DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, line 10, the limitation of “regions” should be corrected into “region”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
In claim 17, lines 3-4, the limitation “a second conductive layer” and “the second conductive layer” renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “a second conductive layer” refers to a new conductive layer or “a new insulating layer”. Applicant’s figure 4 and related paragraphs describe that the barrier structure is comprised of all insulating layers of 40/42/44/46/48. Therefore, it is suggested Applicant change “a second conductive layer” and “the second conductive layer” in claim 17, lines 3-4 to “an insulating layer” and “the insulating layer”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted and examined as “an insulating layer” and “the insulating layer”. Correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2015/0091084).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses, in at least figure 2 and related text, a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET) device ([197], [198], figure) comprising:
a semiconductor body (3/6, [52]);
a plurality of source regions (45a/45b, [82]) of a first conductivity type in the semiconductor body (3/6, [52]);
a plurality of body regions (33a/33b, [79]) of a second conductivity type in the semiconductor body (6, [52]), the plurality of body regions (33a/33b, [79]) including a plurality of channel regions (region of 33a/33b contacting with 36, figure);
a drain region (3/6, [52]) of the first conductivity type in the semiconductor body (3/6, [52]); a plurality of insulated gate regions (region of 36/39’, [57], [92]), each of the plurality of insulated gate regions (region of 36/39’, [57], [92]) including:
a gate conductive region (39’, [92]); and
a gate dielectric region (36, [57]) partially interposed between the gate conductive region (39’, [92]) and a corresponding source region (45a/45b, [82]) and partially interposed between the gate conductive region (39’, [92]) and a corresponding channel region (region of 33a/33b contacting with 36, figure); and
a plurality of barrier structures (54a, [58]), each of the plurality of barrier structures (54a, [58]) extending on a corresponding insulated gate region (region of 36/39’, [57], [92]) and including a first barrier region of silicon nitride (52b, [58]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the MOSFET device according to claim 1 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figure 2 and related text, each of the plurality of barrier structures (54a, [58]) includes an insulating region (52a, [58]) on and in direct contact with a corresponding gate conductive region (39’, [92]), and
each first barrier region (52b, [58]) is on a corresponding insulating region (52a, [58]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the MOSFET device according to claim 1 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figure 2 and related text, each of the plurality of barrier structures (54a, [58]) includes an insulating region (52a, [58]) on and in direct contact with a corresponding first barrier region (52b, [58]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the MOSFET device according to claim 1 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figure 2 and related text, the gate conductive regions (39’, [92]) include polysilicon ([92]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the MOSFET device according to claim 1 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figure 2 and related text, the semiconductor body (3/6, [52]) is delimited by a first surface (upper surface of 6, figure);
wherein the plurality of source regions (45a/45b, [82]) face the first surface (upper surface of 6, figure) and overlie corresponding body regions (33a/33b, [79]);
wherein each of the plurality of insulated gate regions (region of 36/39’, [57], [92]) extends inside a corresponding trench (trench for 36/39’, figure), which extends inside the semiconductor body (3/6, [52]), starting from the first surface (upper surface of 6, figure), and is interposed between a corresponding pair of source regions (45a/45b, [82]) and a corresponding pair of body regions (33a/33b, [79]);
wherein the gate conductive region (39’, [92]) and the gate dielectric region (36, [57]) extend inside the corresponding trench (trench for 36/39’, figure), the gate dielectric region (36, [57]) surrounding the gate conductive region (39’, [92]) and contacting the corresponding pair of source regions (45a/45b, [82]) and the corresponding pair of body regions (33a/33b, [79]); and
wherein the plurality of channel regions (region of 33a/33b contacting with 36, figure) are formed by portions of the body regions (33a/33b, [79]) that contact gate dielectric regions (36, [57]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses, in at least figures 2, 7A-7V, and related text, a process for manufacturing a metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET) device comprising:
forming a plurality of source regions (45a/45b, [82]) of a first conductivity type in a semiconductor body (3/6, [52]);
forming a plurality of body regions (33a/33b, [79]) of a second conductivity type in the semiconductor body (3/6, [52]), the plurality of body regions (33a/33b, [79]) including a plurality of channel regions (region of 33a/33b contacting with 36, figure 2);
forming a drain region (3/6, [52]) of the first conductivity type in the semiconductor body (3/6, [52]);
forming a plurality of insulated gate regions (region of 36/39’, [57], [92]), each of the plurality of insulated gate regions (region of 36/39’, [57], [92]) including:
a gate conductive region (39’, [92]); and
a gate dielectric region (36, [57]) partially interposed between the gate conductive region (39’, [92]) and a corresponding source regions (45a/45b, [82]) and partially interposed between the gate conductive region (39’, [92]) and a corresponding channel region (region of 33a/33b contacting with 36, figure 2); and
forming a plurality of barrier structures (54a, [58]), each of the plurality of barrier structures (54a, [58]) extending on a corresponding insulated gate region (region of 36/39’, [57], [92]) and including a barrier region of silicon nitride (52b, [58]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the process according to claim 12 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 2, 7A-7V, and related text, forming the plurality of barrier structures (54a, [58]) includes forming a silicon nitride layer (layer of 51b, [179]) on the plurality of insulated gate regions (region of 36/39’, [57], [92]), and subsequently selectively removing portions of the silicon nitride layer (layer of 51b, [179]) (figures 7Q-7S).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the process according to claim 13 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figures 2, 7A-7V, and related text, forming an oxide layer (51a, [179]) on the gate conductive regions (39’, [92]), in direct contact,
wherein forming the silicon nitride layer (52b, [58]) includes forming the silicon nitride layer (51b, [179]) on the oxide layer (51a, [179]).
Claim(s) 15-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wada (US 2011/0227096).
Regarding claim 15, Wada discloses, in at least figure 21 and related text, a device, comprising:
a substrate (11/12, [75]) including:
a drain region (11/12, [75]) having a first conductivity type;
first (left 13, [75], figure) and second (left 13, [75], figure) body regions having a second conductivity type and in the drain region (11/12, [75]), the first (left 13, [75], figure) and second (left 13, [75], figure) body regions separated from each other by a portion of the drain region (11/12, [75]); and
first (left 14, [75], figure) and second (left 14, [75], figure) source regions having the first conductivity type, the first (left 14, [75], figure) and second (left 14, [75], figure) source regions in the first (left 13, [75], figure) and second (left 13, [75], figure) body regions, respectively;
an insulated gate region (15/17/21, [80], [138]) directly overlying the portion of the drain region (11/12, [75]); and
a first barrier region (210, [87]) on the insulated gate region (15/17/21, [80], [138]).
Regarding claim 16, Wada discloses the device of claim 15 as described above.
Wada further discloses, in at least figure 21 and related text, a first insulating layer (15, [80]) on the substrate (11/12, [75]);
a conductive layer (17, [80]) on the first insulating layer (15, [80]); and
a second insulating layer (21, [138]) on the conductive layer (17, [80]).
Regarding claim 18, Wada discloses the device of claim 15 as described above.
Wada further discloses, in at least figure 21 and related text, the first barrier region (210, [87]) includes silicon nitride ([87]).
Regarding claim 19, Wada discloses the device of claim 15 as described above.
Wada further discloses, in at least figure 21 and related text, the first source region (left 14, [75], figure) includes a body contact region (18, [75]) having the second conductivity type.
Regarding claim 20, Wada discloses the device of claim 15 as described above.
Wada further discloses, in at least figure 21 and related text, a metallization layer (27, [84]) on the first barrier region (210, [87]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2015/0091084).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the MOSFET device according to claim 1 as described above.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the first barrier region has a thickness greater than or equal to 30 nanometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the thickness of first barrier region as claimed in claim 2 in order to optimize the performance of the device in .. It is noted that the selection dimension of the thickness of the first barrier region as being no more than use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. See MPEP 2143 I. C. It is noted that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1389 (2007). In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed arrangement (i.e.- the first barrier region has a thickness greater than or equal to 30 nanometers) or any unexpected results arising therefrom.
Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen limitations or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen limitations are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (FED. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 3 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2015/0091084) in view of Nagata (US 2022/0181447).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the MOSFET device according to claim 1 as described above.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the first barrier region overlies, at a distance, the corresponding channel region.
Nagata teaches, in at least figure 10 and related text, the device comprising the first barrier region (140, [311]) overlies, at a distance, the corresponding channel region (region of 74 contacting with 79, [191], [196], figure), for the purpose of providing SiC semiconductor device with which an external force can be relaxed ([6]) thereby preventing cracks.
Lee and Nagata are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lee with the specified features of Nagata because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Lee to have the first barrier region overlying, at a distance, the corresponding channel region, as taught by Nagata, for the purpose of providing SiC semiconductor device with which an external force can be relaxed ([6], Nagata) thereby preventing cracks.
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the MOSFET device according to claim 1 as described above.
Lee does not explicitly disclose a plurality of body contact regions of the second conductivity type in the plurality of source regions, each of the plurality of body contact regions extending inside a corresponding source region, starting from a front surface of the semiconductor body, up to contacting an underlying corresponding body region.
Nagata teaches, in at least figure 10 and related text, the device comprising a plurality of body contact regions (98, [253]) of the second conductivity type in the plurality of source regions (97, [252]), each of the plurality of body contact regions (98, [253]) extending inside a corresponding source region (97, [252]), starting from a front surface of the semiconductor body (62, [171]), up to contacting an underlying corresponding body region (74, [191]) (figure), for the purpose of providing SiC semiconductor device with which an external force can be relaxed ([6]) thereby preventing cracks.
Lee and Nagata are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lee with the specified features of Nagata because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Lee to have the plurality of body contact regions of the second conductivity type in the plurality of source regions, each of the plurality of body contact regions extending inside a corresponding source region, starting from a front surface of the semiconductor body, up to contacting an underlying corresponding body region, as taught by Nagata, for the purpose of providing SiC semiconductor device with which an external force can be relaxed ([6], Nagata) thereby preventing cracks.
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Nagata discloses the MOSFET device according to claim 8 as described above.
Lee further discloses, in at least figure 2 and related text, a source metallization (72, [86]), which partially overlies the plurality of barrier structures (54a, [58]) and in part extends through the plurality of barrier structures (54a, [58]), in contact with the plurality of source regions (45a/45b, [82]) and the plurality of body contact regions (66a/66b, [71]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2015/0091084) in view of Wada (US 2011/0227096).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the MOSFET device according to claim 1 as described above.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor body is delimited by a first surface; the plurality of body regions extend inside the drain region, starting from the first surface, and are laterally staggered, in such a way that pairs of adjacent body regions are separated by a corresponding surface portion of the drain region, which faces the first surface; each of the plurality of source regions extends inside a corresponding body region, the plurality of channel regions being formed by portions of the plurality of body regions that are arranged laterally with respect to the plurality of source regions and face the first surface; the gate dielectric region extends on the first surface and overlies a corresponding surface portion of the drain region, corresponding channel regions and portions of corresponding source regions; the gate conductive region extends on the gate dielectric region.
Wada teaches, in at least figure 1 and related text, the device comprising the semiconductor body (11/12, [75]) is delimited by a first surface (upper surface of 12, figure); the plurality of body regions (13, [75]) extend inside the drain region (11/12, [75]), starting from the first surface (upper surface of 12, figure), and are laterally staggered, in such a way that pairs of adjacent body regions (13, [75]) are separated by a corresponding surface portion of the drain region (11/12, [75]), which faces the first surface (upper surface of 12, figure); each of the plurality of source regions (14, [75]) extends inside a corresponding body region (13, [75]), the plurality of channel regions (region of 13 contacting 15, figure) being formed by portions of the plurality of body regions (13, [75]) that are arranged laterally with respect to the plurality of source regions (14, [75]) and face the first surface (upper surface of 12, figure); the gate dielectric region (15, [80]) extends on the first surface (upper surface of 12, figure) and overlies a corresponding surface portion of the drain region (11/12, [75]), corresponding channel regions (region of 13 contacting 15, figure) and portions of corresponding source regions (14, [75]); the gate conductive region (17, [80]) extends on the gate dielectric region (15, [80]), for the purpose of providing semiconductor device having a construction capable of achieving suppressed deterioration of electric characteristics in an insulating member ([14]).
Lee and Wada are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lee with the specified features of Wada because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Lee to have the semiconductor body being delimited by a first surface; the plurality of body regions extending inside the drain region, starting from the first surface, and being laterally staggered, in such a way that pairs of adjacent body regions are separated by a corresponding surface portion of the drain region, which faces the first surface; each of the plurality of source regions extends inside a corresponding body region, the plurality of channel regions being formed by portions of the plurality of body regions that are arranged laterally with respect to the plurality of source regions and face the first surface; the gate dielectric region extending on the first surface and overlying a corresponding surface portion of the drain region, corresponding channel regions and portions of corresponding source regions; the gate conductive region extending on the gate dielectric region, as taught by Wada, for the purpose of providing semiconductor device having a construction capable of achieving suppressed deterioration of electric characteristics in an insulating member ([14], Wada).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 1, 5, and 6 that recite "each of the plurality of barrier structures includes a second barrier region of silicon nitride on a corresponding insulating region" in combination with other elements of the base claims 1, 5, and 6.
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 15, 16, and 17 that recite "an insulating layer on the second insulating layer; a third insulating layer on the insulating layer" in combination with other elements of the base claims 15, 16, and 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TONG-HO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811