DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 03/17/26 is acknowledged.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0187101, filed on 12/28/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2024 and 12/26/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Jang et al. ( US 2023/0282650 A1; hereinafter Jang )
Regarding claim 1, Jang ( ‘650 ) teaches a display device ( Fig. 2 display device 10 ), comprising: a substrate ( SUB1 ) in which a plurality of sub pixels ( Fig. 2 LA1, LA2, and LA3 ) is defined; a light emitting diode ( Fig. 2 light-emitting elements ED ) disposed on the substrate ( Fig. 2: SUB1 ) in each of the plurality of sub pixels ( [0065] In each of the first to third light-emitting areas LA1, LA2 and LA3, light generated by light-emitting elements ED of the display devices 10 exits out of the display devices 10 ); and a planarization layer ( Fig. 2 a first planarization layer OC1 ) which covers the light emitting diode ( Fig. 2: ED ) and includes a first contact hole ( Fig. 2 first contact hole CNT1 ) overlapping the light emitting diode ( [0094] The first planarization layer OC1 may be provided on the first protective layer PV1 to planarize an upper side of the thin film transistor layer TFTL. For example, the first planarization layer OC1 may include a contact hole through which the first electrode RME1passes ), wherein the first contact hole ( Fig. 2: CNT1 ) is formed to have a width which is narrowed from an upper portion of the first contact hole toward a lower portion of the first contact hole ( [0068] a width of a lower portion of the first contact hole CNT1 may be greater than a width of an upper portion of the first contact hole CNT1 )
Regarding claim 2, Jang ( ‘650 ) teaches the display device according to claim 1 ( as discussed above), further comprising: a pixel electrode ( Fig. 2 first electrode RME1 ) disposed on the light emitting diode ( [0097] The first electrode RME1 may be disposed on the protrusion pattern BP disposed on a side of the light emitting element ED ) in each of the plurality of sub pixels ( Fig. 2 LA1, LA2, and LA3 ), wherein the light emitting diode ( Fig. 2: ED ) disposed in the plurality of the sub pixels ( Fig. 2: LA1, LA2, and LA3 ) is electrically connected to the pixel electrode ( Fig. 2 RME1 ) through the first contact hole ( Fig. 2 CNT1; [0094] the first planarization layer OC1 may include a contact hole through which the first electrode RME1 passes ).
Regarding claim 3, Jang ( ‘650 ) teaches the display device according to claim 2( as discussed above ), wherein the pixel electrode ( Fig. 2: RME1 ) and the light emitting diode ( Fig. 2: ED ) are in contact with each other in only a partial area ( as shown in Fig. 2 ) of the first contact hole ( [0094] the first planarization layer OC1 may include a contact hole through which the first electrode RME1 passes ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al.; US 2023/0282650 A1; 10/2022 in view of Nakajima; US 2018/0090511 A1; 03/2017
Claim 4: Jang ( ‘650 ) discloses the display device according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ).
Jang ( ‘650 ) does not appear to disclose an inner side surface of the first contact hole is formed to have a step shape.
However, Nakajima teaches an inner side surface of the first contact hole ( Fig. 15 contact 32 ) is formed to have a step shape ( [0073] the upper portion 32b of the contact 32 is shifted toward the source region 34 side in the X-direction with respect to the lower portion 32a ) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Nakajima with Jang to implement an inner side surface of the first contact hole is formed to have a step shape because this approach ensures stable electrical connectivity
Claim 6: Jang ( ‘650 ) discloses the display device according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ).
Jang ( ‘650 ) does not appear to disclose the closer to a center of the first contact hole, the deeper a depth of the first contact hole.
However, Nakajima teaches the closer to a center ( as shown in Fig. 15 ) of the first contact hole ( Fig. 15 contact hole 32 ), the deeper a depth ( as shown in Fig. 15 ) of the first contact hole ( Fig. 15 #32 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Nakajima with Jang to implement the closer to a center of the first contact hole, the deeper a depth of the first contact hole because this could be due to manufacturing processes that cause thickness variations, such as spin coating or slit coating techniques.
Claim 5 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al.; US 2023/0282650 A1; 10/2022 in view of Jang et al.; US 2023/0057649 A1; 11/2022
Claim 5: Jang ( ‘650 ) discloses the display device according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ).
Jang ( ‘650 ) does not appear to disclose only an upper portion of the light emitting diode is exposed through the first contact hole.
However, Jang ( ‘649 ) teaches only an upper portion of the light emitting diode ( [0138] The contact part includes a first contact part 20C to apply the light emitting signal to the first epitaxial stack 20 ) is exposed through the first contact hole ( Fig. 2 #20C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Jang ( ‘649 ) with Jang ( ‘650 ) to implement only an upper portion of the light emitting diode is exposed through the first contact hole because this approach optimizes electrical contact, prevents short circuits, and aligns with structural isolation layers.
Claim 7 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al.; US 2023/0282650 A1; 10/2022 in view of Fujiyoshi; US 2022/0293871 A1; 03/2022
Claim 7: Jang ( ‘650 ) discloses the display device according to claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Jang ( ‘650 ) does not appear to disclose the light emitting diode is exposed at a center of the first contact hole from the planarization layer, and the planarization layer covers the light emitting diode at an outside of the first contact hole.
However, Fujiyoshi teaches the light emitting diode ( Fig. 3 light emitting layer 74 ) is exposed at a center of the first contact hole ( [0044] the first through portion 51h and the second through portion 61h function as contact holes ) from the planarization layer ( Fig. 3 first planarization layer 51 ), and the planarization layer ( Fig. 3 #51 ) covers the light emitting diode ( Fig. 3 #74 ) at an outside of the first contact hole ( as shown in Fig. 3 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Fujiyoshi with Jang ( ‘650 ) to implement the light emitting diode is exposed at a center of the first contact hole from the planarization layer, and the planarization layer covers the light emitting diode at an outside of the first contact hole because this approach will provide electrical interconnection, passivation, and structural stability.
Claim 8 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al.; US 2023/0282650 A1; 10/2022 in view of Baek et al.; US 2021/0135166 A1; 11/2020
Claim 8: Jang ( ‘650 ) discloses the display device according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ).
Jang ( ‘650 ) does not appear to disclose in plan view, an area of the first contact hole is larger than an area of the light emitting diode and an area of the light emitting diode exposed through the first contact hole is smaller than the area of the first contact hole.
However, Baek teaches in plan view, an area of the first contact hole ( Fig. 11 ; [0144] Further, the insulating film 1140 can include a contact hole spaced apart from the concave portion 1143 ) is larger than an area of the light emitting diode ( Fig. 11: OLED 760 ) and an area of the light emitting diode ( Fig. 11 #760 ) exposed through the first contact hole is smaller than the area of the first contact hole ( as shown in Fig. 11 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Baek with Jang ( ‘650 ) to implement in plan view, an area of the first contact hole is larger than an area of the light emitting diode and an area of the light emitting diode exposed through the first contact hole is smaller than the area of the first contact hole because this will improve electrical connection and reliability.
Claim 9 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al.; US 2023/0282650 A1; 10/2022 in view of Baek et al.; US 2021/0135166 A1; 11/2020 as it related to claim 8 and further in view of Park; US 2020/0395388 A1; 09/2020
Claim 9: Jang ( ‘650 ) and Baek disclose the display device according to claim 8 ( as discussed above ).
Neither Jang ( ‘650 ) nor Baek appear to disclose in plan view, an area of the light emitting diode exposed through the first contact hole is smaller than an overall area of the light emitting diode.
However, Park teaches in plan view, an area of the light emitting diode ( Fig. 5 light emitting element 150 ) exposed through the first contact hole ( Fig. 5 first electrode contact hole ECH1 ) is smaller than an overall area ( as shown in Fig. 5 ) of the light emitting diode ( Fig. 5 #150 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Park with Jang ( ‘650 ) and Baek to implement in plan view, an area of the light emitting diode exposed through the first contact hole is smaller than an overall area of the light emitting diode because this enhances efficiency, increases structural stability, and improves manufacturing yield.
Claim 10 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al.; US 2023/0282650 A1; 10/2022 in view of Park; US 2020/0395388 A1; 09/2020
Claim 10: Jang (‘650 ) discloses the display device according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ).
Jang (‘650 ) does not appear to disclose a center of the first contact hole corresponds to a center of the light emitting diode.
However, Park teaches a center of the first contact hole ( Fig. 5: ECH1 ) corresponds to a center ( as shown ins Fig. 5 ) of the light emitting diode ( Fig. 5 #150 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Park with Jang ( ‘650 ) and Baek to implement a center of the first contact hole corresponds to a center of the light emitting diode because this ensures uniform light emission, optimal electrical connection, and accurate assembly.
Conclusion
/K.N.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817