DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 16 and 20-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 11 and 16, each line 1, the limitation of “the hydrophobicity” should be corrected into “a hydrophobicity”. Appropriate correction is required.
In claims 20-21, each line 1, the limitation of “claim 14” should be corrected into “claim 19”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2023/0180514).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, a display device, comprising:
a substrate (BL, [135]) including a display area (DA, [134]) and a non-display area (NDA, [134]);
a planarization layer (40/50/60, [146]) over the substrate (BL, [135]);
a light-emitting element (EL, [159]) over the planarization layer (40/50/60, [146]) in the display area (DA, [134]); and
a sealing layer (TFE, [169]) over the light-emitting element (EL, [159]),
wherein an organic film (OL, [169]) of the sealing layer (TFE, [169]) has a hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) on a surface of an outer peripheral portion thereof (figures).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, the hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) is on a surface of the organic film (OL, [169]) in the non-display area (NDA, [134]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, the hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) includes hydrophobic fluorine ([186]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, a dam (DM1, [220]) over the substrate in the non-display area (NDA, [134]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, the sealing layer (TFE, [169]) includes:
a primary protective film (IL1, [169]) over the light-emitting element (EL, [159]);
the organic film (OL, [169]) on the primary protective film (IL1, [169]); and
a secondary protective film (IL2, [169]) on the organic film (OL, [169]), and
wherein the primary protective film (IL1, [169]) and the secondary protective film (IL2, [169]) each include an inorganic insulating material ([169]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the display device of claim 5 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, a portion of the primary protective film (IL1, [169]) is over the dam (DM1, [220]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the display device of claim 5 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, the dam (DM1, [220]) is in the non-display area (NDA, [134]) surrounding the display area (DA, [134]), and wherein, in a plan view, the organic film (OL, [169]) extends into a portion of the non-display area (NDA, [134]) surrounded by the dam (DM1, [220]), and the organic film (OL, [169]) is absent outside the dam (DM1, [220]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the display device of claim 5 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, the hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) includes a fluorine additive ([186]), and the fluorine additive ([186]) is on a surface of the organic film (OL, [169]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the display device of claim 10 as described above.
The claimed limitation of "the hydrophobicity of the fluorine additive of the hydrophobic layer is maintained by cross-linking after UV exposure" has not patentable weight because it is interpreted as product-by-process.
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the display device of claim 15 as described above.
The claimed limitation of "the organic film in an area in which the hydrophobic layer is formed is irradiated with UV rays with an exposure dose higher than that in other areas" has not patentable weight because it is interpreted as product-by-process.
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the display device of claim 5 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, the hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) is further formed on a side surface of the dam (DM1, [220]), and the hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) is in contact with the primary protective film (IL1, [169]) on the side surface of the dam (DM1, [220]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, a display device, comprising:
a substrate (BL, [135]) including a display area (DA, [134]) and a non-display area (NDA, [134]);
a light-emitting element (EL, [159]) over the substrate (BL, [135]) in the display area (DA, [134]);
a dam (DM1, [220]) over the substrate (BL, [135]) in the non-display area (NDA, [134]) and surrounding the display area (DA, [134]) in a plan view; and
a sealing layer (TFE, [169]) over the light-emitting element (EL, [159]),
wherein an organic film (OL, [169]) of the sealing layer (TFE, [169]) is inside the dam (DM1, [220]) in the plan view and has a hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) on a surface of an outer peripheral portion thereof that contacts the dam (DM1, [220]) (figures).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses the display device of claim 14 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, the hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) includes a fluorine additive ([186]), and the fluorine additive ([186]) is on a surface of the organic film (OL, [169]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the display device of claim 15 as described above.
The claimed limitation of "the hydrophobicity of the fluorine additive of the hydrophobic layer is maintained by cross-linking after UV exposure" has not patentable weight because it is interpreted as product-by-process.
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses the display device of claim 14 as described above.
The claimed limitation of "the organic film in an area in which the hydrophobic layer is formed is irradiated with UV rays with an exposure dose higher than that in other areas" has not patentable weight because it is interpreted as product-by-process.
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses the display device of claim 5 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, the hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) is further formed on a side surface of the dam (DM1, [220]), and the hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) is in contact with the primary protective film (IL1, [169]) on the side surface of the dam (DM1, [220]).
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, a display device, comprising:
a substrate (BL, [135]) including a display area (DA, [134]) and a non-display area (NDA, [134]); and
a sealing layer (TFE/HF, [169], [186]) over the substrate (BL, [135]) in the display area (DA, [134]) and the non-display area (NDA, [134]), wherein the sealing layer (TFE/HF, [169], [186]) includes a hydrophobic layer (HF, [186]) in the non-display area (NDA, [134]) to surround the display area (DA, [134]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses the display device of claim 14 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, a light-emitting element (EL, [159]) over the substrate (BL, [135]).
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses the display device of claim 14 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 5, 7, 9, 10A, and related text, a dam (DM1, [220]) over the substrate (BL, [135]) in the non-display area (NDA, [134]) and surrounding the display area (DA, [134]) in a plan view.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 1, 5, and 8 that recite "the hydrophobic layer is in a boundary area between the non-display area and the display area and extended to an upper side of the dam" in combination with other elements of the base claims 1, 5, and 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TONG-HO KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811