DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3 the claim states “at least one at least one”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the processor", “the processor-executable instructions”, “the image”, “the user”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by McCarthy (US 4,867,328).
Regarding claim 1, McCarthy (hereafter “D1”) discloses a system for collecting objects (trash receptacle – title – embodiment of figures 7-8), the system comprising: a bin (container 70) defining a space therewithin; and a bin splitter assembly (partitions 81/83/85/87, hinge 75, shaft 77) positioned within the bin, the bin splitter assembly comprising: a support stem (77) oriented vertically; and a plurality of bin splitters (81/83/85/87), each of the plurality of bin splitters configured to be pivotably coupled with the support stem (hinge at 75), each of the plurality of bin splitters defining a wall (figure 8) extending radially away from the support stem and configured to split the space defined by the bin and create a pair of cabins with the bin across the wall, wherein the support stem is configured to rotate the plurality of bin splitters thereabout to reposition the plurality of bin splitters within the space defined by the bin to create different configurations of cabins within the bin (col. 8, lines 32-60).
Regarding claim 11, D1 discloses wherein the support stem (77) is positioned at the center of the bin (figure 8), the bin configured in a circular shape, and wherein the support stem is configured to rotate the plurality of bin splitters along the circular-periphery associated with the circular shape of the bin, around the support stem (col. 8, lines 32-60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US 4,867,328) in view of Bach (US 5,127,538).
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the bin splitters (81/83/85/87) are configured to travel around the edge of the circumference of the bin and rest in detents (73). D1 does not disclose use of rollers for this purpose.
Bach (hereafter “D2”) discloses a waste container (70) having splitters (legs 40) with end rollers (41) (figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the splitters of D1 to add rollers to the ends of the splitters as suggested by D2 to provide ease of travel of the splitters about the bin.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy (US 4,867,328) in view of Al-Ateeq (US 10,406,564).
Regarding claim 12, D1 teaches varying shapes and sizes for the partitioned trash containers (figures 1-21) but does not teach wherein the support stem is positioned at an edge of the bin, the bin configured in a circle sector shape, and wherein the support stem is configured to rotate the plurality of bin splitters along an arc-periphery associated with circle sector shape of the bin, the around the support stem.
Al-Ateeq (hereafter “D3”) discloses a sorting waste receptacle (title) comprising a bin configured in a circle sector shape (figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the bin of D1 to be a circle sector shape as taught by D3 as D1 already motivates the use of varying shaped bins.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest any combination meeting the limitations of the independent claim(s). Specifically, D1 (in view of D2/D3) does not teach at least the claimed actuator, processor, and memory with processor executable instructions programmed to trigger a target configuration and trigger the actuator to move bin splitters, and the prior art documents of record do not suggest a modification to meet these limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited form PTO-892. References not applied but cited are relevant as disclosing or suggesting at least one feature in the claims or disclosure of the present application.
/PATRICK D HAWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631