DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 8, 11 – 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMAMURA et al. (20130271928) in view of Salmon et al. (20210407927).
With regard to claim 8, SHIMAMURA et al. disclose a method for manufacturing an electronic device (for example, see figs. 5(A), 5(B), 5(C)) wherein the method comprises:
providing a substrate (2) with at least one electronic component (31 or 32) and at least one metal bar (4; for example, see paragraph [0097]) mounted thereon;
forming an encapsulant layer (5) on the substrate (2) to encapsulate the at least one electronic component (31 or 32) and the at least one metal bar (4) and expose (exposed from the encapsulant layer 5) a top surface of each of the at least one metal bar (4);
forming at least one trench (concave part 52, fig. 5(B) functions as one trench) adjacent to and around the at least one metal bar (4), respectively, to expose an upper portion of a lateral surface (side surface) of each of the at least one metal bar (4) from the encapsulant layer (5); and
forming a shielding layer (6) over the encapsulant layer (5) and the at least one metal bar (4), wherein the shielding layer (6) is in contact with the at least one metal bar (4).
SHIMAMURA et al. do not clearly disclose the bar protrudes above the encapsulant layer
However, Salmon et al. discloses the bar (sidewall structure 328 of the layer 330 functions as a bar) protrudes above the encapsulant layer (338). (for example, see paragraph 0023], fig. 3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the SHIMAMURA et al.’s device to have the bar protrudes above the encapsulant layer as taught by Salmon et al. in order to minimize the signal interference for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 11, SHIMAMURA et al. disclose forming the at least one trench (52) comprises: forming the at least one trench using laser ablation (for example, see paragraph [0082]).
With regard to claim 12, SHIMAMURA et al. disclose each of the at least one trench (52) comprises a sloping surface that slopes towards the metal bar (4, fig. 5(B)).
With regard to claim 13, SHIMAMURA et al. disclose the substrate (2) comprises a ground layer (a terminal layer 23a1, electrically connected to the ground potential, functions as a ground layer; for example, see paragraph [0103]), and each of the at least one metal bar (4) is electrically coupled to the ground layer (23a1).
With regard to claim 16, SHIMAMURA et al. do not clearly disclose the at least one metal bar is higher than the at least one electronic component.
3. Claims 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMAMURA et al. (20130271928) in view of Salmon et al. (20210407927) and further in view of Rofougaran et al. (8811923).
With regard to claims 14, 15, SHIMAMURA et al. and Salmon et al. do not clearly disclose the at least one electronic component comprises a wireless communication module; wherein the wireless communication module comprises a voltage-controlled oscillator circuit.
However, Rofougaran et al. discloses the at least one electronic component (150) is a wireless communication module; wherein the wireless communication module (150) comprises a voltage-controlled oscillator circuit (165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the SHIMAMURA et al. and Salmon et al.’s device to have the at least one electronic component comprises a wireless communication module; wherein the wireless communication module comprises a voltage-controlled oscillator circuit as taught by Rofougaran et al. in order to generate a clock signal efficiency for use by various circuitry for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 9, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9, 10 are allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as forming the encapsulant layer on the substrate comprises: attaching a film on the top surface of each of the at least one metal bar or on a mold chase; placing the mold chase over the substrate to form a molding chamber between the mold chase and the substrate, wherein the mold chase comprises at least one cavity accommodating the at least one metal bar, respectively, and the film is between the mold chase and the top surface of each of the at least one metal bar; injecting into the molding chamber an encapsulant material; solidifying the encapsulant material; and detaching the films from the at least one metal bar to expose the respective top surface of the at least one metal bar as recited in claim as recited in claim 9.
Response to Amendment
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812