DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 12-19, in the reply filed on 7/16/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2006269471 (‘471). Note: referenced to Applicant provided translation.
Regarding claim 12, ‘471 discloses an integrated device comprising:
a substrate (16, fig. 1); and
a metal anodization barrier layer on the substrate having a planarized top surface (13, fig. 1 and paragraphs 0029-0045);
an anodic porous oxide region arranged on the metal anodization barrier and
comprising a plurality of substantially straight pores that extend from a top surface of the
porous region towards the metal anodization barrier layer (14, fig. 1 and paragraphs 0029-0045), the anodic porous oxide region having a top surface having an average surface roughness of less than 20nm (paragraphs 0046-0049).
Regarding claim 13, ‘471 further discloses wherein the metal anodization barrier layer has an average surface roughness comprised between 1nm and 10nm and/or a maximal peak to valley height of less than 30nm (paragraphs 0046-0049).
Regarding claim 14, ‘471 further discloses wherein the anodic porous oxide region is surrounded by unanodized metal having an average roughness parameter comprised between 20nm and 50nm (15, fig. 1 and paragraph 0045, inherent property of material).
Regarding claim 15, ‘471 further discloses wherein the metal anodization barrier layer is patterned into at least two separate metal anodization barrier portions, the integrated device further comprising an insulating region separating the at least two metal anodization barrier portions, wherein the insulating region is flush with the at least two metal anodization barrier portions (fig. 17 and paragraphs 0090-0094).
Regarding claim 18, ‘471 further discloses a stacked capacitive
structure inside a group of pores of the anodic porous oxide region, the stacked capacitive structure comprising a bottom electrode layer (13, fig. 1) in contact with the metal anodization barrier layer, a top electrode layer (15, fig. 1), and a dielectric layer arranged between the bottom and the top electrode layer (14, fig. 1 and paragraphs 0029-0049).
Regarding claim 19, ‘471 further discloses wherein the substrate comprises an
insulating region on its top surface below and in contact with the metal anodization barrier layer (16, fig. 1 and paragraphs 0029-0049).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2006269471 (‘471). Note: referenced to Applicant provided translation.
Regarding claims 16-17, ‘471 discloses the device of claim 12, as mentioned above. ‘471 does not explicitly disclose an anodization mask having an opening delimiting the porous region (paragraph 0045) or wherein the anodic porous oxide region is flush with the top surface of the anodization mask. However, ‘471 does explicitly disclose wherein the oxide film 14 does not need to cover the entire surface of the lower electrode 13 and can constitute a nonlinear element. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize an anodization mask having an opening delimiting the porous region and wherein the anodic porous oxide region is flush with the top surface of the anodization mask. Since such practice was considered as ordinary procedure commonly practiced in the art of semiconductor manufacturing to accomplish such a task.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2023/0187143 discloses a method for forming an electrical device with an anodic porous oxide region and US Patent 5141603 discloses a capacitor with an anodic porous oxide.
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 9/17/26