DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/23 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al., U.S.Pub. No. 2021/0104490.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a chip packaging method comprising:
preparing a plurality of chip package units, each of the plurality of chip package units having a panel form and including a plurality of dies 312, 314 (Figs. 2A-2B),
sequentially stacking the plurality of chip package units on a substrate, and using a thermal compression bonding process [0003], [0013] to electrically connect the plurality of chip package units to each other and electrically connect the plurality of chip package units and the substrate to each other, to obtain a stack (Figs. 2B-2C), and
cutting the stack to form single packages (Figs. 2C-2D).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses a chip packaging method comprising:
a plurality of chip package units, each of the plurality of chip package units having a panel form and including a plurality of dies (Figs. 2A-2B),
wherein each chip package comprises:
a carrier,
a plurality of dies on the carrier,
an encapsulation layer, of a molding material, on side surfaces of dies, wherein the plurality of chip package units is electrically connected to each other and connected to the substrate by a thermal compression bonding process [0003], [0013], Figs. 2B-2C.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhushan et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0048311 (this reference qualifies as a 102(a)(1) until a certified English translation is submitted of the foreign priority application).
Regarding claim 14, Bhushan et al. discloses a method of preparing a chip package unit comprising:
scribing (line 115) an original wafer to obtain the plurality of dies 110 that correspond to the chip package unit (Fig. 1) [0033],
mounting the plurality of dies that correspond to the chip package unit on a carrier [0003], [0033], and using a molding material to encapsulate the plurality of dies that are mounted on the carrier, to obtain an encapsulator,
thinning the encapsulator to obtain a preliminary chip package unit, the preliminary chip package unit having the panel form ([0016], removing the excess encapsulating material), and
obtaining the chip package unit, the obtaining comprising forming an electrical connection component on the preliminary chip package unit ([0003], [0018], forming interconnects).
Regarding claim 15, Bhushan et al. discloses wherein the electrical connection component includes through silicon vias and contact pads (Figs. 2A-2C, 3; [0029], [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Bhushan et al. disclose wherein the carrier includes a non-conductive film or a non-conductive paste as an under-fill material [0025].
Regarding claim 17, Bhushan discloses each of plurality of chip package is configured as a substrate structure formed of the plurality of dies, the molding materials, and the non-conductive film (Fig. 3) and wherein the substrate structure has the panel form (flat form).
Regarding claim 18, it is inherent in the art that the substrate can act as barrier layer in the thermal compression bonding process because the substrate has lower thermal conductivity and acts as insulating material.
Regarding claim 19, Bhushan discloses wherein thinning the encapsulator comprising partially removing the molding material to expose top surface of the die, remaining portions of the molding material are provided on side surface of each of the dies.
Regarding claim 20, Bhushan discloses wherein the thinning of the encapsulator comprises partially removing the molding material such that the molding material remains on top surface of the plurality of dies ([0016], removing the excess encapsulating material, Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., U.S.Pub. No. 2021/0104490, in view of Bhushan et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0048311.
Regarding claim 2, Li fails to disclose: wherein the preparing of the plurality of chip package units comprises, for each chip package unit from among the plurality of chip package units:
scribing an original wafer to obtain the plurality of dies that correspond to the chip package unit,
mounting the plurality of dies that correspond to the chip package unit on a carrier, and using a molding material to encapsulate the plurality of dies that are mounted on the carrier, to obtain an encapsulator,
thinning the encapsulator to obtain a preliminary chip package unit, the preliminary chip package unit having the panel form, and
forming an electrical connection component on the preliminary chip package unit.
Bhushan et al. discloses:
wherein the preparing of the plurality of chip package units comprises, for each chip package unit from among the plurality of chip package units:
scribing (line 115) an original wafer to obtain the plurality of dies 110 that correspond to the chip package unit (Fig. 1) [0033],
mounting the plurality of dies that correspond to the chip package unit on a carrier [0003], [0033], and using a molding material to encapsulate the plurality of dies that are mounted on the carrier, to obtain an encapsulator,
thinning the encapsulator to obtain a preliminary chip package unit, the preliminary chip package unit having the panel form ([0016], removing the excess encapsulating material), and
forming an electrical connection component on the preliminary chip package unit ([0003], [0018], forming interconnects).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the method of Bhushan in Li’s in order to protect the die and delicate wire bonds from damage and contaminant, improve durability during handling, shipping, and board assembly, help reduce stress during temperature cycling, prevent short circuits, expose the metal for proper soldering, remove resin covering the contacts, eliminate unwanted material bridging conductor, enable individual package separation, and to provide interconnection links from the die to the outside.
Regarding claim 3, Bhushan et al. discloses wherein the electrical connection component includes through silicon vias and contact pads (Figs. 2A-2C, 3; [0029], [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Both Li and Bhushan et al. disclose wherein the carrier includes a non-conductive film or a non-conductive paste as an under-fill material (Li: abstract; Bhushan: [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Bhushan discloses each of plurality of chip package is configured as a substrate structure formed of the plurality of dies, the molding materials, and the non-conductive film (Fig. 3) and wherein the substrate structure has the panel form (flat form).
Regarding claim 6, it is well known in the art that the substrate can act as barrier layer in the thermal compression bonding process because the substrate has lower thermal conductivity and acts as insulating material.
Regarding claim 7, Bhushan discloses wherein thinning the encapsulator comprising partially removing the molding material to expose top surface of the die, remaining portions of the molding material are provided on side surface of each of the dies.
Regarding claim 8, Bhushan discloses wherein the thinning of the encapsulator comprises partially removing the molding material such that the molding material remains on top surface of the plurality of dies ([0016], removing the excess encapsulating material, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Li fails to disclose the dies are configured to be thinned (after undergoing a scribing process, a mounting process, and an encapsulating process – which directs to a method and thus not considered). Bhushan et al. discloses the plurality of chip package units are configured to be thinned [0016]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to thin the package (removing excess unwanted mold) in order to expose the metal for proper soldering, remove molding that covering the contacts, eliminate unwanted material bridging conductor, and enable individual package separation.
Regarding claims 11-12, Bhushan et al. discloses wherein the electrical connection component or at least two chip package units includes through silicon vias and contact pads (Figs. 2A-2C, 3; [0029], [0034]). Both Li and Bhushan et al. disclose wherein the carrier includes a non-conductive film or a non-conductive paste as an under-fill material (Li: abstract; Bhushan: [0025]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., U.S.Pub. No. 2021/0104490, in view of Chiang et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0035212.
Regarding claim 13, Li fails to disclose wherein an uppermost one of the plurality of chip package units does not include a through silicon via. Chiang discloses the uppermost units does not include a through silicon via (Figs. 3 & 8). It has been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to not having through silicon via on the uppermost unit in order to avoid unnecessary TSVs to improve yield and reliability because the top package unit is more exposed and faces encapsulation, therefore adding TSV just to weaken structure and increase risk of mechanical failure.
Conclusion
/THAO P LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818