DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/15/2025 and 12/23/2023, is/are in compliance with the provisions 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Kang, HanSaem and Son, HyeonHo, herein referred to as Kang and Son (US 10615186).
As to claim 1, Kang and Son teach a display apparatus comprising: Figs. 5, 6
a light emitting element (Fig 5 [col 17 lines 58] LED 300; blue light emitting device 300 -3) disposed on a substrate ([col 8 line9] first substrate 100):
a planarization layer (Fig 6 [col 19 line 39] planarization layer 140 + 110) covering the light emitting element (LED 300) and having a plurality of holes ([col 19 line17-18] light emitting devices 300 are respectively disposed in the concave portions 130 and CCH1/CCH2 and ECH1/ECH2 are holes) disposed on both sides of the light emitting element (LED 300) interposed therebetween;
a plurality of wire electrodes (Fig. 6: E1, E2 ) disposed on exposed surfaces of the plurality of holes (ECH1 and ECH2 shown in Fig. 6) and electrically connected with the light emitting element (LED 300);
a bank ([col 16, line 37] the black matrix 510) disposed on the plurality of assembly electrodes (Fig. 6 AE and CE; pixel electrode AE, the common electrode CE)and comprising an assembly groove (area between banks 510); and
a color conversion layer ([col 18, line 35] a wavelength conversion layer 170) disposed inside the assembly groove (Fig. 6 area between banks 510).
It is noted that the assembly electrodes have no function requirement. Therefore, the Fig. 11 pixel electrode (AE) and common electrode (CE) on the planarization layer 140, function as assembly electrodes. In the Fig. 11 embodiment, the AE and CE both function as assembly electrodes, particularly in the context of advanced display technology by electrically connecting to the driving TFT T2 and the first electrode E1 of the light emitting device 300. [See col 14, line 19].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 2-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, HanSaem and Son, HyeonHo, herein referred to as Kang and Son (US 10615186).
As to claim 2 Kang and Son teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the light emitting element comprises an LED emitting a blue light (Fig. 5 blue light emitting device 300 -3, Kang and Son), and
the color conversion layer (Fig. 6 wavelength conversion layer 170, Kang and Son) emits a different color light from the blue light while the blue light passing therethrough
Kang and Son do not appear to expressly disclose “a micro LED emitting a blue light”. However, microLEDs (µLEDs) are well-known in the art, recognized as a next-generation display technology. MicroLEDs are used over traditional LEDs and OLEDs for their superior, self-emissive brightness, higher contrast (deep blacks), and superior energy efficiency without the risk of burn-in.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use micro LEDs in the device of Kang and Son over traditional LEDs since micro LEDs offer longer lifespans, faster response times, and higher scalability.
Kang and Son do not appear to expressly disclose “the color conversion layer (170) emits a different color light from the blue light while the blue light passing therethrough. However,
[col 18 lines 37-39] does explicitly disclose “If a light emitting device 300 emitting light of a first color except white is identically disposed in each of a plurality of pixels SP1 to SP3, the wavelength conversion layer 170 may be provided on a top of an encapsulation layer 160, for realizing a color through a unit pixel UP”. Thus, the wavelength conversion layer (170) causes a change in color to a different wavelength of color. In other words, 3 pixels (if all the same wavelength) will emit the same color with the implementation of the color conversion layer (170). It is obvious then that blue light can be used and then the color can be changed (emitting a different color light from the blue light while the blue light passing therethrough by use of (170), as explained in [col 18 lines 54-61].
As to claim 3, Kang and Son teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the assembly electrodes (Fig. 6 AE and CE, Kang and Son) are disposed on both sides of the light emitting element (LED 300, Kang and Son) interposed therebetween, spaced apart from each other.
As to claim 4, Kang and Son teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
each of the plurality of assembly electrodes (Fig. 6: AE and CE, Kang and Son) protrudes from an edge of the bank (black matrix 510, Kang and Son) toward the assembly groove (area between banks 510, Kang and Son) and overlaps the color conversion layer (wavelength conversion layer 170, Kang and Son) .
As to claim 5, Kang and Son teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the assembly electrode (Fig. 6 AE and CE, Kang and Son) comprises a transparent electrode ([col 23 lines 33-35]”The common electrode CE may be formed of a transparent conductive material which is low in reflectivity”. [col 14 lines 34-35] “the pixel electrode AE may be formed of a transparent conductive material”) comprising a metal oxide including indium-tin-oxide (ITO) or indium-zinc-oxide (IZO) ([col 14 lines34-36] “the transparent conductive material may be indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), or the like, but is not limited thereto.”, Kang and Son).
As to claim 7, Kang and Son teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the color conversion layer (wavelength conversion layer 170, Kang and Son) has a uniform thickness at a center or edge of the assembly groove (Fig. 6, area between banks 510, Kang and Son).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, HanSaem and Son, HyeonHo, herein referred to as Kang and Son (US 10615186) in view of Kang et al. (US 20240298499) herein referred to as Kang et al.
As to claim 8, Kang and Son teach the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the color conversion layer (wavelength conversion layer 170, Kang and Son) comprises a plurality of phosphor core shell particles comprising a phosphor core, and
Kang and Son do not appear to expressly disclose “the color conversion layer comprises a plurality of phosphor core shell particles comprising a phosphor core” nor ““a shell surrounding an outside surface of the phosphor core”.
However, Kang et al. teaches in [0190] “a core-shell structure including a core including the nanocrystal described above and a shell surrounding the core.” High-density phosphor color conversion layers (CCLs) are widely used in modern lighting and display technologies, particularly for high-performance LEDs and micro-LEDs, to achieve efficient blue-to-white or blue-to-green/red conversion.
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a phosphor core shell in the color conversion layer of Hang and Son, such as is used in the Kang et al. device so as to improves stability, efficiency, and color purity in the Kang and Son device. The shell acts as a protective barrier against moisture and oxygen, enhancing thermal and chemical durability. It also improves optical performance by reducing surface defects, reducing self-absorption, and confining carriers to increase emission intensity, especially in harsh conditions.
As to claim 9, the Kang and Son/Kang et al. combination teaches the display apparatus of claim 8, wherein
the shell comprises a material ([0190] “Examples of the shell of the quantum dot may include a metal or non-metal oxide, a semiconductor compound, and a combination thereof., Kang et al.)
Kang et al. do not appear to expressly disclose “the shell comprises a material that is polarizable in an electric field (obvious) ”. However, metal oxides are highly polarizable in an electric field.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that since the Kang and Son/Kang et al. combination shell comprises a metal oxide material, then that material would be polarizable in an electric field.
As to claim 10, the Kang and Son/Kang et al. combination teaches the display apparatus of claim 9, wherein
the polarizable material is a nano-coating layer comprising a metal oxide-based material. ([0190] Examples of the shell of the quantum dot may include a metal or non-metal oxide, a semiconductor compound, and a combination thereof.; Kang et al.)
As to claim 11, the Kang and Son/Kang et al. combination teaches the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein
the metal oxide-based material comprises indium oxide, silicon oxide, magnesium oxide or aluminum oxide. [0191] For example, the metal or non-metal oxide may be a binary compound such as SiO.sub.2, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, TiO.sub.2, ZnO, MnO, Mn.sub.2O.sub.3, Mn.sub.3O.sub.4, CuO, FeO, Fe.sub.2O.sub.3, Fe.sub.3O.sub.4, CoO, Co.sub.3O.sub.4 and NiO, or a tertiary compound such as MgAl.sub.2O.sub.4, CoFe.sub.2O.sub.4, NiFe.sub.2O.sub.4 and CoMn.sub.2O.sub.4, but the disclosure is not limited thereto.; Kang et al.)
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, HanSaem and Son, HyeonHo, herein referred to as Kang and Son (US 10615186) in view of Wyatt, David (US 11971616) herein referred to as Wyatt.
As to claim 12, Kang and Son teach a method for manufacturing a display apparatus comprising:
preparing a substrate ([col 8 line9] first substrate 100); wherein the substrate comprises; a light emitting element (Fig 5 [col 17 lines 58] LED 300; blue light emitting device 300 -3);
a planarization layer (Fig 6 [col 19 line 39] planarization layer 140 +110) covering the light emitting element (LED 300) and comprising a
plurality of holes ([col 19 line17-18] light emitting devices 300 are respectively disposed in the concave portions 130, and CCH1/CCH2 and ECH1/ECH2 are holes) disposed on both sides with the light emitting element (LED 300) interposed therebetween;
a plurality of wire electrodes wire electrodes (Fig. 6 E1, E2 ) disposed on an exposed surfaces of the plurality of holes (ECH1 and ECH2 shown in Fig 6) and electrically connected with the light emitting element (LED 300);
a plurality of assembly electrodes (Fig. 6 AE and CE; pixel electrode AE, the common electrode CE) disposed on the planarization layer (planarization layer 140 + 110);
a bank ([col 16, line 37] the black matrix 510) disposed on the plurality of assembly electrodes and comprising an assembly groove (Fig. 6, area between banks 510).; and
below a color conversion material adhesive layer ([col 17 line1-2]“The encapsulation layer 160 may be an optical clear adhesive”) disposed inside the assembly groove (Fig. 6, area between banks 510).;
Kang and Son do not appear to expressly disclose a method of making a color conversion layer. However, Wyatt teaches a method of making a color conversion layer.
disposing the substrate in a fluid in which core shell phosphor particles [col 31 lines2-5] “In one embodiment, micron/sub-micron (nanoparticle) color conversion material is included in the fluid (non-conductive and transparent e.g. oil) inside capsule of the reflective display sub-pixels.”) are scattered
moving the core shell phosphor particles toward the assembly groove (Fig. 11 shows excitation of nanoparticles);
generating an electric field ([col 25 lines7-9] Alternating Current (AC) potential on the electrodes (creating the electric field around the phosphor sandwich)) around the plurality of assembly electrodes and
forming a color conversion layer by moving the core-shell phosphor particles dielectrically polarized by the electric field toward the assembly electrode and (Fig. 20 shows color conversion layer)
fixing the dielectrically polarized core shell phosphor particles on the color conversion material adhesive layer (adhesive can be introduced on each layer [col 17 line 36-37] “an adhesive interface can be introduced on each layer to promote construction of the film stack.” )
As to claim 13, the Kang and Son/Wyatt combination teaches the assembly electrode.
the assembly electrode (Fig. 6 AE and CE; pixel electrode AE, the common electrode CE)
the electric field is generated by applying an alternating voltage on the assembly electrode ([col 25 lines 7-11] Alternating Current (AC) potential on the electrodes (creating the electric field around the phosphor sandwich)
As to claim 14, the Kang and Son/ Wyatt combination teaches the method for manufacturing the display apparatus of claim 12, wherein
the phosphor core shell particle comprises a phosphor core, and
[0190] a core including the nanocrystal described above and a shell surrounding the core.
a shell surrounding the phosphor core, and the shell comprises a material ([0190] “Examples of the shell of the quantum dot may include a metal or non-metal oxide, a semiconductor compound, and a combination thereof., Kang et al.)
and [0190] The shell of the quantum dot may serve as a protective layer for maintaining semiconductor characteristics by preventing chemical denaturation of the core and/or as a charging layer for giving electrophoretic characteristics to the quantum dot. ,Kang et al.)
As to claim 15, the Kang and Son/Kang et al. combination teaches the method for manufacturing the display apparatus of claim 14, wherein
the polarizable material comprises a metal oxide-based material of indium oxide, silicon oxide, magnesium oxide or aluminum oxide.
([col 11 line 24-28] “In a preferred embodiment, the particles are coated with Silicate (SiO.sub.2) to provide this improvement. However other materials are well known to provide a similar protection, for example including Aluminum Oxide, Nickel Oxide, and ITO (Indium Tin Oxide)”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening cl
As to claim 6, Kang and Son teach the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising
another surface thereof is connected with each of the plurality of wire electrodes (Fig. 11, E1, E2 ) electrically connected with the light emitting element (LED 300);.
Kang and Son do not teach:
a buried pattern filling in the plurality of holes and disposed on the plurality of wire electrodes, wherein
the plurality of assembly electrodes are disposed above the buried pattern;
a through-electrode penetrating the buried pattern, wherein one surface of the through-electrode contacts a rear surface of the assembly electrode and
another surface thereof is connected with each of the plurality of wire electrodes electrically connected with the light emitting element.
Conclusion
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/SHAWN SHAW MUSLIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2897