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 130, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “conveyor unit” recites the generic placeholder “unit” coupled with the functional modifier “conveyor” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 545, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “lamination system” recites the generic placeholder “system” coupled with the functional modifier “lamination” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 100, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
The limitation “output module” recites the generic placeholder “module” coupled with the functional modifier “output” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 190, shown in figure 1b, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AKECHI (US 2008/0044258).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, AKECHI teaches a wafer lamination station comprising an input subsystem with robot arm 11 and 12, a processing subsystem comprising a wafer receiving module 17, processing modules for peeling a first tape from the wafer and bonding a second tape thereto, positioning chuck 77 and 78, and an output subsystem 140 (paras. 60, 66, and 74; fig. 1) capable of working upon the materials claimed.
Regarding claim 6, AKECHI teaches a wafer input module 11, robotic module 37, and wafer alignment module 30 (paras. 55 and 57; fig. 1) capable of performing the claimed functions.
Regarding claim 7, AKECHI teaches a conveyor unit 145, assembly repository 23, and output robotic arm 144 (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, AKECHI teaches the arm comprises suction arm that can pick and place (AKECHI; para. 74).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKECHI in view of KANESHIMA et al. (US 2007/0181245).
Regarding claim 2, AKECHI teaches a delamination module (para. 62 and 64), wafer pick and place module 12 (para. 55), lamination module (para. 60), a WRM table on a central track 17 that moves between stations to hold the wafer ring 40 (para. 58; fig. 1). AKECHI does not teach the WRM table comprises positioning pins of a positioning chuck of the WRM table. KANESHIMA teaches another wafer lamination system, wherein the wafer alignment stage comprises positioning pins (para. 76), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize positioning pins on the positioning chuck of AKECHI in order to facilitate positioning of the wafer on the chuck.
Regarding claim 3, AKECHI teaches an ultraviolet curing unit 13 (AKECHI; para. 54) and delamination unit (AKECHI; para. 60).
Regarding claim 5, AKECHI teaches a stock table ring repository 42 (para. 58), wafer ring track 44, and robotic arm 53 (AKECHI; fig. 1).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as combined as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of MASADA et al. (US 2020/0171707).
Regarding claim 4, the references as combined teach a lamination unit (AKECHI; para. 60), but does not teach a cleaning unit. MASADA teaches another wafer lamination system comprising a cleaning unit 126 (MASADA; para. 74), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a cleaning unit in the apparatus of the references as combined as a well-known means of cleaning wafers in wafer grinding and cutting apparatuses.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKECHI.
Regarding claim 9, AKECHI teaches the input sub-system, processing subsystem, and WRM tracks are placed on separate component platforms (fig. 1), but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include all of the individual components on a common system platform because integration of apparatus components has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 10, AKECHI teaches the processing sub-system located centrally between the input and output subsystems, delamination module 51, wafer ring pick and place module 144, lamination module 41 and several separate WRM 17, 78, 90, 130 located between the input and output modules (fig. 1), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a single WRM, as the entirety of modules can be considered a WRM, and making integral multiple components has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 allowed.
Claims 13-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach wafer processing method as claimed wherein the input sub-system comprises wafers having a back grinding tape laminated thereto, delaminating the back grinding tape, and attacking a dicing tape on the surface from which the back grinding tape was removed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: YAMAMOTO et al. (US 2003/0133762), SEKIYA (US 2019/0206734), KUMAZAWA (US 2020/0185276), and SHINJO et al. (US 2007/0196588).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745