DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 14 September 2026 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, and 15 are amended and claim 17 is newly added. The Office withdraws the claim objections and indefiniteness rejections identified in the Office Communication dated 12 June 2026 in view of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenouillet-Beranger et al. (US20110108942A1) in view of Henson et al. (US20110147885A1) and Lou (US6200881B1).
Regarding claim 1, Fenouillet-Beranger teaches a method for producing a back gate (5) under a semiconductive device (4/4a), said semiconductive device (4/4a) being formed on a semiconductive layer (3) of a stack successively comprising a support layer (1), a sacrificial layer (13) and the semiconductive layer (3) {Figs. 18, 23; [0055, 0058, 0065]}, said method comprising:
forming isolation trenches (6, 15) around the semiconductive device (4/4a), said isolation trenches (6, 15) passing through the semiconductive layer (3) and the sacrificial layer (13), and extending to the support layer (1) {Figs. 7-9, 22;[0040, 0041]},
partially etching the isolation trenches (6, 15) so as to form an opening (opening in 15) exposing the sacrificial layer (13) {Figs. 14-16; [0047, 0048]},
removing the sacrificial layer (13) selectively at the semiconductive layer (3), at the support layer (1) and at the isolation trenches (6, 15), so as to form a cavity (18) under the semiconductive device (4) {Fig. 16; [0051]}, and
filling the cavity (18) with an electrically conductive material (material of 5), so as to form the back gate (5) under the semiconductive device (4/4a) {Fig. 18; [0058]}.
Fenouillet-Beranger does not teach wherein the step of forming the isolation trenches comprises: a first etching configured to form a trench pattern having a bottom and two flanks, forming a sacrificial coating layer covering the two flanks of the trench pattern, the sacrificial coating layer being in contact with the sacrificial layer of the stack.
In an analogous art, Henson teaches forming isolation trenches comprises: a first etching configured to form a trench pattern (30) having a bottom and two flanks {Fig. 6A; [0053, 0054]}, forming a sacrificial coating layer (19) covering the two flanks of the trench pattern (30), the sacrificial coating layer being in contact with a sacrificial layer (13) of a stack (12, 13, 16) {Fig. 8; [0057]}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenouillet-Beranger’s method based on the teachings of Henson, to include the above-identified operations, because applying a known technique in the same way to enhance another known technique to achieve a predictable result is within the capability of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(C). Moreover, the modification would be obvious for creating a semiconductor-on-insulator (SOI) substrate comprising one or more device regions, each of which comprises at least a base semiconductor substrate layer and a semiconductor device layer with a buried insulator layer located therebetween. Henson [0011]. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. MPEP §2143((I)(E).
Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson does not teach step of forming the isolation trenches comprises filling the trench pattern with an isolating material so that said isolating material fills an entirety of the trench pattern between the sacrificial coating layer covering both of the flanks, covers an entirety of the sacrificial coating layer within the trench pattern, and extends to within the support layer of the stack, and partially etching of the isolation trenches comprises selectively removing the sacrificial coating layer between the sacrificial layer and the isolating material to a depth extending into the support layer to expose the sacrificial layer and the isolating material at both of the flanks.
In an analogous art, Lou teaches in Figs. 3-6 and lines 18-54 of col. 4 that forming isolation trenches comprises filling a trench pattern (28) with an isolating material (32) so that said isolating material (32) fills an entirety of the trench pattern (28) between a sacrificial coating layer (30) covering both of two flanks, covers an entirety of the sacrificial coating layer (30) within the trench pattern (28), and extends to within a support layer (20) of a stack (20, 22, and maybe 24a), and partially etching of the isolation trenches comprises selectively removing the sacrificial coating layer (30) between a sacrificial layer (22) and the isolating material (32) to a depth extending into the support layer (10) to expose the sacrificial layer (22) and the isolating material (32) at both of the flanks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenouillet-Beranger’s method as modified by Henson based on the teachings of Lou, to include the above-identified operations, so a dishing effect is avoided. Lou line 48 of col. 4. Moreover, applying a known technique in the same way to enhance another known technique to achieve a predictable result is within the capability of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(C). Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. MPEP §2143((I)(E).
Regarding claim 2, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, and Fenouillet-Beranger further teaches wherein the semiconductive device is a quantum device {see Examiner’s Note}, and wherein the electrically conductive material (material of 5) is metal {[0057]}.
Examiner’s Note: The limitation whereby “the semiconductive device is a quantum device” is directed to a manner in which the claimed subject matter is intended to be employed and, accordingly, does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP §2114(II) – a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 3, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, and Fenouillet-Beranger further teaches wherein the semiconductive device (4a) is adjacent to a second semiconductive device (4b) separated from the semiconductive device (4a) by an isolation trench (15) having a first flank on the side of the semiconductive device (4a) and a second flank on the side of the second semiconductive device (4b) {Fig. 10; [0043]}.
Fenouillet-Beranger does not teach: the isolation trench comprising a first sacrificial coating layer portion on the first flank and a second sacrificial coating layer portion on the second flank, and wherein the partially etching of said isolation trench comprises a simultaneous removal of the first and second sacrificial coating layer portions, as part of a process to form a first back gate under the semiconductive device and a second back gate under the second semiconductive device.
Lou teaches in Figs. 3-6 and lines 18-54 of col. 4 an isolation trench (28 as filled) comprising a sacrificial coating layer portion (portion of 30 subsequently removed from left side of trench) on a first flank and a second sacrificial coating layer portion (portion of 30 subsequently removed from right side of trench) on a second flank, and wherein a partial etching of an isolation trench (28 as filled) comprises a simultaneous removal of the first and second sacrificial coating layer portions. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 1.
Lou’s modification, identified above, is integrated within Fenouillet-Beranger’s process to form a first back gate (portion of 5 under 4a) under the semiconductive device (4a) and a second back gate (portion of 5 under 4b) under the second semiconductive device (4b) {Fenouillet-Beranger Figs. 18, 23; [0055, 0058, 0065]}.
Regarding claim 4, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, and Fenouillet-Beranger further teaches wherein the semiconductive device (4a) is adjacent to a second semiconductive device (4b) separated from the semiconductive device (4a) by an isolation trench (15) having a first flank on the side of the semiconductive device (4a) and a second flank on the side of the second semiconductive device (4b) {Fig. 10; [0043]}, said isolation trench (15) comprising a first sacrificial coating layer portion (shaded portion of 15 on left side) on the first flank and a second sacrificial coating layer portion (shaded portion of 15 on right side) on the second flank {Figs. 14, 20}.
Fenouillet-Beranger does not teach in a single embodiment wherein the partially etching of said isolation trench comprises removing the first sacrificial coating layer portion, without removal of the second sacrificial coating layer portion, as part of a process to form the back gate only under the semiconductive device, by preserving a sacrificial layer portion under the second semiconductive device.
In an embodiment illustrated by Figs. 22 and 23 and discussed in paragraphs [0065-0067] Fenouillet-Beranger teaches the partially etching of said isolation trench (15) comprises removing the first sacrificial coating layer portion (shaded portion of 15 on left side), without removal of the second sacrificial coating layer portion (shaded portion of 15 on right side). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenouillet-Beranger’s method as modified by Henson and Lou based on the further teachings of Fenouillet-Beranger, to include the above-identified operations, because applying a known technique in the same way to enhance another known technique to achieve a predictable result is within the capability of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(C). Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. MPEP §2143((I)(E). A consequence of this modification is that a back gate (5) is formed only under the semiconductive device (4a), by preserving a sacrificial layer portion under the second semiconductive device (4b).
Regarding claim 5, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, but Fenouillet-Beranger does not teach wherein the forming of the sacrificial coating layer is done by compatible deposition on the flanks and the bottom of the trench pattern.
Henson teaches in Fig. 8 and paragraph [0057] forming a sacrificial coating layer (19) is done by compatible deposition on the flanks and the bottom of a trench pattern (30). The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, but Fenouillet-Beranger does not teach wherein removing of the sacrificial coating layer is only partial and configured to preserve a portion of the sacrificial coating layer located on the bottom of the trench pattern.
Lou teaches in Figs. 3-6 and lines 18-54 of col. 4 that removing a sacrificial coating layer (30) is only partial and configured to preserve a portion of the sacrificial coating layer (30) located on the bottom of a trench pattern (28). The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, and Fenouillet-Beranger further teaches wherein the sacrificial coating layer (13) is chosen with a basis of a first dielectric material {[0032]}.
Regarding claim 10, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, but Fenouillet-Beranger does not teach wherein the forming of the sacrificial coating layer is performed such that the sacrificial coating layer has a thickness e15 in a direction transverse to the flanks of the trench pattern, and the filling of the trench pattern with the isolating material is performed such that the isolating material has a thickness e16 in said transverse direction, such that e15<e16/3.
Lou teaches in Figs. 3-6 and lines 18-54 of col. 4 that forming a sacrificial coating layer (30) is performed such that the sacrificial coating layer (30) has a thickness e15 in a direction (horizontal) transverse to the flanks of the trench pattern (28), and the filling of the trench pattern (28) with the isolating material (32) is performed such that the isolating material (32) has a thickness e16 in said transverse direction, such that e15<e16/3. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 1.
“The Examiner is authorized to make a finding of relative dimensions that are, as here, clearly depicted in a drawing.” Ex parte Wright, 091818 USPTAB, 2017-001093 (Patent Trial and Appeal Board Decisions, 2018).
Regarding claim 11, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, and Fenouillet-Beranger further teaches further comprising, after removing the sacrificial layer (13) and before filling the cavity with an electrically conductive material (5), a compatible deposition of a layer (layer of 11) made of a second dielectric material (11) on exposed walls of the cavity (18) {Fig. 17; [0055]}.
Regarding claim 12, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 11, and Fenouillet-Beranger further teaches wherein the layer (layer of 11) made of a second dielectric material (11) has a thickness e51 and the electrically conductive material (5) has a thickness e5, such that e51<e5/3 {Fig. 18}. “The Examiner is authorized to make a finding of relative dimensions that are, as here, clearly depicted in a drawing.” Ex parte Wright, 091818 USPTAB, 2017-001093 (Patent Trial and Appeal Board Decisions, 2018).
Fenouillet-Beranger does not teach the sacrificial coating layer has a thickness e15 and e51<e15/3.
Henson teaches in Fig. 8 and paragraph [0057] a sacrificial coating layer (19) has a thickness e15 (implicit). The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 1.
And Fenouillet-Beranger teaches in paragraph [0055] [t]he thickness of dielectric layer 11 is variable so as to position the back gate with respect to the transistors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenouillet-Beranger’s method as modified by Henson and Lou based on the further teachings of Henson, for discovering an optimum or workable range of position for the back gate with respect to the transistor(s) – such that e51<e15/3 – because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A). Moreover, the instant application does not identify a performance/operational difference achieved by the dimensional limitations. [Where] the dimensional limitations [of the claimed device] d[o] not specify a device which perform[s] and operate[s] any differently from the prior art, a difference between such claimed dimensional limitations and those existing in the prior art is insufficient to render the claimed device non-obvious over the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1345, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 1984); see also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 13, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, but Fenouillet-Beranger does not teach wherein the isolating material of the isolation trenches has a basis of SiO2.
Lou teaches in Figs. 3-6 and lines 18-54 of col. 4 that an isolating material (32) of an isolation trench (28 as filled) has a basis of SiO2. The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, and Fenouillet-Beranger further teaches wherein the sacrificial layer (13) is formed on the support layer (1) by epitaxy, said sacrificial layer (13) being SiGe-based {Fig. 9; [0033]}.
Regarding claim 17, Fenouillet-Beranger teaches a method for producing a back gate (5) under a semiconductive device (4/4a), said semiconductive device (4/4a) being formed on a semiconductive layer (3) of a stack successively comprising a support layer (1), a sacrificial layer (13) and the semiconductive layer (3) {Figs. 18, 23; [0055, 0058, 0065]}, said method comprising:
forming isolation trenches (6, 15) around the semiconductive device (4/4a), said isolation trenches (6, 15) passing through the semiconductive layer (3) and extending to the sacrificial layer (13) {Figs. 7-9, 22;[0040, 0041]},
partially etching the isolation trenches (6, 15) so as to form an opening (opening in 15) exposing the sacrificial layer (13) {Figs. 14-16; [0047, 0048]},
removing the sacrificial layer (13) selectively at the semiconductive layer (3) and at the isolation trenches (6, 15), so as to form a cavity (18) under the semiconductive device (4) {Fig. 16; [0051]}, and
filling the cavity (18) with an electrically conductive material (material of 5), so as to form the back gate (5) under the semiconductive device (4/4a) {Fig. 18; [0058]}.
Fenouillet-Beranger does not teach wherein the step of forming the isolation trenches comprises: a first etching configured to form a trench pattern having a bottom and two flanks, forming a sacrificial coating layer covering the two flanks of the trench pattern, the sacrificial coating layer being in contact with the sacrificial layer of the stack.
In an analogous art, Henson teaches forming isolation trenches comprises: a first etching configured to form a trench pattern (30) having a bottom and two flanks {Fig. 6A; [0053, 0054]}, forming a sacrificial coating layer (19) covering the two flanks of the trench pattern (30), the sacrificial coating layer being in contact with a sacrificial layer (13) of a stack (12, 13, 16) {Fig. 8; [0057]}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenouillet-Beranger’s method based on the teachings of Henson, to include the above-identified operations, because applying a known technique (e.g., as taught by Henson) in the same way to enhance another known technique (e.g., as taught by Fenouillet-Beranger) to achieve a predictable result is within the capability of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(C). Moreover, the modification would be obvious for creating a semiconductor-on-insulator (SOI) substrate comprising one or more device regions, each of which comprises at least a base semiconductor substrate layer and a semiconductor device layer with a buried insulator layer located therebetween. Henson [0011]. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. MPEP §2143((I)(E).
Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson does not teach step of forming the isolation trenches comprises filling the trench pattern with an isolating material so that said isolating material fills an entirety of the trench pattern between the sacrificial coating layer covering both of the flanks and covers an entirety of the sacrificial coating layer within the trench pattern, and the partially etching of the isolation trenches comprises selectively removing the sacrificial coating layer between the sacrificial layer and the isolating material to expose the sacrificial layer and the isolating material at both of the flanks.
In an analogous art, Lou teaches in Figs. 3-6 and lines 18-54 of col. 4 that forming isolation trenches comprises filling a trench pattern (28) with an isolating material (32) so that said isolating material (32) fills an entirety of the trench pattern (28) between a sacrificial coating layer (30) covering both of two flanks and covers an entirety of the sacrificial coating layer (30) within the trench pattern (28), and partially etching of the isolation trenches comprises selectively removing the sacrificial coating layer (30) between a sacrificial layer (22) and the isolating material (32) to expose the sacrificial layer (22) and the isolating material (32) at both of the flanks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenouillet-Beranger’s method as modified by Henson based on the teachings of Lou, to include the above-identified operations, so a dishing effect is avoided. Lou line 48 of col. 4. Moreover, applying a known technique in the same way to enhance another known technique to achieve a predictable result is within the capability of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(C). Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. MPEP §2143((I)(E).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenouillet-Beranger in view of Henson and Lou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US20040222489A1).
Regarding claim 7, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson and Lou teaches the method according to claim 1, but Fenouillet-Beranger does not teach wherein the forming of the sacrificial coating layer comprises a compatible deposition on the flanks and the bottom of the trench pattern, followed by an anisotropic etching configured to remove a portion of the sacrificial coating layer located on the bottom of the trench pattern, such that the sacrificial coating layer only covers the flanks of the trench pattern, before filling the trench pattern with the isolating material.
Chang teaches in Figs. 3B, 3C, and 3F and paragraphs [0020, 0024] forming a sacrificial coating layer (140A) comprises a compatible deposition on the flanks and the bottom of a trench pattern (130), followed by an anisotropic etching configured to remove a portion of the sacrificial coating layer (140A) located on the bottom of the trench pattern (130), such that the sacrificial coating layer (140A) only covers the flanks of the trench pattern (130) , before filling the trench pattern (130) with an isolating material (160). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fenouillet-Beranger’s method as modified by Henson and Lou based on the teachings of Chang, to include the above-identified operations, because applying a known technique in the same way to enhance another known technique to achieve a predictable result is within the capability of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(C). Moreover, the modification would be obvious for: (1) eliminat[ing] … leaking [current] passages around the trench {Chang [0026]} and/or (2) avoiding sneakage current in the STI structure {Chang [0036]}.
Regarding claim 8, Fenouillet-Beranger as modified by Henson, Lou, and Chang teaches the method according to claim 7, and Fenouillet-Beranger further teaches wherein the removal of the sacrificial coating layer (13) is total {Fig. 16; [0051]}.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891