Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Innes et al (US 20080098994 as referenced in OA dated 3/20/2025) in view of Saintignan et al (US 20200362764 as referenced in OA dated 3/20/2025) and Yanosik et al (US 20180080347).
Regarding claim 1, Innes discloses a dual fuel gas turbine engine (The turbine engine of Paragraph 0019. Figure 1 shows the engine being dual fuel), the engine comprising:
a primary compressor (The compressor of Paragraph 0019) having an inlet opening (The inlet of the compressor) and an outlet opening (The outlet of the compressor);
a combustion chamber (Figure 1; 109), the combustion chamber having a first fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 1; 104) and a second fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 1; 102), the combustion chamber having a first mode of operation (The mode when the first fuel manifold provides fuel to the combustion chamber, Paragraph 0015) in which the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is unused, the combustion chamber having a second mode of operation (The mode when the second fuel manifold provides fuel to the combustion chamber, Paragraph 0015) in which the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the first fuel manifold circuit is unused; and
a manifold pressurization system (The system providing compressor air to either Figure 1; 102 or 104, Paragraph 0015) comprising:
a purge inlet (The inlet which uses the compressor air, Paragraph 0015) in fluid communication with the primary compressor.
Innes does not disclose a combustion chamber in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor;
a purge inlet in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening;
a common purge line connected at an upstream end to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber; a first purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the first fuel manifold circuit;
a first pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a first signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber;
a control valve connected to a downstream end of the common purge line and an upstream end of the first purge line, the control valve having a second position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the first purge line to supply purge air to the first fuel manifold circuit, the control valve being in the second position when the combustion chamber is in the second mode of operation; and
a control system configured to receive the first signal from the first pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the pure inlet in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor.
However, Saintignan teaches a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10A), the engine comprising:
a primary compressor (Figure 1; 14A) having an inlet opening (Figure 1; 12A) and an outlet opening (The outlet of Figure 1; 14A feeding 16A. Paragraph 0050);
a combustion chamber (The combustion chamber of Figure 9; 16. Paragraph 0129) in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor (Paragraph 0050), the combustion chamber having a first fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 9; 62A) and a second fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 9; 62B), the combustion chamber having a first mode of operation (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11) in which the first fuel manifold is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold is unused (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11), the combustion chamber having a second mode of operation (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11) in which the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the first fuel manifold circuit is unused (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11); and
a manifold pressurization system (Figure 9; 350) comprising:
a purge inlet (The inlet receiving air from Figure 9; 58) in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening (Paragraph 0069 states 58 uses air from the last stage of the compressor which is compressor discharge air);
a common purge line (The line from Figure 9; 58 to 174) connected at an upstream end (The upstream end of the common purge line) to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber (Functional Language, Paragraph 0069 states 58 uses air from the last stage of the compressor which is compressor discharge air);
a first purge line (The line from Figure 9; 174 to 62A) connected at a downstream end (The downstream end of the first purge line) thereof to the first fuel manifold circuit; and
a control valve (Figure 9; 174) connected to a downstream end (The downstream end of the common purge line) of the common purge line and an upstream end (The upstream end of the first purge line) of the first purge line, the control valve having a second position (The position of Figure 9; 174 where 62A is purged and 62B is provided fuel) in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the first purge line to supply purge air to the first fuel manifold circuit, the control valve being in the second position when the combustion chamber is in the second mode of operation;
a control system (Figure 1; 29) of the gas turbine engine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes to include a combustion chamber in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor; a purge inlet in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening; a common purge line connected at an upstream end to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber; a first purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the first fuel manifold circuit; and a control valve connected to a downstream end of the common purge line and an upstream end of the first purge line, the control valve having a second position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the first purge line to supply purge air to the first fuel manifold circuit, the control valve being in the second position when the combustion chamber is in the second mode of operation and to include a control system of the gas turbine engine as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, The modification uses the purge system of Saintignan in Ines) and because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Innes’s providing a Saintignan’s use of a combustor in fluid communication with the compressor according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Reckels in view of Innes’s gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case forming a gas turbine engine using the Brayton cycle, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the compressor feeding the combustor).
Innes in view of Saintignan does not teach a first pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a first signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber;
a control system configured to receive the first signal from the first pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the pure inlet in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor.
However, Yanosik teaches a first pressure sensor (Figure 1; 42 in 22) disposed within a combustion chamber (The combustion chamber formed by the outline of Figure 1; 22) and configured to provide a first signal (The signal from Figure 1; 42 in 22 to 38) indicative of a pressure (Paragraph 0025) within the combustion chamber;
a control system (Figure 1; 38) configured to receive the first signal from the first pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of a bleed inlet (The position of at least one of Figure 1; 45, 47, 49 of 25, 27, 29, respectively) in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor (Paragraph 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes in view of Saintignan to include a first pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a first signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber and a control system configured to receive the first signal from the first pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor as taught by and suggested by Yanosik in order to direct bleed fluid as a function of a pressure sensor (Paragraph 0022, the modification uses a sensor and controller to control the purge inlet).
Regarding claim 2, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes does not disclose wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises:
a second purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the second fuel manifold circuit,
wherein the control valve is connected to an upstream end of the second purge line, the control valve having a first position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the second purge line to supply purge air to the second fuel manifold circuit, and
wherein the control valve is in the first position when the combustion chamber is in the first mode of operation.
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises:
a second purge line (The line from Figure 9; 174 to 62B) connected at a downstream end (The downstream end of second purge line) thereof to the second fuel manifold circuit,
wherein the control valve is connected to an upstream end (The upstream end of second purge line) of the second purge line, the control valve having a first position (The position of Figure 9; 174 where 62B is purged and 62A is provided fuel) in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the second purge line to supply purge air to the second fuel manifold circuit, and
wherein the control valve is in the first position when the combustion chamber is in the first mode of operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises: a second purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the second fuel manifold circuit, wherein the control valve is connected to an upstream end of the second purge line, the control valve having a first position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the second purge line to supply purge air to the second fuel manifold circuit, and wherein the control valve is in the first position when the combustion chamber is in the first mode of operation as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes does not disclose wherein the common purge line comprises a purge air reservoir to provide purge air when the primary compressor is not operating.
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the common purge line comprises a purge air reservoir (Figure 9; 64) to provide purge air when the primary compressor is not operating (Functional Language, Figure 9; 64 can provide purge air when the compressor is not operating. Paragraph 0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes wherein the common purge line comprises a purge air reservoir to provide purge air when the primary compressor is not operating as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes does not disclose wherein the common purge line includes an orifice, the orifice configured to limit a volume of the purge air removed from the primary compressor.
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the common purge line includes an orifice (Figure 9; 68. Paragraph 0069, 0074, 0202), the orifice configured to limit a volume (Functional Language, Figure 9; 68 being a fixed metering orifice limits the volume removed from the primary compressor) of the purge air removed from the primary compressor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes wherein the common purge line includes an orifice, the orifice configured to limit a volume of the purge air removed from the primary compressor as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes does not disclose wherein the orifice is a fixed orifice
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the orifice is a fixed orifice (Figure 9; 68. Paragraph 0069, 0074, 0202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes wherein the orifice is a fixed orifice as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes does not disclose wherein the common purge line includes a check valve, the check valve configured to prevent backflow within the common purge line.
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the common purge line includes a check valve (Figure 9; 68. Paragraph 0069, 0074, 0202), the check valve configured to prevent backflow within the common purge line (Functional Language, Figure 9; 68 being a check valve prevents backflow within the common purge line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes wherein the common purge line includes a check valve, the check valve configured to prevent backflow within the common purge line as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes does not disclose wherein the control valve has a third position in which control valve closes the downstream end of the common purge line, the upstream end of the first purge line, and the upstream end of the second purge line, the control valve being in the third position during a shutdown mode of operation of the combustion chamber.
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the control valve has a third position (The closed position of Figure 9; 70. Paragraph 0077) in which control valve closes the downstream end of the common purge line, the upstream end of the first purge line, and the upstream end of the second purge line, the control valve being in the third position during a shutdown mode of operation of the combustion chamber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes wherein the control valve has a third position in which control valve closes the downstream end of the common purge line, the upstream end of the first purge line, and the upstream end of the second purge line, the control valve being in the third position during a shutdown mode of operation of the combustion chamber as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes does not disclose wherein the primary compressor is a multistage compressor having a P3 point, the purge inlet positioned at the P3 point of the primary compressor.
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the primary compressor is a multistage compressor having a P3 point (The P3 point of the compressor), the purge inlet positioned at the P3 point of the primary compressor (Paragraph 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes wherein the primary compressor is a multistage compressor having a P3 point, the purge inlet positioned at the P3 point of the primary compressor as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes further discloses wherein the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide the first fuel which is a liquid fuel (The first fuel is a liquid fuel) into the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide the second fuel which is a gaseous fuel (The first fuel is a gaseous fuel) into the combustion chamber.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Couture et al (US 20140130883 as referenced in OA dated 3/20/2025).
Regarding claim 9, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik does not teach wherein the purge inlet has a closed position in which the purge air is prevented from entering the common purge line and an open position in which the purge air is allowed to enter the common purge line.
However, Couture teaches wherein a valve (Figure 1; 14) of a bleed inlet (The conduit from Figure 1; 12 to 14 and including 14) has a closed position (The closed position of Figure 1; 14. Paragraph 0004, 0005, 0020) in which bleed air (The bleed air from Figure 1; 12) is prevented from entering a common bleed line (The line from at least Figure 1; 14 to 20) and an open position (The open position of Figure 1; 14. Paragraph 0004, 0005, 0020) in which the bleed air is allowed to enter the common bleed line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik wherein a bleed inlet (In the context of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik, the bleed air of Couture is purge air) has a closed position in which bleed air is prevented from entering a common bleed line and an open position in which the bleed air is allowed to enter the common bleed line as taught by and suggested by Couture in order to regulate the pressure of the bleed air (Paragraph 0004, the modification adds a valve at the purge inlet, a sensor in the common purge line which are in communication with the control system).
Regarding claim 10, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik does not teach wherein the common purge line includes a second pressure sensor configured to provide a second signal indicative of a pressure of the common purge line to a control system of the dual fuel gas turbine engine.
However, Couture teaches wherein the bleed purge line includes a pressure sensor (Figure 1; 16) configured to provide a signal indicative of a pressure of the common bleed line (Paragraph 0012) to a control system (Figure 1; 26) of a gas turbine engine (Paragraph 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik wherein the common bleed line (In the context of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik, the common bleed line of Couture is the common purge line) includes a pressure sensor (In the context of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik, the pressure sensor of Couture is a second pressure sensor that provides a second signal) configured to provide a signal indicative of a pressure of the common bleed line to a control system of the dual fuel gas turbine engine as taught by and suggested by Couture in order to regulate the pressure of the bleed air (Paragraph 0004, this is the same modification as claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Innes in view of Saintignan does not teach wherein the control system configured to further receive the second signal from the second pressure sensor and control the position of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the pressure sensor, the second signal from the second pressure sensor, or both, the position of the purge inlet controlling a pressure within the common purge line.
However, Yanosik teaches wherein the control system configured to control the position of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the pressure sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes in view of Saintignan wherein the control system configured to control the position of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the pressure sensor as taught by and suggested by Yanosik in order to direct bleed fluid as a function of a pressure sensor (Paragraph 0022, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik does not teach wherein the control system configured to further receive the second signal from the second pressure sensor and control the position of the purge inlet in response to the second signal from the second pressure sensor, the position of the purge inlet controlling a pressure within the common purge line.
However, Couture teaches wherein the control system configured to receive the signal from the pressure sensor and control a position (Paragraph 0020) of the bleed inlet in response to the signal from the pressure sensor, the position of the bleed inlet controlling a pressure (Paragraph 0012) within the common bleed line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik wherein the control system configured to further receive the signal from the pressure sensor (In the context of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik, the pressure sensor of Couture is a second pressure sensor that provides a second signal) and control the position of the bleed inlet (In the context of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik, the bleed inlet of Couture is the purge inlet) in response to the signal from the pressure sensor, the position of the bleed inlet controlling a pressure within the common bleed line (In the context of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik, the common bleed line of Couture is the common purge line). as taught by and suggested by Couture in order to regulate the pressure of the bleed air (Paragraph 0004, this is the same modification as claim 9).
Claim(s) 13-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reckels et al (US 20200340344 as referenced in OA dated 3/20/2025) in view of Innes and Saintignan and Yanosik.
Regarding claim 13, Reckels discloses a hydraulic fracturing pumping system (Figure 1; 100), the system comprising:
a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 102),
a hydraulic fracturing pump (Figure 1; 104) connected to the gas turbine engine such that the hydraulic fracturing pump is driven by the gas turbine engine (Paragraph 0016); and
a trailer (Figure 1; 116) in which the gas turbine engine and hydraulic fracturing pump are mounted thereon.
Reckels does not disclose a dual fuel gas turbine engine comprising:
a primary compressor having an inlet opening and an outlet opening;
a combustion chamber in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor, the combustion chamber having a first fuel manifold circuit and a second fuel manifold circuit, the combustion chamber having a first mode of operation in which the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is unused, the combustion chamber having a second mode of operation in which the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the first fuel manifold circuit is unused; and
a manifold pressurization system comprising:
a purge inlet in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening;
a common purge line connected at an upstream end to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber;
a first pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a first signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber;
a control valve connected to a downstream end of the common purge line; and
a control system configured to receive the first signal from the first pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor;
a purge air reservoir located along the common purge line between the control valve and the purge inlet.
However, Innes teaches a dual fuel gas turbine engine (The turbine engine of Paragraph 0019. Figure 1 shows the engine being dual fuel), the engine comprising:
a primary compressor (The compressor of Paragraph 0019);
a combustion chamber (Figure 1; 109), the combustion chamber having a first fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 1; 104) and a second fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 1; 102), the combustion chamber having a first mode of operation (The mode when the first fuel manifold provides fuel to the combustion chamber, Paragraph 0015) in which the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is unused, the combustion chamber having a second mode of operation (The mode when the second fuel manifold provides fuel to the combustion chamber, Paragraph 0015) in which the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the first fuel manifold circuit is unused; and
a manifold pressurization system (The system providing compressor air to either Figure 1; 102 or 104, Paragraph 0015) comprising:
a purge inlet (The inlet which uses the compressor air, Paragraph 0015) in fluid communication with the primary compressor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels to include a dual fuel gas turbine engine, the dual fuel gas turbine engine comprising: a primary compressor; a combustion chamber, the combustion chamber having a first fuel manifold circuit and a second fuel manifold circuit, the combustion chamber having a first mode of operation in which the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is unused, the combustion chamber having a second mode of operation in which the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the first fuel manifold circuit is unused; and a manifold pressurization system comprising: a purge inlet in fluid communication with the primary compressor as taught by and suggested by Innes in order to utilize different types of fuel at different times (Paragraph 0003, The modification makes the gas turbine engine of Reckels a dual fuel gas turbine engine), purge dormant manifolds (Paragraph 0015, The modification purges dormant manifolds), and because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Innes’s providing a gas turbine engine with a compressor and combustion chamber according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Reckels’s gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case forming a gas turbine engine, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the gas turbine engine having a compressor and combustor).
Reckels in view of Innes does not teach a combustion chamber in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor;
a purge inlet in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening;
a common purge line connected at an upstream end to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber;
a first pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a first signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber;
a control valve connected to a downstream end of the common purge line; and
a control system configured to receive the first signal from the first pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor;
a purge air reservoir located along the common purge line between the control valve and the purge inlet.
However, Saintignan teaches a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10A), the engine comprising:
a primary compressor (Figure 1; 14A) having an inlet opening (Figure 1; 12A) and an outlet opening (The outlet of Figure 1; 14A feeding 16A. Paragraph 0050);
a combustion chamber (The combustion chamber of Figure 9; 16. Paragraph 0129) in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor (Paragraph 0050), the combustion chamber having a first fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 9; 62A) and a second fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 9; 62B), the combustion chamber having a first mode of operation (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11) in which the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is unused (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11), the combustion chamber having a second mode of operation (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11) in which the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the first fuel manifold circuit is unused (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11); and
a manifold pressurization system (Figure 9; 350) comprising:
a purge inlet (The inlet receiving air from Figure 9; 58) in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening (Paragraph 0069 states 58 uses air from the last stage of the compressor which is compressor discharge air);
a common purge line (The line from Figure 9; 58 to 174) connected at an upstream end (The upstream end of the common purge line) to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber (Functional Language, Paragraph 0069 states 58 uses air from the last stage of the compressor which is compressor discharge air);
a control valve (Figure 9; 174) connected to a downstream end (The downstream end of the common purge line) of the common purge line; and
a purge air reservoir (Figure 9; 64) located along the common purge line between the control valve and the purge inlet;
a control system (Figure 1; 29) of the gas turbine engine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels in view of Innes to include a combustion chamber in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor; a purge inlet in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening; a common purge line connected at an upstream end to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber; a control valve connected to a downstream end of the common purge line; and a purge air reservoir located along the common purge line between the control valve and the purge inlet and to include a control system of the gas turbine engine as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, The modification uses the purge system of Saintignan in Reckels in view of Ines) and because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Innes’s providing a Saintignan’s use of a combustor in fluid communication with the compressor according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Reckels in view of Innes’s gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case forming a gas turbine engine using the Brayton cycle, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the compressor feeding the combustor).
Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan does not teach a first pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a first signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber;
a control system configured to receive the first signal from the first pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor.
However, Yanosik teaches a first pressure sensor (Figure 1; 42 in 22) disposed within a combustion chamber (The combustion chamber formed by the outline of Figure 1; 22) and configured to provide a first signal (The signal from Figure 1; 42 in 22 to 38) indicative of a pressure (Paragraph 0025) within the combustion chamber;
a control system (Figure 1; 38) configured to receive the first signal from the first pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of a bleed inlet (The position of at least one of Figure 1; 45, 47, 49 of 25, 27, 29, respectively) in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor (Paragraph 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan to include a first pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a first signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber and a control system configured to receive the first signal from the first pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor as taught by and suggested by Yanosik in order to direct bleed fluid as a function of a pressure sensor (Paragraph 0022, the modification uses a sensor and controller to control the purge inlet).
Regarding claim 14, Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Reckels in view of Innes does not teach wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises:
a first purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the first fuel manifold circuit,
wherein the control valve has a second position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the first purge line to supply purge air to the first fuel manifold circuit, and
wherein the control valve being in the second position when the combustion chamber is in the second mode of operation.
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises:
a first purge line (The line from Figure 9; 174 to 62A) connected at a downstream end (The downstream end of the first purge line) thereof to the first fuel manifold circuit,
wherein the control valve has a second position (The position of Figure 9; 174 where 62A is purged and 62B is provided fuel) in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the first purge line to supply purge air to the first fuel manifold circuit, and
wherein the control valve being in the second position when the combustion chamber is in the second mode of operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels in view of Innes wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises: a first purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the first fuel manifold circuit, wherein the control valve has a second position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the first purge line to supply purge air to the first fuel manifold circuit, and wherein the control valve being in the second position when the combustion chamber is in the second mode of operation as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 13)
Regarding claim 15, Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Reckels in view of Innes does not teach wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises:
a second purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the second fuel manifold circuit,
wherein the control valve is connected to an upstream end of the second purge line, the control valve having a first position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the second purge line to supply purge air to the second fuel manifold circuit, and
wherein the control valve is in the first position when the combustion chamber is in the first mode of operation.
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises:
a second purge line (The line from Figure 9; 174 to 62B) connected at a downstream end (The downstream end of second purge line) thereof to the second fuel manifold circuit,
wherein the control valve is connected to an upstream end (The upstream end of second purge line) of the second purge line, the control valve having a first position (The position of Figure 9; 174 where 62B is purged and 62A is provided fuel) in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the second purge line to supply purge air to the second fuel manifold circuit, and
wherein the control valve is in the first position when the combustion chamber is in the first mode of operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels in view of Innes wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises: a second purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the second fuel manifold circuit, wherein the control valve is connected to an upstream end of the second purge line, the control valve having a first position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the second purge line to supply purge air to the second fuel manifold circuit, and wherein the control valve is in the first position when the combustion chamber is in the first mode of operation as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 13)
Regarding claim 17, Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Reckels does not disclose wherein the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide the first fuel which is a liquid fuel into the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide the second fuel which is a gaseous fuel into the combustion chamber.
However, Innes teaches wherein the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide the first fuel which is a liquid fuel (The first fuel is a liquid fuel) into the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide the second fuel which is a gaseous fuel (The first fuel is a gaseous fuel) into the combustion chamber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels wherein the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide the first fuel which is a liquid fuel into the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide the second fuel which is a gaseous fuel into the combustion chamber taught by and suggested by Innes in order to utilize different types of fuel at different times (Paragraph 0003, This is the same modification as claim 13) and purge dormant manifolds (Paragraph 0015, This is the same modification as claim 13).
Regarding claim 18, Reckels discloses an electric power generation system (Figure 1; 100), the system comprising
a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 102),
an electric generator (Figure 1; 128, Paragraph 0017) connected to the gas turbine engine such that the electric generator is driven by the gas turbine engine; and
a trailer (Figure 1; 116) in which the dual fuel gas turbine engine and electric generator are mounted thereon.
Reckels does not disclose a dual fuel gas turbine engine comprising:
a primary compressor having an inlet opening and an outlet opening;
a combustion chamber in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor, the combustion chamber having a first fuel manifold circuit and a second fuel manifold circuit, the combustion chamber having a first mode of operation in which the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is unused, the combustion chamber having a second mode of operation in which the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the first fuel manifold circuit is unused; and
a manifold pressurization system comprising:
a purge inlet in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening;
a common purge line connected at an upstream end to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber;
a pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber;
a control valve connected to a downstream end of the common purge line;
a control system configured to receive the signal from the pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the pure inlet in response to the signal from the pressure sensor; and
a purge air reservoir located along the common purge line between the control valve and the purge inlet.
However, Innes teaches a dual fuel gas turbine engine (The turbine engine of Paragraph 0019. Figure 1 shows the engine being dual fuel), the engine comprising:
a primary compressor (The compressor of Paragraph 0019);
a combustion chamber (Figure 1; 109), the combustion chamber having a first fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 1; 104) and a second fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 1; 102), the combustion chamber having a first mode of operation (The mode when the first fuel manifold provides fuel to the combustion chamber, Paragraph 0015) in which the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is unused, the combustion chamber having a second mode of operation (The mode when the second fuel manifold provides fuel to the combustion chamber, Paragraph 0015) in which the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the first fuel manifold circuit is unused; and
a manifold pressurization system (The system providing compressor air to either Figure 1; 102 or 104, Paragraph 0015) comprising:
a purge inlet (The inlet which uses the compressor air, Paragraph 0015) in fluid communication with the primary compressor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels to include a dual fuel gas turbine engine, the dual fuel gas turbine engine comprising: a primary compressor; a combustion chamber, the combustion chamber having a first fuel manifold circuit and a second fuel manifold circuit, the combustion chamber having a first mode of operation in which the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is unused, the combustion chamber having a second mode of operation in which the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the first fuel manifold circuit is unused; and a manifold pressurization system comprising: a purge inlet in fluid communication with the primary compressor as taught by and suggested by Innes in order to utilize different types of fuel at different times (Paragraph 0003, The modification makes the gas turbine engine of Reckels a dual fuel gas turbine engine), purge dormant manifolds (Paragraph 0015, The modification purges dormant manifolds), and because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Innes’s providing a gas turbine engine with a compressor and combustion chamber according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Reckels’s gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case forming a gas turbine engine, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the gas turbine engine having a compressor and combustor).
Reckels in view of Innes does not teach a combustion chamber in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor;
a purge inlet in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening;
a common purge line connected at an upstream end to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber;
a pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber;
a control valve connected to a downstream end of the common purge line;
a control system configured to receive the signal from the pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the pure inlet in response to the signal from the pressure sensor; and
a purge air reservoir located along the common purge line between the control valve and the purge inlet.
However, Saintignan teaches a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 10A), the engine comprising:
a primary compressor (Figure 1; 14A) having an inlet opening (Figure 1; 12A) and an outlet opening (The outlet of Figure 1; 14A feeding 16A. Paragraph 0050);
a combustion chamber (The combustion chamber of Figure 9; 16. Paragraph 0129) in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor (Paragraph 0050), the combustion chamber having a first fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 9; 62A) and a second fuel manifold circuit (The circuit in Figure 9; 62B), the combustion chamber having a first mode of operation (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11) in which the first fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the second fuel manifold circuit is unused (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11), the combustion chamber having a second mode of operation (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11) in which the second fuel manifold circuit is configured to provide fuel to the combustion chamber and the first fuel manifold circuit is unused (Functional Language, Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11); and
a manifold pressurization system (Figure 9; 350) comprising:
a purge inlet (The inlet receiving air from Figure 9; 58) in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening (Paragraph 0069 states 58 uses air from the last stage of the compressor which is compressor discharge air);
a common purge line (The line from Figure 9; 58 to 174) connected at an upstream end (The upstream end of the common purge line) to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber (Functional Language, Paragraph 0069 states 58 uses air from the last stage of the compressor which is compressor discharge air);
a control valve (Figure 9; 174) connected to a downstream end (The downstream end of the common purge line) of the common purge line; and
a purge air reservoir (Figure 9; 64) located along the common purge line between the control valve and the purge inlet;
a control system (Figure 1; 29) of the gas turbine engine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels in view of Innes to include a combustion chamber in fluid communication with the outlet opening of the primary compressor and positioned to receive compressed air from the outlet opening of the primary compressor; a purge inlet in fluid communication with the primary compressor adjacent the outlet opening; a common purge line connected at an upstream end to the purge inlet, the common purge line configured to provide purge air at a purge pressure equal to or greater than a combustion pressure within the combustion chamber; a control valve connected to a downstream end of the common purge line; and a purge air reservoir located along the common purge line between the control valve and the purge inlet and to include a control system of the gas turbine engine as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, The modification uses the purge system of Saintignan in Reckels in view of Ines) and because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Innes’s providing a Saintignan’s use of a combustor in fluid communication with the compressor according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Reckels in view of Innes’s gas turbine engine, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case forming a gas turbine engine using the Brayton cycle, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification has the compressor feeding the combustor).
Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan does not teach a pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber;
a control system configured to receive the signal from the pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the pure inlet in response to the signal from the pressure sensor.
However, Yanosik teaches a pressure sensor (Figure 1; 42 in 22) disposed within a combustion chamber (The combustion chamber formed by the outline of Figure 1; 22) and configured to provide a signal (The signal from Figure 1; 42 in 22 to 38) indicative of a pressure (Paragraph 0025) within the combustion chamber;
a control system (Figure 1; 38) configured to receive the first signal from the first pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of a bleed inlet (The position of at least one of Figure 1; 45, 47, 49 of 25, 27, 29, respectively) in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor (Paragraph 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan to include pressure sensor disposed within the combustion chamber and configured to provide a signal indicative of a pressure within the combustion chamber; a control system configured to receive the signal from the pressure sensor and control a position of a valve of the pure inlet in response to the signal from the pressure sensor as taught by and suggested by Yanosik in order to direct bleed fluid as a function of a pressure sensor (Paragraph 0022, the modification uses a sensor and controller to control the purge inlet).
Regarding claim 19, Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Reckels in view of Innes does not teach wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises:
a first purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the first fuel manifold circuit,
wherein the control valve has a second position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the first purge line to supply purge air to the first fuel manifold circuit, and
wherein the control valve being in the second position when the combustion chamber is in the second mode of operation.
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises:
a first purge line (The line from Figure 9; 174 to 62A) connected at a downstream end (The downstream end of the first purge line) thereof to the first fuel manifold circuit,
wherein the control valve has a second position (The position of Figure 9; 174 where 62A is purged and 62B is provided fuel) in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the first purge line to supply purge air to the first fuel manifold circuit, and
wherein the control valve being in the second position when the combustion chamber is in the second mode of operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels in view of Innes wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises: a first purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the first fuel manifold circuit, wherein the control valve has a second position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the first purge line to supply purge air to the first fuel manifold circuit, and wherein the control valve being in the second position when the combustion chamber is in the second mode of operation as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 18).
Regarding claim 20, Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Reckels in view of Innes does not teach wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises:
a second purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the second fuel manifold circuit,
wherein the control valve is connected to an upstream end of the second purge line, the control valve having a first position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the second purge line to supply purge air to the second fuel manifold circuit, and
wherein the control valve is in the first position when the combustion chamber is in the first mode of operation.
However, Saintignan teaches wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises:
a second purge line (The line from Figure 9; 174 to 62B) connected at a downstream end (The downstream end of second purge line) thereof to the second fuel manifold circuit,
wherein the control valve is connected to an upstream end (The upstream end of second purge line) of the second purge line, the control valve having a first position (The position of Figure 9; 174 where 62B is purged and 62A is provided fuel) in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the second purge line to supply purge air to the second fuel manifold circuit, and
wherein the control valve is in the first position when the combustion chamber is in the first mode of operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels in view of Innes wherein the manifold pressurization system further comprises: a second purge line connected at a downstream end thereof to the second fuel manifold circuit, wherein the control valve is connected to an upstream end of the second purge line, the control valve having a first position in which the control valve connects the common purge line with the second purge line to supply purge air to the second fuel manifold circuit, and wherein the control valve is in the first position when the combustion chamber is in the first mode of operation as taught by and suggested by Saintignan in order to provide a system for purging a fuel system (Paragraph 0129 and 0146, This is the same modification as claim 18).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan and Yanosik as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Couture
Regarding claim 16, Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan and Yanosik teaches the invention as claimed.
Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan does not teach wherein the purge inlet has a closed position in which the purge air is prevented from entering the common purge line and an open position in which the purge air is allowed to enter the common purge line, wherein the common purge line includes a second pressure sensor configured to provide a second signal indicative of a pressure of the common purge line to the control system of the dual fuel gas turbine engine, further comprising wherein the control system is further configured to receive the second signal from the second pressure sensor and control the position of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the first pressure sensor, the second signal from the second pressure sensor, or both, the position of the purge inlet controlling a pressure within the common purge line.
However, Yanosik teaches the control system configured to control a position of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the pressure sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan wherein the control system configured to control a position of the purge inlet in response to the first signal from the pressure sensor as taught by and suggested by Yanosik in order to direct bleed fluid as a function of a pressure sensor (Paragraph 0022, This is the same modification as claim 13).
Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan and Yanosik does not teach wherein the purge inlet has a closed position in which the purge air is prevented from entering the common purge line and an open position in which the purge air is allowed to enter the common purge line, wherein the common purge line includes a second pressure sensor configured to provide a second signal indicative of a pressure of the common purge line to the control system of the dual fuel gas turbine engine, further comprising wherein the control system is further configured to receive the second signal from the second pressure sensor and control the position of the purge inlet in response to the second signal from the second pressure sensor, the position of the purge inlet controlling a pressure within the common purge line.
However, Couture teaches wherein a bleed inlet (The conduit from Figure 1; 12 to 14 and including 14) has a closed position (The closed position of Figure 1; 14. Paragraph 0004, 0005, 0020) in in which bleed air (The bleed air from Figure 1; 12) is prevented from entering a common bleed line (The line from at least Figure 1; 14 to 20) and an open position (The open position of Figure 1; 14. Paragraph 0004, 0005, 0020) in which the bleed air is allowed to enter the common bleed line, wherein the common bleed line includes a pressure sensor (Figure 1; 16) configured to provide a signal indicative of a pressure of the common bleed line (Paragraph 0012) to a control system (Figure 1; 26) of a gas turbine engine (Paragraph 0003), further comprising the control system configured to receive the signal from the pressure sensor and control a position (Paragraph 0020) of the bleed inlet in response to the signal from the pressure sensor, the position of the bleed inlet controlling a pressure (Paragraph 0012) within the common bleed line.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Reckels in view of Innes and Saintignan wherein a bleed inlet (In the context of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik, the bleed inlet of Couture is the purge inlet) has a closed position in in which bleed air is prevented from entering a common bleed line (In the context of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik, the common bleed line of Couture is the common purge line) and an open position in which the bleed air is allowed to enter the common bleed line, wherein the common bleed line includes a pressure sensor (In the context of Innes in view of Saintignan and Yanosik, the pressure sensor of Couture is a second pressure sensor that provides a second signal) configured to provide a signal indicative of a pressure of the common bleed line to a control system of a gas turbine engine, further comprising the control system configured to receive the signal from the pressure sensor and control a position of the bleed inlet in response to the signal from the pressure sensor, the position of the bleed inlet controlling a pressure within the common bleed line as taught by and suggested by Couture in order to regulate the pressure of the bleed air (Paragraph 0004, the modification adds a valve at the purge inlet, a sensor in the common purge line which are in communication with the control system).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Saintignan does not disclose fuel is supplied to the second manifold while fuel is not supplied to the first fuel manifold. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner reasserts that Paragraph 0145 and 0146 of Saintignan describe the fuel is supplied to the second manifold while fuel is not supplied to the first fuel manifold. For argument’s sake, if Paragraph 0145 and 0146 do not have such a description, Figure 10 of Saintignan shows the method where both manifolds are supplied fuel, Paragraph 0144 of Saintignan states methods can be combined, and Paragraph 0145 and 0146 of Saintignan also describe stopping fuel to the first manifold. Thus, combining the two methods per Paragraph 0144 of Saintignan has the fuel is supplied to the second manifold while fuel is not supplied to the first fuel manifold. Furthermore, these claim limitations are functional which can be performed by the gas turbine of Saintignan, per Paragraph 0078, 0144, 0145, 0146, and Figure 9, 10, 11 of Saintignan.
Applicant asserts that Santignan does not describe purging the first manifold and supplying fuel to the second manifold. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph 0145 and 0146 of Saintignan state the first manifold, which is not supplied with fuel, is purged. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Figure 9; 166 of Saintignan can purge the first manifold, per Paragraph 0145, 0146 of Saintignan.
Conclusion
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741