DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kieffer, Jr et al (US 6,939,179; hereinafter Kieffer).
Regarding claim 1, Kieffer discloses a powered subplate device (10; see figure 1), the device (10; see figure 1) comprising: a front face and a rear face (see figure 1), the front face comprising a recessed portion (see figure 3) extending from the front face toward the back face (see figure 3), wherein the recessed portion (see figure 3) is configured to receive an electrical wiring device (42), wherein the recessed portion comprises one or more receptacle terminals (34); and wherein the one or more receptacle terminals (34) extend perpendicular to the front face (see figure 3), wherein a rear facing end of the one or more receptacle terminals (34) are configured to connect to AC wires (see figure 1) on the rear face of the powered subplate (10; see figure 1), and wherein plug blades (56) of the electrical wiring device (42) are configured to fit within a front facing end of the one or more receptacle terminals (34; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kieffer discloses the powered subplate (10), wherein the rear facing end of the one or more receptacle terminals (34) are ports configured to mate with AC wires (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kieffer discloses the powered subplate (10), wherein the rear facing end of the one or more receptacle terminals (34) are screw connection terminals configured to connect to AC wires (well known in the art; column 3 lines 58-column 4 line 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kieffer discloses the powered subplate (10), further comprising: one or more clip receptacles (38; see figure 3) on the front face configured to mate with one or more clips (fasteners) on the electrical wiring device (42; see figure 3; column 4 lines 38-43).
Regarding claim 5, Kieffer discloses the powered subplate (10), wherein the one or more receptacle terminals (34) are positioned within receptacle openings such that the receptacle openings reduce user contact with the receptacle terminals (34).
Regarding claim 6, Kieffer discloses the powered subplate (10), wherein the one or more receptacle terminals (34) are positioned within receptacle openings created by a surface of the powered subplate (10) that extends above and fully surrounds the one or more receptacle terminals (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kieffer discloses a system (see figure 1) comprising: a powered subplate (10), comprising: a front face and a rear face, the front face comprising a recessed portion (see figure 3) extending from the front face toward the back face (see figure 3), wherein the recessed portion ( see figure 3) is configured to receive an electrical wiring device (42), wherein the recessed portion comprises one or more receptacle terminals (34); and wherein the one or more receptacle terminals (34) extend perpendicular to the front face (see figure 3); and an electrical wiring device (42) comprising: one or more plug blades (56) on a rear surface of the EWD (42; see figure 3); wherein plug blades (56) of the electrical wiring device (42) are configured to fit within a front facing end of the one or more receptacle terminals (34; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Kieffer discloses the system (see figure 1), wherein the EWD (42) is selected from a group consisting of: a standard deco switch, a smart switch, a standard dimmer, a smart dimmer, a standard receptacle, a smart receptacle, a USB receptacle, a TVSS, an occupancy sensor, and a night light (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kieffer discloses the system (see figure 1), wherein the powered subplate (10) further comprises one or more clip receptacles (38).
Regarding claim 10, Kieffer discloses the system (see figure 1), wherein the EWD (42) further comprises one or more clips (fastener; see figure 3; column 4 lines 38-43).
Regarding claim 11, Kieffer discloses the system (see figure 1), wherein the powered subplate (10) is configured to accept two or more EWDs (column 4 lines 11-38).
Regarding claim 12, Kieffer discloses the system (see figure 1), wherein the EWD is a ground fault circuit interrupter (column 4 lines 11-38).
Regarding claim 13, Kieffer discloses the system (see figure 1), wherein the EWD is an arc fault circuit interrupter (column 4 lines 11-38).
Regarding claim 14, Kieffer discloses a wall box device (10), the device comprising: a front face and a rear face, the front face comprising a recessed portion (see figure 3) extending from the front face toward the back face (see figure 3), wherein the recessed portion (see figure 3) is configured to receive an electrical wiring device (42), wherein the recessed portion (see figure 3) comprises one or more receptacle terminals (34); and wherein the one or more receptacle terminals (34) extend perpendicular to the front face (see figure 3), wherein a rear facing end of the one or more receptacle terminals (34) are configured to connect to AC wires (see figure 3) on the rear face of the device (42), and wherein plug blades (56) of the electrical wiring device (42) are configured to fit within a front facing end of the one or more receptacle terminals (34).
Regarding claim 15, Kieffer discloses a system (see figure 1) comprising: a wall box device (10), comprising: a front face and a rear face, the front face comprising a recessed portion (see figure 3) extending from the front face toward the back face, wherein the recessed portion (see figure 3) is configured to receive an electrical wiring device (42), wherein the recessed portion (see figure 3) comprises one or more receptacle terminals (34); and wherein the one or more receptacle terminals (34) extend perpendicular to the front face; and an electrical wiring device (42) comprising: one or more plug blades (56) on a rear surface of the EWD (42); wherein plug blades (56) of the electrical wiring device (42) are configured to fit within a front facing end of the one or more receptacle terminals (see figure 3).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
May 30, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841