DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 03/03/2026 has been entered and considered. Upon entering claims 1-20 were pending; and claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 13, 15, and 18 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as further noted.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7, 17, and 20, recite the term “and/or” is confusing and unclear. It is unclear whether “and” or “or” is intended and it is noted that the two terms (“and” and “or”) have different meanings making it imperative to know which term is intended in order to understand the metes and bounds of the claim. Applicant is advised to select EITHER “and” or “or”, but not both. The claim will be examined as best understood wherein “and/or” is taken to mean “or”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubert (EP1684318) in view of Scott et al. (US 2008/0211330).
Regarding claim 1, Aubert teaches A switch device (fig. 2@ B), comprising: a micro-relay (fig. 2@ R) disposed between a first terminal and a second terminal, the micro- relay (R) selectively electrically couples the first terminal to the second terminal (see figure 2 and par. [0009-0011]); a bypass circuit (figure 2: component E, lines "phase", "charge") that selectively diverts at least a portion of electrical signal current flowing from the first terminal to the micro-relay (R), and directs the diverted electrical signal to the second terminal (see figure 2); an energy harvesting circuit that (i) withdraws a portion of energy flowing into the switch device (figure 2: transformer TR), (ii) stores the portion of energy in the energy storage device (figure 2: part of (E) "stock/source d'energie"), and (iii) supplies the energy stored in the energy storage device to one or more components (figure 2: to BR via SCC) within the switch device (figure 2 and par. [0016-0027]).
However, Aubert does not explicitly teach withdraws a portion of energy flowing into the switch device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage.
Scott teaches withdraws a portion of energy flowing into the switch device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage, (see par. [0018], “Trigger signals to the switching devices are generated by a controller that detects zero crossings in the respective phases of the AC signal and generates the trigger signal accordingly (typically after a delay nominally corresponding to a predetermined phase angle in the AC signal, and, concomitantly with a desired DC output level). More particularly, in a conventional system, when a zero crossing is detected in a particular phase, the controller delays by a time period corresponding to the desired duty cycle (which, in turn, corresponds to the desired output voltage level). The delay is typically engendered by a one-shot or conventional timing circuit. For example, a capacitor is charged with current when the voltage across the capacitor exceeds a reference voltage, a trigger to the SCR associated with the phase is generated, and the capacitor discharged”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aubert with the teachings of Scott by having withdraws a portion of energy flowing into the switch device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage in order to improving overall power extraction—it drastically reduces internal energy dissipation, allowing the system to harvest far more usable output power than standard switching methods.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the first terminal may be coupled to an electrical signal source (fig.2@ F, E), and the second terminal may be coupled to a load (fig. 2@ load C) that is a sink for the electrical signal (see figure 2; Aubert).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches a third terminal coupled to a neutral node (fig. 2@ N) associated with the source (F) of electrical current and the load (C), (see figures 1-2; Aubert).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches wherein a neutral switch may couple electrical current flowing from the micro-relay (R), away from the second terminal and to a third terminal (see figures 1-2: the use of a neutral connection. Using such a connection to supply energy to the switch the skilled person would use a switch mode power supply; Aubert).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches a transformer (Fig. 2@ TR) that generates an actuating voltage for the micro-relay (R) from the energy stored in the energy storage device (see figure 2; Aubert).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches a wireless transceiver that conveys control information into the switch device and/or test point and/or diagnostic information out of the switch device (see figure 2: a functional block to enter control information (EEC) and given the ubiquity of wireless technology the skilled person would probably implement the dashed line by such a data link especially given the ease and flexibility of such an implementation; Aubert).
Regarding claim 15, Aubert teaches A method of controlling a flow of current between a first terminal and a second terminal (see figures 1 and 2), comprising: selectively electrically coupling, using a micro-relay (fig. 2@ R), the first terminal to the second terminal (see figure 2 and par. [0009-0011]); selectively diverting, using a bypass circuit (figure 2: component E, lines "phase", "charge"), at least a portion electrical signal flowing from the first terminal to the micro-relay (R), and directing the diverted electrical signal to the second terminal (see figure 2); using an energy harvesting circuit, (i) withdrawing a portion of energy flowing into the micro-relay (see figure 2), (ii) storing the portion of energy in the energy storage device (figure 2: part of (E) "stock/source d'energie"), and (iii) supplying the energy stored in the energy storage device to one or more components associated with the micro-relay (figure 2 and par. [0016-0027]).
However, Aubert does not explicitly teach withdrawing a portion of energy flowing into a switch device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage.
Scott teaches withdrawing a portion of energy flowing into a switch device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage (see par. [0018], “Trigger signals to the switching devices are generated by a controller that detects zero crossings in the respective phases of the AC signal and generates the trigger signal accordingly (typically after a delay nominally corresponding to a predetermined phase angle in the AC signal, and, concomitantly with a desired DC output level). More particularly, in a conventional system, when a zero crossing is detected in a particular phase, the controller delays by a time period corresponding to the desired duty cycle (which, in turn, corresponds to the desired output voltage level). The delay is typically engendered by a one-shot or conventional timing circuit. For example, a capacitor is charged with current when the voltage across the capacitor exceeds a reference voltage, a trigger to the SCR associated with the phase is generated, and the capacitor discharged”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aubert with the teachings of Scott by having withdrawing a portion of energy flowing into a switch device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage in order to improving overall power extraction—it drastically reduces internal energy dissipation, allowing the system to harvest far more usable output power than standard switching methods.
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches using a neutral switch, electrical current flowing from the micro-relay (R), away from the second terminal and to the third terminal (see figures 1-2; Aubert).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches conveying, with the use of a wireless transceiver, control information for operating the micro-relay and/or test point and/or diagnostic information associated with operation of the micro-relay (see figure 2: a functional block to enter control information (EEC) and given the ubiquity of wireless technology the skilled person would probably implement the dashed line by such a data link especially given the ease and flexibility of such an implementation; Aubert).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubert (EP1684318) in view of Scott et al. (US 2008/0211330) and further in view of Premerlani et al. (US 2008/0310058).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the switch device above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the micro-relay is a MEMS device.
Premerlani teaches the micro-relay is a MEMS device (fig. 4@ MEMS switch 20), (see figure 4 and par. [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aubert and Scott with the teachings of Premerlani by having the micro-relay is a MEMS device in order to offer potential for low cost in mass production, high isolation, and integration with microelectronic circuits.
Claims 8-11, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubert (EP1684318) in view of Premerlani et al. (US 2008/0310058) and further in view of Scott et al. (US 2008/0211330).
Regarding claim 8, Aubert teaches A current interruption device (fig. 2@ B), comprising: a micro-relay (fig. 2@ R) disposed between a first terminal and a second terminal, the micro- relay selectively electrically couples the first terminal to the second terminal (see figure 2 and par. [0009-0011]); a control (fig. 2@ SCC) component that opens the micro-relay (R); an energy harvesting circuit that (i) withdraws a portion of energy flowing into the current interruption device (figure 2: transformer TR), (ii) stores the portion of energy in the energy storage device (figure 2: part of (E) "stock/source d'energie"), and (iii) supplies the energy stored in the energy storage device to one or more components (figure 2: to BR via SCC) within the current interruption device (figure 2 and par. [0016-0027]).
However, Aubert does not explicitly teach a current measurement circuit that measures current of a cyclic electrical signal flowing through the micro-relay and generates a current signal that is indicative of the current flowing through the micro-relay; and the control component that opens the micro-relay when the current signal indicates that the current flowing through the micro-relay exceeds a threshold current value for a first amount of time; and withdraws a portion of energy flowing into the current interruption device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage.
Premerlani teaches a current measurement circuit that measures current of a cyclic electrical signal flowing through the micro-relay and generates a current signal that is indicative of the current flowing through the micro-relay; and the control component that opens the micro-relay when the current signal indicates that the current flowing through the micro-relay exceeds a threshold current value for a first amount of time (see figures 4-5 and par. [0048-0051]; a similar device featuring current sense capability with time dependent over current deactivation of the switch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aubert with the teachings of Premerlani by having a current measurement circuit that measures current flowing through the micro-relay and generates a current signal that is indicative of the current flowing through the micro-relay; and the control component that opens the micro-relay when the current signal indicates that the current flowing through the micro-relay exceeds a threshold current value for a first amount of time in order to control component that opens the relay when current exceeds a threshold for a specific time is crucial for this protection, as it allows the system to react to a persistent fault rather than a momentary spike.
Scott teaches withdraws a portion of energy flowing into the current interruption device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage (see par. [0018], “Trigger signals to the switching devices are generated by a controller that detects zero crossings in the respective phases of the AC signal and generates the trigger signal accordingly (typically after a delay nominally corresponding to a predetermined phase angle in the AC signal, and, concomitantly with a desired DC output level). More particularly, in a conventional system, when a zero crossing is detected in a particular phase, the controller delays by a time period corresponding to the desired duty cycle (which, in turn, corresponds to the desired output voltage level). The delay is typically engendered by a one-shot or conventional timing circuit. For example, a capacitor is charged with current when the voltage across the capacitor exceeds a reference voltage, a trigger to the SCR associated with the phase is generated, and the capacitor discharged”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aubert and Premerlani with the teachings of Scott by having withdraws a portion of energy flowing into the current interruption device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage in order to improving overall power extraction—it drastically reduces internal energy dissipation, allowing the system to harvest far more usable output power than standard switching methods.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches wherein the first terminal may be coupled to an electrical signal source (fig.2@ F, E), and the second terminal may be coupled to a load (fig. 2@ load C) that is a sink for electrical signal (see figure 2; Aubert).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches a transformer (fig. 2@ TR) that generates an actuating voltage for the micro-relay (R) from the energy stored in the energy storage device (see figure 2; Aubert).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches a timer component that provides an indication of elapsed time to the control component, wherein the control component uses the indication of elapsed time to determine the threshold amount of time (see par. [0048-0051], a timer component for the control component; Premerlani).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches a wireless transceiver that conveys control information into the current interruption device and/or test point and/or diagnostic information out of the current interruption device (see figure 2: a functional block to enter control information (EEC) and given the ubiquity of wireless technology the skilled person would probably implement the dashed line by such a data link especially given the ease and flexibility of such an implementation; Aubert).
Regarding claim 18, Aubert teaches A method of interrupting a flow of current between a first terminal and a second terminal, comprising: selectively electrically coupling, using a micro-relay (R), the first terminal and the second terminal (see figure 2 and par. [0009-0011]); using an energy harvesting circuit, (i) withdrawing a portion of energy flowing into the micro-relay (R), (figure 2: transformer TR), (ii) storing the portion of energy in the energy storage device (figure 2: part of (E) "stock/source d'energie"), and (iii) supplying the energy stored in the energy storage device to one or more components associated with the micro- relay (R), (figure 2 and par. [0016-0027]).
However, Aubert does not explicitly teach measuring, using a current measurement circuit, current flowing through the micro-relay, and generating a current signal that is indicative of the current flowing through the micro-relay; opening, using a control component, the micro-relay when the current signal indicates that the current flowing through the micro-relay exceeds a threshold current value for a first amount of time; and withdrawing a portion of energy flowing into the micro-relay by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage.
Premerlani teaches measuring, using a current measurement circuit, current flowing through the micro-relay, and generating a current signal that is indicative of the current flowing through the micro-relay; opening, using a control component, the micro-relay when the current signal indicates that the current flowing through the micro-relay exceeds a threshold current value for a first amount of time (see figures 4-5 and par. [0048-0051]; a similar device featuring current sense capability with time dependent over current deactivation of the switch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aubert with the teachings of Premerlani by having measuring, using a current measurement circuit, current flowing through the micro-relay, and generating a current signal that is indicative of the current flowing through the micro-relay; opening, using a control component, the micro-relay when the current signal indicates that the current flowing through the micro-relay exceeds a threshold current value for a first amount of time in order to control component that opens the relay when current exceeds a threshold for a specific time is crucial for this protection, as it allows the system to react to a persistent fault rather than a momentary spike.
Scott teaches withdrawing a portion of energy flowing into a switch device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage (see par. [0018], “Trigger signals to the switching devices are generated by a controller that detects zero crossings in the respective phases of the AC signal and generates the trigger signal accordingly (typically after a delay nominally corresponding to a predetermined phase angle in the AC signal, and, concomitantly with a desired DC output level). More particularly, in a conventional system, when a zero crossing is detected in a particular phase, the controller delays by a time period corresponding to the desired duty cycle (which, in turn, corresponds to the desired output voltage level). The delay is typically engendered by a one-shot or conventional timing circuit. For example, a capacitor is charged with current when the voltage across the capacitor exceeds a reference voltage, a trigger to the SCR associated with the phase is generated, and the capacitor discharged”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aubert and Premerlani with the teachings of Scott by having withdrawing a portion of energy flowing into a switch device by electrically coupling the first terminal to an energy storage device when a voltage of the cyclic electrical signal is at or near a desired voltage in order to improving overall power extraction—it drastically reduces internal energy dissipation, allowing the system to harvest far more usable output power than standard switching methods.
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches conveying, with the use of a wireless transceiver, control information for operating the micro-relay (R) and/or test point and/or diagnostic information associated with operation of the micro-relay (R), (see figure 2: a functional block to enter control information (EEC) and given the ubiquity of wireless technology the skilled person would probably implement the dashed line by such a data link especially given the ease and flexibility of such an implementation; Aubert).
Claims 12-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubert (EP1684318) in view of Premerlani et al. (US 2008/0310058), in view of Scott et al. (US 2008/0211330) and further in view of Liu et al. (US 10,068,733).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the current interruption device above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control component further closes the micro-relay when a second amount of time has passed.
Liu teaches the control component further closes the micro-relay when a second amount of time has passed (see col. 10, lines 5-25; when the MEMS switch is to be turned/actuated from Off to On).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aubert, Premerlani and Scott with the teachings of Liu by having the control component further closes the micro-relay when a second amount of time has passed in order to provide sequential operation or enhanced protection for the connected equipment.
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the current interruption device above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first amount of time and the second amount of time is programmable by a user (see col. 2, lines 36-55; the control circuit programmed to send control signals to the driver circuit to cause the driver circuit to move the MEMS switch from the open position to the closed position or from the closed position to the open position within the switching interval and selectively activate the auxiliary circuit for a duration of the switching interval; Liu).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches the method of claim 18, but does not explicitly teach further comprising closing the micro-relay when a second amount of time has passed.
Liu teaches closing the micro-relay when a second amount of time has passed, (see col. 10, lines 5-25; when the MEMS switch is to be turned/actuated from Off to On).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aubert, Premerlani and Scott with the teachings of Liu by having closing the micro-relay when a second amount of time has passed in order to provide sequential operation or enhanced protection for the connected equipment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836