Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 01/20/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1-3 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/20/2026with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has been applied to amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOTOUMI et al. (Pub NO. US 2024/0124050 A1; hereinafter Totoumi) in view of Sugama et al. (Pub NO. US 2007/0222630 A1; hereinafter Sugama).
Regarding Claim 1, Totoumi teaches a power supply monitoring circuit (power supply monitoring circuit 1 in Fig. 2; See [0030]-[0041]) configured to monitor an in- vehicle power supply in an electronic control unit having (in-vehicle power supply with control unit 36 in Fig. 2; See [0035]-[0041]), the power supply monitoring circuit comprising:
a first internal power supply circuit configured to be powered by the in-vehicle power supply through a power supply line (first internal power supply circuit 53a is powered by in-vehicle power supply 45 in Fig. 2; See [0037]-[0041]);
a second internal power supply circuit configured to be powered by the in-vehicle power supply through the power supply line (second internal power supply circuit 53b is powered by in-vehicle power supply 45 in Fig. 2; See [0037]-[0041]), wherein the power supply line includes a branching node at which the power supply line is branched out from the in-vehicle power supply line to the first and second internal power supply circuits (power supply 45, 71 have branching node where 53a and 53b are branched out in Fig. 2; See [0035]-[0041]);
a voltage monitoring circuit (54 controls power by monitoring voltage in Fig. 2; See [0035]-[0045]) configured to monitor the power supply by monitoring the power supply line (monitoring power supply line through 45 in Fig. 2); and
Totoumi teaches a control circuit (control circuit 64 in Fig. 2) controls in-vehicle power supply (See [0030]-[0045]),
However, Totoumi is silent about to start up in response to a voltage of the power supply crossing a predetermined reset voltage and control the first and second internal power supply circuits or a device powered by the first and second internal power supply circuits to discharge an operational charge remained in the first and second internal power supply circuits or the device, and control the first and second internal power supply circuits to start up based on a condition that an output voltage of the first and second internal power supply circuits drops to a voltage level that does not cause an unstable operation of the downstream load, and the voltage of the power supply exceeds a predetermined start-up voltage.
Sugama teaches control circuit (control circuit 500 in Fig. 9) configured to start up in response to a voltage of the power supply crossing a predetermined reset voltage (start up response at time T1 when crossing predetermined rated voltage in Fig. 11; See [0098]-[0110]) and control the first and second internal power supply circuits (controller 500 controls first and second internal power supply circuits 200_1 and 200_2 in Fig. 9; Se [0088]-[0097]) or a device powered by the first and second internal power supply circuits to discharge an operational charge remained in the first and second internal power supply circuits (reset signal S_R is to discharge when drops below V3 at time T2 and malfunction occurs in Fig. 11; See [0088]-[0097]) or the device, and
control the first and second internal power supply circuits to start up based on a condition (controller 500 controls operation; See [0090]-[0114]) that
an output voltage of the first and second internal power supply circuits drops to a voltage level that does not cause an unstable operation of the downstream load (output voltage of first and second internal power supply circuits 200_1 and 200_2 drops at V2 below rated voltage and it does not cause unstable operation of downstream load 400 in Fig. 9; See [0088]-[0110]), and
the voltage of the power supply exceeds a predetermined start-up voltage (predetermined start up voltage is reference data and if any inconsistency by comparing means if exceeds; See [0098]-[00100]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Totoumi by using to start up in response to a voltage of the power supply crossing a predetermined reset voltage and control the first and second internal power supply circuits or a device powered by the first and second internal power supply circuits to discharge an operational charge remained in the first and second internal power supply circuits or the device, and control the first and second internal power supply circuits to start up based on a condition that an output voltage of the first and second internal power supply circuits drops to a voltage level that does not cause an unstable operation of the downstream load, and the voltage of the power supply exceeds a predetermined start-up voltage, as taught by Sugama in order to monitor a power supply voltage supplied to a monitored circuit to protect the monitored circuit from an operational malfunction which occurs due to a reduction of the power supply voltage (Sugama; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 2, Totoumi in view of Sugama teaches the power supply monitoring circuit according to Claim 1. Sugama further teaches wherein the voltage monitoring circuit is configured to delay resurgence of output of the first and second internal power supply circuits by a predetermined time even though the voltage of the in-vehicle power supply exceeds the predetermined start-up voltage (it is inherent property that there is a delay between detection malfunction and generate reset signal upon detection and in Fig. 11 time between T1 and T2 is the time from detection to process RESET signal).
Regarding Claim 3, Totoumi in view of Sugama teaches the power supply monitoring circuit according to Claim 1. Sugama further teaches further comprising: a plurality of downstream power supplies connected to a downstream part of at least one of the first and second internal power supply circuits (plurality of downstream power supplies 400_1 to 400_3 are connected to downstream part of built-in-power supply circuits 200_1 to 200_3 in Fig. 9), the plurality of downstream power supplies configured to be simultaneously reset by the at least one of the first and second internal power supply circuits (each 400_1 to 400_3 has individual reset RST, therefore rests simultaneously in Fig. 9).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858