DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-13, 15-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daniels et al (U.S. Pub #2014/001616).
With respect to claim 10, Daniels teaches a method of forming semiconductor packaging with a burr free dimple, comprising:
providing an array of rectangular lead frames (Figs. 1-6, 110), wherein each lead frame of the array of rectangular lead frames has leads (Fig. 1-6, 120) that extend to corners of each lead frame (i.e. after singulation the leads 120 will be positioned at a corner between bottom surface and outer perimeter surface, see Fig. 7) and a dimple (Fig. 1-6, 130) at an outer surface thereof;
applying a metal or metal alloy to exposed lead ends of the leads (Paragraph 6 and 51, plating layer);
applying a polymer material (Paragraph 52, 54, etc. ; material 300) in a portion of dimple, wherein the polymer material is configured to prevent accumulation of defects comprising one or more of burrs;
mounting and attaching semiconductor dies to the lead frames (not depicted, Paragraph 40);
electrically connecting bond pads on the semiconductor dies with each semiconductor die on a different one of the leads of the lead frames upon which the semiconductor dies are mounted (not depicted, Paragraph 40); and
encapsulating the semiconductor dies and electrical connections with a mold compound (Fig. 7, 142 and Paragraph 49); and
cutting the array of lead frames to separate individual devices (Fig. 7, 140) from adjacent devices through a portion of the dimple and polymer material, whereby each device has corner bond pads that are configured to be substantially flush with the mold compound thereof and wherein the dimple of each corner lead has no burrs or defects immediately after cutting (Paragraph 34, 52, etc).
With respect to claim 11, Daniels teaches that the metal or alloy is applied by electro-plating or electro-deposition (Paragraph 6 and 51, plating layer).
With respect to claim 12, Daniels teaches that the metal or metal alloy comprises one or more of NiPdAu, NiPdAuAg, and NiPd (Paragraph 6 and 51, plating layer).
With respect to claim 13, Daniels teaches that the step of electrically connecting comprises attaching bond wires to the die bond pads and respective ones of the leads (Paragraph 40).
With respect to claim 15, Daniels teaches that the polymer material comprises a thermoplastic material (Paragraph 54).
With respect to claim 16, Daniels teaches that the polymer material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polymer and a thermoset polymer (Paragraph 54).
With respect to claim 17, Daniels teaches that the polymer material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of polyimide (Paragraph 57), polyacrylate, and silicone.
With respect to claim 19, Daniels teaches a semiconductor package, comprising:
a lead frame including a plurality of leads (Fig. 7, 120);
a semiconductor die (not depicted, Paragraph 40) mounted on the lead frame, wherein bonding pads on the semiconductor die are electrically connected to respective ones of the leads (not depicted, Paragraph 40); and
a mold compound (Fig. 7, 142 and Paragraph 49) that encapsulates the semiconductor die, the leads, and electrical connections, wherein ends of the leads are exposed at corner side wall of the semiconductor package (Fig. 7, e.g. corner between bottom surface and outer perimeter surface), and
wherein an exposed portion of each of the leads is flush with two adjacent sides (Fig. 7, e.g. bottom side surface, perimeter side surface) of a device and includes a dimple (Fig. 7, 134) comprising a polymer material (Paragraph 52, 54, etc. ; material 300) arranged in a portion of the dimple.
With respect to claim 20, Daniels teaches that the polymer material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polymer and a thermoset polymer (Paragraph 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels et al (U.S. Pub #2014/001616), in view of Kierse (U.S. Pub #2014/0035113)
With respect to claim 1, Daniels teaches a method of forming to lead frame for a semiconductor package, comprising:
forming a lead frame that has leads that extend to corners of the lead frame (i.e. after singulation the leads 120 will be positioned at a corner between bottom surface and outer perimeter surface, see Fig. 7) such that each corner lead has a dimple (Fig. 1-6, 130 and Paragraph 33) formed at an outer surface thereof;
applying a metal or metal alloy to exposed lead ends of the leads (Paragraph 6 and 51, plating layer); and
applying a polymer material (Paragraph 52, 54, etc. ; material 300) into a portion of the dimple to a predetermined thickness.
Daniels does not teach
providing a sheet of conductive material;
applying a resist material in a predetermined pattern on the sheet of conductive material;
etching the conductive material to form a lead frame.
Kierse teaches
providing a sheet of conductive material (Fig. 2A, 14);
applying a resist material (Fig. 2B, 17 and 18; Paragraph 48) in a predetermined pattern on the sheet of conductive material;
etching the conductive material to form a lead frame (Fig. 2C-2J).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the lead frame using the steps as taught by by Kierse in order to achieve the predictable result of patterning the lead frame portions using the resist material (Paragraph 48 and 50).
With respect to claim 2, Daniels teaches that the metal or metal alloy is applied by electro- plating or electro-deposition (Paragraph 6 and 51, plating layer).
With respect to claim 4, Daniels teaches that the metal or metal alloy comprises one or more of NiPdAu, NiPdAuAg, and NiPd (Paragraph 6 and 51, plating layer).
With respect to claim 6, Daniels teaches that the polymer material comprises a thermoplastic material (Paragraph 54).
With respect to claim 7, Daniels teaches that the polymer material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic polymer and a thermoset polymer (Paragraph 54).
With respect to claim 8, Daniels teaches that the polymer material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of polyimide (Paragraph 57), polyacrylate, and silicone.
With respect to claim 9, Daniels teaches cutting the lead frame through a portion of the dimple and the polymer material, wherein the dimple of each corner lead has no burrs or defects immediately after cutting (Paragraph 34, 52, etc).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels and Kierse, in view of Li et al (U.S. Patent #6872599).
With respect to claim 3, Daniels does not teach that the predetermined thickness is 20 microns or greater.
Li teaches a lead frame comprising a dimple (Fig. 9, 701 and Col 6 Ln 34-36), wherein the dimple has a depth of 20 microns or greater (Col 7 Ln 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to form the dimple of Daniels to have a depth of 20 microns or greater (and thus the material filling the dimple will have a predetermined thickness of 20 microns or greater) as taught by Li in order to provide a depth of the dimple to allow a solder fillet to form (Col 2 Ln 63 – Col 3 Ln 8).
With respect to claim 5, Daniels does not teach applying tape to portion the lead frame.
Li teaches applying tape (Fig. 9, 801 and Col 7 Ln 32-44) to a portion the lead frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply tape to the lead frame of Daniels as taught by Li in order to ensure the encapsulation is coplanar to the bottom of the leads (Col 7 Ln 32-44).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels, in view of Li et al (U.S. Patent #6872599).
With respect to claim 18, Daniels does not teach that the predetermined thickness is 20 microns or greater.
Li teaches a lead frame comprising a dimple (Fig. 9, 701 and Col 6 Ln 34-36), wherein the dimple has a depth of 20 microns or greater (Col 7 Ln 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to form the dimple of Daniels to have a depth of 20 microns or greater (and thus the material filling the dimple will have a predetermined thickness of 20 microns or greater) as taught by Li in order to provide a depth of the dimple to allow a solder fillet to form (Col 2 Ln 63 – Col 3 Ln 8).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels, in view of Robison (U.S. Pub #2010/0052141).
With respect to claim 14, Daniels does not teach that non-active sides of the semiconductor dies are attached to the leads of each of the respective lead frames.
Robison teaches a flat leadframe structure, wherein non-active sides of the semiconductor dies (Fig. 1, 122) are attached to the leads (Fig. 1, 112) of each of the respective lead frames.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the respective leadframes of Daniels such that non-active sides of the dies are attached to the leads as taught by Robison in order to implement a CoL structure (Paragraph 35).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN P SANDVIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812