DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 12/27/2023 claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 1 and 11 are independent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “battery slot providing a space into which at least one auxiliary battery is inserted” and the “separation request signal” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1 remove “computer-implemented” to avoid a 35 USC § 101 rejection. For examination purposes below this limitation will be considered as removed, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 11-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (USPGPN 20180009400) and further in view of Penilla et al. (USPGPN 20180015835; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure (IDS) as USPN 9925882).
With respect to independent claims 1 and 11, Lee teaches a battery system of a vehicle (Figs. 1-7; ¶[21]).
Lee teaches a main battery configured to be selectively connected to a load of the vehicle using a first switch (Figs. 1-7; the main battery 111 is selectively connected using a first switch 151).
Lee teaches an auxiliary battery is connected to the load of the vehicle using a second switch (Figs. 1-7; the auxiliary battery 121 is selectively connected using a second switch 152).
Lee teaches a controller configured to turn off the first switch and turn on the second switch (Figs. 1-7; a power controller 160 is configured to turn off the first switch 151 and turn on the second switch 152).
However, Lee fails to explicitly teach a battery slot providing a space into which at least one auxiliary battery is inserted; and in response to the at least one auxiliary battery being inserted into a corresponding battery slot.
Note, applicant has broadly claimed a “battery slot” and “a space into which at least one auxiliary battery is inserted”, one of ordinary skill can possibly interpret that Lee’s apparatus (100) and power supply (120) could constitute a slot (area) and space for the aux battery since such a battery is likely added after the body is formed and not integral with the EV and would be designed such as to be fixed and not move around. However, for evidentiary reasons, the examiner is supplying a teaching for this claimed limitation.
Penilla teaches a battery slot providing a space into which at least one auxiliary battery is inserted (Abstract; Fig. 3; an auxiliary battery carrier 16 providing a space into which volt bars 20 are inserted).
Penilla teaches the system responding to the at least one auxiliary battery being inserted into a corresponding battery slot (Abstract; “The computer is interfaced with the connection of the receptacle slot to obtain a level of charge of the battery present in the receptacle slot”).
Switching off the main battery isolates the main battery from the system thus conserving its life by placing the work burden on an insertable auxiliary battery which may be replaced at a higher convenience than the main battery. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to adapt Penilla’s auxiliary battery carrier system to Lee’s switching circuit in order to switch over from the main battery to the auxiliary battery when the auxiliary battery is inserted into the system. The advantage of this being the user is provided with more flexibility of selecting auxiliary batteries to provide sufficient power (see Penilla’s abstract).
With respect to dependent claims 2 and 12, Lee teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Lee teaches wherein a first end of the first switch is connected to the main battery (Figs. 1-7; a first end of the first switch 151 is connected to the main battery 111).
Lee teaches wherein a second end of the first switch is connected to a first end of the second switch and the load of the vehicle (Figs. 1-7; a second end of the first switch 151 is connected to a first end of the second switch 152 and the load 130 of the vehicle).
Lee teaches wherein a second end of the second switch is connected to a first end of the battery slot (Figs. 1-7; a second end of the second switch 152 is connected to a first end of the auxiliary battery 121 (i.e., Penilla’s auxiliary battery carrier 16)).
Lee teaches wherein a second end of the battery slot is connected to the load of the vehicle and the main battery using a third switch (Figs. 1-7; a second end of the auxiliary battery 16 is connected to the loads 130/140 of the vehicle and the main battery 111 via the ground path).
With respect to dependent claims 3 and 13, Lee teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2 and 12, respectively.
Further, Lee teaches wherein a resistance component is connected between the main battery and the component (It is well-known that the conduction path between two components has resistance and that resistive value may be modified by changing the dimensions and material properties of the conduction path).
With respect to dependent claims 4 and 14, Lee teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2 and 12, respectively.
Lee teaches wherein the controller is further configured to turn on the first switch in response that a required power level of the load of the vehicle is higher than a maximum power level of the auxiliary battery (Fig. 2).
With respect to dependent claims 7 and 17, Lee teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 4 and 14, respectively. However, Lee fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claims 7 and 17.
Penilla teaches wherein in response that a driving distance of the vehicle according to a state of charge of the at least one auxiliary battery is shorter than a distance to a destination of the vehicle, the controller is further configured to determine that the required power level of the load of the vehicle is higher than the maximum power level of the auxiliary battery (¶[15]; ¶[215]; one of ordinary skill understands the controller determines if the volt bars 20 have sufficient SOC to complete the trip based on the required power level of the load considering the distance to a destination of the vehicle).
Energy management is essential and ensuring system batteries have enough charge before a trip is done so any battery without enough charge is flagged for replacement. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Penilla’s battery distance power level planning to Lee’s system. The advantage of this being the user is provided with more flexibility of selecting auxiliary batteries with adequate power levels (see Penilla’s abstract).
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Penilla, and further in view of Kim et al. (USPGPN 20180281616).
With respect to dependent claims 5 and 15, Lee teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 4 and 14, respectively. However, Lee fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claims 5 and 15.
Kim teaches wherein the controller is further configured to perform battery voltage balancing by controlling the switches (Figs. 1-3; ¶[09]).
Performing battery balancing before connecting them in parallel prevents damaging inrush currents. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s battery balancing method to Lee’s switching circuit so that battery balancing is performed with the second switch and the third switch before turning on the first switch. The advantage of this being the vehicle battery system includes a controller that monitors a state of charge of the first and second battery modules, and thus service life of the battery is improved (see ¶[14] of Kim).
With respect to dependent claims 6 and 16, Lee teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 5 and 15, respectively. However, Lee fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claims 6 and 16.
Kim teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control the at least one of the second switch and the third switch so that a sum of a voltage of the at least one of the second switch and the third switch and a voltage of the at least one auxiliary battery corresponds to a voltage of the main battery (Figs. 1-3; ¶[09]; it is well-understood that balancing involves equalizing the voltages of the batteries).
Performing battery balancing before connecting them in parallel prevents damaging inrush currents. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s battery balancing method to Lee’s switching circuit so that battery balancing is performed with the second switch and the third switch before turning on the first switch. The advantage of this being the vehicle battery system includes a controller that monitors a state of charge of the first and second battery modules, and thus service life of the battery is improved (see ¶[14] of Kim).
Claims 8-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Penilla, and further in view of Alturi et al. (USPGPN 20210129687).
With respect to claim 8, Lee teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Lee fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 8.
Alturi teaches further including a converter configured to transfer energy stored in the at least one auxiliary battery to the main battery based on the control of the controller (Figs. 1-2; ¶[37]; the DC-DC converter 88 transfers energy stored in the flex range battery 90 to the primary energy storage device 40 based on the control of the controller 89).
A DC-DC converter is used to supply power from a lower voltage battery to a higher voltage battery in order to provide the appropriate voltage level to allow current to flow. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Alturi’s DC-DC converter to Lee’s system. The advantage of this being the system is operated to bring the deployable flex range batteries online while minimizing inrush currents (see ¶[20] of Alturi).
With respect to dependent claims 9 and 18, Lee teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 8 and 12, respectively. However, Lee fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 9.
Alturi teaches wherein the controller is further configured to compare a state of charge of the at least one auxiliary battery and a state of charge of the main battery in response to receiving a separation request signal for the at least one auxiliary battery and control the converter according to a result of the comparison (¶[09]; ¶[12]; the SOC of the flex batteries 90 and primary battery 40 are continuously monitored and compared to determine whether to disconnect a flex battery 90 from the system and consequentially operate the converter 88 accordingly).
Comparing the state of charge between a vehicle’s main battery and auxiliary battery ensures the electrical system functions reliably. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Alturi’s SOC comparison of the main battery with the auxiliary batteries to Lee’s system. The advantage of this being the system is operated to bring the deployable flex range batteries online while minimizing inrush currents (see ¶[20] of Alturi).
With respect to dependent claims 10 and 19, Lee teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 9 and 18, respectively. However, Lee fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 10.
Alturi teaches wherein in response that an amount of the charge of the at least one auxiliary battery is greater than an amount of the charge of the main battery, the controller is configured to transfer the energy of the at least one auxiliary battery to the main battery using the converter (¶[12]).
Connecting an auxiliary battery supplements the main battery to provide the necessary power to keep electrical systems running and to prevent the main battery from dropping to a damaging voltage level. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Alturi’s SOC comparison of the main battery with the auxiliary batteries to Lee’s system. The advantage of this being the system is operated to bring the deployable flex range batteries online while minimizing inrush currents (see ¶[20] of Alturi).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art disclosed by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been considered by the examiner and relied upon for citation purposes. The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yeo et al. (USPGPN 20230024016) describes a vehicle charging system that can charge the main battery from either wall power or from one or more swappable batteries installed in the vehicle.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859