DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the application filed 4/10/2024.
Claims 21-40 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheckelhoff (US 2016/0102425 A1).
Re claim 21, Scheckelhoff disclose a fabric treating appliance (abstract) comprising:
a cabinet (ref. 52, see fig. 1) defining an interior and having a top wall (see fig. 1 top wall of ref. 20) defining an access opening (ref. 112);
a cover (ref. 54) movable relative to the cabinet between opened and closed positions to
selectively close the access opening;
a tub (ref. 64) located within the interior and having an open top aligned with the access
opening;
a rotatable basket (ref. 70) located within the tub and having a loading opening aligned
with the open top and the access opening;
a scrubbing tool seat (ref. 112 ¶ [0037]-[0040], see fig. 3) recessed in the top wall; and
a scrubbing tool (ref. 100) comprising a gripper portion (ref. 106) and a set of bristles (ref. 116, ¶ [0042] brush attachment) mounted on the tool opposite the gripper portion, with the scrubbing tool removably disposed (¶ [0037]-[0039] removably positioned) in the scrubbing tool seat and retained by the scrubbing tool seat when the scrubbing tool is not utilized by a user (see fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheckelhoff, as applied above.
Re claims 38-40¸ Scheckelhoff discloses as shown above and further discloses wherein the scrubbing tool includes a first magnet (¶ [0033] removably mounted/position on/mounted on; see also “one or more intermediate components…to facilitate the positioning or mounting…”). Regarding “wherein the scrubbing tool seat includes a second magnet, and wherein the scrubbing tool is retained by the scrubbing tool seat by way of a magnetic relationship between the first magnet and the second magnet”, the inclusion of additional complementary magnets would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary in the art at the time of filing, for purposes of alignment and stronger mounting. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) Duplication of Parts. Regarding “wherein the first magnet and the second magnet are magnetically aligned with each other such that the first magnet and the second magnet are magnetically attracted to each other”, the alignment of magnets for mounting is conventionally known in the art. Regarding “wherein magnetic relationship between the first magnet and the second magnet can be adapted such that the scrubbing tool can be received by and retained by the scrubbing tool seat in each of a bristles up arrangement or a bristles down arrangement”, this is a statement of intended use. Here, two magnets should enable mounting in any of a rotational direction in the plane of the magnetic connection. Moreover, the limitation is recited in the alternative “or” and here, the prior art teaching at least the bristles up arrangement (see fig. 3).
Claims 22-24 and 27-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheckelhoff, as applied above, in view of Dunsbergen et al. (US 6353954 B1).
Re claim 22, Scheckelhoff discloses as shown above including a removably positioned scrubbing tool, but does not disclose wherein the scrubbing tool seat includes a moveable portion defining a retracted position and a raised position. However, Dunsbergen discloses it is known in the fabric treating art (abstract) to provide a scrubbing tool seat (ref. 87 as part of ref. 72, 76, 78, see figs. 7 and 15-16) for removably holding a scrubbing tool (ref. 86), wherein the scrubbing tool seat includes a moveable portion (ref. 72) defining a retracted position (fig. 2, closed and seat 87 is lowered into opening) and a raised position (fig. 1, open and seat 87 is raised for user access).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fabric treating appliance of Scheckelhoff to further include a scrubbing tool seat including a movable portion, as suggested by Dunsbergen, in order to conceal the scrubbing tool when not in use.
Re claims 23-24, Dunsbergen further discloses wherein the moveable portion in the retracted position enables a top portion of the scrubbing tool to be retained at one of a flush height with the top wall or a relative height below the top wall (see fig. 1, scrubbing tool 86 will be below the top wall). wherein the moveable portion in the raised position enables a top portion of the scrubbing tool to allow for user access to remove the scrubbing tool (see fig. 1).
Re claim 27-31, Regarding “wherein the scrubbing tool defines a set of retention tabs, wherein the scrubbing tool seat defines at least one sidewall extension, and wherein the scrubbing tool is retained by the scrubbing tool seat by way of a retention relationship between the set of retention tabs and the at least one sidewall extension”, Dunsbergen further discloses threads for retaining the scrubbing tool (see figs. 16-20 threads 208, necessarily engaging sidewall extensions of the scrubbing tool seat 87). wherein the set of retention tabs are spaced about a periphery of the scrubbing tool (see figs. 16-20). wherein the set of retention tabs are keyed to enable the set of retention tabs to pass below the at least one sidewall extension (thread expected to pass below at least a portion of the top of the thread). wherein the retention relationship between the set of retention tabs and the at least one sidewall extension enables at least one of a locking or coupling of the scrubbing tool within the scrubbing tool seat (inherent in thread tightening). wherein the retention relationship between the set of retention tabs and the at least one sidewall extension defines a frictional interaction between the set of retention tabs and the at least one sidewall extension (inherent in thread tightening).
Re claims 32-37, Regarding “wherein the scrubbing tool seat defines a set of detents adapted to define a gripping force between the set of detents”, Dunsbergen further discloses threads (ref. 208) for coupling the scrubbing tool to the scrubbing tool seat and Dunsbergen further discloses it is known to provide twist-lock detents (refs. 192, 190, 196, see figs. 17-19) for gripping and coupling components. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the thread locking scrubbing tool seat with detents of a twist-lock coupling, as known in Dunsbergen, for purposes of ease of removal by twisting. wherein the scrubbing tool defines a neck portion between the gripper portion and the set of bristles (see figs. 17-19 neck portion between ref. 86a and 186). wherein the set of detents are adapted to operably retain the scrubbing tool within the scrubbing tool seat by way of receiving the scrubbing tool neck portion (see figs. 16-19 thread 208 is located at neck portion). wherein the set of detents defines a frictional relationship with the neck portion of the scrubbing tool (inherent in twist-lock). Regarding “wherein the neck portion of the scrubbing tool can be received by the set of detents such that the scrubbing tool can be received by and retained by the scrubbing tool seat in each of a bristles up arrangement or a bristles down arrangement”, this recitation is recited in the alternative “or”, here, the bristles can be installed down. Regarding “wherein the set of detents includes at least one spring clip”, the substitution of known detent locking mechanism, e.g. spring clip, for L-shaped twist locks with raised ridges, is simple an obvious engineering expedient to one of ordinary skill in the art of mechanical coupling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not teach, suggest or motivate wherein the moveable portion includes a tool surface that receives the set of bristles, and wherein the tool surface moves relative to a lower floor of the scrubbing tool seat, in the context of claim 25.
Conclusion
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711