DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on July 2, 2026. These drawings are approved.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
support unit in claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, and 20;
temperature analysis unit in claims 1-7, 13, 14, and 20;
heating unit in claims 5 and 20;
temperature measurement module in claims 7, 8, 11-14, and 20;
temperature analysis circuit unit in claims 11 and 20;
module side communication unit in claims 11 and 20;
connection unit in claims 12 and 20;
atmospheric pressure transfer module in claims 14 and 20;
vacuum transfer module in claims 14 and 20; and
temperature analysis module in claims 7, 11, 14, and 20.
support unit 600 is interpreted as being a substrate support (Figure 2);
temperature analysis unit 70 is interpreted as being the temperature measurement module 71 and temperature analysis module 72;
heating unit 670 is interpreted as being a heater 671;
temperature measurement module 71 is interpreted as being temperature sensors 71a;
temperature analysis circuit unit 72a is interpreted as being a temperature analysis circuit;
module side communication unit 72b is interpreted as being a wireless communication circuit;
connection unit 72e is interpreted as being wires 71e;
atmospheric pressure transfer module 20 is interpreted as being atmospheric pressure transfer chamber;
vacuum transfer module 30 is interpreted as being a vacuum transfer chamber; and
temperature analysis module 72 is interpreted as being the temperature analysis circuit unit 72a, module side communication unit 72b and battery 72c.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Criminale et al, US 2020/0294836, in view of Lee, KR 102076291 B1.
Regarding claim 1, Criminale et al teaches a substrate treating apparatus 100 comprising: a process chamber 120 including a housing at which a treating space is formed (Figure 1) for process treating a substrate 118 and a support unit 210 positioned at the treating space and configured to support the substrate 118; wherein the process chamber controller 160 controls a temperature of the support unit based on temperature information.
Criminale et al differs from the present invention in that Criminale et al does not teach a temperature analysis unit configured to detect a temperature information of the support unit while mounted on the support unit and transmitting a detected temperature information to the process chamber.
Lee teaches a temperature analysis unit 1 configured to detect a temperature information of the support unit while mounted on the support unit via sensors 10 and transmitting via communicating unit 20 a detected temperature information to the process chamber controller 3. (Figures 1 and 2)
The motivation for using the temperature analysis unit of Lee in the apparatus of Criminale et al is to calibrate and correct the temperature control of the support unit in the apparatus of Criminale et al as taught by Lee. Furthermore, it has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to use the temperature analysis unit of Lee in the apparatus of Criminale et al as taught by ‘291.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches that the temperature analysis unit detects the temperature information while mounted on the treating space instead of the substrate.
Regarding claim 3, Criminale et al teaches that the support unit 210 includes an electrostatic chuck for sucking the substrate with an electrostatic force (Paragraph 0034), and the combination of Criminale et al and Lee teach that the temperature analysis unit detects the temperature information of the electrostatic chuck.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches that the temperature analysis unit detects the temperature information of the electrostatic chuck by regions via each of the plurality of sensors.
Regarding claim 5, Criminale et al teaches that the process chamber 120 further includes a heating unit 214 configured to heat the electrostatic chuck by regions (Criminale et al, Paragraph 0056), and Lee teaches that the temperature analysis unit 1 transmits a detected temperature information to the controller, and C heating unit controller , and Criminale et al teaches that controller 160 receives temperature control information and controls the heating unit heat to heat the electrostatic chuck by regions based on the temperature information.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “the process chamber blocks a communication between the temperature analysis unit positioned at the treating space and the process chamber when switching to a closed state” is an intended use of the controller. Furthermore, it has been held that: “Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Emphasis in original) Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus “ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Also see MPEP 2114. The apparatus of Criminale et al and Lee teach all of the claimed structure and are capable of functioning in the claimed manner.
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above Criminale et al and Lee teach that the temperature analysis unit includes: a temperature measurement module 20 which measures a surface temperature of the support unit 210 by regions while mounted on the support unit 210 to detect the temperature information; and a temperature analysis unit 30 configured to connect with the temperature measurement module 20 to be input with the temperature information, to analyze an input temperature information by region to change to a temperature distribution information, and to transfer a changed temperature distribution information to the process chamber.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches that the temperature measurement module includes: a temperature sensor 20 disposed in a plurality which are spaced apart from one another; and a sensor side circuit board (wafer) on which the temperature sensor 20 is installed on which a circuit pattern electrically connected to each of the temperature sensors is formed, and which is mounted on the support unit.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the specific sensor used is an obvious design choice and it would be obvious to select a specific well known type of sensor for use in the temperature analysis unit of Lee to measure the temperature in the desired location. Surface elastic wave temperature sensor, RTD sensor, and thermistor are all well-known sensors. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to use a Surface elastic wave temperature sensor, RTD sensor, or thermistor as a sensor in the apparatus of ‘291.
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches that the temperature analysis module includes: a temperature analysis circuit unit 30 configured to electrically connect with the temperature sensors 10 and analyze a temperature information detected by the temperature sensors to generate a temperature distribution information by regions of the support unit; a module side communication unit 20 configured to connect with the temperature analysis circuit unit, to be input with the temperature distribution information from the temperature analysis circuit unit, and to wirelessly transmit an input temperature distribution information to the process chamber; a battery 40 electrically connected to the temperature analysis circuit unit 30 and the module side communication unit 20, and supplying a power to the temperature analysis unit circuit unit 30 and the module side communication unit 20; and an analysis side circuit board (wafer) on which the temperature analysis circuit unit, the module side communication unit and the battery are installed, and on which a circuit pattern electrically connecting the temperature analysis circuit unit, the module side communication unit, and the battery is formed.
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches that the temperature analysis module 1 further includes a connection unit (wires shown in Figure 1) configured to electrically connect the analysis side circuit board (wafer) and the temperature measurement module 10.
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the temperature analysis unit further includes a coupling body coupling the temperature measurement module and the temperature analysis unit in an attachable/detachable manner.
Regarding claim 14, Criminale et al teaches a load port (Figure 1) at which the temperature analysis unit is put; an atmospheric pressure transfer module 140 positioned at a side of the load port and which transfers the temperature analysis unit within the load port in an atmospheric pressure state; a load lock chamber 132 positioned at a side of the atmospheric pressure transfer module 140, which transduces an atmospheric pressure to a vacuum pressure, and forms a space at which the temperature analysis unit is transferred; and a vacuum transfer module 130 which forms a vacuum pressure state, which transfers the temperature analysis unit positioned at the atmospheric pressure transfer module to the load lock chamber, and which mounts a transferred temperature analysis unit on the support unit of the process chamber, and wherein the sensor side circuit board. Putting direction confirmation region for checking an putting direction are well known in the art and it would be obvious to change the shape of the temperature analysis unit to provide a putting direction confirmation region so that the atmospheric pressure transfer module mounts the temperature analysis unit on the support unit so the putting direction confirmation region faces a certain direction, and the coupling body is disposed in a plurality and any one coupling method among the plurality is formed differently so the temperature measurement module and the temperature analysis module are coupled only at a specific position.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is a consolidation of all of the elements of claims 1-14 in a single claim. Claim 20 is rejected under Criminale et al and Lee for the reasons indicated in the rejections of claims 1-14 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “Lee does not disclose or suggest that the sensor-mounted wafer 1 is "configured to detect temperature information of the support unit, the temperature analysis unit being on the support unit,"”, the Examiner disagrees for the following reasons:
The limitation "configured to detect temperature information of the support unit" is functional language and requires the minimal structure required to do the function. Lee teaches the minimal structure. The combination relies on Criminale et al to provide the heated support. The only heater discussed in Criminale et al is the heated support. Thus any temperature measurement done by Lee in the apparatus of Criminale et al detects temperature information of the support unit. Therefore, the combination of Criminale et al and Lee teaches the limitation "configured to detect temperature information of the support unit".
Regarding the limitation “the temperature analysis unit being on the support unit”, Lee teaches a sensor-mounted wafer that is used to measure the actual temperature of the substrate to compare with the predicted temperature of the substrate heated by a heater. In the combination of Criminale et al and Lee the sensor-mounted wafer would be placed onto the heated substrate support assembly 200 in a processing chamber 120 by the transfer chamber robot 114. (Paragraph 0030) Once the sensor-mounted wafer is placed on the heated substrate support, the chamber is sealed and the process is run allowing the sensor-wafer to measure the temperature information of the support unit. Thus the combination of Criminale et al and Lee teaches that the temperature analysis unit of Lee is on the support unit of Criminale et al.
The Examiner notes that if the Applicant wants to distinguish the sensor-mounted wafer Applicant needs to claim a specific structure not what the structure is trying to do.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art teaches the technological background of the invention. KR 20180114088 A or KR 1020180026079 could be used in place of Criminale et al.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716