DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “PIXEL SHIFTING DEVICE AND PROJECTOR,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakabayashi (US 20210247671 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wakabayashi teaches a pixel shifting device comprising: an optical member (10); a first frame (20) which is configured to hold the optical member (10), and which oscillates around a first oscillation axis (J1); a second frame (30) which is disposed on a periphery of the first frame (20), which is coupled to the first frame (20), and which oscillates around a second oscillation axis (J2) perpendicular to the first oscillation axis (J1); a base (5) which is disposed on a periphery of the second frame (30), and which is coupled to the second frame (30); a first actuator (6) configured to oscillate the first frame (20) with respect to the second frame (30) between the first frame (20) and the second frame (30); a second actuator (7) which is disposed in an area at a side at which the first actuator (6) is disposed in the second frame (30), and which oscillates the second frame (30) with respect to the base (5); and a frame reinforcement member (36, 37, 38, 310) which is disposed in an area at a side at which the first actuator (6) and the second actuator (7) are disposed in the second frame (30), and which has a first surface having contact with a surface of the second frame (30; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Wakabayashi further teaches the second actuator (7) is constituted by a magnet (71) and a coil (72), one of the magnet (71) and the coil (72) is disposed at the second frame (30) side, and another of the magnet (71) and the coil (72) is disposed at the base (5) side (Fig. 7; [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Wakabayashi further teaches the second actuator (7) is constituted by a pair of actuators (7A and 7B) disposed across the second oscillation axis (J2).
Regarding claim 4, Wakabayashi further teaches the frame reinforcement member (36, 37, 38, 310) has an uprise wall part (36 or 37) rising from a second surface at an opposite side to the first surface.
Regarding claim 5, Wakabayashi further teaches a part (71 and/or 73) of the second actuator (7) is disposed in the uprise wall part (36 or 37) of the frame reinforcement member (36, 37, 38, 310; [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Wakabayashi further teaches the second frame (30) has an extending part (31) which extends toward an opposite side to the first oscillation axis (J1) with respect to the first actuator (6), and toward one side in an axial direction along the second oscillation axis (J2), and which is coupled to the base (5), and the frame reinforcement member (36, 37, 38, 310) is fixed to the extending part (31; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Wakabayashi further teaches the frame reinforcement member (36, 37, 38, 310) includes a coupling shaft part (38) which is located on the second oscillation axis (J2), and which is configured to couple the second frame (30) and the base (5) to each other ([0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Wakabayashi further teaches a projector (Fig. 1) comprising: an image generator (108B/G/R) configured to generate image light; a projection optical system (3) configured to project the image light; and the pixel shifting device (2) according to claim 1 which is disposed between the image generator (108B/G/R) and the projection optical system (3), and which is configured to shift a light path of the image light from the image generator.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi in view of Kadotani (US 20170104965 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wakabayashi further teaches the first frame (20) being formed of stainless steel ([0039]) and the base (5) being formed of aluminum ([0029]).
Kadotani teaches first, second frames (54, 55) and the rim (52) being made of aluminum ([0126], [0189]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Wakabayashi with Kadotani such that the second frame (30) formed of aluminum; because aluminum allows heat dissipation to improve service life of the device ([0126], [0189] of Kadotani).
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 12267633 B2, US 12149871 B2, US 20230089186 A1, US 20220299848 A1, US 20220252828 A1, US 20220163756 A1, US 20220163829 A1, US 20220132084 A1, US 20220137492 A1, US 20210294094 A1, US 11506957 B2, US 20210200071 A1, US 11295683 B2, US 20210096449 A1, US 20210026230 A1, US 11069315 B2, US 20200386986 A1, US 20200371402 A1, US 20200371405 A1, US 20200363707 A1, US 20200278593 A1, US 20200174246 A1, US 20200159093 A1, US 20200159094 A1, US 20200145627 A1, US 20190196308 A1, US 20200174350 A1, US 20190227261 A1, US 20190346684 A1, US 20190066553 A1, US 10303043 B2, US 20200004123 A1, US 10739667 B2, US 20190278102 A1, US 20170299883 A1, US 20160363841 A1, US 20160363840 A1, US 20160370575 A1, US 20180047321 A1, US 20160227177 A1, US 20160227176 A1, US 20160187645 A1, US 20160124217 A1, US 20160124216 A1, US 20160091773 A1, US 9599811 B2, US 20160004071 A1, US 20150277104 A1, US 20150264291 A1, US 9354494 B2, US 20140293247 A1, US 20140036239 A1, US 9097907 B2, US 20110234650 A1, US 20100201952 A1, US 20080304016 A1, US 20080304017 A1, US 7524068 B2, US 20060290824 A1, US 20060140511 A1, US 20050264547 A1, US 20050275810 A1, US 20050264501 A1, US 20060007057 A1, and US 7290884 B2, disclose the structure of the pixel shifting optical system.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882