DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues (see page 7) regarding the amended claim 1 that the combination of Hughes / Yoshii would “result in deterioration of detection accuracy of the detective element.” This is not persuasive. The examiner merely relies on Yoshii for the teaching of a counter substrate including a color filter, a light source arranged behind the counter substrate, and a transparent electrode (see Office Action, page 4). Therefore, the device would function properly as the examiner stated. The claim language therefore does not patentably distinguish over the applied reference[s], and the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukai et al. (US 5,245,450) in view of Yoon et al. (US 2011/0309362); further in view of Aoki (US 2008/0217609).
Regarding claim 6, Ukai et al. (figures 10A-10C) discloses a display device comprising:
a pixel and a gate driver (pixel and TFT; see at least page 5, second to last paragraph); and
an adhesive layer (24) over the pixel and the gate driver,
wherein the gate driver includes a transistor and a capacitor (10A),
wherein the transistor includes a channel formation region (21),
wherein the channel formation region includes a semiconductor layer,
wherein the capacitor includes a first conductive layer (2), an insulating layer (15), and a second conductive layer (4.sub.2),
wherein the first conductive layer includes a plurality of openings (the openings are formed on different areas of the conductive layer 2; figures 10A-10C), and wherein the second conductive layer is in contact with the adhesive layer.
Ukai et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 6 above. However, Ukai et al. is silent regarding wherein the channel formation region includes an oxide semiconductor layer, wherein the capacitor includes a first conductive layer including a same metal element as the oxide semiconductor layer and the adhesive layer includes a resin.
Yoon et al. (figure 1) teaches wherein the channel formation region includes an oxide semiconductor layer (see at least paragraph 0046), wherein the capacitor includes a first conductive layer (31) including a same metal element as the oxide semiconductor layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify conductive layer as taught by Yoon et al. in order to simplify the manufacturing steps and reduce power consumption of the display devices.
In addition, Aoki (figure 1) teaches gate insulating layer / adhesive layer (14) may be formed of an epoxy/polyester adhesive, epoxy/nitrile rubber adhesive, epoxy/acrylic elastomer adhesive or epoxy/urethane adhesive containing a curing agent, such as of amine, polyamide, acid or acid anhydride, imidazole, phenol resin, urea resin, melamine resin, or isocyanate; or an adhesive insulating material, such as emulsion adhesive, synthetic rubber adhesive, elastic adhesive, or modified acrylate adhesive, acrylic adhesive, or silicone adhesive. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify conductive layer as taught by Aoki in order to achieve superior electrical characteristics.
Regarding claim 7, Yoon et al. (figure 1) wherein each of the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer has a light-transmitting property.
Regarding claim 9, Yoon et al. (figure 1) wherein the first insulating layer is silicon nitride (see at least paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 10, Ukai et al. (figures 10A-10C) discloses wherein the opening extends in a channel width direction of the transistor.
Claim 8 is ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukai et al. as modified by Yoon et al. and Aoki; further in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2014/0034954).
Regarding claim 8, Ukai et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 6 above. However, Ukai et al. is silent regarding wherein the first conductive layer has a region whose hydrogen concentration is higher than the oxide semiconductor layer. Yamazaki et al. (figure 21) teaches wherein the first conductive layer has a region whose hydrogen concentration is higher than the oxide semiconductor layer (111 and 119; see at least paragraph 0259). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first conductive layer as taught by Kim et al. in order to increase the conductivity of the electrode layer and improve the display characteristics.
Claims 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2012/0104397) in view of Yoon et al. (US 2011/0309362); further in view of Aoki (US 2008/0217609).
Regarding claim 6, Choi et al. (figures 1 and 11-12B) discloses display device comprising:
a pixel and a gate driver (101-103); and
an adhesive layer (51) over the pixel and the gate driver,
wherein the gate driver includes a transistor and a capacitor (102 and 103),
wherein the transistor includes a channel formation region (21),
wherein the channel formation region includes a semiconductor layer,
wherein the capacitor includes a first conductive layer including a same metal element as the oxide semiconductor layer (41 and 21), an insulating layer (15), and a second conductive layer (40),
wherein the first conductive layer includes a plurality of openings (41 and 41a; figure 12A),
wherein the second conductive layer is in contact with the adhesive layer (51 and 40).
Choi et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 6 above. However, Choi et al. is silent regarding wherein the channel formation region includes an oxide semiconductor layer, wherein the capacitor includes a first conductive layer including a same metal element as the oxide semiconductor layer and the adhesive layer includes a resin.
Yoon et al. (figure 1) teaches wherein the channel formation region includes an oxide semiconductor layer (see at least paragraph 0046), wherein the capacitor includes a first conductive layer (31) including a same metal element as the oxide semiconductor layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify conductive layer as taught by Yoon et al. in order to simplify the manufacturing steps and reduce power consumption of the display devices.
In addition, Aoki (figure 1) teaches gate insulating layer / adhesive layer (14) may be formed of an epoxy/polyester adhesive, epoxy/nitrile rubber adhesive, epoxy/acrylic elastomer adhesive or epoxy/urethane adhesive containing a curing agent, such as of amine, polyamide, acid or acid anhydride, imidazole, phenol resin, urea resin, melamine resin, or isocyanate; or an adhesive insulating material, such as emulsion adhesive, synthetic rubber adhesive, elastic adhesive, or modified acrylate adhesive, acrylic adhesive, or silicone adhesive. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify conductive layer as taught by Aoki in order to achieve superior electrical characteristics.
Regarding claim 7, Yoon et al. (figure 1) wherein each of the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer has a light-transmitting property.
Regarding claim 9, Yoon et al. (figure 1) wherein the first insulating layer is silicon nitride (see at least paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 10, Choi et al. (figures 1 and 11-12B) discloses wherein the opening extends in a channel width direction of the transistor.
Claim 8 is ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. as modified by Yoon et al. and Aoki; further in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2014/0034954).
Regarding claim 8, Choi et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 6 above. However, Choi et al. is silent regarding wherein the first conductive layer has a region whose hydrogen concentration is higher than the oxide semiconductor layer. Yamazaki et al. (figure 21) teaches wherein the first conductive layer has a region whose hydrogen concentration is higher than the oxide semiconductor layer (111 and 119; see at least paragraph 0259). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first conductive layer as taught by Kim et al. in order to increase the conductivity of the electrode layer and improve the display characteristics.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment filed on 06/04/2025 and IDS filed on 11/05/2025 necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871