DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US Pub no 2024/0215429 A1) in view Choi US Pub no. 2022/0320055 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al discloses A display device (fig. 3)comprising:
a first-color light emitting diode (LED)(40)[0044] ; a circuit layer(20) located on the first-color LED (40)and including a plurality of thin film transistors (TFTs) (T1/T2)and a plurality of first wires(inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048]; a second-color LED(30- far left) located in a first area on the circuit layer(20) fig. 3; a third-color LED (30-far right)located in a second area on the circuit layer(20) fig. 3
Sun et al discloses a plurality of pads(122/122) [0067] but fails to teach a plurality of second wires located between the first area and the second area; and a plurality of pads connected to the plurality of second wires.
However, Choi et al discloses a light emitting diode display device comprising a plurality of second wires (108/112)located between a first light emitting diode and second light emitting diode (120)[0063]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sun et al with the teachings of Choi et al such that teach a plurality of second wires located between the first area and the second area; and a plurality of pads connected to the plurality of second wires results to drive the LED’s to emit light.
Regarding claim 2, Choi et al discloses further comprising: a passivation layer (106c)located on the second-color LED(120), the third-color LED(120), and the circuit layer(20) (element 11 is form on the rear side of the LED 30) fig. 3[0067],
wherein the plurality of pads (122 and 121))are formed and located on the passivation
layer(11) [0067].
Regarding claim 3, Sun et al discloses wherein
the plurality of TFTs (T1/T2)and the plurality of first wires(inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048]include at least two TFTs and two first wires(inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048][0064]for driving the first-color LED(40), and
the two first wires(inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048] [0064] are connected to two electrodes (141/142)of the first-color LED(40),respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Sun et al discloses wherein the plurality of TFTs (T1/T2)and the plurality of first wires(inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048][0064] include at least two TFTs (T1/T2)and two first wires(inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048][0064] for driving the second-color LED(30), and
the two first wires(inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048][0064] are connected to two electrodes (251 and 252)of the second-color
LED(30), respectively[0044].
Regarding claim 5, Sun et al discloses wherein the plurality of TFTs(T1/T2) and the plurality of first wires (inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048][0064]include at least two TFTs (T1/T2)and two first wires (inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048][0064]for driving the third-color LED(30), and the two first wires (inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048][0064]are connected to two electrodes (251 and 252)of the third-color LED(30) [0044], respectively.
Regarding claim 7, Sun et al discloses wherein the first-color LED (40)does not overlap with the first area (where 30 resides far left)and the second area(where 30 resides far right) in a vertical direction fig. 3.
Claim(s)8, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US Pub no 2024/0215429 A1) in view of Jeon (2022/0037301 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Sun et al discloses wherein the plurality of pads include: two pads (141/142))through which a gate signal supplied to the first-color LED(40) fig. 3; two pads(121/122) through which a gate signal supplied to the second-color LED(30) fig. 3; two pads (121/122)through which a gate signal supplied to the third-color LED(30) fig. 3 but fails to teach data signals supplied to the first-third color LED’s and two pads through which two power supply voltages are supplied.
However, Jeon et al discloses that the light source is driven by a control signal such as a scan signal [0066] and two pads (PD1 and PD2) through which two power supply voltages are supplied[0139-0140]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sun et al with the teachings of Jeon et al to operate the display panel.
Regarding claim 9, Sun et al discloses the method comprising:
forming a first LED(40)[0044]; forming a circuit layer (20)including a plurality of TFTs (T1/T2)and a plurality of first wires( inferred that wirings are present because of driving signals such as driving voltage and power supply voltage are present)[0048]on the first LED(40) ; forming a second LED(30-far right) in a first area of the circuit layer (20)and forming a third LED(30-far left) in a second area of the circuit layer(20) fig. 3[0048]; forming a passivation layer(101) on the second LED(30-far right ), the third LED(30-far left), and the circuit layer(20) fig. 3 [0076] but fails to teach
forming a plurality of second wires in the passivation layer.
However, Jeon et al discloses a display device comprising forming a plurality of second wires(electrically conductive contact holes of PD1 and PD2) in a passivation layer(BS1)[0073][0080][0139-0140] fig. 11. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Sun et al with the teachings of Jeon et al to provide driving signals to the pixels.
Regarding claim 10, Jeon et al discloses forming a plurality of pads(PD1 and PD2) connected to the plurality of second wires(through wires of PD1 and PD2) on
the passivation layer(BS1)[0073][0080][0139-0140] fig. 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LATANYA N CRAWFORD EASON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813