DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 7/2/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1-5, 8/-13, 15, and 17-20 are amended, Claims 15 and 17-18 are withdrawn, Claim 16 is canceled Claim 21 has been added, and Claims 1-15, and 17-21 remain pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 03/05/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15 and 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 14, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman (US20210373582A1, of record) in view of Kim (KR20180062575A, of record) further in view of Griffiths (US20130234935A1, of record).
With respect to Claim 1, Coleman discloses a lens panel (Fig. 8—element 803, fluid transfer component; [0375]) comprising:
a first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) extending in a first direction, the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) including a first hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) configured to transfer a fluid ([0372] and [0375]: fluid is transferred through fluid channels); and
a second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked), the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) including a second hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) configured to transfer a fluid ([0372] and [0375]: fluid is transferred through fluid channels).
However, Coleman does not explicitly disclose wherein the first elastic lens array including a first hole configured to transfer a fluid into the first elastic lens array; and
a second elastic lens array including a second hole different from the first hole configured to transfer the fluid into the second elastic lens array.
Coleman and Griffiths are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Griffiths discloses the first elastic lens array (Fig. 6A—element 331, fluid-filled switchable microlens array; [0120]) including a first hole (Fig. 6A—element 340, nominal pressure applying point; [0120]) configured to transfer a fluid into ([0120]: pressure is applied through element 340 in order to cause fluid to push against element 334) the first elastic lens array (Fig. 6A—element 331, fluid-filled switchable microlens array; [0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stacked elastic lens array of Coleman with the fluid filled array of Griffith to be able to provide very low focal lengths (Griffiths, [0120]).
However, Coleman does not explicitly disclose the second lens array extending in a second direction different from the first direction. Coleman and Kim are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Kim discloses a lens panel (Fig. 10—lens cell; [0049]) comprising: a second lens array (Fig. 10—element 300, second lens cell; [0049]) extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Fig. 100—element 300 extends in a direction perpendicular to that of the first lens cell, element 200). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lens array of Coleman with the lens array orientation of Kim in order to create a device which may provide a stereoscopic image display device that allows a user to view stereoscopic images without changing the optimal viewing position (Kim, [0005]).
With respect to Claim 2, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 1, and Coleman further discloses wherein the first hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) and the second hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) are connected ([0215]: the fluid in one channel may mix with fluids in other channels in the active region), and the fluid discharged from the first hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) of the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) is injected into the second hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) of the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) .
With respect to Claim 3, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 1, and Coleman further discloses,
wherein the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) includes:
a plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]); and
a first support plane (Fig. 5-- element 505, substrate; [0372]) configured to support the plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]), and
wherein the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) includes:
a plurality of second variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]); and
a second support plane (Fig. 5-- element 505, substrate; [0372]) configured to support the plurality of second variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]).
However, Coleman does not explicitly disclose wherein a plurality of first variable lenses having a curvature varying as the fluid is injected into or discharged from the plurality of first variable lenses
a plurality of second variable lenses having a curvature varying as the fluid is injected into or discharged from the plurality of second variable lenses.
Coleman and Griffiths are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Griffiths discloses wherein a plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 6A—element 334, membrane; [0120]) having a curvature varying as the fluid is injected into or discharged from ([0120]: In the on-state pressure is applied, resulting in the membrane 334 bowing to form the microlens array) the plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 6A—element 334, membrane; [0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stacked elastic lens array of Coleman with the fluid filled array of Griffith to be able to provide very low focal lengths (Griffiths, [0120]).
However, Coleman does not explicitly disclose wherein the first direction is a column direction, and the second direction is a row direction. Coleman and Kim are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Kim discloses a lens panel (Fig. 10—lens cell; [0049]) wherein the first direction is a column direction (Fig. 100—element 200 extends in a direction perpendicular to that of the second lens cell, element 300), and the second direction is a row direction (Fig. 100—element 300 extends in a direction perpendicular to that of the first lens cell, element 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lens array of Coleman with the lens array orientation of Kim in order to create a device which may provide a stereoscopic image display device that allows a user to view stereoscopic images without changing the optimal viewing position (Kim, [0005]).
With respect to Claim 4, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 1, and Coleman further discloses wherein the lens panel is configures to display an image at a first viewing angle when the fluid is injected into the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) and when the fluid is discharged from the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) ([0363]: the light directing properties of the display channel may be changed by changing the fluid pressure in one or more channels), and the lens panel (Fig. 8—element 803, fluid transfer component; [0375]) is configured to display the 3D image at a second viewing angle when the fluid is discharged from the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) and when the fluid is injected into the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) ([0363]: the light directing properties of the display channel may be changed by changing the fluid pressure in one or more channels).
However, Coleman does not disclose wherein the lens panel is configured to display a 3D image at a first viewing angle when the first lens array is active and when the second lens array is inactive, and the lens panel is configured to display the 3D image at a second viewing angle when the first lens array is inactive and when the second lens array is active.
Coleman and Kim are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Kim discloses a lens panel (Fig. 10—lens cell; [0049]) wherein the lens panel (Fig. 10—lens cell; [0049]) is configured to display a 3D image at a first viewing angle when the first lens array (Fig. 10—element 200, first lens cell; [0049]) is active and when the second lens array (Fig. 10—element 300, second lens cell; [0049]) is inactive ([0055]: element 200 may be switched on and element 300 may be switched off in order to display a 3D image at a certain angle), and the lens panel (Fig. 10—lens cell; [0049]) is configured to display the 3D image at a second viewing angle when the first lens array (Fig. 10—element 200, first lens cell; [0049]) is inactive and the second lens array (Fig. 10—element 300, second lens cell; [0049]) is active ([0055]: element 200 may be switched on and element 300 may be switched off in order to display a 3D image at a certain angle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lens array of Coleman with the 3D capabilities of Kim in order to create a device which may provide a stereoscopic image display device that allows a user to view stereoscopic images without changing the optimal viewing position (Kim, [0005]).
With respect to Claim 5, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 1, and Coleman further discloses wherein the lens panel (Fig. 8—element 803, fluid transfer component; [0375]) is configured to display a planar image at a wide viewing angle when the fluid is discharged ([0363]: the light directing properties of the display channel may be changed by changing the fluid pressure in one or more channels) from the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) and the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked).
With respect to Claim 6, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 1, and Coleman further discloses further comprising a fluid storage part (Fig. 8-- elements 810 and 811, reservoir and fluid lines; [0375]) configured to store the fluid ([0375]: element 810 comprises a first fluid, element 811. Element 812 comprises a second fluid, element 809),
wherein the fluid storage part (Fig. 8-- elements 810 and 811, reservoir and fluid lines; [0375]) includes:
a tube ([0375]: supply lines connect elements 810 and 811 to element 803) connected to at least one of the first hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) or the second hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]); and
a storage tank (Fig. 8-- elements 810 and 811, reservoir; [0375]) connected to the tube.
With respect to Claim 7, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 6, and Coleman further discloses wherein the tube ([0375]: supply lines connect elements 810 and 811 to element 803) includes:
a first tube ([0375]: input supply lines connect elements 810 and 811 to element 803) connected to the first hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]); and
a second tube ([0375]: output supply lines connect elements element 803 to 810 and 811) connected to the second hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]),
wherein the storage tank (Fig. 8-- elements 810 and 811, reservoir; [0375]) is connected to each of the first tube and the second tube ([0375]: supply lines connect elements 810 and 811 to element 803).
With respect to Claim 10, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 1, and Coleman further discloses wherein the first hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) is disposed at an end (Fig. 5—element 504 spans the length of element 500) of the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) in the first direction, and the second hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) is disposed at an end (Fig. 5—element 504 spans the length of element 500) of the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked).
However, Coleman does not explicitly disclose the second lens array in the second direction. Coleman and Kim are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Kim discloses a lens panel (Fig. 10—lens cell; [0049]) comprising: a second lens array (Fig. 10—element 300, second lens cell; [0049]) in three second direction (Fig. 100—element 300 extends in a direction perpendicular to that of the first lens cell, element 200). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lens array of Coleman with the lens array orientation of Kim in order to create a device which may provide a stereoscopic image display device that allows a user to view stereoscopic images without changing the optimal viewing position (Kim, [0005]).
With respect to Claim 14, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 1, and Coleman further discloses wherein the fluid includes a polymer ([0226]: the fluid may contain liquid polymer) having a refractive index between about 1.5 and about 1.7 ([0238]: refractive index of the fluid may be between 1.5 and 1.7).
With respect to Claim 19, Coleman discloses a lens panel (Fig. 8—element 803, fluid transfer component; [0375]) comprising:
a first lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) including a plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]) extending in a first direction and including a first elastic body ([0052]: element 404 has a high elastic module) having light transmissivity ([0363]: the flexed membrane has focusing lens properties); and
a second lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) including a plurality of second variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]) including a second elastic body ([0052]: element 404 has a high elastic module) having light transmissivity ([0363]: the flexed membrane has focusing lens properties).
However, Coleman does not explicitly disclose a second lens array extending in a second direction. Coleman and Kim are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Kim discloses a lens panel (Fig. 10—lens cell; [0049]) comprising: a second lens array (Fig. 10—element 300, second lens cell; [0049]) extending in a second direction (Fig. 100—element 300 extends in a direction perpendicular to that of the first lens cell, element 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lens array of Coleman with the lens array orientation of Kim in order to create a device which may provide a stereoscopic image display device that allows a user to view stereoscopic images without changing the optimal viewing position (Kim, [0005]).
However, Coleman and Kim do not disclose wherein a pressurizing device configured to pressurize at least one of the first lens array or the second lens array by injecting a fluid into the first lens array or the second lens array.
Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths are related as all pertaining to the field of optical structures. Griffiths discloses a pressurizing device ([0120]: pressure is applied to the microlens array) configured to pressurize at least one of the first lens array (Fig. 6A—element 331, fluid-filled switchable microlens array; [0120]) or the second lens array by injecting a fluid into ([0120]: pressure is applied through element 340 in order to cause fluid to push against element 334) the first lens array (Fig. 6A—element 331, fluid-filled switchable microlens array; [0120]) or the second lens array.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stacked elastic lens array of Coleman with the fluid filled array of Griffith to be able to provide very low focal lengths (Griffiths, [0120]).
With respect to Claim 20, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 19, and Coleman further discloses the plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]), and
wherein the plurality of second variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]) have a curvature varying as the fluid is injected to or discharged ([0086]: inner surfaces may vary due to flow of fluid) from the plurality of second variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]).
However, Coleman does not explicitly disclose wherein the first direction is a column direction, and the second direction is a row direction. Coleman and Kim are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Kim discloses a lens panel (Fig. 10—lens cell; [0049]) wherein the first direction is a column direction (Fig. 100—element 200 extends in a direction perpendicular to that of the second lens cell, element 300), and the second direction is a row direction (Fig. 100—element 300 extends in a direction perpendicular to that of the first lens cell, element 200).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lens array of Coleman with the lens array orientation of Kim in order to create a device which may provide a stereoscopic image display device that allows a user to view stereoscopic images without changing the optimal viewing position (Kim, [0005]).
However, Coleman does not explicitly disclose wherein a plurality of first variable lenses having a curvature varying as the fluid is injected into or discharged from the plurality of first variable lenses
a plurality of second variable lenses having a curvature varying as the fluid is injected into or discharged from the plurality of second variable lenses.
Coleman and Griffiths are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Griffiths discloses wherein a plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 6A—element 334, membrane; [0120]) having a curvature varying as the fluid is injected into or discharged from ([0120]: In the on-state pressure is applied, resulting in the membrane 334 bowing to form the microlens array) the plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 6A—element 334, membrane; [0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stacked elastic lens array of Coleman with the fluid filled array of Griffith to be able to provide very low focal lengths (Griffiths, [0120]).
With respect to Claim 21, Coleman discloses the lens panel (Fig. 8—element 803, fluid transfer component; [0375]) comprising:
a first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) comprising a plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]) disposed adjacent to each other and extending in a first direction, and a first hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]);
a second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) comprising a plurality of second variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]) disposed adjacent to each other, and a second hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]).
However, Coleman does not explicitly disclose the second lens array extending in a second direction different from the first direction. Coleman and Kim are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Kim discloses a lens panel (Fig. 10—lens cell; [0049]) comprising: a second lens array (Fig. 10—element 300, second lens cell; [0049]) extending in a second direction different from the first direction (Fig. 100—element 300 extends in a direction perpendicular to that of the first lens cell, element 200). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lens array of Coleman with the lens array orientation of Kim in order to create a device which may provide a stereoscopic image display device that allows a user to view stereoscopic images without changing the optimal viewing position (Kim, [0005]).
However, neither Coleman nor Kim disclose a pressurizing device configured to pressurize at least one of the first elastic lens array or the second elastic lens array by injecting fluid into the first hole or the second hole;
wherein the plurality of first variable lenses and the plurality of second variable lenses each have one of an active state with a curvature, or a non-active state with no curvature,
and wherein the fluid is injected by the pressurizing device in the active state, and the fluid is discharged by the pressurizing device in the non-active state.
Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths are related as all pertaining to the field of optical structures. Griffiths discloses a pressurizing device ([0120]: pressure is applied to the microlens array) configured to pressurize at least one of the first lens array (Fig. 6A—element 331, fluid-filled switchable microlens array; [0120]) or the second lens array by injecting a fluid into ([0120]: pressure is applied through element 340 in order to cause fluid to push against element 334) the first hole (Fig. 6A—element 340, nominal pressure applying point; [0120]) or the second hole;
wherein the plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 6A—element 334, membrane; [0120]) have one of an active state with a curvature ([0120]: In the on-state pressure is applied, resulting in the membrane 334 bowing to form the microlens array), or a non-active state with no curvature ([0120]: In the off-state no pressure is applied),
and wherein the fluid is injected by the pressurizing device ([0120]: pressure is applied to the microlens array) in the active state ([0120]: In the on-state pressure is applied, resulting in the membrane 334 bowing to form the microlens array), and the fluid is discharged by the pressurizing device in the non-active state ([0120]: In the off-state no pressure is applied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the stacked elastic lens array of Coleman with the fluid filled array of Griffith to be able to provide very low focal lengths (Griffiths, [0120]).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman (US20210373582A1) in view of Kim (KR20180062575A, of record) further in view of Griffiths (US20130234935A1, of record) further in view of Coleman22 (US20210373582A1, embodiment depicted in Fig. 22).
With respect to Claim 11, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 1, and Coleman further discloses wherein the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) includes a plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]),
wherein the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) includes a plurality of second variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]).
However, Coleman does not disclose wherein the first hole is disposed at a back surface of the first lens array, and the second hole is disposed at a top surface of the second lens array.
Coleman and Coleman22 are related as both pertaining to the field of display devices. Coleman22 discloses wherein the first hole (Fig. 22—element 2001, cross-channel openings; [0388]) is disposed at a back surface of the first lens array (Fig. 22—element 2001 extends through element 2200), and the second hole (Fig. 22—element 2101, cross-channel opening; [0388]) is disposed at a top surface of the second lens array (Fig 22 and [0388]: multiple element 2200 may be stacked).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lens arrays of Coleman with the cross-channel openings of Coleman22 in order to create a device which may permit fluid flow between the fluid channels (Coleman22, [0388]).
With respect to Claim 12, Coleman, Kim, Griffiths, and Coleman22 disclose the lens panel of claim 11, and Coleman further discloses wherein the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) includes a plurality of first holes (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) including the first hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]), and
the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) includes a plurality of second holes (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) including the second hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]), and
wherein a number of the plurality of first holes (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) and a number of the plurality of second holes (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) are a same number (Fig. 5—each layer has the same amount of element 504 because the same layers may be stacked).
However, Coleman does not disclose the same number corresponds to a value obtained by multiplying a number of the plurality of first variable lenses and a number of the plurality of second variable lenses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate the number of holes, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 13, Coleman, Kim, Griffiths, and Coleman22 disclose the lens panel of claim 11, and Coleman further discloses wherein the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) includes a plurality of first holes (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) including the first hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]), and
the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) includes a plurality of second holes (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) including the second hole (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]),
wherein each of the plurality of first holes (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) corresponds to any one of the plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]), and corresponds to any one of the plurality of second variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]),
wherein each of the plurality of second holes (Fig. 5--element 504, channels; [0372]) corresponds to any one of the plurality of first variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]), and corresponds to any one of the plurality of second variable lenses (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film contains multiple lenses; [0372]).
The prior art and the instant claim differ by the shape of the alignment of the plurality of holes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to diagonally align the plurality of holes, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), MPEP §2144.04(IV)(B). In the instant case, the change in shape does not appear to be significant to the function because the holes may still be connected in the diagonal direction in order to allow fluid to flow between channels.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to Claim 8, Coleman, Kim, and Griffiths disclose the lens panel of claim 1, and Coleman further discloses the first elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked), the second elastic lens array (Fig. 5--element 501, lenticular lens array film; [0372]; multiple of element 500 may be stacked) , and the first elastic body ([0052]: element 404 has a high elastic module).
However, Coleman and Kim do not disclose further comprising a pressurizing device configured to pressurize at least one of the first lens array and the second lens array,
wherein the pressurizing device includes:
a pressurizing member on a top surface and a back surface of the at least one of the first lens array and the second lens array;
an elastic body configured to provide an elastic force;
a motor configured to provide power for contracting the elastic body;
a connection member configured to connect between the elastic body and the pressurizing member; and
a fixing pin configured to selectively fix a position of the elastic body which is contracted or relaxed.
Coleman, Kim, and Wen are related as all pertaining to the field of optical structures. Wen discloses a lens panel (Fig. 1—element 5, fluid transfer apparatus; Col. 2, Line 32) further comprising a pressurizing device (Fig. 1—element 5, fluid pressure controller; Col. 2, Line 38) configured to pressurize the lens array (Fig. 1—element 400, image elements; Col. 4, Line 48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lens panel of Coleman and Kim with the pressurizing device of Wen in order to create a device which simplifies the fluid transfer process (Wen, Col. 2, Lines 48-54).
However, neither Coleman, Kin, nor any other combination of the prior art discloses wherein the pressurizing device includes:
a pressurizing on a top surface and a back surface of the lens array;
an elastic body configured to provide an elastic force;
a motor configured to provide power for contracting the elastic body;
a connection member configured to connect between the elastic body and the pressurizing member; and
a fixing pin configured to selectively fix a position of the elastic body which is contracted or relaxed in combination with all other limitations of claim 1.
With respect to Claim 9, this claim is dependent on Claim 8
and is allowable at least for the reasons stated supra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872