DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1 and 3-12 are pending. Claims 5 and 10 are withdrawn. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 11 and 12 are new.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: cleaning member in claims 1 and 6, supply mechanism in claims 1 and 6, cleaning liquid supply part in claims 1 and 6, a drying unit in claim 1, and rotation part in claim 8.
Based on a review of the specification, a cleaning member is interpreted to include a roll cleaner, a pencil cleaner, or equivalents thereof; a supply mechanism is interpreted to include an ejector, a nozzle, or equivalents thereof; a cleaning liquid supply part is interpreted to include an ejector, a nozzle, or equivalents thereof; a drying unit is interpreted to include a rotator, or equivalents thereof; and a rotation part is interpreted to include a spindle or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “wherein a cover or an air curtain is provided” renders the claim indefinite because the recited cover and air curtain are not positively claimed and it is not clear whether or not they are required structural features of the claimed apparatus. It appears the intended meaning may be that they are not required structural features, and this meaning will be used for purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2017/0053816 to Takagi et al. (“Takagi”).
Regarding claim 1, Takagi teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus (abstract) comprising: a cleaning liquid supply part (Fig. 2, ref. 112, 122, para [0034], [0041]) configured to be useful for supplying a cleaning liquid to a substrate; a cleaning member (Fig. 2, ref. 111, para [0034]) configured to contact with the substrate (note ref. SB) to clean the substrate; a supply mechanism (Fig. 2, ref. 112, para [0034]) configured to be useful for supplying an organic solvent including an isopropyl alcohol (para [0039]) for dissolution to the substrate; and a drying unit (Fig. 2, ref. 130, para [0032], [0044]) configured to be useful for drying a cleaning substrate cleaned with isopropyl alcohol (isopropyl alcohol may be added by, e.g., ref. 112 or by hand).
Takagi does not explicitly teach the apparatus being operated in a manner wherein the organic solvent is supplied after the substrate is cleaned by the cleaning member, the organic solvent for dissolution being to dissolve a foreign substance generation factor caused by the cleaning member, or wherein the organic solvent for dissolution is a different type of liquid than the cleaning liquid.
Nor does Takagi explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the cleaning member is configured to be separable from the substrate, and wherein the supply mechanism provides the organic solvent to the substrate while the cleaning member is apart from the substrate.
Initially, it is noted that the recited substrate and fluids are not positively claimed and are not interpreted as required structural features of the claimed apparatus. Further, the Takagi disclosure suggests the cleaning member is configured to be separable from the substrate in at least three ways. First, Takagai suggests a substrate may be placed into and out of contact with the cleaning member (see, e.g., para [0032], [0038]). Second, Takaga Fig. 2, appears to suggest that the cleaning member would be separable from a substrate that isn’t sufficiently thick enough to fill a gap between the cleaning member and a chuck (Fig. 2). Third, Takagi discloses that the cleaning member can be moved in any direction (para [0032], [0043], note, e.g., Fig. 2, X direction).
Since, Takaga discloses the other claimed structural features the Takaga apparatus appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 can be made when the prior art product seems to be identical except that the prior art is silent as to an inherent characteristic. MPEP 2112(III)(A).
Once a reference teaching a product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. MPEP 2112(V).
When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. MPEP 2112.01(I).
Regarding claim 3, Takagi discloses an apparatus wherein the supply mechanism (Fig. 2, ref. 112, para [0034]) is an ejection part that is fully capable of being operated in a manner wherein it ejects the organic solvent for dissolution to the substrate (para [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Takagi discloses an apparatus wherein the cleaning member includes a roll cleaning member and a pencil cleaning member (para [0029], [0034]), and appears to be fully capable of being operated in a manner wherein the supply mechanism provides the organic solvent for dissolution to the substrate, after the substrate is cleaned by the roll cleaning member and the pencil cleaning member (note Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Takagi discloses a rotation part (Fig. 2, ref. 132, para [0044]) that rotates the substrate, and the Takagi apparatus appears to be fully capable of being operated in a manner wherein a rotation of the substrate is slower than the rotation of the substrate at a time of cleaning the substrate with a chemical liquid or a rinse liquid, or the rotation of the substrate is stopped, while the organic solvent for dissolution is provided by the supply mechanism (note para [0045]).
Regarding claim 9, the Takagi apparatus appears to be fully capable of being operated in a manner wherein a temperature of the organic solvent for dissolution is 30°C or more and 60°C or less (para [0039]). It is noted that the recited solvent is not affirmatively claimed and is not understood to be a required structural feature of the claimed apparatus.
Regarding claim 11, the Takagi apparatus appears to be fully capable of being operated in a manner wherein the supply mechanism provides the organic solvent while the cleaning member is in a retracted position (para [0032], [0043], note, e.g., Fig. 2, X direction).
Regarding claim 12, the Takagi apparatus appears to be fully capable of being operated in a manner wherein a cover or an air curtain is provided between the substrate and the cleaning member. For example, a cover or air curtain may be provided in a gap created by a thin substrate (Fig. 2, ref. SB) and/or a withdrawn cleaning member (para [0032], [0043], note, e.g., Fig. 2, X direction). Further, a gap may be created by displacing the flexible cleaning member (para [0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0053816 to Takagi et al. (“Takagi”).
Regarding claim 6, the Takagi apparatus appears to be fully capable of being operated in a manner wherein the cleaning member is used as a cleaning member that contacts with the substrate to clean the substrate, while the organic solvent for dissolution is provided to the substrate (note Fig. 2). Takagi does not explicitly teach that the there is a dedicated cleaning member that is different from the cleaning member. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Takagi apparatus wherein there are a plurality of the cleaning members, including one that could be designated as a dedicated one, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to save cleaning time. Note that duplication of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0053816 to Takagi et al. (“Takagi”) in view of US 2007/0181163 to Wada et el. (“Wada”).
Regarding claim 4, Takagi does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the ejection part is electrically connected to a ground. However, grounding ejection parts was known in the art as effective for inhibiting static electricity (see, e.g., Wada at, inter alia, para [0037]), and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Takagi apparatus as was known wherein the ejection part is electrically connected to a ground, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to inhibit static electricity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., IPA-vapor drying hardware) (remarks, page 7, paragraph beginning “The Examiner asserts”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
If applicant intends for the claims to require particular structural features currently being interpreted as an intended use (e.g., as a result of functional language) (see, e.g., remarks, page 9, last full paragraph), applicant may want to positively claim such features (fluids, substrates, structural features performing recited functions, etc.) as required structural features of the claimed apparatus.
If applicant intends for method steps to be considered structural features in the present apparatus claim, applicant may want to positively claim a computer readable medium comprising instruction that, when executed, cause the claimed apparatus to perform the steps (being mindful not to introduce new matter).
In response to applicant's argument that the applied art does not explicitly teach operating the apparatus in a manner wherein the organic solvent is provided while the cleaning member is apart from the substrate (remarks, paragraph bridging pages 7-8), or using an organic solvent that is different than cleaning liquid (remarks, page 8, last paragraph), a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant’s assertion that operating the Takagi apparatus as contemplated by the present claims would change the principle of operation of Takagi (remarks, page 10, first paragraph), is unpersuasive. Even if, arguendo, applicant’s assertion is correct, such that the Takagi operation referred to by applicant isn’t merely one possible use contemplated by Takagi, the test when examining apparatuses is whether or not the applied art apparatus is capable of being operated in the manner recited, not whether or not operating the applied art in the manner recited would conform to the operation(s) contemplated by the applied art.
Conclusion
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714