DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action for US Patent Application No. 18/395922 by Won et al.
Claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 5, Line 8: It appears there should be a comma between “C12 aryl” and “C1-C5 alkyl”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (US 2021/0175073 A1), herein referred to as Ryu.
Ryu (Figure 21) teaches a semiconductor device. Claim 14 is considered to be a product-by-process claim. Although claim 14 is dependent on the method for forming a photoresist pattern recited in claim 13, the structural limitations of the semiconductor device in claim 14 are not further limited by the method recited in claim 13.
MPEP Chapter 2113 states “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isoda et al. (US Patent 4,927,728), herein referred to as Isoda.
Regarding claim 1, Isoda teaches (Column 5, Lines 43-44, Compound No. 3) an organotin compound having a chemical formula that satisfies the limitations of claim 1:
The organotin compound taught by Isoda has R groups that satisfy the claimed R groups recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isoda et al. (US Patent 4,927,728), herein referred to as Isoda.
Regarding claim 2-4, although Isoda does not appear to explicitly teach the claimed substitutent groups for R1 to R3, Isoda does teach (Column 5, Lines 34-35) R groups for organotin compounds that include alkyl groups of 1 to 12 carbons. Therefore, at the time of the filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the organotin compounds taught by Isoda to include various R groups because it would have been within the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute known carbon containing groups based on well-known chemical synthesis reaction mechanisms established in the field of chemistry.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5-13 are considered to be allowable over the prior art because the prior art does not teach or suggest a photoresist composition comprising Applicant’s claimed organostannyl silicate compound.
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724