DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 24, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 101 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed April 3, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurian (US 20170364893 A1) in view of Palle (US 20210029112 A1), in view of Mene (US 20230394935 A1) and Jenson (WO 2022066197 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 18, Kurian teaches A system for authorizing a transaction, comprising (Kurian: Abstract): A non-transitory, computer-readable medium, comprising programming instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to at least one processor configured to: (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0003, 0008, 0040):
receive, from a merchant system, a request to authorize a transaction, the request comprising at least one token associated with a user (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0028, 0057, 0059 teach(es) the process flow includes receiving a request from a user to perform a transaction with a merchant; tokens or portions of tokens may be used as a stand in for a user account number, user name, pin number, routing information related to the financial institution associated with the account, security code, or other like information relating to the user account); determine, based at least on the at least one token, that the user requested a … personal identification number (PIN), … (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0057, 0059, 0068, 0085-0086 teach(es) tokens or portions of tokens may be used as a stand in for a user account number, user name, pin number, routing information related to the financial institution associated with the account, security code, or other like information relating to the user account; The system uses a tokenized PIN to authenticate a check at a point of sale (POS) either utilizing existing POS readers or modified readers configured to enable recognition of a check's number to be read); transmit, to a payment … associated with the user, data associated with a … PIN, … (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0096 teach(es) embodiments also receive a PIN change request from the user; update a table of PINs with a new PIN based on the PIN change request; and transmit a successful PIN change message (i.e., data associated with the haptic PIN) to the user); receive, from the payment device, a responsive PIN; determine that the responsive PIN matches the … PIN; and in response to determining that the responsive PIN matches the … PIN, automatically authorize the transaction, … (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0013, 0003, 0008, 0094 teach(es) generating a PIN based on the determined check data fields; receiving user input of a user PIN; comparing the generated PIN with the inputted user PIN; if the generated PIN matches the inputted user PIN, proceeding with the transaction; and if the generated PIN does not match the inputted user PIN, cancelling the transaction).
However, Kurian does not explicitly teach a haptic personal identification number (PIN) and wherein the haptic PIN is not transformed to an alphanumeric PIN by the system.
Palle from same or similar field of endeavor teaches a haptic personal identification number (PIN) (Palle: Paragraph(s) 0025-0027, 0052-0053 teach(es) The registration device includes a taptic receiver. The taptic receiver can receive a taptic pattern created by the customer. The taptic pattern is a pattern represented by taps or movements by the customer in a distinct pattern or rhythm. In some embodiments, the taptic pattern can be input on a taptic membrane configured to receive taps, haptic input, and/or taptic patterns; The registration device includes a customer information component. The customer information component is configured to receive other information about the customer. For example, other information can include name, account number, social security number, a PIN, date of birth, age, security questions, and/or the like), wherein the haptic PIN is not transformed to an alphanumeric PIN by the system (Palle: Paragraph(s) 0036 teach(es) the validation engine includes an error metric which provides a minimum threshold with which to compare the taptic pattern to the recorded taptic pattern).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kurian to incorporate the teachings of Palle for a haptic personal identification number (PIN) and wherein the haptic PIN is not transformed to an alphanumeric PIN by the system.
There is motivation to combine Palle into Kurian because Palle’s teachings of haptic input would facilitate using PIN for authorizing a transaction (Palle: Paragraph(s) 0025-0027, 0052-0053).
However, the combination of Kurian and Palle does not explicitly teach wherein the haptic PIN comprises a series of vibrations and is not alphanumeric, a payment device comprising a haptic driver and associated with the user, data associated with a haptic PIN, wherein the haptic driver is configured to transform electrical energy to mechanical energy, based at least on the data associated with the haptic PIN, the mechanical energy comprising at least one vibration of a first duration and an end sequence comprising at least one vibration of a second duration that differs from the first duration, thereby signaling an end of the haptic PIN.
Mene from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the haptic PIN comprises a series of vibrations and is not alphanumeric (Mene: Paragraph(s) 0042 teach(es) the controller continuously monitors vibration of haptic actuators (e.g., received as feedback signals) during vibration to issue additional control signals modulating power provided to haptic actuators such that vibration of the haptic actuators substantially matches the haptic effect waveform), a payment device comprising a haptic driver and associated with the user, data associated with a haptic PIN, wherein the haptic driver is configured to transform electrical energy to mechanical energy, based at least on the data associated with the haptic PIN (Mene: Paragraph(s) 0017-0018, 0042, 0048-0050, 0064 teach(es) A haptic effect can be defined by an input waveform (e.g., a sine wave, a square wave, a saw wave, etc.) (i.e., data associated with the haptic PIN). The input waveform can specify the frequency/amplitude over time required to generate vibration associated the haptic effect. The input waveform can be used to control a haptic actuator (i.e., haptic driver) which can be configured to generate vibration corresponding to the haptic effect. Haptic actuators receive power from a power source (e.g., a battery or power supply). Control signals (e.g., defined based on the waveform of a haptic effect and feedback signals during vibration) can be issued to modulate power provided to a haptic actuator for a designated time period to generate a desired haptic effect), the mechanical energy comprising at least one vibration of a first duration and an … sequence comprising at least one vibration of a second duration that differs from the first duration … (Mene: Paragraph(s) 0017-0018, 0042, 0048-0050, 0064 teach(es) A haptic effect can be defined by an input waveform (e.g., a sine wave, a square wave, a saw wave, etc.). The input waveform can specify the frequency/amplitude over time required to generate vibration associated the haptic effect. The input waveform can be used to control a haptic actuator which can be configured to generate vibration corresponding to the haptic effect. Haptic actuators receive power from a power source (e.g., a battery or power supply). Control signals (e.g., defined based on the waveform of a haptic effect and feedback signals during vibration) can be issued to modulate power provided to a haptic actuator for a designated time period to generate a desired haptic effect).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination of Kurian and Palle to incorporate the teachings of Palle for wherein the haptic PIN comprises a series of vibrations and is not alphanumeric, a payment device comprising a haptic driver and associated with the user, data associated with a … PIN, wherein the haptic driver is configured to transform electrical energy to mechanical energy, based at least on the data associated with the haptic PIN, the mechanical energy comprising at least one vibration of a first duration and an sequence comprising at least one vibration of a second duration that differs from the first duration, thereby signaling an end of the haptic PIN.
There is motivation to combine Mene into the combination of Kurian and Palle because Mene’s teachings of haptic actuators would facilitate generating haptic effects, which can be used for control signals (Mene: Paragraph(s) 0017-0018).
However, the combination of Kurian, Palle, and Mene does not explicitly teach an end sequence.. wherein the second duration signals an end of the haptic PIN.
Jenson from same or similar field of endeavor teaches an end sequence.. wherein the second duration signals an end of the haptic PIN (Jenson: Paragraph(s) 0037-0038 teach(es) fingerprint sensing module may select the defined period of time to be slightly shorter than the fingerprint sensing time period, such that haptic feedback module outputs a discrete haptic signal at the end of the fingerprint sensing time period).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination of Kurian, Palle, and Mene to incorporate the teachings of Palle for an end sequence.. wherein the second duration signals an end of the haptic PIN.
There is motivation to combine Jenson into the combination of Kurian, Palle, and Mene because Jenson’s teachings of sequence of haptic signals for an end of sequence would facilitate determining of a specific operation (Jenson: Paragraph(s) 0037-0038).
Regarding Claim 10, Kurian teaches A computer-implemented method for authorizing a transaction, comprising (Kurian: Abstract):
receiving, with at least one processor, a request to authorize a transaction, the request comprising at least one token associated with a user (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0028, 0057, 0059 teach(es) the process flow includes receiving a request from a user to perform a transaction with a merchant; tokens or portions of tokens may be used as a stand in for a user account number, user name, pin number, routing information related to the financial institution associated with the account, security code, or other like information relating to the user account); …; …, transmitting, with at least one processor, data associated with a … PIN to a payment device associated with the user, … (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0096 teach(es) embodiments also receive a PIN change request from the user; update a table of PINs with a new PIN based on the PIN change request; and transmit a successful PIN change message (i.e., data associated with the haptic PIN) to the user); receiving, with at least one processor, a user input comprising a …; determining that the … matches the … PIN by comparing, with at least one processor, the … to the … PIN; and in response to determining that the … matches the … PIN, authorizing, with at least one processor, the transaction, … (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0013, 0003, 0008, 0094 teach(es) generating a PIN based on the determined check data fields; receiving user input of a user PIN; comparing the generated PIN with the inputted user PIN; if the generated PIN matches the inputted user PIN, proceeding with the transaction; and if the generated PIN does not match the inputted user PIN, cancelling the transaction).
However, Kurian does not explicitly teach querying, with at least one processor, a database to determine that the user is registered for a haptic personal identification number (PIN) based at least on the at least one token, …; in response to determining that the user is registered for the haptic PIN…, the haptic PIN, a pattern, and wherein the at least one processor does not transform the haptic PIN to an alphanumeric PIN.
Palle from same or similar field of endeavor teaches querying, with at least one processor, a database to determine that the user is registered for a haptic personal identification number (PIN) based at least on the at least one token, …; in response to determining that the user is registered for the haptic PIN…, the haptic PIN, a user input comprising a pattern (Palle: Paragraph(s) 0025-0027, 0052-0053 teach(es) The registration device includes a taptic receiver. The taptic receiver can receive a taptic pattern created by the customer. The taptic pattern is a pattern represented by taps or movements by the customer in a distinct pattern or rhythm. In some embodiments, the taptic pattern can be input on a taptic membrane configured to receive taps, haptic input, and/or taptic patterns; The registration device includes a customer information component. The customer information component is configured to receive other information about the customer. For example, other information can include name, account number, social security number, a PIN, date of birth, age, security questions, and/or the like), and wherein the at least one processor does not transform the haptic PIN to an alphanumeric PIN (Palle: Paragraph(s) 0036 teach(es) the validation engine includes an error metric which provides a minimum threshold with which to compare the taptic pattern to the recorded taptic pattern).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kurian to incorporate the teachings of Palle for querying, with at least one processor, a database to determine that the user is registered for a haptic personal identification number (PIN) based at least on the at least one token; in response to determining that the user is registered for the haptic PIN…, the haptic PIN, a pattern, and wherein the haptic PIN is not transformed to an alphanumeric PIN by the system.
There is motivation to combine Palle into Kurian because Palle’s teachings of haptic input would facilitate using PIN for authorizing a transaction (Palle: Paragraph(s) 0025-0027, 0052-0053).
However, the combination of Kurian and Palle does not explicitly teach the payment device comprising a haptic driver wherein the haptic driver is configured to transform electrical energy to mechanical energy, based at least on the data associated with the haptic PIN, the mechanical energy comprising at least one vibration of a first duration and an end sequence comprising at least one vibration of a second duration that differs from the first duration, wherein the second duration signals an end of the haptic PIN.
Mene from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the haptic PIN comprises a series of vibrations and is not alphanumeric (Mene: Paragraph(s) 0042 teach(es) the controller continuously monitors vibration of haptic actuators (e.g., received as feedback signals) during vibration to issue additional control signals modulating power provided to haptic actuators such that vibration of the haptic actuators substantially matches the haptic effect waveform), the payment device comprising a haptic driver wherein the haptic driver is configured to transform electrical energy to mechanical energy, based at least on the data associated with the haptic PIN, the mechanical energy comprising at least one vibration of a first duration and an … sequence comprising at least one vibration of a second duration that differs from the first duration, … (Mene: Paragraph(s) 0017-0018, 0042, 0048-0050, 0064 teach(es) A haptic effect can be defined by an input waveform (e.g., a sine wave, a square wave, a saw wave, etc.) (i.e., data associated with the haptic PIN). The input waveform can specify the frequency/amplitude over time required to generate vibration associated the haptic effect. The input waveform can be used to control a haptic actuator (i.e., haptic driver) which can be configured to generate vibration corresponding to the haptic effect. Haptic actuators receive power from a power source (e.g., a battery or power supply). Control signals (e.g., defined based on the waveform of a haptic effect and feedback signals during vibration) can be issued to modulate power provided to a haptic actuator for a designated time period to generate a desired haptic effect).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination of Kurian and Palle to incorporate the teachings of Palle for comprising at least one vibration of a first duration and an … sequence comprising at least one vibration of a second duration that differs from the first duration, …, the payment device comprising a haptic driver wherein the haptic driver generates, based at least on the data associated with the haptic PIN.
There is motivation to combine Mene into the combination of Kurian and Palle because Mene’s teachings of haptic actuators would facilitate generating haptic effects, which can be used for control signals (Mene: Paragraph(s) 0017-0018).
However, the combination of Kurian, Palle, and Mene does not explicitly teach an end sequence.. wherein the second duration signals an end of the haptic PIN.
Jenson from same or similar field of endeavor teaches an end sequence.. wherein the second duration signals an end of the haptic PIN (Jenson: Paragraph(s) 0037-0038 teach(es) fingerprint sensing module may select the defined period of time to be slightly shorter than the fingerprint sensing time period, such that haptic feedback module outputs a discrete haptic signal at the end of the fingerprint sensing time period).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination of Kurian, Palle, and Mene to incorporate the teachings of Palle for an end sequence.. wherein the second duration signals an end of the haptic PIN.
There is motivation to combine Jenson into the combination of Kurian, Palle, and Mene because Jenson’s teachings of sequence of haptic signals for an end of sequence would facilitate determining of a specific operation (Jenson: Paragraph(s) 0037-0038).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Kurian, Palle, Mene, and Jenson teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; and Kurian further teaches wherein the responsive haptic PIN is transmitted from the payment device to the merchant system and received by the at least one processor from the merchant system (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0066, 0072; Figs. 5-6).
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, the combination of Kurian, Palle, Mene, and Jenson teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 10 above; and Kurian further teaches wherein the at least one token comprises at least two tokens (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0059-0060).
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, the combination of Kurian, Palle, Mene, and Jenson teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 10 and the haptic PIN above; and Kurian further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed or configured to transmit the … PIN via an application stored on the payment device (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0040 teach(es) the user input system includes a communication interface, a processor, a memory having an user application stored therein, and a user interface. In such embodiments, the communication interface is operatively and selectively connected to the processor, which is operatively and selectively connected to the user interface and the memory. In some embodiments, the user may use the user application to execute processes).
Regarding Claims 6, 14, and 19, the combination of Kurian, Palle, Mene, and Jenson teaches all the limitations of claims 5, 13, and 18 and the haptic PIN above; and Kurian further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed or configured to generate a notification that the … PIN has been received in response to receiving the … PIN (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0011, 0096 teach(es) the system to receive a PIN change request from the user; update a table of PINs with a new PIN based on the PIN change request; and transmit a successful PIN change message to the user).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, the combination of Kurian, Palle, Mene, and Jenson teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 10 and the haptic PIN above; and Kurian further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed or configured to: prior to receipt of the request to authorize the transaction, receive a request to generate the … PIN; and generate the at least one token (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0011-0013 teach(es) to receive a PIN change request from the user; update a table of PINs with a new PIN based on the PIN change request; and transmit a successful PIN change message to the user).
Regarding Claims 8, 16, and 20, the combination of Kurian, Palle, Mene, and Jenson teaches all the limitations of claims 7, 15, and 18 and the haptic PIN above; and Kurian further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed or configured to store, in a database, an association between the request to generate the … PIN and the at least one token (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0059, 0066 teach(es) In a case where a PIN is tokenized, the tokenized PIN may be four (4) digits, six (6) digits or otherwise; the tokenization service provides a token to the user and stores an association between the token and the user account number in a secure token and account database. The token may be stored in the user's payment device (e.g., on the digital wallet) or stored on the cloud or other service through the tokenization service).
Regarding Claims 9 and 17, the combination of Kurian, Palle, Mene, and Jenson teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 10 above; and Kurian further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed or configured to transmit a notification to the merchant system and/or the payment device based on authorizing the transaction (Kurian: Paragraph(s) 0013, 0061, 0091, 0094 teach(es) if the generated PIN matches the inputted user PIN, proceeding with the transaction; and if the generated PIN does not match the inputted user PIN, cancelling the transaction; When the device digital wallet is used in a transaction the token stored on the device is used to enter into the transaction with the merchant).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 12 are allowable. The prior arts do not teach the limitations recited in the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 that “Kurian does not disclose, or suggest, requesting a PIN of any type, much less a haptic PIN, or transmitting to a payment device data associated with a PIN that would cause the payment device to generate a PIN, or receive a responsive PIN to that received PIN,” examiner respectfully argues that the combination of Kurian, Palle, Mene, and Jenson teaches the features as stated above. In order to differentiate the invention from the cited references, it would be recommended for the applicant to amend the claims further with more technical details and contexts of transaction, token, matching of haptic PIN.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAY C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699