DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-26 remain pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 16, it recites “The display apparatus of claim 10, …” in line 1 of the claim. As written, it appears to be a duplicate of claim 11. The examiner interprets this claim to have intended to state “The display apparatus of claim 15”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11 and 16, they recite the limitation "the second first metal patterning layer" in lines 5 and 6 of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. The examiner interprets the claims to have intended to state “the second
Regarding claim 6, 11, and 16, they recite the limitation "the first, second and third pixels" in line 2 of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner interprets the claim to have intended to state “the first, second and third subpixels”, in which case proper antecedent basis is established. The claim will be examined on the basis of this interpretation hereafter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12-19, and 22-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polyakov et al (US 20200075693 A1, hereafter Polyakov).
Regarding claim 1, Polyakov discloses: A display apparatus (Polyakov 100, ¶0004, 0042-0043, 0051-0053, fig 1, 2A-F), comprising:
a first subpixel (Polyakov 101B, ¶0042), a second subpixel (Polyakov 101G, ¶0042) and a third subpixel (Polyakov 101R, ¶0042) disposed on a substrate (Polyakov 400, ¶0045)(Polyakov fig 1, 2A-F, ¶0045);
a first organic light emitting element (Polyakov 110B, 150B, 180B ¶0043, 0048) configured to emit a first color of light (Polyakov ¶0051, blue), a second organic light emitting element (Polyakov 110G, 150G, 180G ¶0043, 0048) configured to emit a second color of light (Polyakov ¶0042, 0051, green) and a third organic light emitting element (Polyakov 110R, 150R, 180R ¶0043, 0048) configured to emit a third color of light (Polyakov ¶0051, red) disposed in the first, second and third subpixels, respectively (Polyakov fig 1, 2A, ¶0043, 0052);
a first anode (Polyakov 110B, ¶0043), a second anode (Polyakov 110G, ¶0043) and a third anode (Polyakov 110R, ¶0043) included in the first, second and third organic light emitting elements, and disposed in the first, second and third subpixels, respectively (Polyakov fig 1, 2F, ¶0043); and
a first cathode (Polyakov 180B, ¶0043, 0050, “second cathode 180B”, it appears the prior art uses 180B designation to denote both “a cathode layer 180B” of cathode 180 and “a second cathode 180B” of subpixel 101B), a second cathode (Polyakov 180G, ¶0043, 0050) and a third cathode (Polyakov 180R, ¶0043, 0050) included in the first, second and third organic light emitting elements, and disposed in the first, second and third subpixels, respectively (Polyakov fig 1, 2F, ¶0043, 0050-0053),
wherein the first, second and third cathodes include at least one layer (Polyakov 180A, ¶0052, fig 2A), and
wherein at least two cathodes among the first, second and third cathodes have a different number of layers than each other (Polyakov fig 2C, 2F, ¶0052-0053, 180R having a single layer 180A, 180G having two layers 180A and cathode layer 180B, and second cathode 180B having three layers 180A, cathode layer 180B, and 180C).
Regarding claim 12, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first cathode (Polyakov 180B, “second cathode 180B”) includes three layers (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, 180A, “cathode layer 180B”, and 180C), the second cathode (Polyakov 180G) includes two layers (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A and “cathode layer 180B”), and the third cathode (Polyakov 180R) includes one layer (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A), and
wherein a first metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202B, fig 2D, ¶0053, under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “a first metal patterning layer”, 202B is a patterned organic layer that prevents deposition of subsequent metal layers, i.e. 180C) is disposed on the second cathode (Polyakov fig 2D, ¶0053), and a second metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202A, fig 2C, ¶0052) is disposed on the third cathode (Polyakov fig 2C, ¶0052).
Regarding claim 13, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first and second metal patterning layers (Polyakov 202B, 202A, respectively) include an organic material (Polyakov ¶0052-0053, “organic”).
Regarding claim 14, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 12, further comprising a bank (Polyakov 402, ¶0070, under a BRI of “bank”, 402 divides anodes and defines subpixels) dividing the first, second and third subpixels (Polyakov 101B, 101G, 101R, respectively)(Polyakov 2F, ¶0070).
Regarding claim 15, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 14, wherein at least a portion of each of the first, second and third cathodes (Polyakov 180B, 180G, 180R, respectively, “second cathode 180B”) overlaps with the bank (Polyakov 402)(Polyakov fig 2F, at least portions of 180A/B/C comprising 180B/G/R directly overlap 402).
Regarding claim 16, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 10 (as best understood to mean “The display apparatus of claim 15”), wherein the first, second and third cathodes (Polyakov 180B, 180G, 180R, respectively, “second cathode 180B”) are formed as a common cathode layer (Polyakov 180, ¶0050, “cathode 180 may be a common layer shared by multiple subpixels”) across the first, second and third pixels (as best understood to mean “the first, second and third subpixels”)(Polyakov 101B, 101G, 101R, respectively)(Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0050), and
wherein the common cathode layer has a first disconnection portion or a first hole (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, opening in 180C formed due to 202B in 180G/101G, under a BRI of “disconnection portion” and/or “hole”) overlapping with the first metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202B) in the second subpixel (Polyakov 101G)(Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053), and a second disconnection portion or a second hole (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, opening in 180B and 180C formed due to 202A in 180R/101R) overlapping with the second first metal patterning layer (as best understood to mean “the second )(Polyakov 202A) in the third subpixel (Polyakov 101R)(Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053).
Regarding claim 17, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first, second and third subpixels (Polyakov 101B, 101G, 101R, respectively) are different ones of a red subpixel, a green subpixel, and a blue subpixel (Polyakov ¶0042, 0051).
Regarding claim 18, Polyakov discloses: A display apparatus (Polyakov 100, ¶0004, 0042-0053, fig 1, 2A-F), comprising:
a first subpixel (Polyakov 101B, ¶0042), a second subpixel (Polyakov 101G, ¶0042) and a third subpixel (Polyakov 101R, ¶0042) disposed on a substrate (Polyakov 400, ¶0045)(Polyakov fig 1, 2A-F, ¶0045);
a first electrode (Polyakov 110B, 110G, 110R, ¶0043) disposed in each of the first, second and third subpixels (Polyakov fig 1, 2F, ¶0043);
an organic layer (Polyakov 120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170, ¶0043-0049, “organic”) disposed on the first electrode in each of the first, second and third subpixels (Polyakov fig 1, 2F, ¶0043-0049);
a second electrode (Polyakov 180, 180B/G/R, 180A/B/C, ¶0043, 0050, “second cathode 180B”) disposed on the organic layer in each of the first, second and third subpixels (Polyakov fig 1, 2F, ¶0043, 0050-0053), the second electrode including at least one layer (Polyakov 180A, 180B, 180C)(Polyakov fig 1, 2F, ¶0043, 0050-0053); and
a metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202, 202A/B/C, fig 2D, ¶0053-0054, under a BRI of “a metal patterning layer”, 202 is a patterned organic layer that prevents deposition of subsequent metal layers, i.e. 180C) disposed on the second electrode of at least one subpixel (Polyakov, 180G of 101G, 180R of 101R) among the first, second and third subpixels (Polyakov fig 2D, ¶0053).
Regarding claim 19, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 18, wherein the metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202, 202A/B/C) includes an organic material (Polyakov ¶0052-0053, “organic”).
Regarding claim 22, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 18, wherein the second electrode (Polyakov 180, 180B/G/R, 180A/B/C) in the first subpixel (Polyakov 101B)(Polyakov 180B, “second cathode 180B”) includes three layers (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, 180A,“cathode layer 180B”, and 180C), the second electrode in the second subpixel (Polyakov 101G)(Polyakov 180G) includes two layers (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A and “cathode layer 180B”), and the second electrode in the third subpixel (Polyakov 101R)(Polyakov 180R) includes one layer (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A), and
wherein the metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202, 202A/B/C) is disposed on the second electrode in each of the second subpixel and the third subpixel (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0054).
Regarding claim 23, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 18, wherein the metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202, 202A/B/C) is disposed on the second electrode (Polyakov 180, 180B/G/R, 180A/B/C) in each of the first, second and third subpixels (Polyakov 101B, 101G, 101R, respectively)(Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0053).
Regarding claim 24, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 18, further comprising a bank layer (Polyakov 402, ¶0070, under a BRI of “bank layer”, 402 divides anodes and defines subpixels) disposed in a boundary region between the first, second and third subpixels (Polyakov 101B, 101G, 101R, respectively)(Polyakov 2F, ¶0070).
Regarding claim 25, Polyakov discloses: The display apparatus of claim 24, wherein the bank layer (Polyakov 402) includes:
a portion of the organic layer (Polyakov 120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170)(Polyakov fig 2F, at least the portions of 120, 130, 160, and 170 that overlap the bank layers 402); and
a portion of the second electrode (Polyakov 180, 180B/G/R, 180A/B/C) disposed on the portion of the organic layer (Polyakov fig 2F, at least portions of 180A/B/C comprising 180B/G/R directly overlap 402).
Regarding claim 26, Polyakov discloses: A display apparatus (Polyakov 100, ¶0004, 0042-0053, fig 1, 2A-F), comprising:
a first subpixel (Polyakov 101B, ¶0042) and a second subpixel (Polyakov 101G, ¶0042) disposed on a substrate (Polyakov 400, ¶0045)(Polyakov fig 1, 2A-F, ¶0045);
a first anode (Polyakov 110B, ¶0043) and a second anode (Polyakov 110G, ¶0043) disposed in the first and second subpixels, respectively (Polyakov fig 1, 2F, ¶0043);
a first organic light emitting element (Polyakov 110B, 150B, 180B ¶0043, 0048) configured to emit a first color of light (Polyakov ¶0051, blue) disposed in the first subpixel (Polyakov fig 1, 2A, ¶0043, 0052);
a second organic light emitting element (Polyakov 110G, 150G, 180G ¶0043, 0048) configured to emit a second color of light (Polyakov ¶0042, 0051, green) disposed in the second subpixel (Polyakov fig 1, 2A, ¶0043, 0052); and
a first cathode a first cathode (Polyakov 180B, ¶0043, 0050, “second cathode 180B”) and a second cathode (Polyakov 180G, ¶0043, 0050) disposed in the first and second subpixels, respectively (Polyakov fig 1, 2F, ¶0043, 0050-0053),
wherein the first cathode has a different number of layers than the second cathode (Polyakov fig 2C, 2F, ¶0052-0053, 180G having two layers 180A and cathode layer 180B, and second cathode 180B having three layers 180A, cathode layer 180B, and 180C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polyakov et al (US 20200075693 A1, hereafter Polyakov), as applied to claim 1 or 18 above, and further in view of Helander et al (US 20200280017 A1, hereafter Helander).
Regarding claim 2, Polyakov teaches: The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the first cathode (Polyakov 180B, “second cathode 180B”) and the second cathode (Polyakov 180G) includes two layers (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, 180A and “cathode layer 180B”), and the third cathode (Polyakov 180R) includes one layers (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A), and
wherein a metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202A, fig 2C, ¶0052) is disposed on the third cathode (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0054).
Polyakov does not teach: the second cathode includes three layers, and the third cathode includes two layers.
Polyakov further teaches: a cathode layer comprising a double layer (Polyakov ¶0050).
Helander, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a cathode layer (Helander 1371) comprising a double layer (Helander ¶0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first, second, and third cathodes of Polyakov to include at least one double layer, as taught by Polyakov and Helander, such that “each of the first cathode and the second cathode includes three layers, and the third cathode includes two layers”, in order to improve electron injection (Polyakov ¶0050) and/or improve electrical conductance of the electrode (Polyakov ¶0050), and/or in order to adjust for optical microcavity effects (Helander ¶0113).
Regarding claim 3, Polyakov in view of Helander teaches: The display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202A) include an organic material (Polyakov ¶0052-0053, “organic”).
Regarding claim 4, Polyakov in view of Helander teaches: The display apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a bank (Polyakov 402, ¶0070, under a BRI of “bank”, 402 divides anodes and defines subpixels) dividing the first, second and third subpixels (Polyakov 101B, 101G, 101R, respectively)(Polyakov 2F, ¶0070).
Regarding claim 5, Polyakov in view of Helander teaches: The display apparatus of claim 4, wherein at least a portion of each of the first, second and third cathodes (Polyakov 180B, 180G, 180R, respectively, “second cathode 180B”) overlaps with the bank (Polyakov 402)(Polyakov fig 2F, at least portions of 180A/B/C comprising 180B/G/R directly overlap 402).
Regarding claim 6, Polyakov in view of Helander teaches: The display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the first, second and third cathodes (Polyakov 180B, 180G, 180R, respectively, “second cathode 180B”) are formed as a common cathode layer (Polyakov 180, ¶0050, “cathode 180 may be a common layer shared by multiple subpixels”) across the first, second and third pixels (as best understood to mean “the first, second and third subpixels”)(Polyakov 101B, 101G, 101R, respectively)(Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0050), and
wherein the common cathode layer has a disconnection portion or a hole (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, opening in 180B and 180C formed due to 202A in 180R/101R) overlapping with the metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202A) in the third subpixel (Polyakov 101R)(Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053).
Regarding claim 7, Polyakov teaches: The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first cathode (Polyakov 180B, “second cathode 180B”) includes three layers (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, 180A and “cathode layer 180B”, 180C), the second cathode (Polyakov 180G) includes two layers (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A and “cathode layer 180B”) and, the third cathode (Polyakov 180R) includes one layer (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A), and
wherein a first metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202B, fig 2D, ¶0053) is disposed on the second cathode (Polyakov fig 2D, ¶0053), and a second metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202A, fig 2C, ¶0052) is disposed on the third cathode (Polyakov fig 2C, ¶0052).
Polyakov does not teach: the third cathode includes two layers.
Polyakov further teaches: a cathode layer comprising a double layer (Polyakov ¶0050).
Helander, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a cathode layer (Helander 1371) comprising a double layer (Helander ¶0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first, second, and third cathodes of Polyakov to include at least one double layer, as taught by Polyakov and Helander, such that “each of the second cathode and the third cathode includes two layers”, in order to improve electron injection (Polyakov ¶0050) and/or improve electrical conductance of the electrode (Polyakov ¶0050), and/or in order to adjust for optical microcavity effects (Helander ¶0113).
Regarding claim 8, Polyakov in view of Helander teaches: The display apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first and second metal patterning layers (Polyakov 202B, 202A, respectively) include an organic material (Polyakov ¶0052-0053, “organic”).
Regarding claim 9, Polyakov in view of Helander teaches: The display apparatus of claim 7, further comprising a bank (Polyakov 402, ¶0070, under a BRI of “bank”, 402 divides anodes and defines subpixels) dividing the first, second and third subpixels (Polyakov 101B, 101G, 101R, respectively)(Polyakov 2F, ¶0070).
Regarding claim 10, Polyakov in view of Helander teaches: The display apparatus of claim 9, wherein at least a portion of each of the first, second and third cathodes (Polyakov 180B, 180G, 180R, respectively, “second cathode 180B”) overlaps with the bank (Polyakov 402)(Polyakov fig 2F, at least portions of 180A/B/C comprising 180B/G/R directly overlap 402).
Regarding claim 11, Polyakov in view of Helander teaches: The display apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first, second and third cathodes (Polyakov 180B, 180G, 180R, respectively, “second cathode 180B”) are formed as a common cathode layer (Polyakov 180, ¶0050, “cathode 180 may be a common layer shared by multiple subpixels”) across the first, second and third pixels (as best understood to mean “the first, second and third subpixels”)(Polyakov 101B, 101G, 101R, respectively)(Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0050), and
wherein the common cathode layer has a first disconnection portion or a first hole (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, opening in 180C formed due to 202B in 180G/101G, under a BRI of “disconnection portion” and/or “hole”) overlapping with the first metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202B) in the second subpixel (Polyakov 101G)(Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053), and a second disconnection portion or a second hole (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, opening in 180B and 180C formed due to 202A in 180R/101R) overlapping with the second first metal patterning layer (as best understood to mean “the second )(Polyakov 202A) in the third subpixel (Polyakov 101R)(Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053).
Regarding claim 20, Polyakov teaches: The display apparatus of claim 18, wherein the second electrode (Polyakov 180, 180B/G/R, 180A/B/C) in the first subpixel (Polyakov 101B)(Polyakov 180B, “second cathode 180B”) includes three layers (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, 180A,“cathode layer 180B”, and 180C),
wherein the second electrode in the second subpixel (Polyakov 101G)(Polyakov 180G) includes two layers (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A and “cathode layer 180B”), and the second electrode in the third subpixel (Polyakov 101R)(Polyakov 180R) includes one layer (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A), and
wherein the metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202, 202A/B/C) is disposed on the second electrode in each of the second subpixel and the third subpixel (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0054).
Polyakov does not teach: the second electrode in the second subpixel includes three layers, and the second electrode in the third subpixel includes two layers.
Polyakov further teaches: a cathode layer comprising a double layer (Polyakov ¶0050).
Helander, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a cathode layer (Helander 1371) comprising a double layer (Helander ¶0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second electrode in the first, second and third subpixels of Polyakov to include at least one double layer, as taught by Polyakov and Helander, such that “the second electrode in each of the first subpixel and the second subpixel includes three layers” and “the second electrode in the third subpixel includes two layers”, in order to improve electron injection (Polyakov ¶0050) and/or improve electrical conductance of the electrode (Polyakov ¶0050), and/or in order to adjust for optical microcavity effects (Helander ¶0113).
Regarding claim 21, Polyakov teaches: The display apparatus of claim 18, wherein the second electrode (Polyakov 180, 180B/G/R, 180A/B/C) in the first subpixel (Polyakov 101B)(Polyakov 180B, “second cathode 180B”) includes three layers (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0052-0053, 180A,“cathode layer 180B”, and 180C),
wherein the second electrode in the second subpixel (Polyakov 101G)(Polyakov 180G) includes two layers (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A and “cathode layer 180B”), and the second electrode in the third subpixel (Polyakov 101R)(Polyakov 180R) includes one layer (Polyakov fig 2F, 180A), and
wherein the metal patterning layer (Polyakov 202, 202A/B/C) is disposed on the second electrode in each of the second subpixel and the third subpixel (Polyakov fig 2F, ¶0054).
Polyakov does not teach: the second electrode in the third subpixel includes two layers.
Polyakov further teaches: a cathode layer comprising a double layer (Polyakov ¶0050).
Helander, in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor device manufacturing, teaches: a cathode layer (Helander 1371) comprising a double layer (Helander ¶0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second electrode in the first, second and third subpixels of Polyakov to include at least one double layer, as taught by Polyakov and Helander, such that “the second electrode in each of the second subpixel and the third subpixel is includes two layers”, in order to improve electron injection (Polyakov ¶0050) and/or improve electrical conductance of the electrode (Polyakov ¶0050), and/or in order to adjust for optical microcavity effects (Helander ¶0113).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Choung et al (US 20210066645 A1) is cited as an example of an analogous device.
Kim (US 20140239272 A1) is cited as an example of an analogous device.
/NICHOLAS B. MICHAUD/
EXAMINER
Art Unit 2818
/Mounir S Amer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818