DETAILED ACTION
Pursuant to the preliminary amendment dated 2/14/2024, claim 2-8, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 19-22, 28, 32-34, 36, 38-45, 47-60, 62, 63, 65-74 and 76-81 are cancelled and claims 12, 14, 17, 23, 26, 29, 31, 37, 46 and 61 are amended. No claims are newly added.
Claims 1, 9, 12, 14, 17, 18, 23-27, 29-31, 35, 37, 46, 61, 64 and 75 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The application claims benefit to provisional application US 63/435530 filed on 12/27/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 3/26/2024 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609, except where noted. Accordingly, the IDS documents have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Objection
Claims 12, 14, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holmeide et al. (WO 2009/056983A1, PTO-892).
Holmeide exemplifies the following chemical synthesis for preparing “PRB-2 MG”: (¶0130-0134)
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fensterbank et al. (J. Chem. Soc. Perkin I, 1999, PTO-892).
Fensterbank discloses a compound of formula 10 and a process for preparing compound 10 as follows: (Scheme 2)
Fensterbank also discloses that owing to their remarkable properties, cyclam and its derivatives have received considerable attention as selective complexation agents. (p. 811, Col. 1)
Fensterbank does not teach a compound meeting the instant limitation that R5 is a C4-C25 alkyl group.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the propenyl (C3) group of Fensterbank to be a group of similar structure, such as a butenyl (C4) or pentenyl (C5), thereby arriving at the instant limitation of R5=C4-C25 alkyl group. The rationale to support a case of prima facie obviousness is that compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also MPEP § 2144.09.
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Claims 23-27, 29-31, 35, 37, 46 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fensterbank et al. (J. Chem. Soc. Perkin I, 1999, PTO-892), in view of Oupicky et al. (US 2014/0243397A1, PTO-892).
The disclosure of Fensterbank is referenced as discussed above. Fensterbank does not teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising carriers, nucleic acids or a method for delivery of nucleic acids or a method of treating a disease.
Oupicky teaches that cyclams are used in pharmaceutical compositions comprising carriers and excipients, such as lipids, for use as a nucleic acid (i.e. DNA, shRNA, siRNA or microRNA) delivery agent, in methods of treating cancer. (¶0098-0099, 0134-0148)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the cyclam derivative of Fensterbank could be used within the scope of teachings of Oupicky, thereby arriving at the instant invention. One would expect that the cyclam derivative of Fensterbank, taught as effective for chelating other compounds, would function equivalently to the cyclam of Oupicky, for chelation and delivery of nucleic acids. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DALE R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693