DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on merits.
Information disclosure statement was filed and reviewed by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faivre et al (US 20170204588 A1) in view of Ogura et al (US 20170177002 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Faivre disclose a control system for a mobile machine comprising: an operator interface for controlling operation of a ripper attached to the mobile machine (see at least [abstract], [0022], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036], [0041-0047], and [0056-0059]); one or more ripper configuration sensors associated with the ripper (see at least [0005], [0022], [0032-0034], [0041-0047], and [0056-0059]); and an electronic controller including a processor and memory and in communication with the operator interface and the one or more ripper configuration sensors (see at least [0005], [0022], [0029], [0032-0034], [0041-0047], and [0056-0059]).
Faivre do not specifically disclose wherein the electronic controller configured to: save, based on receiving a save position command from the operator interface, a ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as ripper position data; retrieve the ripper position data from memory based on a reposition command received from the operator interface; and cause to be actuated based on the ripper position data, one or more of a lift actuator or a tilt actuator, to move the ripper to the ripper position.
Ogura teaches wherein the electronic controller configured to: save, based on receiving a save position command from the operator interface, a ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as ripper position data (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); retrieve the ripper position data from memory based on a reposition command received from the operator interface (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); and cause to be actuated based on the ripper position data, one or more of a lift actuator or a tilt actuator, to move the ripper to the ripper position (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura wherein the electronic controller configured to: save, based on receiving a save position command from the operator interface, a ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as ripper position data; retrieve the ripper position data from memory based on a reposition command received from the operator interface; and cause to be actuated based on the ripper position data, one or more of a lift actuator or a tilt actuator, to move the ripper to the ripper position. This would be done to correctly carryout operation of working vehicle along a target path (see Ogura para 0018).
With respect to claim 2, Faivre discloses wherein the ripper position data encodes angular values for a lift angle and a tilt angle of the ripper with respect to the mobile machine (see at least [0015], [0019-0020], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036] and [0042]).
With respect to claim 3, Faivre discloses wherein the lift angle is defined by a mounting link connecting the ripper to the mobile machine and the terrain surface (see at least [0015], [0019-0020], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036] and [0042]).
With respect to claim 4, Faivre discloses wherein the tilt angle is defined by a mounting link connecting the ripper to the mobile machine and a shank axis of the ripper (see at least [0015], [0019-0020], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036] and [0042]).
With respect to claim 5, Faivre discloses wherein the sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors are convertible to the lift angle and to the tilt angle (see at least [0015], [0019-0020], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036] and [0042]).
With respect to claim 8, Faivre do not specifically disclose wherein the electronic controller is further configured save, due to receiving a second save position command from the operator interface, a second ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as second ripper position data.
Ogura teaches wherein the electronic controller is further configured save, due to receiving a second save position command from the operator interface, a second ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as second ripper position data (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura wherein the electronic controller is further configured save, due to receiving a second save position command from the operator interface, a second ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as second ripper position data. This would be done to correctly carryout operation of working vehicle along a target path (see Ogura para 0018).
With respect to claim 9, Faivre do not specifically disclose wherein the electronic controller is further configured to retrieve the second ripper position data from memory due to receiving a second reposition command from the operator interface and to cause to be actuated, based on the second ripper position data, one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the second ripper position.
Ogura teaches wherein the electronic controller is further configured to retrieve the second ripper position data from memory due to receiving a second reposition command from the operator interface and to cause to be actuated, based on the second ripper position data, one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the second ripper position (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura wherein the electronic controller is further configured to retrieve the second ripper position data from memory due to receiving a second reposition command from the operator interface and to cause to be actuated, based on the second ripper position data, one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the second ripper position. This would be done to correctly carryout operation of working vehicle along a target path (see Ogura para 0018).
With respect to claim 10, Faivre do not specifically disclose wherein the electronic controller is further configured to save, based on receiving a save sequence command from the operator interface, a ripper position sequence including the ripper position data, as first ripper position data, and the second ripper position data.
Ogura teaches wherein the electronic controller is further configured to save, based on receiving a save sequence command from the operator interface, a ripper position sequence including the ripper position data, as first ripper position data, and the second ripper position data (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura wherein the electronic controller is further configured to save, based on receiving a save sequence command from the operator interface, a ripper position sequence including the ripper position data, as first ripper position data, and the second ripper position data. This would be done to correctly carryout operation of working vehicle along a target path (see Ogura para 0018).
With respect to claim 11, Faivre discloses a method of operating a ripper of a mobile machine (see at least [abstract], [0022], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036], [0041-0047], and [0056-0059]).
However, Faivre do not specifically disclose wherein the method comprises receiving a save ripper position command from an operator interface to save a ripper position; writing sensor output, corresponding to the ripper position, from one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as ripper position data; receiving a reposition ripper command from the operator interface; reading the ripper position data from memory; converting the ripper position data to electronic command signals; and communicating the electronic command signals to one or more of a lift actuator or a tilt actuator to move the ripper to the ripper position.
Ogura teaches receiving a save ripper position command from an operator interface to save a ripper position (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); writing sensor output, corresponding to the ripper position, from one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as ripper position data (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); receiving a reposition ripper command from the operator interface (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); reading the ripper position data from memory (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); converting the ripper position data to electronic command signals (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); and communicating the electronic command signals to one or more of a lift actuator or a tilt actuator to move the ripper to the ripper position (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura of receiving a save ripper position command from an operator interface to save a ripper position; writing sensor output, corresponding to the ripper position, from one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as ripper position data; receiving a reposition ripper command from the operator interface; reading the ripper position data from memory; converting the ripper position data to electronic command signals; and communicating the electronic command signals to one or more of a lift actuator or a tilt actuator to move the ripper to the ripper position. This would be done to correctly carryout operation of working vehicle along a target path (see Ogura para 0018).
With respect to claim 14, Faivre discloses wherein the ripper position data encodes angular values for a lift angle and a tilt angle of the ripper with respect to the mobile machine (see at least [0015], [0019-0020], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036] and [0042]).
With respect to claim 15, Faivre do not specifically disclose receiving a second save ripper position command from an operator interface to save a second ripper position; writing sensor output, corresponding to the second ripper position, from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as second ripper position data; receiving a second reposition ripper command from the operator interface; reading the second ripper position data from memory; converting the second ripper position data to second electronic command signals; and communicating the second electronic command signals to one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the second ripper position.
Ogura teaches receiving a second save ripper position command from an operator interface to save a second ripper position (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); writing sensor output, corresponding to the second ripper position, from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as second ripper position data (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); receiving a second reposition ripper command from the operator interface; reading the second ripper position data from memory (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); converting the second ripper position data to second electronic command signals (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); and communicating the second electronic command signals to one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the second ripper position (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura of receiving a second save ripper position command from an operator interface to save a second ripper position; writing sensor output, corresponding to the second ripper position, from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as second ripper position data; receiving a second reposition ripper command from the operator interface; reading the second ripper position data from memory; converting the second ripper position data to second electronic command signals; and communicating the second electronic command signals to one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the second ripper position. This would be done to correctly carryout operation of working vehicle along a target path (see Ogura para 0018).
With respect to claim 16, Faivre do not specifically teach receiving a save sequence command from the operator interface to save a ripper position sequence including the ripper position data, as first ripper position data, and the second ripper position data.
Ogura teaches receiving a save sequence command from the operator interface to save a ripper position sequence including the ripper position data, as first ripper position data, and the second ripper position data (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura of receiving a save sequence command from the operator interface to save a ripper position sequence including the ripper position data, as first ripper position data, and the second ripper position data. This would be done to correctly carryout operation of working vehicle along a target path (see Ogura para 0018).
With respect to claim 17, Faivre discloses a mobile machine comprising: a machine chassis supported on a plurality of traction devices for traveling over a terrain surface (see at least [abstract], [0022], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036], [0041-0047], [0056-0059], and [Figs. 1-2]); a ripper including a ripper shank defining a ripper axis and a ripper tip at a distal end of the ripper shank for penetrating the terrain surface; a lift actuator connected to the machine chassis and the ripper (see at least [0022], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036], [0041-0047], [0056-0059], and [Figs. 1-2]); a tilt actuator connected to the machine chassis and the ripper (see at least [0022], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036], [0041-0047], [0056-0059], and [Figs. 1-2]); one or more ripper configuration sensors associated with the ripper (see at least [0022], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036], [0041-0047], [0056-0059], and [Figs. 1-2]); an electronic controller associated with the lift actuator and the tilt actuator and in communication with the one or more ripper configuration sensors (see at least [0022], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036], [0041-0047], [0056-0059], and [Figs. 1-2]).
However, Faivre do not specifically disclose wherein the electronic controller configured to: save, based on receiving a save position command from the operator interface, a ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as ripper position data; retrieve the ripper position data from memory based on a reposition command received from the operator interface; and actuate, based on the ripper position data one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the ripper position.
Ogura teaches wherein the electronic controller configured to: save, based on receiving a save position command from the operator interface, a ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as ripper position data (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); retrieve the ripper position data from memory based on a reposition command received from the operator interface (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); and actuate, based on the ripper position data one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the ripper position (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura wherein the electronic controller configured to: save, based on receiving a save position command from the operator interface, a ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors to memory as ripper position data; retrieve the ripper position data from memory based on a reposition command received from the operator interface; and actuate, based on the ripper position data one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the ripper position. This would be done to correctly carryout operation of working vehicle along a target path (see Ogura para 0018).
With respect to claim 18, Faivre do not specifically disclose wherein the electronic controller is further configured to: save, based on receiving a second save position command, a second ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors as second ripper position data; retrieve the second ripper position data from memory based on a second reposition command received from the operator interface; and actuate, based on the second ripper position data, one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the second ripper position.
Ogura teaches wherein the electronic controller is further configured to: save, based on receiving a second save position command, a second ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors as second ripper position data (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); retrieve the second ripper position data from memory based on a second reposition command received from the operator interface (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.); and actuate, based on the second ripper position data, one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the second ripper position (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura teaches wherein the electronic controller is further configured to: save, based on receiving a second save position command, a second ripper position by writing sensor output from the one or more ripper configuration sensors as second ripper position data; retrieve the second ripper position data from memory based on a second reposition command received from the operator interface; and actuate, based on the second ripper position data, one or more of the lift actuator or the tilt actuator to move the ripper to the second ripper position. This would be done to correctly carryout operation of working vehicle along a target path (see Ogura para 0018).
With respect to claim 19, Faivre do not specifically disclose saving a ripper position sequence, based on receiving a save sequence command from the operator interface, wherein the ripper position sequence includes the ripper position data, as first ripper position data, and the second ripper position data.
Ogura teaches saving a ripper position sequence, based on receiving a save sequence command from the operator interface (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.), wherein the ripper position sequence includes the ripper position data, as first ripper position data, and the second ripper position data (see at least [0076-0079], [0111], [0116], and [Fig. 10], Ogura teaches saving(storing) position/posture of implement and then retrieving the posture/position state of the implement. Ripper is an obvious variation of an implement attached on a work vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura teaches saving a ripper position sequence, based on receiving a save sequence command from the operator interface, wherein the ripper position sequence includes the ripper position data, as first ripper position data, and the second ripper position data. This would be done to correctly carryout operation of working vehicle along a target path (see Ogura para 0018).
With respect to claim 20, Faivre discloses wherein the ripper position data encodes angular values for a lift angle and a tilt angle of the ripper with respect to the mobile machine (see at least [abstract], [0022], [0026], [0029], [0032-0034], [0036], [0041-0047], and [0056-0059]).
Claims 6-7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faivre et al (US 20170204588 A1) in view of Ogura et al (US 20170177002 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Faivre as modified by Ogura do not specifically teach wherein the one or more ripper configuration sensors includes a plurality of IMUs configured to measure actuation of the lift actuator and the tilt actuator.
Suzuki teaches wherein the one or more ripper configuration sensors includes a plurality of IMUs configured to measure actuation of the lift actuator and the tilt actuator (see at least [0030-0031], [0041], and [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura wherein the one or more ripper configuration sensors includes a plurality of IMUs configured to measure actuation of the lift actuator and the tilt actuator. This would be done to improve operation control for implements of working machine (see Suzuki para 0004).
With respect to claim 7, Faivre as modified by Ogura wherein the one or more ripper configuration sensors include a lift actuator sensor associated with the lift actuator and a tilt actuator sensor associated with the tilt actuator.
Suzuki teaches wherein the one or more ripper configuration sensors include a lift actuator sensor associated with the lift actuator and a tilt actuator sensor associated with the tilt actuator (see at least [0030-0031], [0041], and [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Faivre, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Ogura wherein the one or more ripper configuration sensors includes a plurality of IMUs configured to measure actuation of the lift actuator and the tilt actuator. This would be done to improve operation control for implements of working machine (see Suzuki para 0004).
With respect to claims 12 and 13, they are method claims that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective system claims 6 and 7. As such, claims 12 and 13 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective system claims 6 and 7 and are incorporated herein.
Inquiry
/ABDALLA A KHALED/Examiner, Art Unit 3667