DETAILED ACTION
IDS
The IDS document(s) filed on 12/26/2023 have been considered. Copies of the PTO-1449 documents are herewith enclosed with this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: For clarity, Line 21 should recite “film, a single layer film of silver, and a stacked” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamazaki et al. (US 2025/0212602 A1), hereafter “Yamazaki”.
As to claim 1, Yamazaki teaches a display device comprising:
a plurality of pixels (150, Fig. 1A, ⁋ [0078]); and
a bank provided between each adjacent pair of the plurality of pixels (126, Fig. 1B, ⁋ [0105]),
each of the plurality of pixels comprising, on a base (101+103+104, Fig. 1B, ⁋ [0083]):
a cathode (111G, ⁋ [0086]) Examiner notes that if 113 (see below) acts as the anode one skilled in the art would know the other electrode would be the cathode,
an organic EL layer (112G, ⁋⁋ [0086]-[0087]) provided on the cathode,
a protective layer (125, ⁋⁋ [0104], [0106]) provided to cover a side surface of the organic EL layer, and
an anode (113, Fig. 1B, ⁋⁋ [0086], [0123], “connection electrode 111C is supplied with a potential (e.g., an anode potential or a cathode potential) that is to be supplied to the common electrode 113”) provided on the protective layer and in an aperture of the bank, so as to be in contact with the organic EL layer (in contact via layer 114).
As to claim 2, Yamazaki teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein
the protective layer is formed of aluminum oxide (⁋ [0108]).
As to claim 3, Yamazaki teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein
the cathode is one of a magnesium-silver alloy film, a single layer film of silver (⁋ [0155]) and a stacked layered film of silver (Ag) and a transparent conductive material, and
the transparent conductive material is indium tin oxide or indium zinc oxide.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki and further in view of Cheng (US 2020/0043996 A1), hereafter “Cheng”.
As to claim 4, Yamazaki teaches the display device according to claim 1, and further teaches the anode (113) as having a “stacked-layer structure” (⁋ [0243) but fails to teach wherein
the anode is of a three-layer multilayer structure of indium zinc oxide, silver and indium zinc oxide, a two-layer stacked structure of molybdenum-tungsten alloy and indium tin oxide, or a three-layer stacked multilayer structure of aluminum alloy, titanium and indium tin oxide.
Cheng teaches a similar device where an anode 51 is made of a multilayer stacked structure (IZO) and silver (⁋ [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the stacked structure of Cheng into the device of Yamazaki since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/CARNELL HUNTER III/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893